(2009) Brides of year 2009

jascmy

My wedding this Sunday and I have not test my sound system with the hotel yet. Super angry with my new Hotel coordinator. Super unprofessional. Keep changing my appt date for the system test. Initially is today, then change to wed, then just call to change to Thur. She even say want fri. I told her I don't want do things so last min. I'm super angry and worried about my wedding lunch now.

octo

Charmaine> Thanks for the contacts. Will drop by and take a look. We're both not wine person also. My bil told us that there are 3 kinds of red wine. He advise us to get the one which is not really smooth and not very sweet. Reason being, those sweet and smooth ones tend to run out fast and easier cause the guest drink really fast with those.

ahBlur> Me too. I also scare not enough than will be quite paiseh right? Better cater enough. Think 1.5 bottles should be enough. I only got around 20-23tables, so probably need another 11-12 bottles.

Jaq> Wow.. the pic must be very nice. So long as you both like it, then don't think about the $ already. Just look forward for the album collection. Hee..

Cherie> How's your gown fitting? Managed to find your ideal one? Er.. what happen to your mood after food tasting? Hope everything turn out fine.

Garfield> We hasn't select our wedding favor yet. Infact, we didnt know what are the options also. Hee.. probably will ask about it during the food tasting (which we hasn't book the date yet). Heehee..

Von> My in-laws also didn't ask about the GDL stuff. Me just confirm the items with my mum and probably going to get the items together with my hb. The si dian jin, we also went to look at the design without my in-laws. Hee.. we also hasn't print our cards, so haven't proceed to the 'folding' stage.

reine & stella - As for my bridal car, I only get to know the car plate number 2 days before my AD.. The driver personally called me to confirm date,time & address.. Seems that my BS outsource to others for such service.. Guess it's a Norm... Dun worry =)

As for the An-Chuan, I don't have any boy jumping or rolling on it... Those elderly said that only "old" bed needs this procedure .. As mine is a new one, we can "miss" this... ä¸çŸ¥è€…无罪...

Jascmy - My Hotel lagy best... test the audio system on the AD evening like 5pm... My hubby got to rush up and down to check on things... Luckily all turn out to be good.... Heng Ah.....

cherie81

Charmaine> I'm with merchant court. Nothing went wrong with the food tasting. Just angry with someone close who wants to make money out of us.

Shir> Yup found 2 gown that I really like but havent finalise yet. The more problematic is the evening gown. There is this black one that is really WOW. But is so black. The other that i choose is a Pink dress. Nothing went wrong with the food tasting. Just angry with someone else who wants to make money out of us.

babylina

halo ladies.. so bz these days no time to come in n chat.. haiz.. ysterday me go chinatown there buy my GDL things.. haiz.. feel like kena ripped off like tat.. but then the lady keep saying she never offer high price.. all her items are lower than other ppl.. tsk tsk tsk.. but i realised tat wat she showed me are those of better quality stuffs n of coz higher $$ than others.. sigh.. if i had asked for normal ones.. i wun need to spend so much lor... haiz.. but hubby consoled me lor.. say at least its quality things.. will post photos later in FB.. no time.. so tiring..

Anyway.. i also bought my Nyonya Kebaya Suit there too.. walked ard n found a shop tat sells.. whole set for abt S$123 including the kerongsang.. been to a few places all selling at 200+++ so got it at 100+ was happy liao.. kekekeke...

nikiko

ok Christy, noted yours. thank you so much! Very scare i miss out any procedure or other things.. am so excited about my wedding, 18 days to go~ :D

blurbaby

Cherie...

this is usual for wedding.. it's okay anyway we are still young which we can earn back the money again (mil will tell me this)..

cos we wanted to give mummy 10 tables.. but in the end, total is 12 tables + ping jin.. OMG..

I also like black!!! but u know old people will kind of make noise but this is yr wedding.. no matter what ppl will make noise about anything & everything that you do!!

zerochristy

Nikiko> hehe its okie.. say dun worry only but in the heart is "tick tock tick tock" feeling :p

On my AD itself I feel so excited till want to vomit cause over excited liao.. so I buy sweets to ease the vomit feeling

blurbaby

angelina,

your hubby still put in the effort to consoled you... if my hubby, he will choose base on the pricing, i will choose base on the quality.. i will be the person who are focused on the quality..

babylina

ahBlur> my hubby although consoled me.. but he din play much part in it lor.. mostly is me n my mum deciding on the things lor.. ask him.. he say as long as u like.. haiz.. i wan comments lor.. maybe im asking too much from him???? its like im the only person getting married..

octo

Cherie> Hee.. so good.. got 2 that you like. I am pretty scare that I cant find any that I like. Cause for my PS, really cant find one that we really love it. Its like a 'no-choice' kind of selection.

I think most young couples will like black. Me and hb abit different. We didnt want black though the coordinator kept pushing black to us. There's one shocking pink gown with black lace that look kinda nice for me, but hb didnt want it cause of the black lace though its really pretty minimum. Hee..

I agreed with ahBlur, most of the elders will not like to see black. I try to avoid black as much as possible cause I also thought black look pretty solemn, red seems to be more of a joyous colour for wedding. Besides, we got plenty of chances to wear black after the wedding. And also, me didnt want to take risk with my in-laws on wearing black for my wedding. Hee..

Angeline> What are those GDL stuff that you bought? Me check with my mum over the weekends for her list, she didnt have much except rock sugar, red dates, cake, pork cans, dragon-phoenix candle. For herself, she'll buy the bedside lamp and 1 wash face basin for us.

blurbaby

guys are the same.. they always say you decide.. but in the end, say we don't consult them..

but since young, we had our dream wedding thought for...

but if i can "fit" into the black evening gown.. i will take it man!! too bad, i can't...

jascmy

Christy, I don't dare to complain to Manager now. Worried that the coordinator will get angry and make our wedding lunch even worst. I will sure complain after my wedding. Hope everything will go on smoothly on that day.
iris, Thanks, more relief now after hearing your experience.

6 days to go for me!

cherie81

Angelina> Ya your husband really nice to console you.

ahBlur> Your words make me feels better. Yes! I'm still young.

Shir> Ya at least the BS very good. She let me chop the 2 gown and let me decide 2 weeks b4 the wedding. I still open to choose then. The BLACK evening gown is VERY black until it look like a crow, so they suggest to put a gold slash across. But i still dont dare to try. Prefer something more safe.

zerochristy

Jascmy> Wah like that feel stressful le... You dun want to complaint and you worried the other hand... is your hub help you out??

But dun worry too much le.. my younger bro also did his audio testing on the AD itself and selected the 1st dish song on the day itself too. *Sayang Sayang*

jascmy

Christy, Thanks

Yup, hubby helped to speak to Coordinator. He is in charge of the Hotel. He told me he already expressed his unhappiness to the Coordinator.

queenly

i went to test my songs n montage at the hotel yesterdae....lucky everything ok, cos i using mac scared not compatible.

anyway guest list is the most troublesome thing....change n change...somemore my papa say cannot call them to ask how many coming...so i have to estimate myself.

babylina

Shir> i bought quite abit of things leh.. like the sewing kit, towels for inlaws n towels for ourselves, the "shu tou" set.. with combs n tray..we forgo those basin stuffs though.. we din get the lamps, new bowl (for eating mian xian) & new cups for brushing teeth in the morning.. we din get the fans too.. oh oh.. i got the red umbrella.. will take pic n post on FB.. u can see later.. cant really remember much.. spent $188 on the GDL things..

Cherie> aiyo.. everyone say hubby nice to console me.. looks like me asking from hubby alot wor.. kekekeke...

octo

Cherie> Your bs so nice, let you chop 2 gowns and decide only 2 weeks before wedding. hee.. waa.. so black ar.. yah.. better go for something safe. Don't think a gold slash can do much different to a very black gown. What colour will you be picking?

Angelina> waa.. really alot of stuff. My mum didnt tell me about the sewing kit, towels, new bowls and cups. Ummm.. maybe I ask her again. Seems like you still got quite abit of traditional stuff to buy. Yah.. your hb is very nice to console you. To me, I think its better that he leave the decision-making to you cause at least you get to choose what you like. Hee.. Cheer up~

saggiegirl

Shir> last week me and my mum and hubby (aka freegoer) went down to chinatown n buy the whole set including bedside lamps & teaset... all in damage $171...

reine

Thanks Iris!

Lucky you girls confirmed that it's a norm!

How come you all get to test AV at the hotel. My hotel never offer leh. Only testing on that day leh.

cheer7

reine: u can chk wif ur hotel whether they can let u test our prior to ur AD.. tink it depends on diff hotel practice...

piggylover

hi gers! i settle my ROM gown selection with my mummy outfit n she had bot a gold ring for my htb yest too! so left with hand bouquet n wedding car flower selection.

mayb getting my insert n cards next wk! overall shd b settle but left guest list is really a super headache things, alot not attending as reason are travelling. haiz.. =(

nikiko

Reine, you must ask yourself, they will not automatically offer you to test the system i think. I also ask myself. This Friday i going for the 2nd test run of AV system coz the first time we went our vaio laptop not compatible. So must make sure this time round the laptop we planning to use will be compatible and fine.

Haha Christy you so funny.. u excited u will feel like vomitting.. if i too excited i will get stomach upset! i scare i run toilet.. lol...

dorinda

I very nervous leh.. Me hor.. that day went china town buy the jia zhuang that my mom suppose to gimme. she not free to go so i went with my sis. We short of one musical box!!!
haaha.
Then my testing of system with the restaurant can only be done on 18th Oct. My AD is 25th Oct. Me till now also duno who is my photographer and my driver too. My Wedding car is provided by the bridal shop. i asked them whether i will be able to see the car decor maybe the day b4 she sae NO. omg... so risky.

zerochristy

Nikiko> Ya lor... after the AD I okie liao le.. hehehe. For my AD I did not drink too much water scare I will go to the ladies so I tahan lor..

Wah you know I so excited till I dun remember giving my sister their AD timeline plan... and till now I think I really did not give them *scratch head* but I did email them 1 week before la so they agar agar know lor... keke heng I only half day nia...

zerochristy

HuaHua> Heheh I hor spread my job out... pray, GDL, hair coming, jia zhuang all done by 2 mommies... else I got too much to do.

Driver I no worry cause is my hub mah.. than the car we out source de so we got the car deliver to the bridal shop and check. Than allow the bridal shop to do the deco... we are there to see too.... heheh... so most of it we control all the wedding stuff.

Aft your AD you will miss your wedding gown de lor.. I miss my gown *sob sob*

pekochan81

Hi ladies! My AD was yest & it was definately a blast! Everything was perfect! Wishing those who's AD is coming soon all the best & do enjoy single moment of it! Coz it's really fast & before you know it, it's the end of the wedding liao. I'm already missing it very much!

taime81

Piggylover > Is it a tradition to buy gold ring for hubby? Cause my mil getting gold ring for me too. I'm not sure. My mum also not into those tradition.

pekochan - yes... I oso think time passes so fast... We were so busy on that day.. and true, before U knew it, U are standing by the entrance/exit saying "goodbye" to all guests.....

I really really missed the time.. hehehe..

blurbaby

think my mummy is getting a gold ring for hubby... but i had made it known to my mummy that i don't like yellow gold..

OMG.. think after wedding i will chuck it aside..

pekochan81

iris> Ya! The most exciting part are the march-in & all eyes are on us! And of coz with the right music combination, the whole atmosphere is definately different.

Oh, and a reminder to all , do prepare some rubber bands & envelopes, so tat it'll be easier to bundle up your ang pow money for bank in. hehehe

octo

Saggie> thanks for sharing. So the damage for tradition stuff should be ranging around $150 - 200. Think my mum exclude quite abit of stuff, either she didn't know about them or she didnt want them. Hee.. my mum quite funny, she told me that she might not even want to have the pork cans though we're hokkieh. Its only until I told her that it represents that her daughter is pure pure. Then she told me she'll think about it. Heehee.. will check with her on the GDL list again.

Piggylover> Are you having your ROM during dinner? What about your actual gown? Also settled? My cards are still sitting at the hotel, think we have to faster look for a printer to print since most of you seems to be at the folding and tying stage.

Greentwinkle> What's the meaning over the gold ring? I asked my mum if she getting any gold for hb, she told me give cash more practical. -.-!

greentwinkle12

Hi Shir
my mum only say must buy, dunno the reason behind leh..

my mum also told hubby side not to get pork cans.. replace with ang bao.. cos nowadays ppl dun eat, and my relatives side also dun take such can food.

nikiko

wa, pekochan81, u making me more excited!!! U are so lucky, had a smooth and perfect day. I hope i can be like you!! Please pass ur blessing on us! hahaha.... i very scare that day got things corp up and i know i sure will get very pissed if it really happens..

thanks for the reminder, yes must remember to bring rubber band and envelopes to keep the cash, very useful info yet many ppl will tend to forget little simple things like this!

did you all (pekochan81, Iris) do any thank you speech? how's the moment like? i scare i will stumble... my HTB still dun wanna plan the speech, not sure how he wanna do it.. we each do a speech ourselves or he says or i say then he says abit.. hiyo.. guys always very relax not kan chiong one...

saggiegirl

Shir> no problem at all
share share is good
haha... for us... the pork cans is bought by the groom side...then my mum just "hui li" (return in goodwill) a small portion back lor...

yup...the damage is around there lar...not expensive...considering that we lugged 17 items in total..

dunnoe leh... for the tea ceremony... alot of ppl give ring for the hubby... bt for us, we give small angpao... is the thought that counts

reine

Congrats Peko! I can't wait to finish off this whole thing. hahahahaha

HuaHua, my AD on 25th Oct also. Think i will check with my hotel to see can test AV or not.

blurbaby

i hate it!! mummy is questioning why i ask my aunt for the food tasting??? cos i never ask her mom??

but i am closer to my aunt as compared to my maternal side people.. i will ignore her for that...

not to say i don't respect her.. but there is only 10 seats.. and my grandma need ppl to support her when she walk..

pekochan81

Nikiko> Haha...erm, actually we forgotten to bring rubber bands & envelopes! That's why muz share with u gals this little advice.

I'm also like you. VERY paranoid of screw-ups. Coz am used to be in events line, so I'm quite a perfectionist. After all, it's nw my own life event! But like wat my hubs say, sometimes bound to have hicups, coz certain things not control by us. In any case, just have to enjoy the whole process lor. But said is easier than done lah. I totally understand. So just try to test out whatever u need to test out in advance to prevent any possible hipcups.

Hahahaha...I actually let my hubs do the "Thank You" speech. But hor, he ended up sabo me also after he finished his! I'm totally caught off guard & unprepared. He thanked both set of parents & the guest for their time. While I just said "Thank you everyone for your time. Really appreciate it". Hahahahaha....I tell u ah, on the stage, confirm brain freeze!!!! We did not prepare the script in adavnce lah...more of impromtu wan lor

Reine> Hahha....but once yours is done, you'll be missing it very very much!

Later am still gg back to our bridal suite for additional 1 more night stay...so gota really enjoy the time in it liao! hehe

Shir: I doubt 1 bottle is sufficient for 1 table.. I am ordering my wine (better quality wines) from Crystal wines, the rest, I am getting it from Hilton, wun want to waste it on cockage charges as well.

Jaq: Soft copies = uneditied copies as well?

Jane: my case, I will informed the hotel to only provide those better wine to eg table 8, 9 and 10.. For other guests, provide the usual table wine..

Btw, has anyone bought the tea sets? How much did you gals get? I saw one at JB, RM 69.90.. is it ex?

ahBlur: dun be bothered.. for my case, just nice, we have 8 people in total, I asked my HB to invite his grandma and I didn't bother to invite my paternal grandma (convince my parents esp my dad with all sorts of reasons)..