(2009) Brides of year 2009

happygal1

i've a very supportive sister. she always be there for me whenever i need help from her. i dont' face the problem with my 'sisters' they are all my colleagues.. they are always be there. i think i am too lucky

happygal1

hi gals.. i give out the card to guest only when they said they have no problem to attend my wedding lo. Those said they will be going for holidays, i won't give reserve their place.And i will also sms a reminder to all the guest again, maybe 5 days before the AD. Hope won't have so many empty seats..

christmas09

My MIL created another problem today. FT was last fri. Suddenly tell my hb that she wants to change the chicken dish to duck... Leave to my hb to handle her. Even the restaurant advised us to taste first before changing it.

saggiegirl

hello> that is a good way
for my colleagues, i plan to send out Outlook meeting invite to book their time..:p a bit "official" but bo bian...

Doll> of coz
wait for my 2nd posting of layout photos ya

octo

Good Morning All!

Wow.. I didnt log in here for 1 day and see so many postings. I also have my share of issues.

Charmaine> We decided to call the layout guy for a redo today. I hope that they can redo for us.

Ling> We decided to ask YC to redo the layout for us as we actually paid $500 for the design fee (we are transferred from another bs which charges us design fee for layout, my previous bs kinda merge with YC early this year). Initially, we intend to go for no layout (1page 1 pic kind) as hb doesn't like to have small pics. But we have paid the $500 design fee when we signed our contract as our previous coordinator from the ex-bs said we can decide later when we are at the photoshoot stage (meaning, can refund the $ if we didnt go for design layout). As you know, YC doesnt charge for design on layout, so after we learnt this, we're puzzled why are we paying for design when its foc for all the YC brides. Anyway, we didnt ask for FOC, we ask if we can go for no layout design and exchange the $ for more pics/ refund. But they doesn't allow us to refund the $500 or change for more pics. We just accept their decision and didn't fight for it/ argue with them, just treat as we pay for the layout design. But now that our layout design is so ugly. We think we will ask for redo as $500 is not very little. I'll phone them later, I hope that they allow us to redo as we only confirm on Last sat and they told us the collection is only ready in early dec, should be ok to ask for re-do right? I read that you have a good experience with the lady boss, Yvonne. Do you think it will help if I speak to her if they are hard on me?

Von> We're also worried about the food. We just had our FT on monday night and the food is really terrible. We're actually quite embarassed as both families are expected a good treat/meal from us and yet the food is so yucky. We're kinda worried now that the food will taste the same during Actual Day. My inlaws also ask us, how much per table for such standard. Its around 1K yet, the standard is like those very low-end ones.

Cherie> I understand how you felt during FT. Because during mine, my FIL was overseas hence, there's one empty seat. And I decided to leave it empty since it doesn't matter. And guess what? My bil went to invite his mil to my food tasting and tell my hb last min. My hb is a 'anything' guy, so he didnt reject it etc. I was quite pissed cause we doesn't know her at all and she never talk to both of us at all despite seeing her on afew occasion previously. She's my sil's mother. I really don't see why she should be there as we totally got no relationship. To me, I felt that FT is only for very close family members and everyone can eat at ease. If they have invite my hb's aunty etc, I can still accept. And yet they can still invite such a 'non-relation' person to my food tasting. They never tell us until the very last min, that is..when I reach home from work and changing to rush for the FT and my hb came to tell me this. I was so pissed that I almost didnt want to go for the FT. I really felt that its none of her business to be there. And true enough, when she was there, she never even speak to both of us. Spoilt my FT...

happygal1

my FT is good. even my MIL said it's good. hope they can maintain this standard on AD as it's really too many getting married on that day. they've seven groups

saggiegirl

Shir> i see i see
for us FT is my parents, in-laws, me, hubby, hubby's sis, hubby's sis's hubby
8 pax and eat 10 pax meal... the FT was v good for us... eat till so full that we slept only at 12am...

i am sure YC can do a good job for u
dun worry that much

octo

hello> Good to hear that your FT went smoothly. Yah.. no point getting angry over this woman. Kinda cool down after 2 days. Now more worried about the layout design, will call them later. I really hope there's no hiccups on it.

octo

Saggie> Thanks for the comforting words. I just saw your layout, very nice. Umm.. you wrote 'sneak preview', meaning there's some more layout which you have not posted right? Hee.. happy to see that your layout is so nice, but mine is.... sigh.. praying hard that they can do it for me later.

saggiegirl

hello> thanks
we like the layout very much too and no changes made to the original layout at all...

will be collecting the actual album this coming sunday together wif final fitting

happygal1

gals, any one know where is selling the cotton long-fong bedsheet ? i don't want the silk type . my MIL insists to get long feng bedsheet. headache..

saggiegirl

Shir> no worries... it is good that u let out ur views here and there... we always lend u a "listening ear" lar... good way to relieve stress!!

our layout has 20 files... so wat i upload is half of it

saggiegirl

hello> u mean the dragon & phoenix bedsheet ah
... u can try chinatown shops selling traditional wedding items
they carry those...

for us we buy the aussino bedsheets with red cute couple and xi wording .... simple & nice

happygal1

saggie girl> i've been there before. but they are selling silk type. i would like to find the cotton type.

i also want to buy simple xi wording type bedsheet. but my MIL insists 'long feng'... so 'bo bian'

saggiegirl

hello> cotton type v difficult to find
silk with long feng looks nice
cotton it depends on the threadcount... the higher the threadcount, the more expensive it is

long feng v difficult to find liao... i dunnoe if the Bukit Timah Plaza shop selling wedding stuff still got sell or not...

bliss_bb

Shir> I believe it can be done since the collection is in early Dec. You can approach the lady boss to see what she can do to help you. I believe that she also wants the best for all the YC couples to be happy with the service provide by her BS

Von: Don't be overly worried... Ppl have different perspectives and expectations when it comes to food...

Doll: I've just collected one set of my photo album last week and gonna to collect my 2nd set this coming Fri... Kept looking at it and my HB laughed at me for being so "zi nian"..

ahblur: It is a little harder to arrange any outings for a group of people in a way... Just get a date where most people can make it and proceed with it. Most imptly you get to enjoy yourself, don't be too stress or upset with it..

octo

Ling> Appreciate your fast reply. I was quite anxious to hear from you. I'll call them later and update you again. Really hope that they can help us on it as our album will reflect their work as YC and not the old bs.

Saggie> Thanks! Wow.. you got another 10 more nice nice layout. That's good. Now after seeing yours and the others' layout, at least we can roughly tell how those nice ones look like and that some of the stuff that we wanted initial is actually 'do-able' and not constraint by software limitation. Previously, we also don't know what to tell and don't know what are the do-able/ no do-able. Just felt that ours look ugly but don't know how to improve on it.

saggiegirl

ahblur> ya lor... for me, i arrange separate meetings aft work to meet with my AM & evening helpers... very tiring but i guess i have no choice...

Von> dun worry too much about food
ppl dun pay much attention to food as long as it is palatable
ppl focus more on deco, and the couple

Shir> yup... :p actually can do de... typically ur photos shd have some kind of storyline and they should do some design to enhance it

jascmy

reine, what kind of compensation did the hotel gave you?? We have just talk to the Manager. Waiting for their reply now.

Yeah, my honeymoon coming soon. Just went for the briefing on the trip yesterday.

bliss_bb

Von> Total agree with what littlewoman said. Don't be overly worried...

Shir> yes, i agree with u abt the layout cos if it is not done nicely, it will affect YC reputation. Dun worry and will hear good news from you. Perhaps you can take a look at Saggie's wedding photos layout, all of them are nice, you may want to consider making the adjustment of the layout base on that.

I yet seen my layout and it be ready ard 2 weeks time thus i am not able to provide you with the layout.

ladies, if you've your PS layout, do share with Shir so that she can have a better idea how it can be done = )

haha... Congrats Junel..

Shir: I am waiting for my softcopy to come back on my album layout... Will upload them when I receieved it.

octo

Saggie> Yes, I didn't know can add those blink blinking 'icon' or flower icon at the corners etc.. and some simple bordering to highlight the pics. Mine is totally without those, just frame frame kind.

Ling> Thanks. I'll call them at noon later to check. Very anxious now. Hope I don't have to speak to Yvonne (because that means that they reject my request).

LW> Thanks. Really appreciate it.

ixoral

ya i also need to change for new notes and put into angbaos..must do by this wkend liao. Havent burn those songs to play for the banquet! Procrastinated long enough liao.. :X Then still got speech, montage, and the forever changing table arrangements.

My an chuang is this coming friday.. MIL say can only do from 9am to 5pm. Hb and i were like...err no need to work ah? think i'll just sacrifice abit and go to work after 9am..

btw do u girls mind sharing how much angbao u giving to the XD and JM? I'm think along the line of $50 each. and for my main coordinators i will give $80. how abt u guys? trying to find out the market rate...hee

Hi ixoral, yes I'm thinking along the same lines. Considering the fact that I have bought my bridesmaids each a dress (abt $300) i think it's sufficient. As for the main co-ordinator, I am also thinking of giving approx. $80 cos will be buying a gift of abt $200-300.

Argh!! my exams will only end next week leaving me approx 2 week to settle whatever I need to do. THink I'm uber SLOW.

octo

Doll> Thats nice. You're very creative. For us, our bouquet is inclusive in the bs package already, so no need to get outside. Why are you selling? You made extra with the materials?

christmas09

Just got a call from the restaurant. They told me their chief chef specialise in cantonese crusine not hokkien. And the dish my MIL wanted is Hokkien dish. Told me better try first before confirm changing. Plus must add another $10 for each table for the change of dish. Sianz....

taime81

Jennifer > I also always looking at my softcopy. =) LOL. Love it a lot.

Hello > I'm using microsoft photostory most probably cause easier way out.

Shir > I also didn't like small pics cause my friend say too small waste money cannot see. So i'm glad mine not many small photo. Some of the photo are big 1 but the merge the 2 bg together with some design just like this 2:
http://picasaweb.google.com/hmingjie/PreweddingShootDraft?authkey=Gv1sRgCODn8fXPtc20fg#5401003583840689842
http://picasaweb.google.com/hmingjie/PreweddingShootDraft?authkey=Gv1sRgCODn8fXPtc20fg#5401003563065319346
Do fight for what you think you deserve. Good Luck.

taime81

Christmas > Chicken to Duck is more expensive?

Jaslyn > Yes, Digio Bride. But pls don't sabo me by comparing or tell digio staff cause i smuggle my layout back earleir 1, cause that is suppose to be draft and i did made admendment to it. The final layout to be returned on collection of album. =)

The final photo selection are done by hubby, and i'm so shock he can select such connecting photo which the designer can merge in so nicerly.

jaslyn76

Charmaine> no, i just view the layout and get them to change...cos i found it weird for one of the layout...we chose the nicer photos....so i think some dun merge well..

christmas09

littlewoman > Ya, told my HB to go try or ta bao back for me to try first. Now having exams too.. Super stressed.

Charmaine> Yup, duck is more ex tham chicken. Even in supermarket.

taime81

Jaslyn > Actually i also didn't like 2 of the layout very much so they are still in the process of changing too.

Btw, anyone knows where to buy organza shawl? My mum need 1 for yr gown.

Anyway, anyone need to add bling blings to yr ap box, or what ever deco can pm me. I can teach you where to buy and how to do it. I tried it, not that tough.