(2009) Brides of year 2009

noknok

lalaa.. yah loh.. still have one more pending.. Doc still asked me if I can dun go but then he realised it's my wedding banquet then he say.. like that bo bian already.. hopfully I can get more MC from doc this sat.. super duper tired nowadays.

Andy.. haha.. the next time going around to visit his relatives, I'll be showing already.. think the question will be when am I due.. haha..

Ling: How was ur GDL?

crazelil: Glad that ur MU was on time..

I had finished the big day of my life on Sat...
Everything was perfect for me too... I set off from my parents' place at about 6:40 AM, reached in laws place at about 7 plus, went temple before proceeding place to my parents' place for the tea ceremony... Checked in hotel at abt 1:30 PM, took a nap and freshen up for the evening... did my evening MU at about 4:00 PM. Though there was a jam leading to Hilton Hotel, my banquet starts at 8:30 PM and we finished at about 11:15 PM... The service and food was great and I kept my guests well entertained with 5 videos and a continuous ongoing SMS system.
Made 3 entrances and it was realli fun for me to stop and taking pics along the aisle at my last entrance.

cherie81

Lucky I got many frens to comfort me. Overall is was a wonderful day. Keep on playing back the morning highlight and my husband singa every morning.

saggiegirl

littlewoman> freegoer prepared a bday surprise with entrance by Snoopy (human size)...and all the kids get to take free photos with Snoopy

weddingdoll

Count downing..! another 4days to go! omg
i m very scare now. im scare of leaving my parents and go live with (pratically) strangers! (the inlaws)

Doll: Try to relax.. Though I am living with my parents, I can understand ur anxiety... Don't think too much and u will be feeling much better...
Hope preps are 95% completed for you?

cherie81

Mine is not a honeymoon. Cos going with his whole family to China to visit his ancestors. Leaving this sat. Totally mood to pack. I havent even unpack my wedding stuff. Our real honeymoon is next year. But I also looking forward to this trip with the big family.

Cherie: I see... which part of China will you be heading? How many days?
Everyday is a honeymoon if HB and us are this sweet ya? keke...

GReat to hear that Ling... will you be posting the pics on FB?

cherie81

littlewoman> Going to shantou and follow by many parts of China and last hongkong. Going 13 days. Total 14 pple going. Should be quite fun.

Have a good trip Saggiegirl...

Cherie: I see... I will be staying in HK till 19 Dec... Heard that China and HK are rather cold now... remember to bring more warm clothings.

junel

Wow... ladies.. your hubby so good... prepared a surprise for you... only i give him surprise on that day... think he will not give lo... i 1.5 yrs ago already tell him that i wanted him to write a song for us... now he kept on telling me that he can't produce it... sad...

Cherie.. is there any misunderstanding between both of you?? Dun be disheartened. try to sort it out lo... True friendship are hard to get..

Mine is another 4 more days!! hahaha... a lot of thing haven't do!!

octo

LW> 5 videos + SMS system... waa.. your guests are surely well-entertained. Good to see you back also. When are you going to HK? Tonight?

Doll> Calm down. Think most gals will feel that way when we first part with our family. I felt like this when I just shifted to my new place. Don't worry, just tell yourself that you can see / return to your parents' place anytime. Its very convenient in Singapore.

Saggie> Thats cute.

Cherie> Waaa... 14pax.. still be quite fun to travel in a big group. Think its going to be a very interesting trip to go back to visit the hometown/ relatives there. Really feel like they are accepting you into the big family.

Junel> Mine is another 11 days.. 6.5 more working days.. hee.. so excited. But I got quite alot on my list to do still.. hahaa

Shir: How's preps going for you? Mus be feeling excited while awaiting for the big day... keke..

Haha.. in a way... my guests were nv bored (heard from them)... keke.. I am flying this Sat... Looking forward to it... kinda of shopping trip I guess..
Already started shopping yesterday while on leave... Back at work today, restless... keke..

alxhan

hey!
Haha! Ling, i agree with you. The wedding.com dont allows photos that are larger than 5mb, so you can try to resize it before uploading

bliss_bb

ashley> yup.. hhumm... but then now too busy to do it... whahahaa

Littlewoman> I trying to upload them since morning til 4.30pm... faint.... take quite awhile to upload it...lol

cherie81

littlewoman> Ya heard that is very cold 2 weeks ago but now seem like not so bad already. But we also worry the temperature fluctuation.

Junel> Is not only me who kena something from her. The other girl was also complaining to me the next day.

Shir> Ya big group. But I havent wash my clothes. :p Havent pack.
Bought alot of vacumm bag hopefully can squeeze in all stuffs.

Ling> I use Microsoft Powertoys. Very easy to use. Just right click.

octo

Saggie> Not sure if you will come in today cause you flying tonight. Just want to check with you about the manicure & pedicure at AMK hub, is it good? And which one did you went to?

elenng09

Hi Shir & Ling & everyone,

Need help i'm not singaporean, i don't understand abt the culture here so got big problem on GDL. GDL is the exchange stuff right? usually 1 week before wedding is it?

Usually what we need to give to the man side? Cos right now man side asking for 8 ang pao beside other stuff they said for (his ah ma, father, mother, jie mei 2person, to my hubby, for buy his shoes, clothes, and for him to buy land). My mom now very confuse cos never heard man side special asking for ang bao, all my relatives and my mom friends laugh. It's so embarrassing.
My hb mom insist she said her friends say must ask all of that and i am lucky already cos they only ask for 8 ang bao not 9.

They so stubborn can't discuss at all.

Is it really like that? My side not even asking for extra ang bao they only gives us normal pin jin.

Then how much should i put on each ang bao? Any suggestion?

Please help...

octo

Hi Elen,

Our GDL is based on the auspicious date provided by our geomancer. I think no fixed date on 1week before or so, but usually GDL is around the period 1month before the actual day. Mine is around 2weeks+ before the wedding date.

For our GDL, my mum (bride side) gave 4 towels + 4 ang bao to the groom side. These are for the elders in the groom family. We gave four because there are only meant for his grandfather, grandmother, mother, father. From what we understand, only for those more 'senior' than my hb. Meaning, if my hb have elder brother, we also need to give.

The angpao that comes with the towel is to replace the shoes. We are using angbao to replace the shoes as its difficult to help people to buy shoes. My mum also bought a pants and a pair of shoes for hb.

Besides that, according to tradition, the brides side also will have to provide for all the bedding accessories, e.g. bedsheet cover, mattress, pillows, blankets. My mum gave an angbao to replace that as well. Did they also ask for this?

My mum also used an angbao to replace those face basin, baby shower tub etc because these are supposed to be provided/buy by the brides side and give to the groom side. Did your in-laws ask for this as well?

Actually there are still many others, such as sewing kits/machines, home slippers, mirror, comb, spittoon, ruler etc etc, to be provided by the bride side. But we kinda skipped them. So I think it really depends on the families' request.

I am not sure how much my parents put into each angbao, my hb handles the finances for us. I also didnt ask him. Maybe I should ask him. heehee..

For us, our GDL is quite smooth, because we didnt really expect both sides of the parents to prepare those items on their own. Our plan was to get the list from both sides, buy them all and give to the respectively sides their requested items. But my mum who is more enthusatic went to prepare everything and is more than happy to go source for items herself.

My in-laws doesn't even know what's the items that my mum requested. hee.. likewise, my inlaws didnt really request for any item, we just coordinate the items with my mum on those common stuff.

If your mum side doesn't want to give angbao, she can buy the 'real' stuff for the GDL. Angbao is commonly used nowsaday to avoid the hassle of getting the real thing and 'avoid the wastage' because after the GDL, usually no one use them. Hee.. but if your relatives feel funny to use angbao, just buy the real thing. Hee.. then that's going through the real chinese custom.

Every dialect have their different practises, so got to depend on your hb's dialect group as well.

When's your wedding? Don't worry too much, everything will work well.

elenng09

Hi Shir,

Thanks for ur reply.
For the bedding accessories we buy ourselves. For face basin and other small stuff don't have. Is their first time. My mom didn't ask anything.

My wedding near the end of December. Got so many trouble so stresss.

Happy can share a bit, cos no friends here.

journey

Congrats everyone... after reading all the posts. I'm getting excited!!! I just had my GDL and An Chuang last sunday. and waiting for my AD to arrived in a weeks plus time...

bliss_bb

Hi Elen, do refer to Shir explanation abt GDL = )

As for Ang bao, it all depend on individual request. as for my hubby side, they asked for 3 Ang bao (his parents and grandmother). Other stuff like 2 bottles of oranges juice and some other stuff. My mummy also give 1 more ang bao for my hubby to buy pant.

In additional to that, my mummy return part of pin jin, oranges and cakes. She bought me a tea set which was given during GDL so that I can use it for Actual day tea ceremony at hubby's side.

http://woyaojiehunle.blogspot.com/2008/04/preparation-for.html

bliss_bb

littlewoman> As your parents help you & hubby to An Chuan, on that day of An Chuan, was ur hubby ard in the room with ur parents?

When can we light up the wedding lamp? Who can on it? Is it on AD morning when both of you enter the wedding room or after An Chuan, the wedding lamp can be light on?

My An Chuan is on Sat and AD is on Monday. I got different advise thus I'm totally confuse now.

Ladies, would appreciate your advise if you've come across similar case like mine. Thanks

greentwinkle12

hey Ling> hubby parents did the An Chuan for us, both of us not in the room.
As for light lamp, my parents in law will light them up the night before wedding. And leave it on for the next 2-3 nights.

another 10 days to my AD.. today just confirmed the booking of wedding car.. due to some last minute changes.. lucky we are able to find one from weddingcars.sg..

octo

Ling> For us, we will probably light up the lamp when he fetch me over on AD morning. Thats what my BIL did, so we just follow.

Greentwinkle> I think yours is 1 day before mine. Hee.. what's on your check list now? Hee.. checking around in case missing out some stuff.

greentwinkle12

Shir> mine's 19dec.
- We are left with finalisation of seating arrangement & confirming with hotel on cfmed no. of tables
- AV testing next week
- gotta change money for Ang Bao
- got to pack stuff into luggage to bring to hotel
- Get wines & liquor
- this wkend go do my hair
- next week to do manicure & pedicure
- final briefing to XDs and JMs

do share yours too.. we can double check.

octo

Greentwinkle> Ermm... I just did up the checklist.. and somehow it went from A to Z again. Umm.. think I got to buck up again.

a) Arrange for final fitting for Hb’s suit, will get fathers to go along for their jacket.
b) Collection of gowns, suits, bouquet, flower corsage for family and mini album
c) Buy hb's shirt, bride's kwa shoes, new undergarments etc..
d) Liaise with mini band to confirm timing, songs etc..
e) Confirm timing with bridal MUA
f) Start on thank you speech
g) Finish up the Angbao box - currently 90% done
h) Finish up the PS slideshow
i) Arrange for AV testing with hotel?
j) Work on AD schedule & dinner program
k) Type out the guest list
l) Get floor plan from hotel & prepare the table arrangement
m) Confirm table number with hotel
n) Prepare angbao for AD (ie. Change for new notes, confirm the no. of ABs & buy the packets)
o) Confirm traditional items to bring over by hb on actual day
p) Book appt for manicure & pedicure
q) Email VG & PG to finalise the AD details
r) Arrange for temp. credit limit increase with credit card co. and hotel coordinator (cause we're planning to keep all the points to a single card.. hee..).
s) Work out the list of item to bring on AD (e.g. what items for stayover bag)
t) Work out the duties of XDs & JMs
u) Meet up with the XDs & JMs to finalise the details on AD schedule & duties
v) Confirm transport arrangement for XDs & JMs in the morning as well as Parents’ transport to hotel in the evening
w) Prepare HM stuffs (such as clothings etc)
x) Change money for HM
y) Clean and tidy up the house (a lot of boxes still lying around after our house moving)
z) Inform our renovator to do some rectification before the actual day (quite tight, not sure if he can make it)

cluelessoink

hai! I am sick with flu..
think got lots of things to be done but haven't reallee do much yet lol!!!

i haven't done the slideshow ...

tick tock tick tock time is running out.

GDL is this sunday.

weddingdoll

i am DIY-ing my cupcake stand today.
SO frustrated with my cupcake caterer! and they dont come cheap ok!! $3 per cupcake. and I though they were good.

Now as the date is nearer, they told me the additional $30 i paid was only for DELIVERY. if SET UP, is add another $50. wtf...
and if wanna rent the tier, must deposit $100. thats understandable. but the $50 to setup wasnt told to me when i ordered from them.

and just this morning, i recieved a email telling me to make FULL PAYMENT ($270) to them BEFORE they delivery the cupcakes. WTF

To my understanding, most food caterers only recieve full payment after delivery lor. and all these wasnt told to me when i ordered and paid deposit with them! I feel so angry.

They should had written a black and white agreements for such orders ma. to avoid such misunderstandings etc. I really feel like i am kanna cheat or something lor.

*ANGRY!!!* and now i have to go DIY my own cupcake tier cause i REFUSED to pay them $50 just to place a few cupcakes on a tier. nor am i willing to place $100 with them to rent the tier. just incase they come up with some funny rules again and I dont get to see my $100 ANYMORE!