(2009) Brides of year 2009

Oh... Freegoer, Paint affects the quality arh? Thanks so much Charmaine gal... just spoke to my HB, he told me he can resize 3 of them, the rest seems a little hard...
I will select those pics I want to upload by these 2 days, will forward it to you for help if I still can't get it right? REALLI THAnks to the both of you!

greentwinkle12

LW: Ling & i are in same situation for banquet.. i guess we wont know how many empty seats till the evening of our AD bah.. cos cannot ask them rsvp, so will only know how many eventually turn up on that evening lor.

For my case, the family all v big one. one family abt 5-6pax. so if only the husband and wife come, but no bring children, it will b minimum 4 seats empty lor.. and this is just one family.. got total 8 families. i cannot imagine. the more i think, the more sian i am.. so i rather not think.

taime81

Littlewomen >If your hubby wanna do it, he can download trial photoshop from adobe.com but only valid for 30 days. =) You are welcome. We should help one and another loh. Anyway resizing is easy job.

greentwinkle: I see.. they didn't RSVP? My in-laws are rather fast in this aspect, my parents are the one who dily daily... They told me that they will fwd the invitation cards to our relatives on my GDL day... but so far, we only invite close relatives, hence shld be rather okay for my side.

Charmaine: realli? I am very lousy in technical aspect, hence leave all it to him... Will speak to him again abt it.. Thanks so much!! Knowing all of you realli is a blessing...

taime81

greentwinkle > I thought close relative will sure turn up? Think my hubby and my side all will turn up cause close relative.
Next sat need to go to his uncle housewarming somemore. And it is like must go kind even for housewarming.

weddingdoll

having cold war with HTB now
he doesnt seem to realise how bad he was. =(

like when i asked him to take down those old photos and i scan them. he gave me attitude.

when i told him i was feeling unwell, he said i was thinking too much and was sulky with me. i went to the doctor. and i really had a relapse of my old sickness. =(

I wanted to tell him what is sha-Tou and showed him the stuff, but he refused to walk over the 3steps (we were at a wedding shop and he juz stood outside. refusing to walk in when i wanted to show him) he told me to tell his mum, cause he doesnt need to know any of these.

greentwinkle12

LW & Charmaine > close relatives la.. ie. dad's siblings.. just that we wont know if their children coming anot.. sometimes the children dun follow, sometimes will follow, we wont know.

greentwinkle: check with the relatives then? My case, my mum is only inviting mostly couples... and some of my close cousins... easier that way?

taime81

greenwinkle > From day 1 i ask hubby to tell his parent banquet very expensive, per table $888. I told my parent same thing too. So don't anyhow do it cause we paying for everything ourselves. So they do care for our pocket, so my mil did call and ask their sibling, how many pax they coming per family. But that is provided they do not play us out... My side family very small, my mum got 4 siblings only so we are really close, all coming for sure.

Charmaine: that was exactly the same method I use. My HB and I told our parents that too.. We told them this:-

Parents, we are not very rich, please dun waste our seats, pls get those confirmed attendances... wun be nice to leave the table empty too.. right?

greentwinkle12

LW & Charmaine > my parents' mentality is that they request the no. of tables that they need. So hubby must give them the no. of tables that tehy requested. ie. they request 9 tables. so whether the 9 tables fill up or not, we shld not bother cos it is given to them..

like that lor.. i also cannot say anything to them liao. leave it lor, if turn up only use 8 tables, i also cannot do anything.

greentwinkle: I see.. an older form of mentality.. why not tell them about "face" issues"? Later ppl start to talk if they know your relatives aren't giving face?

bliss_bb

greentwinkle> haizz we in same shoes for the banquet issue.

Littlewoman> yes, we will know only on that day..It doesn't work even thopu we tell them abt "faces" issues. What was told straight into our face is that we got to face it if they dun come so be it and since it a wedding banquet, just paiy and let it be = (

Charmaine> wow ur mil is good, at least she care for your pocket.

bliss_bb

greentwinkle> for their side, total is 21 tables so i can't imagine the amount we gonna pay. Unable to invite many frens cos the hotel also got limited space... if too many tables, the area will be cramp and there will be issue for march in

I see... Ling... Sayang... Hmm.. are your parents / in-laws close to them? If they are, probably they will come..? Gals, how many tables u est might be left empty? Frm the attendance list, can roughly gauge?

I was faced with this issue last week. My HB's cuz informed us that her BB is too small, thus, can't make it... 4 seats; I immediately turned to my friends for help.. My GFs told me good that they can't make it, so that they can replace them.. I was a little touched by them..

bliss_bb

Littlewoman> Thanks gal = )
My parents only invite 10 relatives, my parents not close to inlaw. Now confirmed 42 tables but we need more than that due to inlaw relatives...

You know the ballroom layout, it be hard to have long March in which I always dream of...

bliss_bb

confirm tables are the number we can expect the guests to come... it a rough guage... Unable to confirm guests list now cos yet RSVP

taime81

greentwinkle > At first my parent got that mentality too. Then i told them my in law are not paying a single cent, everything is out from our pocket. If they do that, they are burning my pocket. But i did ask my sis to help me speakup too so they agree to give me back the ang pow money to cover banquet cost. Afterall, hubby and me are broke for the wedding...

Ling > At first not so good. She wannt give 1 table to 1 distant relative etc. Then my hubby complaining how can? So we told them insufficient tables. So she got lesser table to play with, so she call and ask all those she inviting to confirm no. That's make all our job easier. LOL cause we wanna keep it to 25 tables, didn't want it cramp. Anyway xmas many people are away on vacation, i didn't want to be playout by too many people.

Hubby & me still haven't send out email for rsvp.

bliss_bb

charmaine> oic. For us, last time before we bookm current hotel, we've booked another one but the place max is 32 tables thus they complain and said "why book so less table", in the end, we manage to sell the package with a lost of $800 and secure the current one.

Now i also too tired to talk to them cos they never listen, no point. At least, my parents understand and always lend a listening ears to me.

taime81

Ling > Actually we can increase but we just didn't want to unless really needed. So we just tell them cannot be done loh. But i always ask hubby to talk to them better. He is quite firm on that so the parent no choice. My mil also say why we book so little tables, hubby say per table $888 leh. Bil also make noise say just invite, can increase blah blah, hubby tu him say wait till yr turn you invite loh. Then bil zip liao cause i think he planning his wedding soon. Haha...

christmas09

Long time didnt log in..

At least you guys having 25 tables.

My hb and i had to settle 50+ tables.
30 tables went to my hb's parents.
10 tables to my side and the rest for our frds and colleuages. Major Headache!

bliss_bb

charmaine> hhumm... true enough they say it so easy for the increase of tables but then never say who going to pay for it.. it all NATO (No action talk only).

Nvm after wedding, all these issues will be settle and no longer a headache.

Ling: at least your parents are supportive...
Hmm.. Shld be can, I tink it is a long aisle in my memory... Hee.. U want a long March-in arh?

Smart of your HB Charmaine.

saggiegirl

i do agree that tables are always a big headache!!

initially we booked 35 tables... then due to some issue...scale down to 33... haizzzz...hopefully that will be it lo

my colleagues and frens are more supportive in terms of coming to our dinner...

family members... coz my hubby is one of first in his generation to get married...so far response wise is quite OK....

so keeping positive ba

All of you are having a lot of tables.. I am catering to 24 tables... My HB and I cut a lot coz we wanted the Pananoma room..
My parents was grumbling that they leave out so many friends and relatives.. but they tone down eventually, coz they said so long my HB and I are happy and have a blissful marriage.
Most of the left-out relatives are coming for the GDL instead..

dzxz

Hi Windy

Maybe the west coast park, xiao guilin, or chinese garden lo

ya lo I also scare...I wanna to breakeven can le..or rather lost not so much lo

Hee me too last day in office tmr ke ke now handing over work to my poor colleague...

Today new bed deliver to our house yeah yeah....

ya the ang bao money most headache..haven prepare yet lei..must change money also oh man.....

ixoral..same for me and my htb...people tell me all excuse this cannot why cannot ..sigh is beyond our control...just be happy

babyhamham

same here for me, last min some people say can't attend.... some reasons are really pretty lame and if they not keen to attend should say earlier when we're checking with them... haiz...

im now finalizing my table arrangements. My An Chuang is this Sunday, thereafter need to change money for angbao...

junel

me haven't even count who is coming... hahaha... must sit down to settle this already..

I guess we will face all these issue when we are handling our wedding be it your HB, Inlaws, familt, friends...

My brother even more jia lat he arrange for his gf to come in from China and stay here for 3 months of which she should be arrrving on 13 Nov.. like that i have to give up my room for her... which means i would have to be force to shift over to my hb place even before marriage... super !@#$%^&*....

Even my last month with my family also want to snatch!!!!

Luckily, my HB more gan cheong then me... i'm the one more bo chap... just can't seem to get myself moving... maybe at first i'm too gan cheong now all the gan cheongness all used up liao... hahaha..

weddingdoll

Lets talk about happier things.

shall we all post 3 layout or photos that we like BEST from our photoshoot?? :D

anyone of u got yours photos already?
(I got my album Oct.. and its already sitting in storeroom. Opps)

journey

i'm very sad today... was chatting with a bride who engaged the same hotel as me. her wedding was last week. she told me that, many of her relative gave negative feedback on the food. which make me so worried.

taime81

Von > Don't be overworried. To me food not a very big issue, people are there to give blessing, witness the most impt moment of yr life. True friend will not be bother about such minor issue. I went to my frd wedding at ritz, per table 1.4k, food wasn't good too, worst soft drink is super diluted. After i complaint to manager they still serve me diluted drink. But those are all minor stuff to me.

Doll post here you mean? Or facebook?

akino

our minimum gotta book 35 tables in order to book the ballroom. because ours is in a restaurant. so lucky for us, invited everyone all confirm round up around 350 people. plus minus.... actually also quite worried about empty seats

blurbaby

i went back to my parent's place on Sat.. my mom told me straight into my face that FT actually sucks.. the food not good enough, arrangement sucks.. still so expensive.. ask her to confirm the no of ppl first.. she kept on saying that 12 tables will be filled.. told her straight to her face.. if not filled, i will get my coordinator to re-arrange their seats... OMG.. I wana bang wall!!! ask her do things like killing her.. always say she is busy & GDL stuff.. she also bo chup... ask her what needs to buy.. she say nothing.. definitely there is something that needs to be buy???

My auntie was asking my grandma if my cousin got seat anot?? if not they don't come along!! OMG.. They are my direct cousins... lucky my grandma was perfect.. to tell her that there will be seats for them as they are my siblings...

Invitation: Check with my frens/colleagues, they will say they are working & not in SG... I will keep to the fine side that probably they are busy with work or going o/s... OMG! this is killing myself..

I just hate the comments that people will give but I will simply ignore that...

Arrangement for JM to meet up is a hassle.. my fren always busy.. when my sis sms them for Hen's party.. they never reply.. told my sis to ignore them if they don't reply then we shall left them out..

so stuck with GDL, seat/table arrangement/distributing of invitation cards/montage (which i will need to gather more of hubby's photo & pass to Lam)..

now is coming to my peak!! I have a few selection boards to clear & will be in-camp...

make appointment for mani + pedi for myself & hubby..
but must do it 1 day earlier.. as they are close on Christmas..

think this is a passing phrase for everyone here.. we got to hang on & ride through it...

i got 31 tables.. but i am scare that the turn up rate will be lower than this.. OMG.. fret too much that I am having out-break.. not obvious but can feel my face is not smooth... got to plan for my 2 facial treatment...

anyone know how much will CS get this yr end??

blurbaby

after i been through this.. I will appreciate fren who are getting married next yr more.. I will put in the extra efforts to attend their wedding!!

shyoshya

I'm nov 21 bride too....
I'm still ... :
1) waiting for my bed to arrive (they delivered the wrong headboard. haiz)
2) waiting for my bedside table to arrive (they ... forget it)
3) sending out pigeons w invites (lolx)
4) packing my stuff to bring over.
5) Monta(arrrrrrrgh)ge

hmmmmm...... 0.0 <-- haven slept well in daez...

jenshines

Hi brides,

I realised everyone has their share of headaches after reading through the comments... It's nice that there's this thread to let out all the frustrations and to gain support.

Doll> Lol. I'm opposite. I always look at my pre-wedding photoshoot photos!