(2009) Brides of year 2009

saggiegirl

greentwinkle> dunnoe my FIL & MIL say "closed" for 3 days lar ...diff folks got diff "logic"

so for us we alrdy "bunked" into our kiddy room to sleep... just that sleeping with our honeymoon luggage is a bit cramped lar...but got to tahan lor...

5 more days to go!

greentwinkle12

haha ok! my parents dunno such traditions.. MIL also hearsay from others.. hmm..

Littlewoman & saggiegirl > all ready for AD ya

Congrats once again!! =)

Saggiegirl: same here... My mum also want me to close my bridal room for 3 days... probably there is really logic behind it..

greentwinkle: thanks.. I am counting down... *excited*

junel

Akino, my VG is milder then yours cos We will be met up at Yew Tee Mac and it is at his place lo... but from office (Clementi) to Yew Tee still ok la...

My first meeting is at PS then Bishan then the rest of the meeting at Yew Tee. He gave me reasons like he is meeting his clients at Yew Tee hence would not be able to make it at town area... Hai... dun want to make things worse we just go ahead cos got car. hehehe... some 'artist' very attitude one la...

Just met up with my banquet coordinator yesterday!! a few things i need to make amendments...

Ashley.. dun scratch ar... just leave it there... eat more bird nest or aloe vera to smoothen your skin..

An Chuang hor.. buy what ar?? my mum brought le.. but hor dunno whether correct a not...
Sweets + Charcoal + beans + Da Yuan + Xiao Yuan + a plate. Anything else? what to do with these? just put there? actually i dun even know how to do the ceremony!!

My GDL this sat!!!

And i'm done with my surprised for my hubby hahhaa... shoik!! that's the one i worry the most!! hahaha

I still have 20+ ppl haven't confirm with me!! sianz... need to rush them le.. hahaha

saggiegirl

Junel> An chuang items ...check with those traditional shops lor...they will advise u

me woke up too early today for An chuang
... now feeling a bit headache and sleepy...

now preparing toiletries for hotel stay & honeymoon...

swthrt

I'm also having my GDL this sun..AD on 22/12.. =)
Could someone advise me if we need to present towels for FH's sis, aunts & uncles?
Is it necessary to put red dates & lotus seed in the teaset?
Did all bought the traditional set of dowry or any simpler version cos i'm very confused of what to have & mum also not experience wor!!
Sorry for asking so much Q!

Junel: Check with some old folks... They will be able to know...

Jenny: Our parents have to give towels, shoes to our in-laws / siblings for GDL, these items can be replaced with red packets. I did put red dates and lotus seeds in the teasest before passing it to my in-laws. This is tea that we have to make at our in-laws side on our AD... As for SDJ, I leave it to my in-laws and they bought me a rather modern set of gold...

emeraldbride

ask u gals, for GDL, do the groom side give bride side chicken in the form of ang pow? my mom says my BIL gave her ang pow for that last time but now my MIL refuse to give leh n when i told my mom, she is not very happy abt it..

i m so stressed up now.. i can feel that my heart beating so fast!!

ixoral

Congrats everyone!! Finally over! What a relief. Well not exactly over...marriage is a new beginning =)

evelyn: not started on plan B. cos honeymoon only next year... i dont want to get preggie b4 honeymoon...haha

akino

emeraldbride> is like tat de.. my mother in law wanna add things then i told her to call my mother herself. just tell her u dunno what is it about... once my mother in law step in our house for Ti qing session. we haven started anything she told us that they dont practice si dian jing. wah i fed up until nw. how about ask ur mother to call ur mother in law herself? i think its better.

we gave 2 chicken and 2 sugar cane in form of AP.
and MIL and FIL shoes in APs too.

akino

jenny> my mom just gave them in packets.

LW> lucky u got a good PG

junel> too bad we got this kind of PG.... argh.

akino: oh... hmm.. didn't hear of the chickens before.. what is the meaning behind it? For my case, my GDL was rather simplified... 2 bottles of VSOP, cans of pig trotters, SDJ, candles, cakes and mandarin oranges...

swthrt

Thanks for all the advices.
But what about the jia zhuang that we need to bring over to inlaw house? What should be included?

alxhan

Babyfaery,
Yup! I love Chris's work. Oh Sky, one of my gown throwing was done by her. Keke! I saw her works too. They are good as well. Bet you will be excited.

My AC is on this coming Thurs. Wow, don't know what's going to happen, as i still have to go for spa, manicure, pedicure, and then now with my face like that. No makeup... makes me ultra sian.
Haven pack the luggage. Haven collected gowns. Haven prepare ang baos. Ahhh~ Busy!

I am going for facial later. Hope it will get better. To make things worse, i am down with sore throat and flu.

h2hm2m

Hihi everyone...tot this thread has closed cos no one posted anything for so long. Had a pleasant surprise when i came in n see so many postings.

How's everyone?
Lalaa, nope, we're nt trying for baby lar. stil njoying our newlywed life. N all our attention is on our kitty.

We got our AD fotos & videos exactly 2 mths aftr wedding day. Posted some on FB. It's nice looking at those fotos & videos again. At least it helps to recollect what exactly happened the whole day,esp towards the end of the evening when sights were getting alittle fuzzy :p

So when when?when r we meeting up?shall we just set a date?
4dec(fri)
7dec(mon)
8dec(tue)
10dec(thur)
11dec (fri)

Ashley: do take care...

Jenny: I remember we are not suppose to go our in-laws place on GDL.... but in return, my parents gave back red packets for the towels etc, 2 bottles of oranges, 8 cakes, 8 cans of pig trotters, pin jin and of course the phonenix candles.
I think we are suppose to buy along children's potty etc... I omitted this for my part..

akino

yes jenny as what LW said. we are not suppose to go over. that time my Hb brought back a basket(ang paos for my MIL and FIL shoes, 2 bottles of syrup, long feng candles,red dates, longan, and dunno what kuay, return some oranges, pin jing return a little, mother bought him a pants, return 2 cans of pig trotters and 2 cake vouchers).
From him> 2 martell, 12 oranges, 22 cakes but voucher instead, pin jin, ang bao for granny, 2 sets of candles, 12 cans pig trotters and MIL gave me a bangle. erm... that should be all ba. forgot le.

akino

oh ya my MIL told me that i only give her the ang paos for chicken n sugar cane on the wedding day when he comes n fetch me there.

dizonne

hihi all,
long time no login le...been busy wif new job..
i can meet anitime, anidae..coz now work OTOT...so let mi koe after you all hav decided on a date ba..

from wat i koe, aroh going HM smtime in Dec, but nt sure e exact dates wor..so need to check wif him again...n yuki got xmas chalet on 22 dec...cheng yee will be on leave nxt week...duno if she going aniwhe ma..

wat date u gals prefer? fridaes? or weekdaes?

journey

littlewoman & emeraldbride : Yes , groom side need to give the "chicken" . In olden days, they give real chicken and it will be placed under the bed. When i bought my GDL items last Fri, the shop owner told my hubby that nowadays everyone replace it with AP and need to place the AP below the matters.

greentwinkle12

erm.. U all mean that during gdl, when hubby bring things over, then the remaining stuff when he need to bring back home, i cannot follow him bring the things back ar??

sparkless

same here... not planning to embark on Project B so soon.

Waiting for the house renovation to be done and also honeymoon in Jan.

Forgot, there is an extra pants from my parents to my HB too...

Von: that I didn't do... keke..

greentwinkle: yes, not allowed... Coz in olden days, the bride will not go to groom's place till the AD...

journey

littlewoman: yup yup , extra pants. my MIL wants my mum to place the pants inside the Pig when we return the pig on AD. ha ha ha...*oily*

greentwinkle12

hmm.. tink both my sides not so traditional.
cos my mil still ask me bring back the things tgt with hubby and the meipo... and my mum also say...
aiya.. just do wadever they say.. haa..

chilaka

Hi Dec 2010 BTBs

Anyone interested to go to Perth in April 2010 for pre-wedding photoshoot?

I found a photographer who charges only $1250 for a 2 days photoshoot inclusive of makeup. We can share the cost of the air ticket for the photographer.

Please email me at [email protected] for more details of his works if you are keen.

swthrt

Thanks so much, now i got more understanding. =D Everything like so ma fan, initiately both mum & mil say simplifier but in the end want this want that.. Haiz..

peaberry

tulips > Just came back from my honeymoon in Australia! The wedding went really well, all on schedule and a few hiccups but overall pretty smooth.
Relieved that the wayang stuff is over and we can focus on being happily married!

Hope all Nov 09 brides had really memorable weddings!

Jenny: it is like this... the norm... "guo lai ren"... keke... Try to relax and listen to them... but my advice will be not to compromise everything... I didn't and thus, managed to simplify alot of things on my side...

bliss_bb

jaq> i bought a new tea set for hb side...

littlewoman> do we need to get back the tea set after wedding ceremony is over? Who will be keeping it after wedding?

bluerosie

littlewoman:this sun...any idea chong pang got sell the tea set? wonder got time to get it this wkend anot..coz I gg chong pang tonight to get tins of paint.

ling:icic.. no getting back the tea set ba I think..coz we need to get 1 set for our parents side as well

Jaq: Yes, I got my tea set from Chong Pang Market..
I only got 1 set, my Mum told me to use hers for my side... she says more meaningful; pass down generations... keke

Ling: Sure gal... As I will only be travelling on the 12 Dec, shall we meet up on 9 Dec (i.e. Wednesday)? We can go for salads if you are dieting...

Ling: Sure gal!!... As I will be more available, I will just block my date for you tentaively.. U confirm with me again ya... My ears are reserved for you that night...
Think our mums can be best friends... keke.. Got... I got most of the items from my dad's friend's shop... (such as fan, the umbrella etc)... as for the teaset, I got it near the stretch along OCBC bank..