(2010/01) Jan 2010 BTB

evergreen_23

you can try wedding announcer...that's what i use.. their template is simple and they even have RSVP function that you can utilise.

vaquita

hello! i'm new to this thread.

hi evee, ha you are in this thread too....

all> anyway btbs, if you wanna book banquets/ BS, i think you can open. even slowpoke novotel is going to open for booking. you can't enjoy the wedding show perks if you if you make a tentative booking. they have a wedding show from 9 to 11 jan. i have an email from them including the price list.

Weekday dinner: 828 - 888 nett
Weekend dinner: 888 - 988 nett
Auspicious dates: 1028 - 1188 nett
(2010 Auspicious dates: Jan 3, 23 & 31. Feb 10. Sep 15,22. Oct 10 & 20)

just a note, if you are looking to go novotel, don't go to this guy called Kevin Artedjo. We were so turned off by his attitude even my ez-going fiance struck novotel off our list.

eternityong

Thanks Evergreen. Will take a look at wedding announcer. I've using "theknot" now.. still figuring out the features and all.

eevee

VV >> yup I'm here too coos i'm a Jan 2010 btb mah ... u too?

Hi Ling, welcome ... yup ... booked my BS in April den banquet and AD PG & VG in Jul//Aug loh ... kiasu mah ... heehee

happygirl198230

VV,

u very funny, say novotel slowpoke. hahahaha... but they are really slow. i read fr previous threads tt in beginning of dec 2007, they already open for 2009 booking. and now then they open for 2010.

evergreen_23

maybe they were trying to work out the pricing since there was a recession...

Btw, VV, can feedback on Kevin's attitude? Thanks.

avelinekoh

hi all.. wooo... all of you are already in the preparation.. I tot i am too fast liao...
I actually booked mine photoshoot in taiwan.. and will get them to send over the gowns for AD to singapore. If any gowns need to alter, will go to their friend who is operating in SG. So we find it okie and reasonable.
But i am looking for hotels.. i went fullerton.. at 1st wanna hit 35 tables.. but dun think this is realli wat we want.. so we move on...
now i am searching for MUA, PG, VG and car deo + hand bouquet.. anyone wanna to recommend?

evergreen_23

Hi Aveline, when's your AD in Jan 2010? Think you got to book fast for the wedding venue le..
i had difficulty for mine when i started searching in Oct.. either not open for booking, or booked already.. so we were kind of stuck in between, i.e. neither here nor there.. dono whether to wait, etc..

I had just changed my AD to book the place i wan..

starry007

aveline, we're planning jan 10 also but havent done any booking of any sorts yet.

where'll your venue be?

thanks jinglebell, received ur email, popped down for a while but think they're off our budget.. i'm not that particular about gowns, i don't know much hahaha.

we have shortlisted two places out of the few we've been to, for one of them we like the service but don't fancy the photography.. the other place we like the photography but not sure who will be providing the service..

iyo.. so hard to decide..

anybody has good recommendations for wedding lunch? we're planning to do everything at the hotel if possible - solemn+tea+lunch..

so far we've only been sending email enquiries, haven't been anywhere to look yet.
= )

comparatively, we're very slow!!! = x

evergreen_23

ya raffles not open for booking yet..they also don allow tentative booking... In dec, Grand hyatt was not open yet also.. not sure for now.. Grand Plaza park 2010 package is not out yet also..

But other than these places, i think majority are open for 2010 booking le..

You wanna try Marroitt?

10 Jan still got available slots at some hotels as compared to 3 Jan.. Carlton is still available on 10 Jan..

I can't advise much on photography cos havent search for that yet.. heh.. think the impt thing is to settle the wedding venue first..

Starry, what is the capacity that you're looking at? and any budget? wedding lunch is almost the same as wedding dinner... usually hotels do offer function room for solemnisation+tea before proceeding to lunch.. so depends on your criteria..

vaquita

evergreen> he was late for our appt. when he came down after the recep called him, he literally SWAGGERED to us. no haste, no rush as if we are the early one. he was late for a good 10-20min. then he happily sat down and put his file on the table then look up at us and just said sorry in a flippant manner. no explanation ntg. very passive in showing us around, he literally just show us around. "This is the ballroom. it's pillarless" DUH, we are not blind. -_-
anywy if we haven't been to my bestie's wedding, we wld have no idea what to expect/ ask. when discussing, he has this arrogant attitude. he kinda "dissed" other hotels including carlton when we said other hotels are at least open for tentative booking. he said smtg along the line of Novo is v gd & popular now, and the other hotels felt threatened. -_-"

i strongly suggest you liaise with Huiling instead. she was the coordinator for my best fren's wedding. I had such a good impression of Novotel until this guy came along. did you know he passed me his namecard with 2 fingers? you know the namecard in between his fingers. Very rude.

He's inflexible, passive and unhelpful. he doesn't give any constructive suggestions or comments at all. just my opinion, you need someone with initiative and pleasant attitude cos you have the face the person for months. towards the end, when you n fh are stressed with work, last min prep & etc, you need someone you can trust to prevent hiccups and settle them when they arise. From his "you ask 1 question, i answer 1 question" attitude, i don't think i can trust him to ensure things will be coordinated smoothly or he'll "fight" to ensure our AD/stay will be the best.

hehe anyway thanks to him, for the 1st time, i saw my super ez-going fh got turned off and insisted that we strike novotel from our list.

eve> yup i'm a jan bride. 20 jan. you?

happygirl> ha novo is really v v slow... dun you think so?

i know 16 jan is like a super good date. almost full everywhere.

vaquita

starry, what about mandarin oriental? they have pte function rooms for solemnisation. not sure about your capacity. can consider if you are looking for the "cosy" feeling kind

haha that 2010 thread is indeed 2F2F hehehhe

VV: oh dear...thanks for the headsup, will avoid that Kevin fella at all costs...

evergreen_23

ya it's written in the Tong Shu that 16 Jan is a good day.. 11 jan also good.. but it's a monday... and 3 jan is relatively good also..
hope it's useful for all who are choosing date..

Thanks VV for the detailed feedback.. I have also heard about his attitude problem from some friends, but there are some who praise him in the novotel thread.. so a bit dilemma.. cos i thought not nice to just change wedding planner when i didn't encounter anything bad at the moment..i will be meeting him tomorrow evening though..

dono how now... skeptical already... >_<

vaquita

evergreen> haha just my feedback. maybe my expectation is too high, but then again even my super ez-goin fh got cheesed off. as long as you are comfy. just dun compromise yourself becos you are "paiseh" to change him

i'm kiasee la... i saw how bz my fren was at her wedding, even with jiemeis to help. you'll have to rely heavily on hotel staff namely banquet mgr and coordinator. So you'll want someone you can trust to do the behind-the-scene things, especially when you have no ctrl/involvement (i.e. proper communication of requirements/preference to kitchen/banquet staff etc)

thomas> ha! you are also here?! ya i advise you to avoid him.

eve> ya many hotels hav banquets on 16 jan. did you go to long shi fu too?

VV: haha dun worry, dun think we will choose NCQ too as they've increased their pricing compared to 2009...

dreamyfairy

Hi all, I am a Jan 2010 BTB too.

We are considering Novotel and met up with Kevin from NCQ too. I do agree with VV that Kevin has some kind of attitude. Feel like changing my co-ordinator to Huiling but paiseh to do so.

evergreen_23

Thomas: so which venue are you looking at now?

dreamyfairy: hey, welcome! when's your AD? suppose you will be gng down to BOWS this coming weekend to discuss further?

Actually... just a note.. could Kevin be just a more serious person as compared to other wedding planners? I have only seen him once, so unable to comment much... But i can understand the "attitude" point of view from u all..

There are ppl giving good feedbacks on him in the novotel thread though...

will it be bad if everyone changes to huiling and "ignore" kevin? Huiling will be super busy and if kevin is a bad, will he sabotage us since we will be seeing him ard? ha ha..

anyway, Will feedback more after meeting him tomorrow. hee..

avelinekoh

Exparte: I am also going taiwan for shooting.. u can bargain for them to include the AD gowns.. they can pay for courier also...

evergreen_23

maybe we can do up a table like what eve have done for the 2010 thread..

AD Date:
Banquet Venue:
BS:
AD PG:
AD VG:
ROM Date:
ROM Venue:
Love Nest:

I don mind doing the compilation for Jan 2010.

zljoan

wah...everyone's flying for their PS while I'm still frantically trying to decide on which BS to take up! Hopefully the next wedding fair I attend will be the decisive factor. (was at Suntec last weekend and their sales tactic was scary :S )

Hi, me new to this thread. Supposed to plan for a dec wedding but there were some changes recently and now planning for Jan10. at the rate i'm going, I hope I can get everything in place on time!

eevee

Great evergreen ...

I can start the ball rolling ...

can also help u keep track once the list is up ...

AD Date: 16 Jan 2010
Banquet Venue: Orchard Parade Hotel
BS: Julia Wedding News
AD PG: Simon Video
AD VG: Simon Video
ROM Date: 16 Jan 2009
ROM Venue: Aloha Changi
Love Nest: Punggol Sapphire

eevee

sobe >> welcome ...

when's ur AD date? we can all help u to contribute ideas, etc ... What's ur BS budget? Banquet booked? would u be keen in Julia Wedding News? I can share my details with you ...

zljoan

heya eve!

tentatively it's gonna be 1st or 31st jan for church solemnisation + luncheon for relatives/frens and 2nd jan lunch banquet at Crowne or 1st Feb dinner @hilton for close relatives/frens. as u'd realise now, dates also not finalized! pending nod from my side of parents and availability of priest - only in feb. *panic* nevertheless, gonna go ahead with booking of BS first.

BS is a bit of a budget cos looking at $5k, including actual days' photography. Julia Wedding does not include actual day gowns right? Any advice will be most useful cos I was nearly hoodwinked into signing a package which had lots of surcharges that was not included in the quoted price! :S

eevee

sobe >> leave me ur email add and i'll email u my pkg details ... and yes julia does include actual day gowns ...

u can consider the $3k plus pkg ... den actual day photography can consider Simon Video ... all together shld be abt $5k ...

evergreen_23

heh... so blur that i post the table at the 2010 thread.. heh..

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>AD</TD><TD>Banquet Venue</TD><TD>BS</TD><TD>AD PG</TD><TD>AD VG</TD><TD>ROM</TD><TD>ROM Venue</TD><TD>Lovenest</TD><TD>Multiply </TD></TR><TR><TD>Aveline</TD><TD>10-Jan-10</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>The British Club</TD><TD>Tampines</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>evergreen</TD><TD>10-Jan-10</TD><TD>Novotel Clarke Quay</TD><TD>Di Gio</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>AD Day</TD><TD>Church</TD><TD>Jade Spring @ Yishun</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>eevee</TD><TD>16-Jan-10</TD><TD>Orchard Parade Hotel</TD><TD>Julia Wedding News</TD><TD>Simon Video</TD><TD>Simon Video</TD><TD>16-Jan-09</TD><TD>Aloha Changi</TD><TD>Punggol Sapphire</TD><TD>eevee</td></tr></table>

evergreen_23

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>AD</TD><TD>Banquet Venue</TD><TD>BS</TD><TD>AD PG</TD><TD>AD VG</TD><TD>ROM</TD><TD>ROM Venue</TD><TD>Lovenest</TD><TD>Multiply </TD></TR><TR><TD>Aveline</TD><TD>10-Jan-10</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>The British Club</TD><TD>Tampines</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>evergreen</TD><TD>10-Jan-10</TD><TD>Novotel Clarke Quay</TD><TD>Di Gio</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>AD Day</TD><TD>Church</TD><TD>Jade Spring @ Yishun</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>eevee</TD><TD>16-Jan-10</TD><TD>Orchard Parade Hotel</TD><TD>Julia Wedding News</TD><TD>Simon Video</TD><TD>Simon Video</TD><TD>16-Jan-09</TD><TD>Aloha Changi</TD><TD>Punggol Sapphire</TD><TD>eevee </TD></TR><TR><TD>eternityong</TD><TD>23-Jan-10</TD><TD>Concorde Hotel</TD><TD>Bridal De Couture</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</td></tr></table>

dreamyfairy

evergreen: My AD is on 23 Jan 2010 and I will be going down to BOWS this weekend.

Here's mine:

AD Date: 23 Jan 2010
Banquet Venue: -
BS: -
AD PG: -
AD VG: -
ROM Date: Over already (17 Dec 2006)
ROM Venue: The V Tea Room (Now known as The Cookie Museum)
Love Nest: Serangoon

zljoan

hi aveline, u're keen on Hilton too? You can first find info on Hilton's packages at http://www.singaporebrides.com/hotels/hilton/index.htm - though it's only for 2009.
fb quite keen on hilton so we'll prob be going down one of these days to find out more.

evergreen> you're using Di Gio?! Can share your experience with them? Notice you're holding your solemnisation in church too...

avelinekoh

Sobe: Casey is actually quite flexible. Ppl are friendly... but i feel that they have too much customers which i dun feel very served attentively. But still okie.. they quite responsive to your requests.But i dun like the mini shooting they threw into my rom package.. maybe bcos its like "free" to me.. but no standard.. we were having same poses, just a change in background... we have difficulties in selecting 20 photos for printout..
I am not using them for AD, cos i wan a change of gowns and i am going taiwan for shooting so i will be using their gown..
But overall, u still can go Di Gio for their beautiful gowns..

evergreen_23

my designer for Di Gio is jasline.. She's a very nice lady! i actually got a Ted Wu gown already..so dilemma whether to use that or to use di gio gown for the AD.. so i tried quite a number of gowns when i went down the second time.. she was patient and can really get along with her..

hi sobe, care to share your AD and other details with us?