(2009) Brides of year 2009

catty08

Charmaine, yes but the other date my FH and MIL don't like and the number don't sound auspicious. HIA don't let us block the date because they have a wedding show coming up. Booking of dates would be on first come first serve basis on the wedding show. Anyway, we don't think we can meet the minimum table requirement of 30 tables for the atrium ballroom. The other ballrooms are too small for us. So i guess we won't be taking HIA.

Shir thanks! The problem now is the number of tables, those we like we cannot meet the requirements.

Yvonne, SCDH told me their max number of tables is only 25? Hotel Rendezvous' max tables only 20 odd right? My friend went to the wedding show at The Legends, she told me it was a disaster, so i'm wary of booking there.

cube_cube

CATTY, you should try looking at resturants that are in those hotels. You will still get your hotel stay and usually the food is much better too....like grand shanghai, and si chuan dou hua, tang court @ relc, etc.

I tink you should go down to HIA for a visit prior to the wedding show. Like that you can see whether you like the place 1st. If dun like, dun need to bother abt the wedding show liao loh. If you find it not bad, you should negotiate with the hotel's co-ord whether they can chum siong abit let you book as 30 tables, but its 28 cfm + 2 reserved. If they allow, den you can chiongall the way down on the show and be the 1st to book there....whahahaha......you should also try this with Peninsula Excelsior cos thei min at 30.

There's alot of hotel with the damn word "ROYAL" in it, that's why when you search the internet, you may not be getting wat you want. Well, this is the one im talking about..
http://www.parkroyalhotels.com/

tksl

actually, The Legends is good.. i dunno wad happened during the wedding show.. but i attended my friend's wedding last Nov, ambience good, food good.. only thing is that its a little out of the way. if i'm not wrong, price was $800+..

like wad cube cube said, go down for a site visit first.. den be the first to chiong down during the wedding show. Honestly, been to a few wedding shows, the perks are generally better.. and i feel that we have more bargainning power. :p When i went there.. the ppl who booked during the wedding show were those looking for end 2008 / early 2009 dates.. so maybe still got chance..

elstrial

grace: i'm staying in bedok. pretty far. anyway now still early to talk abt the timing. don't know whether future MIL wants to calculate the timing or etc.

catty08

thanks cube cube and Suzanna.

gracelourdes

elstrial, i tik for hokkien, generally dun need to be so early like the teochew traditions...for those whose families r teochew n r insistent to follow, it's ard 4am lah...

as for the rest, some ppl might want to check with their shifu on the timing...cos i do have frds who have gotten married n were given abt 2 timings to begin the weddings....so there's a choice...

but cos although i'm teochew, i won't be following the tradition cos parents r ok with it

cube_cube

**YAWN**

MY dum dum bf still haven make up his fat brain on which place he wants...hai....

anyone here got try ballot for the new BTO flats at punggol?

gladz

Hi Chaos, wow wow wow..having ROM on a yacht will be so special...nice~~~

Hi reallove, you went over to sign a BS to have PS over at Redang? How's the package like?

fat_fat_79

thbsea-> Thank you for your compliments. haha I not as good as what you say la. I just write down everything lo which incl all your ADs. haha My brain cant remember all the information 1. And I very free in office meh so can do research in office lo. hahahahaha

As for your PS, I think mid or end Oct will be a good time for both of you. But you have to call your BS for your first appointment soon liao. Dont wait for them to call you!. Try to arrange early June, then the gown will be ready by Sept or Oct. Just in time for your PS. Since your PG Nov and Dec is peak, that mean he have alot of editing to do too. After choosing your pics and add in some delay here and there, you might be able to view the layout by mid Dec. Printing takes another 1.5 months. You should be able to view your actual album in mid Feb or later. If nothing goes wrong, you only got your album 1 month before your AD. If touch wood anything wrong, you still have time to change. To what I know most BS need to take at least 3 months to complete the finishing albums. You can work backwards from the timeline. 3months for the ablum and 4-5 months for the gown. You need at least 7-8 months before your AD for your first appointment. Just a cent of my thoughts.

Janet-> I think June is ok lo. First appointment is just to try their range of gowns only. Try to work the dates backward. You need about 3-4 months for the finishing album. If your gown is OTR, you just have to arrange for a few more appointment to confirm the gown and to alter the gown. If your gown is MTM, then you need at least 3-4 months for the gowns. So June is just nice to start your first appointment. If you still think its early, you can push the date to July?

Kristle-> My cousin also have his BS in JB. They also did their PS very early I think about 7-8 months before their AD. They say its because the timeline in JB is diff from here. He say that their BS need at least 4 months to do the album and it happened that that yrs got two seven month so they have to push very early too. Anyway you are right lo. If do everything nearer to my AD, me and my HTB also cant take it. The hole in out pocket will be very very big lo haha :p I think you are the earlier BTB to take your PS. Remember to share your pic le! hehe

Sorry for my long winded msg huh!

chaos

hi ladies, thanks thanks! lucky my friend is helping me with yacht arrangment. will let you know when its confirmed.

Fluttering tails.. remember i mentioned about the wax seal very early in this forum. I received the seal already and had lots of fun playing with it. and surprisingly it wasn't that difficult to do a nice seal.

janetwedding

Hi Fatfat,

Thanks for the details, really appreciate. I might MTM my gowns as I personally dun think my BS culd provide any nice gowns, hahaha...

strawberry12

Hi strawberry,
i cant send u a pm...mayb u can click on my name,,and there will appear private message. click there to send me ur frdster account. Cheers.

hi realove..
nice to knw that u are hving the same day as me...ware ur wedding banquet? my gd frd had hers at yvonne too..hers will be next mth ...

hi eternal mates,

oh great..hv u booked ur banquet and bs??
care to share more?

tomolo will be gg dwn ritz couture to take a look..

fifteenmay

Hi Al,
Gosh,even have to book MUA so early?
Ok how do you do your shortlisting for mua? do u go for trial first?
Anyone have recommendations? How do you know if she suits your style and the dress when we haven even choose yet? I am confused liao. Somemore i heard good comments about my bs mua but was thinking that i should try it out on my PS and if hes good, then book him for my ad. is it advisable?
Who is candy btw?Is she a free lance MUA or attached to a BS?

Anyone know about Sandy Ho?

bvlgari25

Hi strawberry shortcake,
I went to golden horse award, my bridal room and sophia wedding collection. Sophia has got really impressive WG. So those who are looking for very beautiful WG should go there and have a look but do be prepared to fork out more for the quality of design and workmanship.

Hi eternal mates,
Thanks for your opinion. Yah I do agree that it is most important to work within the budget cos a bit of savings here and there can add up to quite a bit. Can spend on better furniture for house.

Hi Yen,
One of my friends took on ritz couture package. She said that the service is very good but I heard that the range of gown is not a lot. Probably you may want to update us after ur visit to ritz.

Hi Chaos,
From what I gather from Signoria Nuziale's website, they do quite a massive bit of superimposing for the digital image to make it look very fairytale-ish. Is this their usual style?

Think quite a number of you are still trying to settle your banquet. Hope you have found your dream venue. Probably those who have been visiting BS may wish to share your findings too? Cos it is really tiring to visit the BS and listen to them explaining the packages. By the 3rd BS I was almost brain dead.

coris264

Anyone of u had go for gowns fitting and PS? I already went for my gown fitting and will be taking my PS in july. Anyone in multiply site to share their photos?

strawberry12

mind to share yr VG and PG?? hw much did u paid for them? wanna knw the market rate for 2009 ..

I have been to golden horse awards, sophia...
do agree that sophia has nice WG bt do take note that they hv alot of hidden cost too..
As for BR, my cousin took for his wedding in march..however, i find that their pics are nt so impressive as well as gowns..bt i do realise that their threads on BR are pretty strong..

blurbaby

cube cube.. tks for promoting on d venue..

for d other ballroom not much of d pillar problem.. cos only plaza ballroom got that toot huge pillar...

it's a sore in d eye..

hi catty.. nice to meet u here.. cos d smaller ballroom can allocate up to 30 tables.. but if wanted to add more not sure it's allowed but definitely got to pack them in!!

hope u able to find d venue of yr choice!! =>

emeraldbride

catty, so wat is the number of tables u got?? 30 too much? those small one usually is 20 or 25, too little??

must bear in mind those tables are usually inclusive of reserved table.

if u still wanna hold it on 26th, u better start moving fast!!

chaos

hi Yen,
i'd been to Ritz and the coordinators are really nice. They are not pushy at all. My sister had them as her BS for her wedding last year. Too bad, my BF prefer the fantasy photos provided by Signoria. And they have all the designs I wanted for my WG, EG, teadress so i'm really pleased with them till now. Although my WG is settled, i'm meeting them again next week to select the rest. I just can't to meet them again cos i really have fun there.

I engaged a ex colleague of me to do my PG and i think he is sophia freelance photographer. If anyone of you gals are keen to look at his website, i could give you the link.

Signoria does has normal photos album like other BS and you can just add a few pages of those metallic photos (digital enhanced) or you can also have a package just full of those enhanced photos.

Hi all, i agree with Ling and the rest who were brain dead after the 2nd or 3rd BS. I think its critical to have your budget and the kind of gowns you like in mind. I was almost forced into signing with yvoone creations at a bridal show based on the few beautiful gowns they paraded on stage. So i think really have to go down to the shop to look at the gowns, try them on then decide which BS to sign.

Have fun ladies!

catty08

ahBlur, which hotel are you refering to? lol

emeraldbride, i have confirmed 25 tables but not sure will increase to how many. I'm approximating to around 30 or less. I'm scared if I take min 30 tables package, I won't be able to meet the number of tables on my AD. I went to enquire they (a lot of hotels) told me min tables are exclusive of reserve tables.

cookiefleur

hi everyone!!!

after lots of hard work researching and meeting hotel people, I'm a Jan btb! =D

is everyone here all very excited about their upcoming wedding??!! hahaha...

piggylover

mashi, dont worry ger! from progress ur told me, shd b able to finish on time de. let's pray hard for tat. heheh..

twinfairy, u'r nt doing banquet for ur weddng?

piggylover

Jiaple, congrat!! so which ballroom r u getting?

Catty, dont b stress out over banquet venue. im sure u can get ur ideal location soon. jiayo!

janetwedding

Hi fatfat,

My BS is Bliss Bridal Creation @ MS. My hubby signed with them on a road show 2 years back. Even though they are not in my list, but since hubby has the thought, I'll juz accept and hope they can provide good service.

octo

Congrats Jiaple!

Hee.. i think we are having our dinner in the same ballroom, 3 days apart.

Who's your coordinator?

cube_cube

Catty, ah blur is at park royal beach road.she taking the big ballroom, still got a small one beside it.

hmm....you can try asking club chinos under tung lok group. Their max tables i tink is 30 or 32.

cymk, thx for the info, i already read it when it came out ^^

jiaple, congrats for settling your location

elstrial

gracelourdes: hope so. then i can sleep abit longer =)

fifteenmay: book early to avoid disappointment.
for mine, i did my selection based on the reviews given by other brides. i didn't go for any trial.
candy is a MUA with Sophia Wedding Collection. highly recommended by other Sophia Brides. so i decided to book her for both my ROM and AD makeup.
i didn't think too much on whether she will be able to do the makeup to suit my style etc. shouldn't be any problem since she has so much experience dealing with other brides.

sorry, no clue on who is Sandy Ho.

ju_ed

hi grace and grace lourdes,

thanks for the tip. i'm not a morning person, so do not really wanna wake up at 3am to leave the house at 4 am!! plus gotta stay up late due to the dinner banquet... hopefully my parents will no be particular abt it!

honeybunny

Thanks girls =)

Hi Piggy Lover, my wedding at Vanda Ballroom

Hi Shir, hee so your wedding on 20 December 09?
Thats great, congrats. I took up the package with Fiona. When did you sign up? I was abit hestite abt confirming at Vanda, cos of the low ceiling, but after taking in consideration, the package, perks, service, food & hotel name.. in my opnion that is the best venue (even though it is not the nicest ballroom in town)

I have decided to confirm early to enjoy their wedding show perks..

piggylover

Jiaple, i went for a wedding last sun there. nice ballroom with big foyer.

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>AD</TD><TD>Day</TD><TD>Banquet Venue</TD><TD>Room</TD><TD>Bridal Studio</TD><TD>AD PG</TD><TD>AD VG </TD></TR><TR><TD>Renne</TD><TD>04.12.2009</TD><TD>Fri</TD><TD>Orchard Parade Hotel</TD><TD>Anitica Ballroom</TD><TD>White Link</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Teresa</TD><TD>05.12.2009</TD><TD>Sat</TD><TD>Le Meridien Hotel</TD><TD>Margaux Ballroom</TD><TD>Jazreel's Collection</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Teddy Mac</TD><TD>06.12.2009</TD><TD>Sun</TD><TD>Raffles Town Club</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Golden Horse Awards</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>MooMedia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Andrea</TD><TD>12.12.2009</TD><TD>Sat</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Park View</TD><TD>Crystal Ballroom</TD><TD>Vaughn Tan</TD><TD>3Some</TD><TD>Skyworkz </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cheekychick</TD><TD>12.12.2009</TD><TD>Sat</TD><TD>Novotel Clarke Quay Hotel</TD><TD>Cinnamon Ballroom</TD><TD>Printemps</TD><TD>Foto-U</TD><TD>Zeproductions </TD></TR><TR><TD>Junel</TD><TD>13.12.2009</TD><TD>Sun</TD><TD>Parkroyal @ Kitchener Rd</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Jess Haute Couture</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Gisele Lim</TD><TD>17.12.2009</TD><TD>Thurs</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Shir</TD><TD>20.12.2009</TD><TD>Sun</TD><TD>Marina Mandarin</TD><TD>Vanda Ballroom</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yvonne</TD><TD>20.12.2009</TD><TD>Sun</TD><TD>Amara Hotel</TD><TD>Grand Ballroom</TD><TD>Digio</TD><TD>1950photography</TD><TD>ForestProduction </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jiaple</TD><TD>23.12.2009</TD><TD>Wed</TD><TD>Marina Mandarin</TD><TD>Vanda Ballroom</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Charmaine</TD><TD>25.12.2009</TD><TD>Fri</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Park View</TD><TD>Crystal Ballroom</TD><TD>Digio</TD><TD>simonvideo</TD><TD>simonvideo </TD></TR><TR><TD>Piggylover</TD><TD>26.12.2009</TD><TD>Sat</TD><TD>Orchid Country Club</TD><TD>Grand Ballroom</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>Mojoideas</TD><TD>Mojoideas </TD></TR><TR><TD>Suzanna</TD><TD>26.12.2009</TD><TD>Sat</TD><TD>Orchard Hotel</TD><TD>Ballroom 3</TD><TD>LaBellle Coulture</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>ahBlur</TD><TD>26.12.2009</TD><TD>Sat</TD><TD>Plaza Park Royal @ Beach Rd</TD><TD>Plaza Ballroom</TD><TD>White Link</TD><TD>Lam</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Emeraldbride</TD><TD>26.12.2009</TD><TD>Sat</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Not taking</TD><TD>Andy Lim</TD><TD>Wedding Paparazzi </TD></TR><TR><TD>cube_cube</TD><TD>26.12.2009</TD><TD>Sat</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Julia Wedding News</TD><TD>fotowerke</TD><TD>fotowerke </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

sotong_gal

dear all.. i'm new too!!
i've just fixed my date @ 28Oct09!!
confirmed my BS @ SWC &amp; Dinner @ Orchard...
Am i too kiasu?? haha...

Now searching for VG... any recommendations??

Hi Huiling,
Have u decided on ure venue??

bvlgari25

Hi Yen,
My AD PG &amp; VG are from Simon Video. My sister engaged them for her AD too and they are quite good. Simon (VG) knows the procedures very well and he will give directions as to what to do next and things like that. He is every experienced and very easy to get along with. There will be another PG, who is his partner. That time I signed up with him was during a promo where both PG &amp; VG together was $1.2k. He mentioned that the price may increase after that. You may want to check out any new promo on the website: http://www.simonvideo.com.sg/
I think it may cost much more if you engage the PG &amp; VG separately. Cos usually a good PG would already cost $800-$1k.
So Yen any comments about golden horse? Yah I agree that bridal room's photos are not very impressive.

Hi Chaos,
You still looking for bridal shoes? Think you can visit this website http://www.loeandbehold.com.sg/index.htm
The shoes are quite nice but not sure about the pricing. Probably you can check it out den share with us? hehe... BTW think you must be very excited now cos you getting ur keys tmr right? Congrats!

Hi Strawberry Shortcake,
Haha... I haven made up my mind yet. Still debating between golden horse and sophia. I dunno if I can reveal the exact pricing but i can only say that it is on the high $4k for more or less the standard package you get from other BS. If you want to know more probably you can PM me. ^u^

junel

Catty you can try Parkroyal @ kitchener very good pkg and pricing also very good and its nett. I'm very satisfied with the pkg though the location (its behind Mustafa)&amp; pillars a bit sian la... overall still ok...
You can check with Don, my coordinator, @ 90673030
Better shortlist and confirm soon... 26 Dec very very hot!! ok la dun stress you la

seoulover

strawberry shortcake> Sophia's package is $4888 (both indoor &amp; outdoor photoshoot). Think they have a $3988 package without outdoor photoshoot.

hi ladies, glad to meet u all here! I'm a june 09 bride too but getting rom-ed soon this june. Hope we can share tips with one another along the way!