(2009) Brides of year 2009

dizonne

ay....half an hr??

actuali all i did was to go to this particular wedding bands webbie, and copied all e song they hav sung at weddings in the past year or so lor, n i got tis list...nw im still listening to the songs lor...haven listen finish...haha

sunshine_baby

Saggiegirl> Oh.. Understood.. Must remember to keep a lookout when having the food tasting

jascmy

Hmm... starting to miss my current home liao. This is the place that I'm born and grow up. Moving on to my love nest in Sembawang after my wedding.

felifeli

hi babes, i ask all of you ... do you planning give flower to both mother during dinner time ??? whh part shd present ??? 2nd march in ???

mrswong

vt (verena)> Initially I also tot male pay, but I thk male only pay for the GDL cakes, liquor and male side stuff. That day when I went to buy the GDL stuff (those basin, needle box, pyjamas, lamp, teaset etc) then I know is female side (mother) pay.

rene3

felicia,I don't intend to. Find that it's abit fake(personal opinion) to do it in front of others.

mrswong, that cost quite abit of $$$, right? My mum also ask me to go and get all the things that I need daily. From toothbrush, toothpaste, all the way to contact lens solution...*faint*

I'm still look for cheap teochew tau sa piah for my GDL. Both side parents says want that kind but don't know where to get.

Jaq (bluerosie):
Cupcake Momma no longer take order for Christmas. Cos my wedding is on Christmas Day and my hubby has done some checks. Cake Avenue, Juzmycakes and Minicupcakes do take orders for Christmas!

felifeli

irene, oh ic... i intended too... i wan to do something touching...

ya is female side pay lor... male side for cake, cans, & other thing lor...

stella, my parent so far pay abt 300 lor.. still gt thing nt yet buy....

vicki

felicia, i recently attended a wedding where the bride presented flowers to both mums during thank you speech..

felifeli

morning vicki, oh reli... my hb n i too shy to speech during wedding time our thank you speech will be done by our mc & present the flowers to both mums... i also tot of present gift for both dad.

mrs_tan_to_be

hey gals...
if present flowers to mummy, how abt daddy? like leave them out leh...

GDL had 2 portions.

Ladies pay for the needlebox,babytub,pillows and blosters etc

Guys pay for the mattress, cakes, dowry, 2 bottles of liquor, cans of pork legs, 4 dian jin etc.

GDL is more impt to the ladies side..and definately guys side pay more stuff....

daffier

http://www.goldenhappiness.com.sg/bethrothal.html

过大礼 (Betrothal)

What is Betrothal?
It comprises of gifts and cash delivered to the bride’s home by the groom. Of which the bride’s family will accept and return the reminder to avoid giving the impression of “selling” their daughter.

Why is Betrothal important?
The Betrothal epitomizes the sincerity towards the marriage between the bindings of 2 families and assures the bride’s family that she will be well taken care of after marriage. It also shows the groom’s financial dependability.

When should Betrothal be done?
One to three weeks before the wedding day. Normally, an auspicious date will be chosen at temples in exchange for a small ang pao, usually $10 - $12 will be sufficient.

How is Betrothal done?
The Groom together with a friend or a matchmaker will deliver the betrothal gifts to the bride’s home.

*Dragon and phoenix candles are a must for all dialets

**Below is the checklist of what to buy. The checklist is to the best of our knowledge, however do a final check with your parents and in laws before deciding on the final items to buy.**

Hokkiens/ Haianese

On the morning of the wedding day, the bride's family will light the 2 dragon candles while the groom’s family will light the 2 phoenix candles.

If your husband is Hokkien and Hainanese
Things to buy for the bride:
Dragon & Phoenix candles
A Bunch of bananas
Some red dates
Pig trotters/Minimum six pig trotters cans
Oranges
6 types of seeds symbolizes prosperity, growth and perpetuation of the family

Returning to the groom
Things to buy
Handkerchief for the groom's best man
2 stalks of yam
2 stems of ginger plants
2 stalks of chives
2 pcs of charcoal
2 packets of tang yuan flour
I tie n tie clip
A red packet will also be given to the groom’s family to buy shoes.
The bride will need to present towels to the parents, grandparents, uncles, aunt and groom’s siblings.

Cantonese/Hakka
f your husband is Hakka or Cantonese
A number of cash 4 separate red packets
2 Chicken
2 Bottles of brandy
Dragon & Phoenix candles
Hai wei (Cantonese)
19 oranges
19 apples
2 pieces of red cloth to hang on the door, grooms to be longer than brides (for gd luck)
A full plate of 'fatt kou', some vegetables as leaf lettuce or endive ('sang choy', symbolizes vitality),
celery ('khan choy' symbolizes diligence), spring onion (symbolizes intelligence)
1 pair of trousers (if the bride has a single elder brother (symbolizes wealth).
Dragon phoenix bangles (Long Feng Zhou)
6 types of seeds symbolizes prosperity, growth and perpetuation of the family
A specified number of wedding cakes

Returning to the groom
Things to buy
1 pair of lotus tuber ('leng ngau') with roots intacts and plenty of tubercles (but now a days it is almost impossible to get so lotus roots from supermarket will do) (Cantonese only)meaning (symbolize the prosperous offspring desired by the couple as well as longevity of both the couple and their family.)
Part of the cash will be returned to reflect the spirit of sharing between two families. (Both Hakka & Cantonese)

TeoChew
On the first delivery date selected at the temple, part of the cash, 10 or 12 oranges and some biscuits will be sent and to seek approval from bride's family.
On the second delivery date, the balance of the cash and wedding cakes, 12 oranges, biscuits, a roasted whole pig, 2 chickens, 2 bottles of brandy and 3 sets of ice sticks (3 coated with sesame and the other 2 with rice grains).

If either side is Teochew
10 to 12 oranges
Wedding cakes
A roasted whole pig (how many kilos depends on the request of the bride)
2 chickens
2 bottles of brandy
3 sets of ice sticks (3 coated with sesame and the other 2 with rice grains)
Dragon & Phoenix candles
Gold Jewellery (Si Dian Jin or the Si Dian Zhuan)

Returning to the groom
Things to buy
2 bottles of orange juice
1 piece of handkerchief for each of the brothers who helped deliver the items
2 stalks of yam
2 stalks of chives
2 stems of ginger plants
2 pcs of charcoal
2 packets of tang yuan flour
I tie n tie clip
The bride's family will give a red packet to each person who delivers the cash and gifts.
To each of her parents-in-law 1 piece of handkerchief with 1 big red packet.
A small moneybag containing 6 kinds of seeds (symbolizes prosperity, growth and perpetuation of the family)
1 red packet with cash for the elders in the groom's family to buy shoes.

daffier

嫁妆 (Dowry)

What is Dowry?
The bathtub, basin and potty are to encourage the couple to have children. The sewing kit represents a capable wife. The wedding lamps mean a bright future and the bowls means abundant food for the couple.

Why is Dowry important?
The gifts represent the blessing to the couple and show that the bride has grown up and is ready to take on the new role of a wife and mum.

When should Dowry be done?
On the same day as Betrothal ceremony or a few days before the wedding.

What are the items?
1 Double happiness bathtub
1 Double happiness potty
1 Double happiness basin
1 Sewing box
1 pair Double happiness mugs
1 Sewing Kit
1 Metallic Disc
1 Red thread
1 Scissors
1 Measuring tape
1 Ruler
1 Mirror
1 Comb
1 Double happiness tea set
1 pair Double happiness bowl and spoon set
1 pair Double happiness bedside lamps
2 pair Silk slippers
Assorted beans

daffier

During GDL, groom will bring the items (his side pay) n bride have to give some of everything back..

bride side have to pay for dowry (her side pay) to bring to their new house..

felifeli

Hui ling, rite rite...

stacey, tks for the infor... i read thru this website you given too... i m gg to buy the yu shan frm this website too... aiyoyoyoy still gt alot of thing nt yet buy... this wkend must die die go n buy lor...

lalaa_27

good mornin everyone!
y all so quiet? I'm in holiday mood.. no mood to work.. on leave tom so lookin forward to the loooong weekend

h2hm2m

Hi Lalaa, I juz got back from a tiring flight and my HTB told me his dad realise a mistake in the wedding invite. Not a huge mistake I reckon but its those chinese character description. Hard to explain but anyway its too late to reprint in time for our GDL this sunday. Way out will be to totally ignore the mistake or juz manually correct dat chinese character.sigh..

Anyway i've been bz doing research for my honeymoon. There r so many things to find out in order to plan...Thank god there's internet...brilliant invention.
Ya its long wkend, isn't it? aren't u planning any short getaway?my next few days are pack with steamboat gatherings and the GDL. Bz bz bz..

jascmy

Irene,

I love to eat Loong Fatt's Tau Sar Piah

Sweet or Salty tau sar piah @$0.60 each. Not sure whether is traditional Teochew tau sar piah. But very nice.

Loong Fatt Eating House & Confectionary
639 Balestier Road
Tel: 6253 4584

dizonne

haha kath, u same as mi n nok..haizz..
n i realised wat went wrong wif mi invite le...mi frend did nt update e sample hardcopy wif e latest version tat i sent him..tat was y e mistake was nt detected....
haizz...i oso duno hw to put it across to him...bt i dun reali feel happi payign for his mistake lor, though he giv mi discount..

lalaa_27

i got long weekend but also packed wif stuff to do la..
tom go shoppin for bedroom set, mattress, bedsheets, curtains etc..
sat must sit down & fold the inserts & put into the invitation cards & tie the gold thread.. 450 cards to do!
sun & mon will be painting our bedroom..

Kath if u didnt notice the mistake the 1st time, den chances r ur guests wouldnt notice it either.. they wouldnt realy scrutinize so much..

for our sun invitations, my htb discovered a typo error, but we're juz gonna ignore it.. cos we also didnt notice it initially

dizonne

u all so good...mine was a veri obvious mistake...staring in e eye....cant miss de..haizz..

Mr and Mrs Michael Lee became Mr & Mrs Micheal Lee...

cant ignore rite...

lalaa_27

Xka.. typo in name sure cannot ignore lor..
lucky my htb name Michael they spell correctly, dat was the 1st thing i checked.. cos very often ppl mix up the 'a' & 'e'

fifteenmay

hey, do u advise that i start work now, 2 months before the wedding? i got a job offer but thinking whether to take it or not cos the job scope is super stressful and work load alot. thinking whether i can take work and wedding preparation.
Is the last month alot of preparation to do?

dizonne

fifteenmay,
does e company koes tat u r getting married, and that you might need to take leave before and after the wedding day?
coz not yet 3 mths, i scare wil affect ur probation wor..

fifteenmay

xka, they know i getting married and taking honeymoon and are willing to let me go on unpaid leave.Its a one month rolling contract with them.
Job scope quite tough, working hourse super long they say they cant even pick up their own hp while at work.trying to weigh the pros and cons of taking it or rejecting it.
Hubby say dun take we wun die, but eat hawker food instead of rest food. ahahaha
What do u think the job market would be like in oct?

dizonne

haha..im nt analyst wor..i duno hw job mkt wil be like in oct..
bt i do hav frends ard me who hav been jobless for half a year or more...
but if u n hubby can survive wifout the job, then i dun see y u shld accept it lor..especially if it is tat bad as u sae...
but of course, do weigh e pros n cons wif ur hubby la...coz we oso duno wat job is it, and wats ur situation at hm...so betta to discuss wif him n come to a conclusion lor..

fifteenmay

xka, thanks. hubby overseas now so cant really discuss alot with him but spoke to him over the phone just now. he say at the back of his mind, we got alot of things to prepare and do for the wedding and we have the savings to last us til oct at least after our honeymoon, but if i m not working, lifestyle wouldnt be so good la,ie eat hawker centre instead of restaurant.ahahah
Was thinking of rejecting it and work for my aunt in a child education centre for some allowance

dizonne

i believe u've alreadi koe e answer, but coz hubby not around, so feel abit less secure ba...tats y u are asking us for some assurance....

dizonne

aiya...
i oso like tat..when i was sick for 2 mths, all e financial burden was on him...and no matter hw i tried to convince miself to go back to work, i couldnt...
aniwae, tat was then..im glad tat im fine now, and back to work...=]