20092009 & 21092009 BTB?

rainzhuo

I am a BTB on 21 Sep 2009.

ryanmel

20092009 is a P/H and also a nice date, afraid everything will be extra EX and extra Pack...
We would like to consider that date...

p1ngz

hi girls~

I'm also contemplating to plan my AD on that day too!! =) So it is a public holiday? Do you know what holiday is it?

Is it an auspicious day for wedding too?

glamourous2309

Hi p1ngz,

Yes, 20th September 2009 (Sun) will be a Public Holiday (Hari Raya Puasa). And bcoz if P.Hols falls on sunday, the following Monday will also be a P.Hols. Hence, 21st September 2009 (Mon) will also be a P.Hols!

Check this out. Public Holidays in 2009 listed by MOM.
http://www.mom.gov.sg/publish/momportal/en/general/2009_Public_Holidays.html

Whether its a auspicious date for weddings, Im not sure, coz Tong Shu not out yet. Will only be out after the Lunar 7th Month this year I think.

blurbabylsp

Hi Glam and Meow,

I am also a 20092009 BTB. So glad to have come across this thread for all 20/21 Sep 09 BTB
My hotel is Grand Plaza Park and BS is Thomson Wedding Collection.

So happy to learn that 20 Sep 09 falls on a holiday

glamourous2309

Dear ALL,

Welcome on board. Another to add to our current list updates:

Glamourous2309 - 20th Sept & 21st Sept 2009
Meow (Kitty_Princess) - 20th Sept 2009
Antz (blurbabylsp) - 20th Sept 2009
Rain Zhou - 21st Sept 2009

p1ngz

cool...i was thinking of 20 sept cos it looks rather good, 20092009.. q special.. hee

anyway, since 20 sept is a holiday & a sunday too do u girls think there will be extra charges to that day?

hmm.. was thinking of having my AD either on this day or in Oct, but cos dunno if the date is an auspicious day or not, so haven realli confirm the date and book the dinner package.. But Tongshu is not out yet you girls booked the dinner package already?

kitty_princess

depends on hotels...most of them will have extra charges..

for us, we don't look at tong shu.. we secured the venue first since this date is very popular.. hee.. and i die die want this date since it's on a sun and the date looks very nice.. haa.. when we chose this date the 2009 public holidays still not out yet, cos we chose this date end of last year.. so we booked quite early.. mine is a lunch banquet..

glamourous2309

Hi p1ngz,

I agree with Meow too, we didnt look at Tong Shu too. I'll be having my customary wedding and solemization on 20092009 and just dinner on 21092009.

Think the 4 of us for the above dates have already secured the venue. =)

blurbabylsp

Hi p1ngz,

I agree with Meow on the extra charges impose for the popular date. Some hotels like Grand Corpthorne impose auspicious date charges. Fortunately for Grand Plaza Park, auspicious date charges are not impose on us.

As for the checking of the Tong Shu, I have initially wanted to follow the auspicious date according to the Tong Shu, however I realise that the ideal auspicious dates for my wedding this year all fall on weekdays(Initially wanted to ROM this year and I prefer weekend for both ROM and Wedding). Therefore, my HTB and I decide to choose 20092009(Sunday) as our ROM and Wedding date and not thinking of checking Tong Shu for the auspicious date next year.

If any more BTB are really looking into hold their wedding in Sep 2009, really have to act fast for the hotel reservations, it seems that most of the hotels are reserved for dates in Sep 09

glamourous2309

Antz is right. For Shangri-La, there is a special pricing for 20092009 too.

If I'm not wrong, I think 20092009 clashes/ chong people born in the Year of Dog. (Not sure reliable anot as I did my own research online.)

p1ngz

Hi Antz,

guess sept is a hot month then.. hmm.. if i have booked the date already, but then wanna change the date, do u think the hotel will allow me? will there be any charges to the change?

I wanna take up 20 sept.. but if it's not an auspicious date, perhaps i'll change the date.. i'm sorta superstitious kind.. dunno shld book the date first or not.. anyway, i'm still in the midst of searchin the hotels.. haven decide on one yet..

kitty_princess

well if the date u want is still available, i guess should be able to change.. it's not like u want to change hotel or something..

so if u know u r those very supersitious kind, better play safe then sorry... wait for tong shu to be out then choose...

glamourous2309

Hi p1ngz,

I share the same sentiments as Meow. If you want to be 100% sure, then best to wait for Tong Shu.

For me, I booked it coz we like the date, and its on Eighth month, Day 2. Only clash with people in Year of Dog... There are no "Dogs" in our family, so we went ahead with the idea without waiting for the Tong Shu.

blurbabylsp

Hi p1ngz,

I was told that Tong Shu 2009 should be out after lunar 6th month this year. therefore maybe its more appropriate for you to wait till than to select yr aupicious date than reserve the hotel.

For my hotel, I did check with them if I wanna change my date to another auspicious date, is it possible. The reply I got was that to change the date due to auspicious date reason is not valid and charges will be imposed. However, if emergencies do happen like some immediate members passed away, bride/groom suffers from some medical condition etc, have to write in to the hotel with the relevant documentary than they will assess the situation on a case to case basis for the changes.

p1ngz

Hi Antz,

thanks for the info.. anyway, do you know where can i find someone to help me to check for auspicious dates? since TS is not out yet, will they be able to check?

gracelourdes

didn't realise that there's tis thread..haiz, i just missed by 1 day...my AD is 19092009..

Glamourous, how come ur wedding split to 2 days? v unusual leh..

glamourous2309

Hi Grace,

Welcome to join us, anytime!
It's not unusual... In fact, there are many couples out there with Spilt weddings too. My sister-in-law did the same too last November... though there are more charges incurred (For example spilt day charges for VG, PG, MUA... etc), but it was less tiring and betta.

So mine will be Customary & Solemization on 20092009 and just dinner on 21092009.
Both days are P.Hols, so no issues with us. =)

sonnenblume

hello

Happy to know that there are brides who choose 20092009. I have chosen this date as well ^_^ for customary.

However, have not book any banquet as waiting for the Tong Shu to be out to confirmed that its auspicious for the couple and both side parents b4 we booked.

Anyone booking lunch? Thinking of it but not sure whether will it be too rush. Can anyone advise on the starting time for the reception and the lunch....

joant

Hi everyone..

Im also a bride in sep'09... i wanna bk my dinner wif Hilton on 20092009 too but seem like there are pple tentatively bk the date liao..
Going dw to discuss more details in next sat.. Hopefully can get tis date cos i realli love the date...

diannahuimin

Hi Everyone!

I hope i can book 20092009 as my wedding date as well. 20-09 is also my birthday and 21-09 is the date when me and my FH get together during 2006 though i knew him for almost 10yrs le.

Now waiting for FH to be back from overseas and discuss the date and of cos informing and seeking a light approval from both of our parents.

blurbabylsp

Hi Dianna,

20092009 is really a meaningful and beautiful date for your to tie the knots.

You make tentative booking with OCC already? If not, advise you to do so as 20 Sep is a hot date.

diannahuimin

Hi Antz

I have to wait FH to be back this 26 April and also to check whether is it a good date to get marry or not. Cos his family quite particular about this though im not so concern about it.

diannahuimin

Thanks Glamourous!

Me and FH quite 'Kiasu' to get our wedding done. We want to get things done fast and part of the reason, he needs to fly off and back quite often for this part of the year.

kitty_princess

Hi Dianna,

20092009 to us is very beautiful, that's why we choose this date.. but to u is more significant right.. ;)

Think you better make tentative booking first before your FH comes back as the date is very popular, plus so meaningful to u ..

we are also very kaisu too.. already settled our venue, bridal, Pre PG and AD PG.. hee.. :p

diannahuimin

Meow,

I have checked with OCC. They need me to put deposit of $3k before letting me to book their function room.

And moreover, my FH knows the F&B Mgr in OCC, we may need to negotiate some terms and the package together with their planner also. FH is coming back on this Saturday, we still got 1 week for us to go down to OCC for negotiation and confirmation before FH flys off again.

kitty_princess

Huh..i thought tentative booking doesn't need deposit.. only when u confirmed then need to pay..

so ur FH knows the F&B mgr then easy task le.. hope to hear good news from u soon..

glamourous2309

Hi Dianna,

I think most importantly you need to finalise on your AD date first before selection of your preferred venue. If your in laws are particular, maybe getting them involve in the dates selection will be good. Rest you can decide with your HTB.

diannahuimin

I have finalise the date with FH. The rest he has to get his parents to check the date we have chosen. Once they agreed, we are ready to book the venue.

destay81

So surprised to find this auspicious date as a topic of discussion.
It is definitely a good date for marriage, i went to my feng shui master and confirmed the date.
We wanted a date in the weekends or eve of public holiday where our guests can attend our big day and share our happiness with a happy mood.

We started researching through the public holidays in early jan.
But during that time MOM had not published the public holidays for 2009 so we had to use the 2008 as a guidelines.We are so kiasu that we email the muslim,indian society to enquires about their HRP,HRH and deepavali.
We then realized 20092009 is a public holiday after receiving the reply from the Muslim society.

We quickly go book our fengshui master to check the date for us before the MOM release the PH for 2009.

I had booked my AD dinner at Marina Mandarin.
Glad to join this list of 20092009 couples.

Desmond

glamourous2309

Hi Desmond,

Welcome to join us too.
The F1 for 2009 will be next year September as well.
Hopefully will not clash (the week before or after) with our wedding date. The route affected will be same as this year though.

Heard that Fullerton has "black out" for Sept 2009 due to this as well.

Think the route affect quite alot of hotels in the city hall/ marina areas as well?
Fullerton, Swissotel Stamford, Raffles, Pan Pacific, Conrad, Marina Mandarin, Oriental, Ritz Caltron? Not sure whether I missed any based on the F1 route....

ourdestiny

I am also a 20092009 bride! Desmond, you check with the shifu and he say it is an auspicious date for you...that's good... hope it will be for me too..

BTW, just my 9cents worth. for those who hasnt find a Bridal Studio yet? Can start sourcing now cos the BS are getting exp each year and I believe 20092009 will be exp too..For those who have not shortlisted or shortlisted a few, maybe you may want to consider My Bridal Room (MBR).

I have just signed up with them. Not only they are not pushy AT ALL, they are very professional as in they will advise me what gown is sutitable for me and my FH size etc. They are very attentive and detailed to advise you get the best gowns for you. Bearing in mind that, we havent even signed up with them yet and they took the effort to entertain us for a few hours. When you descibe to them the gown you prefer, they can just find almost exactly what you like. I am not their promotor dont be mistaken but i thought it is worht to shortlist them as well cos they are really worth it. I am quite a fussy BTB but in the end was really satifisfied with their service before we even signed up. I have shortlisted a few BS but in terms of budget, service and professionalism, MBR is the best among those tat we really meet out budget and expecation. I am sure your BS wedding will be well taken care of by MBR. Again, this is jsut my 9 cents worth.

Hope that above helps fot those who are scouting for BS. if anyone has further queries about MBR, please feel free to email me or post your query here.

I am sure all of us would be able to help out each other given that we are all 20092009 BTB or GTB Cheers