(2009) Brides of year 2009

alxhan

Wow, Seems like i am not the only who has to wake up real early on my AD.
My shangtou time is from 1am to 3am and MIL choose 2am which is in between on 4th Dec and my MUA has to be at my place by 515am so that i can leave my place by 8am in order to reach my PIL's place before 9am.
Early lei~ Aiyo~

Charmaine: that's reallu nice!!!!

High five ashley..
My JMs will all be bunking in with me on the eve... my bridesmaid told me that she will get me to sleep by 8PM on that day... keke..

taime81

Wow so early ah you gals. Morning wakeup got panda eye how? Me already i big panda. LOL
Waiting for my friend to get back to me regarding the ad timing.

You gals can try it. http://www.scrapblog.com/
It is pretty easy to use. All i choosen are free layout. =)

octo

Saggie, Junel, Charmaine> We had told them to redo some of the layout. The guy do it on the spot and ask us what and how we intend to do it. We need to tell them put the pics where etc.. we are not expert in this. We just change abit as the initial layout is really bad. But because we are not good with artwork, the final layout also look not nice.

Ling> That's good. You got some samples for them. We didnt have any sample as we thought they should know their stuff better than us. Anyway, the layout is already confirmed.

Emeraldbride> Gal..are you ok? Im slightly feeling the heat cause I think my checklist is one of the longest around here. Hee.. Try to cool down, you might be too tense up and stress yourself unknowningly.

Charmaine> Your 'save the date' look nice. Think nicer than my album layout. hehee.. thanks for the pm, I loved yours too. 200% better than mine.

journey

Emeraldbride> I'm also have the feeling of running away when i think of the wedding. at times no mood to continue . Went to see my Layout last week... i rejected 90% of the layout, because they are too "boxy" i dun wan pics to be in framed. and some pic are not suitable to be in the same layout... hub say i'm too troublesome... to him everything is "ok". i simply tired of arguing...

weddingdoll

im very very SICK of it already. I BET this is a common feeling among all brides.
the feeling of having to do EVERYTING my yourself, the groom taking a back seat and like its not HIS wedding.

and he will say things like "OK I help U"
Which can DRIVE ME NUTS. cause this wedding is not just MINE! So what it means by "help me"???

it doesnt help when my sister is super UNHELPFUL, when I told her my GDL ,she say she is going out meet Boyfriend.
When I told her the JieMei meeting, her first reaction is again, she needs to go out meet Boyfriend. and expect me to UNDERSTAND, cause her boyfriend book out ONCE A WEEK. How about me?? I wedding ONCE A LIFE TIME for goddness!!
She has this thinking "Your wedding is your problem"
And GUESS what she told me "Its your wedding leh. U expect everyone to be excitied about it?"

like today, im UP to my neck working. and the Groom has he will do the timeLine. Its not very very urgent, but it will be nice if he can do it properly. (specially when the timeLine i sent him was my coll's. he just has to change the NAME and some of the TIME. doesnt even have to think MUCH).

and when he sent me, its only like 10% done?? I still have to edit it MYSELF>

its really TOO much for me to take.

specially when he ask "so do u still have anymore things need me to HELP?"
HELLO!?!? ITS OUR WEDDING??
and last I checked. the english word 'ours' means shared by 2 person and not 1.

anyone else have the same problem.
Long rant, sorry. need to vent.

and now, the sister is scolding me. say I not NOT understanding enough when her Boyfriend book out only once a week and she needs to meet him.

weddingdoll

Von (journey)
at least u reject is NOT u doing it.
Iam a designer and I did my own layout

My husband is the one giving me comments (like a client) and I have to redo it.
how about that.

taime81

Doll > Maybe you can talk to sister nicely. Try arrange on friday nite for gathering or just use the mon / afternoon portion, so at night she can meet her bf. Just try to get a win win situation for both party. Don't be too heated up. I also did most of the things myself. I did my save the date card till 3am in the morning. Hubby was sleeping, woke up in the middle of night, ask me if i really need to do it. I was kind of pissed too. I dun care, i ask him must send to his colleague, don't waste my effort!

Littlewoman > I think it is the layout look fantastic, like everything can merge perfectly and also the editing i guess. =)

freegoer

Doll> that is only part 1.

Every1 got their own events.

More troubles ahead when you start doing your guest list.
In spite of my early announcement, I still got last minute tell me go overseas or some excuses that I would rather not say.

journey

Doll> *both hands straight up* i have the same problem!!!!! i feel so much of calling off my wedding. last night , hub asked me why i so angry (i told him i very angry with him) then he ask me wat need to be done...

i briefly tell him, AD timing and montage etc... he say he will do the AD timing...

then i tell him... Pls lah , wait for u to do, then can forget about the wedding. cos i've already do it without him knowing.

Every single i assigned to him, i have to check on his status every week. and every week his answer is "i need to check, i very bz, can't u wait"

I wonder need to wait till wedding over le then he start doing? i can't stand my in-laws and now him...

my blood boil when i think about all these.!!!

journey

Doll> can u imagine, i sitting with the Graphic Designer and telling him wat i dun like and those i wanted to change... then my hub sitting next to me, keep saying "the layout ok mah, need to change meh? look ok to me mah, why u need to change so much?"
wah biang!!! Hub and wife not in the same side... he is always siding other ppl!!!! *pissed*

weddingdoll

yeah. everything i assigned, i have to do it myself as well. men = useless.

the one thing i can think of is, he was supposed to source for the AD car. end up, its me doing too. (I borrowed a fairLady from my uncle)

yeah im a designer and it doesnt HELP cause ends up, i do everything. from album to shooting to montage even to my AD Bouquet and courages. etc etc. its like 自篇自导自演..

weddingdoll

freegoer (freegoer)
yes i got those headache with GuestList and seating plan.

I got one uncle, his DIL is pregant. and guess what. he cant confirm if he is coming cause it dpends if the DIL give birth anot. if give birth, cant come. if no, can come.

so 4seats depends on if that baby pop out or not. its totally CANT confirm till the LAST min, cause the baby might decide to pop up on that DAY itself.

journey

Doll , i have the same problem, 3 months ago ask him to ask his friend to borrow car, he say "still early lah" then lately his friend msn me asking me need help or not. then i tell him to look out a car for me. his friend say "why no tell me earlier???? so late then say!" , my blood pressure shoot up to 200 man!

everything i assigned, end up i do...真命苦ï¼

weddingdoll

its in our instinct to do everything for the men. and the instinct for men to leave everything to the women.

=(

im sure this kidda sitation will be all the way till i die. i dunno say "Forget about this wedding and dont so work up" for how many times already.

and recently i look into mirror, i really see signs of strains already. eyebag and stuff. all this can DATE BACK TO start of wedding prepartions. =(

taime81

freegoer > It's like that. Most of my colleague not turning up cause they all on holiday overseas. They even inform me like early this year when my boss ask me during dept meeting when is my wedding date. Cannot be help, just take it easy.

Doll > Don't be angry liao. just concentrate on yr artwork. I know it is time consuming and a lot of effort. =) Kanbatei.

Von > My hubby also same as yours. I told them i dun like 2 of the layout and i wanna change but hubby keep saying it is ok leh. Blah blah. In fact, i wanna change 1 of the photo cause i think i hold the dress very ugly, and hubby tell me the same old story. Think mens always paisei, want to keep things simple! Endup i went ahead and do the changes myself. In fact, i going bridal to view the changes, hubby say i go alone will do. I was so pissed and i insist he go together. LOL

freegoer

for friends,
those that are pregnant / wife pregnant rejected me straight off ... as the est delivery date is near my wedding.

freegoer

charmaine> for me is layout no issues. the only problem is during photo selection. dunnoe which to choose.
But certain things need to be harsh as it is a once in a lifetime event.
if the layout like shir de ... really muz tell them redo. it is not acceptable if a 3 yr old kid also noe how to do.

weddingdoll

freegoer (freegoer)

yah thats the way right. to reject if ur unsure if u can make it. the uncle.. no.
expect us to reserve a seat and see if the baby outs out anot. and its 4seats lor. 他妈的ï¼ï¼ï¼

Doll: can understand, I have a cousin who was like that months ago too, things only improved after "smses-war"... I was so irritated with her insincerity that I told her to focus on her priority stuffs and I will look for others to be my JMs; things ended well in a way and she kinda of changed, at least turning up the overall meeting last Friday.. What about your other JMs? If yes, you proceed with the tasks first, always easier to brief your sister later part...

journey

ha ha ha.... Doll... u r really very angry.. cool cool.. i try to cool down
when i angry, i always go to sleep... i guess my brain cell all dead le.. maybe u can try that too

Guest list wait till last week then do. no point changing and changing... wait till last min then do

weddingdoll

my wedding is on 13thdec, and yeah.. the draft is out but haven write or anything.

i just feel so overworked. =(
issit wrong to expect my SISTER to care more for my wedding, instead of just a Boyfriend. DAMN that boyfriend.

babyfaery

Doll: My Wedding is oso on the 13th Dec..Anyway..My sis oso not helpful at all. She so happy that I'm moving out thn she can hv the whole room to herself. Then she wanna move my bed out, take over my wardrobe. I feel so sad like she's so eager to get rid of me. Then I chu jia tt day muz still have my bed ma.. else like so funny if I move my bed to the study room.. Then when I wanna buy jie mei dress, she keep saying the one I choose not nice, not her style.. Then she wanna wear those cotton dress to my wedding dinner.. thn I told her so informal.. thn she not happy oso..Then she oso nv help me with anything.. I feel so sad and sianz too..

But mebbe our sisters too young to understand us ba?? A couple of my friends oso cannot understand why I need to be so busy and stressed up..Like my jiemei, every meet up like so tong ku cos she spend her Sunday with her bf, thn she make it sound like it's a chore to meet up..super sad...

I guess wedding means differently to different ppl. To me, it means a great deal..毕竟一生人一次..and I oso dream of a fairytale like wedding..so I have a lot of dreams..but there is no one helping me out, cos they cant understand as I'm the 1st of my clique to get married. Some are not even attached.. so sometimes I feel so sad and alone.. Luckily I have this forum! Thanks gals for listening to us.. =)

alxhan

Hey,
I think all of us are facing somewhat similar problems. I do not have any siblings and hence depend on my cousins to help. My elder cousin who is a guy, is less than helpful and the rest of the gals, are not helping in anything. My HTB's rather busy with his own work. I did most of the things on my own, except for printing of the invites and mailing address. The rest are done by me, including my simple montage.
I guess, between HTB and us, we need to be really understanding. Maybe for us, they see things in a big picture, they tend to forget the details and us, being gals, details matter alot. So, the best will probably be, tell the HTBs specifically what needs his attention. In that case, it saves the friction. =)
As for helpers and siblings, i guess, they will tend to be like that. Its our wedding, they will rather be "outsiders" No choice. Well... Got to be positive and tell ourselves, its ok if they don't want to help and not willing to help, when its their turn, they will understand how it feels to be all alone... Meanwhile, we got to be strong and positive!

SO JIAYOU! ALL BRIDES! WE CAN DO IT! =) Stay positive.

akino

wah... alot to vent! first is my father, as i mention above, actually he gave me 2 timing for tea ceremony. 1 is 1 week b4 wedding, another is on the wedding day itself, b4 dinner time. so we discussed and said we want before dinner time, as we said on that day more meaningful. Then my father replied actually 1 week b4 wedding is better as it is not so rushing bla bla bla. then i ask him why not on that AD morning? we dont mind going 2 places.(my parents divorced) HE REPLIED BECAUSE EVERYBODY NOT FREE!!!! hello? your daugther getting married???? wah lau i really wanna cry out. i asked him to invite his friends, but end up only relatives going. i felt that he dont feel proud of me.
my brother..... no help at all. ask him to help me shift some things in my room. always working, cannot change shift, bla bla bla
JIEMEIS- 1 working weekday until 9pm only can meet on sunday. another only can meet on weekdays, weekend meet BF. another always on call, even we get to meet up, also leave early... (DOLL ^5)
HB~ at first very jia lat. now better. i leave his side to himself.

today just sent out the invites and went to my ex work place to distribute. will pass to my relatives on GDL day.

babyhamham

dzxz, yeah i scared later last min more people can't come, but i tik it's really beyond our control and very difficult to invite people now that so near our wedding dates.

bibikoh, i also scared kua ben.. actually can cover we will be very happy le lor haha.. good luck for ur wedding, it's happening soon!

peaberry

All the best to all fellow 21 Nov brides too! I'm feeling quite anxious but also looking forward to the honeymoon and the time off from work.

ellyntan

WOW!! And I thought that I was the only one!!
As the date draws nearer, it seems that there are more and more things to be done!!
Lucky for me, my HTB still very engaged in the planning and been doing quite alot of things. I am trying to curb my temper and frustrations now, coz everytime after I throw my temper, my HTB gets irritated as well, and both of us will be super unhappy...
Jiemeis meeting difficult to coordinate as well. Haiz...

Aren't weddings supposed to be happy events?!?

taime81

Just went to bridal and finalise the wedding stuff. Will go and finalise the gown over the next few days. Btw, why help you need jiemei to do. My jiemei all very free, i didn't give them any task to do.

cherie81

Relax girls. Thou nobody is helping out me and my hb but the lucky things is I'm a tutor and he is self employ. So we have slightly more time to plan for our wedding.

Last week I also face alot of problem with my JMs. I have 5 JM. 3 coming from oversea and till now none of them have book tickets. 1 of them told me that she cannot be my JM cos she just got marry and not good for me. Then the other heard that she cannot be JM she also dont want. So I got to find another 2 more (name them C and X). C said Ok. X also said ok but suddenly 2 days later she sms me tell me that her mum dont let her be (her mum very pang tang cos she JM for many times le). But lucky she manage to persude her mum the next day. So troublesome cos I already place order for the polos tee for AD for them to wear. Now have to call and make changes.

Then my performer last min tell me that she cannot come as she have to perform oversea and recommend me someone else which is not very responsible. Hiaz.....

But there is alot of problem that we face. Example My FIL only taking out a very minimum amt (not even enough for our PG)for our wedding and expect us to do this and do that without even lend us a hand. In short only use his mouth. And worst of all, everyone thot we use his money for the wedding when we didnt took a single cents from him till to date and est will not need a single cent from him.

I know there is some problem that my husband facing and he didnt share it with me. Especially with his work, something happen and there will be a huge change next year. Heading towards the good or bad is still unknow. But is all cause by my FIL. Very very angry with him. And worst of all everyone side him cos everyone thinks that he is rich and try to please him.

Alot of his family issue. Example during our food tasting his whole family is talking about the dec trip that we are going together and leaving my family out. !@#$%^&*
SO RUDE!

Overall, I'm glad that this wedding make US know his family "better" and they are just a bunch of selfish hypocrite people.

blurbaby

thot i was the only one who will experience this!!! OMG.. I am angry with many stuff... damn!! even my work also got tons of things to do!!! Shitty.. talk about this tmr... office internet is down today so unable to log in... see how tmr...

see ya tmr... hope after a beauty sleep everything will turn out fine!!

wildwood

guess everyone has their own headaches... Initially I wanted to diy alot of things.. In the end, either outsourced to vendor or to xiong di/Jie mei to do..... It cost quite abit to outsource, as compared to diy.... thinking that it wld save lots of trouble..but there are its downsides too...

Coordinations is a headache... The gatherings n bring my mum, sis, MIL, JMs to do pedi/Mani on the last few days b4 my AD is challenging too....

What my FH said he wld do when I was busy with work, ends up with me doing it....but it's quite fun still... He say everyhing I choose, happy can le.... Probably with the thot that doing all this preps n the hours put in, are way much better than the hrs I put in at work... It jus eases off the frustrations I have while doing.... So when I remind FH to do something, he din do then I wait 2 more days to remind him to do it... Now I'm quite relaxed knowing that most things are done.. But he's getting anxious cos' it seems to him that alot of things are left undone.... So he's trying to find time to do what he need to do n I'll just continue reading my book....

cluelessoink

*hugs* *hugs*

Chill. Take things one step at a time.

Sounds like all of us have similar problems be it with hubby, JM,etc...

@ Doll I understand your frustration. I did my own wedding card and book as well. Gosh,my hubby also acted like a typical client... Sat on the proofs for the longest time. When ask, he said its good to go. Then, when the prints were back, had a huge fight over the wedding card coz he didnt like it. :X

Fortunately, I did make provision for delays.. Happy to say most of my tasks are pretty on schedule. PHEW!

If anyone needs a checklist for the actual day,etc, do lemme know and I am more than willing to share with you girls

taime81

wildwood > Most of the things i get online cause cheaper rather to get my jiemei to diy. The rest of the things need to diy, or touch up, i just do it myself. =) What else can jiemei helps out?

hapiley

It has been quite some time that I did not pop in and guess everyone is busy with stuff as the dates get nearer...

For me, i signed my bridal package from JB and just got my album last Sat. My friends saw the photos taken and give good remark and comments on the whole album.. at least our effort to travel in and out of Malaysia pays off with the nicely done album and photos...:D I really like the photos and the album the BS had done for me.. :D

However, im still struggling with the guest list and table arrangment.. haiz.. and my guodali is suppose to be on 21 Nov but till now, havent bought anything yet...

bliss_bb

hey ladies, we all got to stay positive ya. Sometime things are beyond our control eg. JM, frens last min dun come etc.. So dun let them spoil our day k.

As for me, inlaw is a headache to me, other than that things are still moving according to plan. I believe the worst part will be RSVP as you all know for my side, we were told that we cannot do RSVP for relatives. When the seats are left empty, $$ is wasted & we got to bear the cost. haizzz

emeraldbride

ok..now that Doll has say it out, i m feeling under because of the same issue!! Been very very busy with so many things, work, house, baby n now the wedding.
The ultimate came when i hv to be the one that source for the GDL cake to be given to my mom, etc etc n i onie need him to drive thr to make payment. I even went ahead n bought a box to let his mom try first before confirming. To me, i consider that as understanding alr.. on Sat, he told me i m not understanding of his situation (he's having his exam tis sat) and he is very accomodating in driving me ard settlign things..fwah!! Super hot..wat driving me ard to settle things, we are settling things for the groom side and he tell me he is very accomodating?? So i told him, fine lor..i will go ahead with the wedding MYSELF!!

saggiegirl

hapiley> u can start buying this week/next week
just in time

to all> as the timing gets closer and closer, we tend to be really stressed up... like me, my parents place is a 1 room flat, and there is no way that i could marry off from there... 2 ways to counter this: chu jia fr hotel or chu jia fr brother place .... after some contemplation etc, we decide to chu jia from my bro place at AMK... which is nearer to freegoer parents place at Woodlands...

then a lot of things to settle like guest list (which last nite just discussed with my parents.... playing "musical chairs" with 3 tables of relatives!!)....

overall, i am still happy in that sense that i dun have much things to DIY except for angpao box (freegoer help me to decorate it)... no corsages for helpers...just simple outfits... hmm... then guestbooks etc all settled from BS .....

sometimes i just take a deep breath, go and have a drink, then rest for the night, before doing the stuff the next day... let your mind rest

Morning gals...

Charmaine: your pics are realli nice..

Wedding is a happy and of course an important occasion. It is the day whereby we are moving on to a bigger step with the important man in our lives. PLanning for such an impt event is always a headache, coz there is no rewind and we can't do it next yr jus coz we dun like what we had done this yr. Guys don't look into much details unlike we women at times, it is in their nature, hence, don't be over bothered with HBs, jus explain to them why we are feeling this way.. Cheer up ya... Stress is unavoidable, we mus handle it tactfully so as it wun get to our "burden"...

I am stress as well, the songs that I had prepared for my background music can't be played on the laptop, which I don't know why... the files sizes of my photos are too big and it can't be resized... Managed to sort out my GDL items with my parents and in-Laws last night... Agreed with what Saggirlgirl said, more tension will sets in once the date draws nearer... Most importantly we are to keep our spirits up... don't always argue, we share among ourselves, encourage ourselves here instead ya?

Ling: Will it help to get your MIL to speak to your FIL? I leave it to my HB usually, coz a little inconvenient for me to open my mouth at times... vice versa, I settle my parents' sides...

taime81

Littlewoman > You need me to resize yr photo for you? I've photoshop @ work, can resize for you. If the file size are too big, the laptop will lag.

ixoral

i'm also 21nov bride. hee. but ive still lotsa things to do!! havent write speech, prepare those angbao $$.. and most headache is the guestlist. till now still got ppl telling me they cant make it or worse some cant confirm. *faint. :S

Charmaine: Thanks so much gal!!.. But there is an error message when my HB tried to resize it with "Paint"... Wonder if the BS locked the pics?