(2009) Brides of year 2009

octo

Hihi ladies,

This thread is moving so fast that I cant keep up also. Hee..

May I check with you all, what's the duties of JMs other than gate crashing? I won't be having any gate crashing, so thinking whether I need to get any JM.

octo

Cherie81> I think I am in the same shoe as you. I tried asking my future mil yesterday.. what does my mom need to prepare on the brides side for the groom side. They were all saying that for wedding, its the bridal side that will request for stuff, not the groom side. So it seems like nothing to prepare. Im not sure, but got that impression from them.

shir: your JMs are v impt. they have to make sure ur things are all packed and brought to the right place.. help u with ur gown, bring this n that.. they're like ur PA for the day. else u'll be v busy.

LM: yea, thinking of cheongsam but gonna wear once only lor .. lol

cherie81

littlewoman> My mother in law has pass away and his father dont really know all this and wont be around during the GDL. SO practically nobody cares. My mum only know that she need to prepare 2 bottles of soft drink to return. LOL.... what else more???

Shir> Ya lor.. I feel bad for my husband not getting anything. LOL. Maybe I will get bedsheet for him. Anymore???

Shir: JMs can help out as the receiptionist for the banquet, bridesmaid helping us to change before we return to our maiden home etc.

milo: she can wear when she attend other people's wedding too?

Cherie: I think gals' side have to get the bedsheets, baby potty, table lamp, the wash basin etc.. For my case, I am omitting all these, getting only the table lamps, new pyjayams and bedsheets..

saggiegirl

morning gals

haizz our guest listings will shrink again as something unfortunate happened in the family... now checking with my coordinator if the hotel will fine us or not

meanwhile, i tink for bride's family, need to prepare 2 bottles of syrup/soft drinks, 3 angpaos for son-in-law (for him to buy land, buy pants, celebrate bday), 1 angpao each for in-laws, return back a certain even number of oranges & wedding cakes, and of course the whole set of traditional jia zhuang

bedsheets is not included as jia zhuang for us

hmm.. sometimes quite hard to look for mama outfits... my MIL went to daniel yam and buy a dress lor... 100++ ... aiya i told her to wear back the same outfit that she wore for my SIL wedding early this year...she say dun want... :s ....

mama say she saw some outfits nice at chinatown...OG lar.. so will bring her there lor... anyway coz my mum is not working (she is 66 this yr), so i will pay for her outfit lor...

i am getting 2 helpers... 1 to help me carry bag, 1 to carry my train as my gown is pretty long with crystals.....

bliss_bb

shir> I will not be having gate crash too thus I will only have 1 JM to accompany me when i go over to inlaw place and outdoor PS

gili

tks mrswong, saw the map. hope to go down later.
wat r we brides suppose to do on GDL?
mine is this cuming sun.

bliss_bb

hi ladies, anyone of your hubby be wearing No. 1 Uniform for March in? If my AD gown is sligh pale beige whereas hubby No. 1 Uniform is pure white, does it look weird? My coordinator say it ok but i feel that it look weird especially my WG is not white colour

shyoshya

hiakx... there are a few stores at new market that have the GDL stuff... was there this weekend. I think going there to shop around will be enough cos there are more than Fu Yuan to choose from. some are outside along the roads ... but i din have time to visit all, so just went 2. below are some links from friends:

----------------------------

Fu Yuan The Wedding Shop
http://www.worldoffortune.com/betrothal.html
32 New Market Road Food Centre #02-1098 S(050032)
(Beside Chinatown OG shopping center)
Tel: (65) 8188 2826

----------------------------

MINAH DEPARTMENTAL
http://www.minah.com.sg
140, Upper Bukit Timah Road #01-19
Beauty World Centre
Singapore 588177
Tel: (65) 64685870 / 98357956

saggiegirl: opps.. sorry to hear that.. hmm.. try to call Rachel soon, see what she says, will you be cancelling a few tables? Else, i think it shld be okay?

Ling: I think shld be rather okay.. Seen some brides doing that.. and I find it rather grand to going through the swords ceremony.

supergal

^5 Gili..my GDL is also on this Sun! Just manage to buy the last few bits of the stuff yesterday.

I think for mine case, it's really like 'gift exchange' for us! my hubby will bring along the items that my mom requested and we on the bride's end, will also prepare some things that my MIL asked for. i think it's going to be so fun! hehe!

i think i will be busy taking pictures to capture the fun part of the ceremony! we seem to have quite alot of things to get ready..so these few days, i will keep myself busy with tagging all the "XI" stickers to the items!

have fun too gals, for those of you who have your GDL coming up!!

bliss_bb

saggiegirl> sorry to hear that, yes do call Rachel to see whether is it ok to reduce the tables.

Littlewoman> thanks babe = )

yes, what happen groovy? Maybe u want to consider doing extension of nails????

cube_cube

omg groovy....wat happened?

afternoon ladies...its a blue tues for me...esp after lunch..yuck...found smthg in my noodle just now...gross....hope i wont get any poisoning...yuck....sori

How's lunch for everyone? 3rd day into my dieting, eat yong tau foo.. hmm..

cubecube: what did you find? Did you inform the stall owner?

saggiegirl

thanks every1 ... hmm... June is away 2day so Rachel will most prob let me know soon ba .... hoping for the best... haizz... now must activate standby list liao... if not cannot even cover...

cubecube> dun tell me u find rubber band in ur food?

dizonne

hihi all,

im back...
thank god for the good weather...
haizz..mi wedding didnt go as well as expected...mi bf's bros cockup alot of tings...
from mi jetskii, to the emcee, to the cars, and even e favours..haizz..sianzz..

bt then everiting's ova now...i oso dun wan to tok and argue so much...

Now, got to settle all e issues tat were created on tat dae..haizz..

saggiegirl: that sounds serious.. hmm.. yah, perhaps you might want to check with your other friends/colleagues to see if they can attend?

saggiegirl

littlewoman> hmm trying hard ba
hopefully the rest will reply after term starts as many of them are on leave this time

other frens have asked le... as my AD is too hot,..many of them are already taken up on that day ...

fifteenmay

xka, congrats! become a Mrs liao! : )
Dun worries, in the end, the most impt thing is that u go married.
As u said, things are over liao. dun dwell on the sad things liao..
be a happy wife..

octo

Milo, LW, Ling> So for the morning, the JM only need to help me take my gowns? I have not choose my AD gown yet. Think not going for long train as my ballroom march-in is quite short. Don't want wait I reach the stage, the train still near the door. Heheehe.. just kidding. But I don't have any church wedding so thought not need long one.

I guess I need 2 JM for the dinner reception. For morning, I am thinking if not much to do, then don't trouble them to come so early. Ummmm.. headache.

octo

Cherie81> I think my mom did mentioned something like.. she will buy all the bed stuff for us. And because my hb have bought them already, she said she will pay him back cause my auntie said bride side suppose to pay for that. Other than that, my in-laws (groom side) have no request for anything. Only told me to ask my mom for the stuff she want.

octo

Ling> Maybe you want to try take pic while wearing that gown with your hb wearing the No. 1 uniform. See if it look ok on the pic and can roughly gauge the feel.

By the way, have you received your layout from YC? I am still waiting for it. Don't know in time to print anot. Did you top-up alot?

Shir: I need my bridesmaid to help me in changing my tea dress or kua to going back to my house, as for the rest of my JMs, other than gate crashing, nothing much for them to do except to also helping me to carrying all the items back to the hotel; by which they can take their rest etc before getting themselves ready at about 4 plus 5 for final briefing with my planner and getting ready for the dinner reception and the various tasks..
As for the brothers, my HB need their help to driving the JMs and of course helping out at the dinner reception like arching the guests etc etc.

roystream

hi hi, any1 knws any place that can offer to tie ribbon for bridal car? i will only get my car quite late and the BS will be closed and not intime to tie for me, any suggestions? my wedding is next Tue

bliss_bb

hi Shir, u from YC too? wow great = )

yes, for me I get my sis (thou she married) to be my JM for whole day. She will help me everything.

As for wedding banquet reception, we will get hb's sis, 2 of our frens to help.

I just went for photo selection yesterday. Yet to see the layout. I believe that there is time so let's leave it in YC good hand = )

We exchanged wedding car for additional photos thus top up more than our package given photos.

How abt u? U top up alot? Ur PS photographer is Chris / Adrian?

zzzz

mine also small hiccups here and there.. and it rain also but lucky it rain during the church reception and it stop when we are moving off... so happy it's over! so worried but everything happens so fast and before i realize it's almost end of the whole thing...

pekochan81

felicia> Haha...ya, guys are guys lah. But the next day we 2 almost finish the entire box!

supergal> Ya, muz take photos if you can. Mine was kinda rush, coz the cakes came at 10am, we quickly pray and left home at 10.30am liao. So we only manage to take photos of our cake as we bght 1 back to our new home. The other items all no take pix.

Those having their GDL this Sun, have fun & enjoy the process!

andy_n_eva

MrsKA...i guess when u do it there...more chances for things to cock up cos they are not used to handling wedding banquets...my banquet manager is wonderful and i'm going to write a nice big letter to thank her...i guess his bros also not experienced ma...it's over liaoz...dun think too much k?

there were cock ups lar...but eventually all turn out fine...

thank u all for your blessings...

SS, if u really need to...maybe i can help u? i saw how they tied so can help u if u dun mind...

now to plan for honeymoon...

(anyway i'm in vietnam now for work till fri...lol)

kitty_princess

can't believe everything is over.. such a long preparation..haa.. had a great time although there are some hicups along the way..

i must say a big thank you to my designer Ted Wu for making me such gorgeous wedding and evening gowns.. my friends was like wow when they saw my gowns.. really worth the money spent..
also thanks to Mandarin Oriental for the super good service and coordination... thanks to Peter Lim of Daylight Pictures for his wonderful photos (although the photos are not out yet, i'm confidence they will be fantastic as well as I can see he really put his heart totally in his work)...

fifteenmay

meow, Peter is my ad pg too. i feel assured after hearing that he really puts his heart into his work : )
hey those who are already married, show us pics!

babylina

I NEED HELP!!!!

My MUA smsed me today n say she found out she is pregnant and cannot do my make up.. how how how how how how how????? aiyo... so headache now.. damn sian man...