(2009) Brides of year 2009

octo

Saggie> Which brand you bought? We buying the 'shui xian'/Narcissus brand. Hee.. got promotion at NTUC for this month (nov), original price 3.95, now 3.25. Save 70cents per can. Total saving = $21. Hee.. luckily we didnt buy earlier.

Jaslyn> We went for Narcissus brand cause think more tasty. Happened so that there is promotion for it now. Hee.. just nice.

jaslyn76

Shir> thks......mum onli told mi she wan pig trotters can.....not sure which she refering to....now i know wat to look for liao...haha

saggiegirl

Jaslyn> pork can got different brands, different pricing

my MIL works with a local supermarket chain, hence she knows it very well...and she has staff discount... hence she settled everything on her own
and she will buy big & nice oranges for GDL also

last week helped her to paste all the small xi stickers on the cans & prepare stuffs...i cannot remember which brand she buy coz me never notice

An chuang items MIL and hubby alrdy all settled... so just wait for the day and open up our nice mattress and new bedlinen and place new bolsters & pillows...

octo

Ling> Er.. for us, based on our modernise geomancer, we have already finished our an-chuang at our new house and infact sleep on it already. My geomancer's school of fs believe in having 'ren qi' after anchuang. So its a must to sleep on the bed after anchuang, cannot leave the bed untouched. Quite different frm the majority. We're ok with it as doing these also convenients us.

Im at work on the day of an-chuang-ing. My mum and hb do it together. Actually he want to do it himself, but my mum happened to be there. So she helped him with it. Hee.. I think it depends on you guys thinking and the practise that you believe in. For us, we are ok to accept this practise.

bliss_bb

shir> oic.. So happy for you to have your new hse before wedding = )

My new house will be ready in Yr 2013 which is still a long way to go

Saggie> oh yes, need to get the stuff for An chuan.. nearly slip of my mind

This world of fortune recommend us to buy this pink paper with chinese character & 12 animal Sheng xiao. According to him, this paper represent fu qi yuan fen (husband & wife). Suppose to put in on the bottom of the mattress during An Chuan.

Has anyone buy that paper?

saggiegirl

Ling> i dun think MIL & hubby bought the "paper"... they just buy the normal stuff...and dayuan, xiao yuan

hello> angpao has no "standard" rate...
it depends on ur budget, and how well u know the JM, XD etc

Ling: my mum dun seem to get it too... My mum said normal stuffs will do... But I wonder what did my MIL gets.... she hasn't show me yet...

emeraldbride

shir..i oso like you alr hv a house but we hv not an chuang. My geomancer oso modern type. Told us got bed alr, wat for sleep on the floor (after an chuang)..of course sleep on the bed lar. Hahaha.
An chuang will be done on 23 Dec by my mom n hb..cos i m working too. But I will not be sleeping in the hse alr..will checked into hotel to chu jia from thr. According to my mom, after an chuang and arranging of bridal room, bride cannot go in the room liao. So onie my hb will sleep on the bed..

taime81

shir / saggie > How much does yr emcee cost?

greenwinkle, ah blur, cheenapork > Can wait for me too. I also ordered from her in oct but mine not ready yet too.

Shir > My hubby got me sdj from Poh Heng Yishun too. That is before i know about the chinatown shop. Even with staff discount it is still quite a lot more expensive than chinatown shop. But poh heng box is a lot nicer.

taime81

Saggie > I think cousin serve tea is in the morning. During tea ceremony. Not sure if his side gonna have that. See how his cousin do it loh.

My dad say wedding cannot have 3,6,9.
2,4,8,12 is ok.
Anyone heard of that?

Charmaine: what is the no for?

Btw gals, can pass me the contacts for any freelance MUA? My friend told me last night that she can't do it for my mum n MIL... headache.

saggiegirl

charmaine> our emcee cost $500... he will handle everything in the evening banquet ... he has his own company

ya 3,6,9 are considered as unlucky numbers :S i also dunnoe y... i only know cannot have odd numbers

2 - twins/couples
4 - 4 seasons in a year
8 - prosperity
12 - 12 months in a year

taime81

saggiegirl > Thanx

littlewoman > The no is for return of gift for gdl etc.
I thought 6 is gd sound ^ "luck" but dad say cannot.

littlewoman > I can send you mine tonight, left my hp at home today.

greenwinkle, ah blur, cheenapork > My items from carol is ready for pickup tom. When are you all picking up? Wanna go tog?

octo

Ling> We didnt buy that paper also. Hee.. but there is an angbao that we need to bao and the amount inside must be multiples of 12 (to represent the 12months of the year). And this AB will be placed at the bed head until our wedding day is over.

Emerald> Hee.. good thing is my mum also modern type. So she just follow whatever the geomancer tells us.

Charmaine> We engaged a band for the night, so the fee of the emcee is quite reasonable. Hee.. yah, I also think the sdj box look quite nice. The gold increased to $56 already. Thanks for sharing the number, guess we will try to keep to these numbers for our ABs.

taime81

Wow gold price increase again! The first time i saw was $48 in sep, didn't buy regret, came back from taiwan, first thing i go buy was $50, then $51 last month.

My sis wanna give me ang pow but my mum insist she give me gold. Have go choose the gold from sister yet. Think got to ask my mum ask her give me cash better.

emeraldbride

369 is for coffin - if u buy 4D lar..hahaha. that's y my parents say...
So cannot give $68 as ang pow rite? My hb wanna give the jie mei n xiong di $88 each for helping on top of the amt 'extorted' from him..haha.

shir, how much u paid for the band??

bliss_bb

Charmaine> yes, the gold price was $56 last sunday.. We bought it at this price. MIL lucky cos she bought at $46 in June 09.

Shir> MIL bought it but I dun intend to use it for An Chuan

octo

Charmaine> Yes, luckily you bought them earlier, can save abit.

Emerald> Im not very sure. My hb's the one keeping tabs of finances. I think around 1K.

Ling> Er.. since she already buy, why don't you use it?

forever81

I am new here, AD on 5 Dec 09. Wanna ask if you have any lobang for MUA to do 2nd march in (change of hairstyle and touch up makeup)?
Budget ard $100.

yoyoyeo

has anyone started thinking about ang bao box? But I have not idea where to get those little bears (inexpensive ones) and decorations like little flowers etc.

saggiegirl

forever81> hello & welcome

yoyo> we alrdy hve done up our angpao box
the ribbons i bought from spotlight. cute bears are from a charity bazaar...

greentwinkle12

littlewoman> hmm.. i not sure about the angbao part leh. Mei Po is engaged from outside by MIL.. so she will prepare the angbao.

i think mei po from outside, there shld be a rate that we have to pay for their service..

IS yours from outside?

weddingdoll

i also dont have 'mei po' dont evne know whats her role. my mum say traditionally have
but we not v traditional.

think its only HTB.. and maybe his parents.. are his parents allowed? Traditionally?

akino

i see... then maybe i give 28 for emcees... hehe. die until now haven book cater yet... so cousins no need jing cha right?

our mei po is most likely to be his sister. according to his mum... and his sis is older than him by 9 yrs. should be ok ba.

blurbaby

well.. for my case.. mil is getting her friend who will act as the mei-po..

my album is ready for collection... give instruction to my brother to collect on my behalf... will be receiving my album later..

Charmaine..

we are planning to collect the corsage on Saturday...

saggiegirl > Wow, i can see u that your preparation work are almost done .... i am going food tasting this Sat. 28th Nov going for final fit and 5th Dec for gown collection.
Just worried not enough car to fetch some relatives and friends to the restaurant only as mine is a luncheon.
As for "long feng" candle, my wife say she want then i buy for her loh but for me, will be a simple combing ceremony like you.
*Oh shit* I have not finalise my sitting arrangement and guest list yet to confirm the number of tables.

ashley > Ha ha, thanks for the explanation ..... still got "hua zhu" to bring back from the bride's place, i still don't know.

taime81

ah blur > What time are you all going to collect on sat? I got to attend a lunch housewarming.

Hello, Little woman > My mua for my mum n jie mei is Alex Ho, 94339209. You can try calling him.

Clueless > Are you feeling better. Scratch, you can try apply aleo vera gel, aids in healing. My hubby apply the dainty aleo vera mask, got some rash on face after drinking a lot, he uses 1 of my mask he say rash disappear after 1 mask. He is very happy. And the mask is cheap, $0.90 per pc only. Cheap n gd.

sparkless

*wave*

just another 3 more days to 21 Nov. How's all the 21 Nov brides doing? Am pretty much relaxed now. Figure out if anything is not done, it is probably too late to do...

saggiegirl

Garfield> where got done
for me i break down the targets by daily basis esp for the last mth...

my own angpaos all settled.... hubby side, i dun care le .... no point taking care of both sides...haha... at most FMIL take care lor...

wah ur food tasting so late? we alrdy done in Aug 09 ....

2nite finalizing seating arrangements with hubby & FMIL after dinner at their place...

we are having 31 tables, of which 14+3 tables are relatives...

Clueless Oink> oh dear... are u still feeling pain?? quickly see a doctor and apply calming gel for ur scratches
... rest well at home and dun expose urself in the sun if u really need to go out