(2009) Brides of year 2009

saggiegirl

Shir> hee hee...
yup.... nice trip and enjoyed the good food, warm service and some shopping at Seoul & Jeju!

octo

Saggie> We also went korea for our mini honeymoon after our rom that time. Hee.. I like it too. After that, we went another time with the whole family. The 2nd time was also pretty enjoyable. I still feel like going to Korea for the 3rd time. Hehe. But hb said he going to ban me from going there for these few years. But there are some from my tour group previously, who didnt like Korea, think they are not used to the food. So I guess not everyone will like Korea. Hehe..

freegoer

Shir> for gers is good ... with all tat cheap clothes and cosmetics. But if you blow ur hubby cash too much he is not going to like it :p

cube_cube

hi gals, nice to see you are so happy getting prepared for the big day.

Mine is next sat, n im totally not feeling any good mood other then stress. Still got plenty of stuff not settled, and my mum's not helping, only giving me more headaches. Some invited confirmed guests just told me they are not coming due to some "last min" stuffs to do....Somehow it just feels like nobody is happy that im getting married, and even my mum makes me feel like she don't wan me to get married...wanted to plan for a 3/4 days short trip after AD cos im on 2 weeks leave, but all i get from the stupid guy is "so expensive".... hai...really feel like crying already..nothing is working out for me at all

blurbaby

cube cube

not to worry.. Mine is next Sat and I'm stressed out by my mom's nonsense.. think my aunt friend know my wedding is next Sat.. She ask how come she wasn't invited? So mom is going to invite her.. (I'm tired with saying too much things)

hubby will always tell me.. after wedding then we buy this and that.. but think the list of items had grow.. i really wonder when i will see the list of items?

I had invited my new boss for my wedding.. today, he told me that he is unable to attend my wedding as he got things on... after chatting with him for a short while.. found out that his wedding is in Jan 2010.. No one in the dept know that ...

greentwinkle12

cube cube & ahblur > cheer up.

today i also found out from close fren in ofc that some ppl in the company know abt my wedding, and they like not v happy they are not invited.. in the first place i nt even close to them.. and they somemore kpo ask wea the hotel, my hubby from wea one etc.. very weird la.. only when we plan our wedding, we see all kinds of weirdos..

invite also headache cos dunno those nt so close one will come anot.. no invite, also kanna.. sadcase one.

i just listen and let go, no point letting all these stuff affect the mood...

blurbaby

greatwinkle..

thanks for your timely encouragement! it's like this for my ex-colleague also the same, and it's someone i'm not close to..

anyway for the VIP table clothes is Black color and the first dish music.. I don't care what people got to say about my wedding.. it's my once in a lifetime event.. At time, I really wonder why should I bother with what they got to say.. It's my life..

greentwinkle12

ahblur > ya lor.. i also think so.. it is a private affair.. and we share joy with close ones..

aiya.. office ppl some are like that de.. busybody la, kpo la... haa

cluelessoink

cube cube & ahBlur .... cheer up... Jia You... 1 more week to go... Mine is also next sat.

guest list is always everyone's biggest headache... oh well... no choice. can't please everyone. :X

don't let them affect your mood. Wedding is supposed to be happy and joyful. :D Stay cheerful.

Anyone went hokkaido in dec? can advise what's the weather,etc.. I am heading there for a short trip after the AD.

octo

freegoer> My hb is ok with korea. Heehee.. infact he enjoys shopping more than me. But he felt that we should go tour places that we have not been to yet instead of kept going to korea. Hee..

cubecube> Cheer up. Im sure they are happy for you. Im one of those last min brides in planning here, had alot on my list during the last 2weeks too. But I found that alot can be done very fast, eg. buying of stuff etc.. or planning the itinerary (use the template and change the timing). Wedding preps can be quite stressful. Try to take some time off and relax yourself.

Greentwinkle> Same same for me. I didnt invite everyone in my co. for my wedding. Cause I don't know if those colleagues who are not that close will think that Im inviting them for their ABs. And since we're thinking of keeping the wedding a small and cosy one, Im quite discreet about the invites (only had 2 tables for colleagues). Last week, one of my invited colleagues told me that someone asked her if I had passed my card to her to 'distribute' for the whole department. *Gulp... I was abit taken aback and paiseh and this kinda affected me slightly too.

I told hb about it and he felt that its too late to invite 'those colleagues' cause they might again think that we are inviting them now to 'fill table'. And honestly, we cant pleased everyone. If I had sent out the invites 'massively' during the initial phase, the other outcome about me 'hungering' for ABs might be on instead. So I decided to let this pass and not to be affected. Also I guess not much people in office will remember my wedding after its over. Hee..

Ahblur> Yes, you're right. Its really once a lifetime. We should stay cheerful and happy during the process and on the actual day. And especially for colleagues' comments, don't bother since we/they probably not going to stay in the same job forever. Hee..

Clueless Oink> We are also going to Hokkaido after our wedding. When are you departing? During the tour briefing, the guide is saying around -10 degree to -1 degree. But she advised us to check the weather forecast for the latest updates.

bliss_bb

Charmaine> That one suppose to be my AD gown but i change it to another type. Oh yes, the one who tried the gown was not me, it my another forum fren from same BS.

saggie & freegoer> welcome back and glad that u guys enjoyed your Korea trip

bliss_bb

cube cube> as for guests, some frens promise to come but then when I doing RSVP as what my hubby told me to do it foe my frens, I was suprised that they told me that they unable to turn up. Some gave no reason just told me " unable to come for your AD, congrats".

I am thinking if I never sms them to do the RSVP, they will not even inform me and there will be empty seats lor...

I fine if they are not unable to come but at least have the courtesy to inform me earlier since they know they not able to come then I can arrange the seating plan and dun need to open extra table ...

emeraldbride

blur, for me my parents and grandparents are sitting on the VIP table with my PIL .. i dun believe in the need to be seated separately because the dinner is paid fully by myself and hb, so it is only right that my parents get to sit with us at the VIP table. Hahaha.. i notice most of my frens wedding are like that too. Nowadays, modern society ppl will not wag tongues abt who is seated at VIP and who is not..

freegoer

blur> normally is grandparents and parents and any elders. normally is granduncle, uncles, aunties from the father's side.
if there is 2 VIPs tables, then each side has their own set of guest with the main aka groom VIP having the couple.
If there is only 1 VIP table, then normally is both grandparents, parents, and other elders up to table size.

taime81

Saggie > Welcome back. Envy. We're still stress with out wedding. LOL. If you like shopping, taiwan is great. Item are super cheap for clothes, shoes, bags and skincare. Food taste good. Hubby and me love to go taiwan. Have been going there for 2 consecutive year.

Finish my own table planning. Happy. =)

saggiegirl

Charmaine> hee hee... after wedding, come back from honeymoon, upload honeymoon photos... collect AD photos & videos etc...

Jan 2010 is preps for chinese new year le....1st yr of giving angpaos to kiddies ....

cluelessoink

Shir: I will be going to hokkaido on 27 Dec. The day after my wedding. Gonna be there till 31 dec and then tokyo. Didnt buy tour package... going on my own.

taime81

Freego > Lol after wedding can relax for a while. At least can take own sweet time to do it.

Clueless > I heard from my friend bullet train from tokyo to hokkaido is quite expensive. They went free n easy too, planned to go hokkaido but eventually they decide to forgo the plan when they're there

octo

Clueless Oink> I see. Maybe we may see each other at some tourist attraction there, cause we going on 24th and will only be back on 1st Jan. My colleague who went Jap F&E told me that they had alot of information about Japan from the Japan tour agency in Takashimaya. You might want to dropby there to see. She told me that they are very friendly and helpful, she got alot of those travelling directions and transportation arrangement help from there.

applegal55

I am not a happy Bride to be.
My GDL was not a success, MIL blame me for it.
Also, MIL request a gold chain from my family & my mother not willingly to give. Next, no one is helping out the wedding preparations, honeymoon,etc. Pissed with the wedding. And stressed....
just cried :""

bliss_bb

Hi Apple, dun cried k.. Everything will be over soon. Dun let her or anything affect you even thou there are other "internal / external" unbearable ppl giving you all sort of nonsense, just bear with it for this short period of time.

Before GDL, did ur MIL request for a gold chain? If not, I guess it be better to ask ur hubby to tell his mum.

Get ur hubby or a close fren to help u in the wedding preparation.

I dun have anyone to help me too & i just ask around & buy those things that are needed.

emeraldbride

apple, cheer up ok.. y ur MIL blame you? Just because of a gold chain?? Look forward.

Last week liao.. next week is to go for facial, dental appt, eyebrow trimming, waxing, etc etc.wonder got time for massage / spa or not

bluerosie

apple:bound to have such things happen de...I also experience GDL woes sigh...coz this kind of thing v sensitive..I also coordinating my wedding tho many offered help..v fast will be over ya..patpat

saggiegirl

Apple> dun cry... better ask ur jiemei/close cousins etc to help u ok? .... *pat pat*.... and we are avail to help u in advising here and there lar...

hapiley

Apple> dun be sad and stressed.. Cheer up and try to enjoy the rest of the process.. For me,I jus had my actual wedding last Fri and also been busy till the very last min.. try to "book" your close friends to be your jiemeis and ask them to help you with some of the things... dun worry, things will be smooth smooth for you one.... :D

hapiley

I truely agree that table arrangement can be one of the biggest headache in the whole preparation process.. For me, right till the actual day itself, im still receiving sms and calls from invited guests that they cant make it for the dinner.. and best thing, some dont even bother to call and inform.. so end up, I had tables with 3 or 4 pax and then it is difficult to put them together 'cos they are from both my husband and my friends..

And I also remember that when I am inviting my office colleagues, they still can come to me and asked who will they be sitting with or they will tell me that they do not want to sit with so-and-so in the same table! At that moment, i feel like telling them that this is my wedding and not company dinner and dance leh... haha...

But luckily the rest of the things went on smoothly and we had a great dinner with all the well wishes from our friends and relatives...:D

saggiegirl

hapiley> ya lor...i do agree... sometimes guest listings can change even till 7.30pm... got a fren whole family cannot come, but she ask a fren to pay for her angpao 1st
... but generally small hiccups are managed by hubby & parents....

office colleagues wise still OK...but some give miserable angpaos...

overall things went quite smoothly...just collected my AD photos and slowly relishing those fun & memorable moments!

saggiegirl > Don't worry abt those small hiccups, everything is over ... and for miserable ang pow, return them the favor if possible, whahahahahahahaha.

How come your wedding got a big big bear bear moscot?

limis

Hi hi...long time didnt chat here coz of all the crazy arrangements and planning!!

I'm so stressed out that huge pimples are popping up all over my face =( feel like just running away at times

limis

Hi hi...long time didnt chat here coz of all the crazy arrangements and planning!!

I'm so stressed out that huge pimples are popping up all over my face =( feel like just running away at times

cluelessoink

charmine: my hokkaido trip is planned by my friends who are staying in tokyo... so i just left the whole arrangement to them. think we are going with the local land tour bah.... taking a flight up to hokkaido not bullet train.

shir: hehehe. enjoy! I am only there from 28 to 31 dec. then back in tokyo. celebrating nye with my friends in tokyo.
yeap.. i went to the JTB office and check out @ Ion. heng... almost spurge on the rail pass which they advised me not to.

apple: hugs hugs! dont let these unhappiness get in the way. get your hubby and your jiemeis to help out. hang in there...

emeraldbride: relax and be a happy bride. :D i hope our florist is not too drunk to do our floral arrangements and car deco. he did mentioned that he will be drunk on christmas eve... scary thoughts! :X

elenng09

Hi apple, cheer up. My GDL also got problem even tough i already follow what my PIL want but whole family still scolding and complain. I just don't care n close my ear, cos my wedding just 1 week to go. So just try stay out of trouble.

I also don't have anyone to help haiz... don't have any friends or relatives here, until now still got so many things haven't done yet. Can't find wedding cake every store reject me cos christmas event.

I don't even have honeymoon cos my MIL keep telling and forcing my hb there's no need to go honeymoon cos she also never go honeymoon before.

And my bridal keep changing the words. Now i confuse cos i need to buy everything my bridal said gonna provide for us.

Stressss... don't know what to do.

weddingdoll

My wedding was exactly last sunday!
It was a great smooth day. all thanks to my JieMeis. altot there were small hicups, like the lift broke down! I lived on 25th! and my groom had to climb up.. OMG.. but still. <3 <3
i guess I wont be coming into this thread anymore.. so good luck to all dec09 BTBs
wish u girls have a wonderful day!

cheers and god bless all!

junel

HIHI!!
I'm back from Phuket!!!
here very quiet already hor...

Ladies Jia You!! Dun let the small small things dampen your spirits ok?? i also have a lot of last minute things cock up and things didn't go the way i want... but no choice... its over!!

Hi gals... I m back on Sat... busy with settling the housework before returning back to work today... Enjoyed my honeymoon and HB surprised me with some weddings gifts along the way...
Shep and Clueless Oink: kinda of saw the msg a bit too late, do you gals still need the reminders?

Enjoy the planning gals... It will soon be over before u know it... Enjoy the aisle walking... both my HB and I think it is the best moments..

pinkpt: I wld suggest that you change into a simple hairstyle for the 3rd march in... not necessary to change makeup but perhaps remedy a little foundation and lip gloss, it is to save time and it will turn out to be fine as well..

akino

hey how are you ladies? just got back from Honeymoon this morning. very very fun! worth it. but spent alot... now gotta eat bread everyday liao. my wedding was also ok. a little hiccups sure have. but overall it was consider ok. uploading my photos in FB. hehe

Congrats to all Dec brides. stress for 1 week then after wedding will be ok. During my AD ppl still SMS me giving some reasons that they couldn't make it for my wedding and its like 1/2 a table. (same table) so coincident. then gotta re arrange again. we didnt get to rest after the tea ceremony loh. then suddenly dinner some bring their maid along, didnt tell us.... haiz... u all should know how i feel liao. and some didnt turn up also nv say. just no show! angry loh. so after the wedding we know who are nice and who are the bad ones.... hummm.....

saggiegirl

Charmaine> u can use photostory to do
... remember to check with ur hotel on the projector aspect ratio... if not the images played may be "stretched" ....

akino> haha... we spent some $$ also
but worth it
starting to miss Korea &amp; Jeju... bought Jeju chocolates, and other goodies... and cosmetics from Myeong-dong... very cheap compared to SG pricing....

AD photos, morning express video, honeymoon photos all up in FB liao... now waiting for the actual videos to be edited by my VG...

ya ...during AD, i also have ppl SMSing that they are unable to make it, but they got "deposit" angpao with frens etc to make up lor...so in the end we breakeven for banquet... many relatives and frens came by early to join in and so we started on time for dinner... all guests were surprised by the arrival of Snoopy as my bday surprise...hee hee...

lalaa_27

yayy my boss approved my leave for honeymoon next mth!
now juz praying for group size..

so anyone else promoted yet?
andy back from honeymoon oredi?

noknok

Juski, I find it super slow leh...super tired throughtout the day still have to work.. sigh.. not like you, tai tai life.. I'm already looking forward to my four months leave...

Lalaa.. Congrats!!! have back up plan lah... go on your own if no group.

octo

Hihi All,

Im back!! Hee.. we had 2 nights stay at the hotel, so only checkout today.

Everything went very smoothly. The only thing that got me slightly worried was the weather cause it was raining dogs &amp; cats the day before. We're soooo happy that the weather was great on Sun, its very sunny and slightly breezy. With such good weather, we went out for photoshoot in the morning. Hee..

The whole event was over before we realised it. We are so glad that the brothers and sisters were quite experienced with helping out on weddings and managed to handle alot of stuff on their own. I didnt have to worry about anything for the whole day. Hee.. just concentrate on smiling the whole day, even the emcee also commented that I was smiling so happily the whole night. Hehee..

For our banquet, we managed to earn abit. Hee.. comments on the food was great too. We are also blessed with a great banquet manager, who took charge and was fully control the whole event. My brothers &amp; sisters were able to sit down and enjoyed the dinner after our 1st march-in (less arranging for the table photoshoot).

During the wine toasting, we had quite a number of brothers, sisters, friends and relatives on the stage. And the three yam-seng was really solid and long. We had never heard such loud and long yam seng. Both of us standing right-infront of the stage were quite surprised and happy as the yam-seng was really solid and it kinda symbolises the well-wishes &amp; blessings from all our friends &amp; relatives. Hehee.. even our emcee also gave us the very impressed look during the yamseng.

The chef-in-charge of the banquet also made our day special by serving 2 type of desserts for both VIP tables as we cant make up our mind on the desserts during the dish confirmation, so we made special request to serve yam paste for only the bridal table and mango sago with ice-cream for the rest of the tables. But after changing to our 3rd outfit, the banquet manager informed us that the chef decided to serve both yam paste &amp; mango sago for both VIP table. Hee.. the chef even came out to talk to us just before the dessert was served

The banquet manager also timed all the dish serving for the guest table to ensure that we can finish all the dishes (those set aside while we went for changing) and eat both desserts before going out to send-off the guest. We had a timeline sheet but we didnt follow it at all. During the hotel briefing that hb attended without me (I was waiting for MUA at the room), the banquet manager told hb that we can just leave everything to him and just be happy and enjoy the dinner. True enough, he is experienced enough to let us know when to leave for gown changing, march-in, cake-cutting, yam seng, send-off etc. Our banquet started at around 815pm and ended around 1030pm. We were so delighted as its Monday the following day, so we're worried that the dinner might end late and our guests might leave early. 1030pm is really just nice, all our guests stayed thoughout the whole dinner. We managed to talk to them briefly during the send-off. We're really glad to choose Marina Mandarin as our dinner venue.
Our mini band cum emcee also made our day special with their live interaction with the guest, allowing the guest to send in song requests. We didnt have any childhood montage, morning express or cartoon animation, so I was alittle concerned initially whether the dinner will be bored. But the guests' commented that the whole event was very well-coordinated and they really enjoyed the whole dinner. Good food, great ambience and live entertainment. Some guests told us that its a great wedding dinner and 'well-done' during the send-off. We're so happy to hear that.

On the whole, the whole day started and ended well. We're both quite happy that everything went on very smoothly and infact better than expected as we didnt really spent alot of time planning for this event. Hee..

To the rest of the btb here, I hope your wedding day will also be as smooth and remember to enjoy yourself on that day. Good luck!!

journey

Hi Shir, Me too! I had a great day on Sunday and back from hotel today after 2 night stay!
Am very glad i have Digio and Amara Singapore. My banquet manager is Wonderful!

taime81

Suzanna &amp; saggiegirl > The bridal pics I did it using photostory too and converted to dvd. But hubby find it too plain blah blah then ask me make nicer. Sian.... He talk i do the work. Need anothe montage for childhood till rom kind.