(2009) Brides of year 2009

babyon

I've have signed up WD package with Bliss Bridal Creations @ Marina Sq during a roadshow. My AD on 6 Jan 09 but have yet to book for the appointment with them.

Any comment abt their service & gowns?

Thks

hi popprincesstrin, u taking grand copthorne too? which coordinator did u spoke to?

hi fiffteenmay, ya no additional perks. sad right

guess we going to call again on monday n see how.
very disturbing lei

mthm

Hi babyon,

Just to share my experience with bliss.

I find that Bliss creation is quite pushy. The sales had actually wanted me to sign up on my very first visit. I told the sales that bliss is the first BS that I went and would like to look at other BS but he insisted that I must put a deposit else he can't answer to the boss. Finally, I insisted to put a refundable deposit of $100.

Although he gave a lot of perks but I just don't feel comfortable.

hi fifteenmay u dun get my meaning,
i would love to sign up based on the perks given on sep 09
but the hotel told us they cant accept booking for sep 09 as they only accept booking up to april 09.
if we insist in booking, we will be paying $50 additional of each normal table price and w no perks at all. meaning all of the above listed perks we are not given
if u r me, i think u oso wont sign up right?

strange thing is, they told other couple ok for booking up to sep 09 but we visited their wedding show in march, and called them up recently, we were given different ans from the other couples..

yanny5515

hi phaffia, im very interested with digio..care to share your package with me?

mscupid, can share your GHA package too? coz i love their gown too, but haven got a chance to go down to see their gown

me just managed to see milan, digio, thomson and Z's wedding today.

glamourous2309

Hi Fifteenmay,

We have met up with AM.PM before, but hubby wasnt too comfy with them because they dont have ROC/RBC registered. Something like freelancers photographers in their case.. so if anything goes wrong, cant lodge with CASE too. I mean hubby just dont want the slightest possible hitches for our wedding since its a once in lifetime event.

We are looking for a photographer in the WPN network. So probably will settle for 1 of them after we have seen their portfolio. Maybe you can try www.wpn.sg too for more information too.
There are only about 10 listed photographers in that network.

bvlgari25

I'm looking at 30-32 tables. So magnolia/vanda rooms are the only available ones. Anyway I heard intercontinental's food and service is not really worth the price. Currently exploring Pan Pac. Will see how it goes. Thanks for the suggestions!

chaos

my sister had Magnolia room too last year. I think its not too bad really.

Fluttering tails: no lah, i'm just going through what i would probably need next year and get it as i come across them and now they are having discounts on the wax, that's why decide to get it now. besides, the forum says need practices before i start using them on my cards.

mstomrs

Hi Joleen,

i think that the so - called $50 additional top-up for each table is based on the current rate of $858 + $50, so it is $908 (which is apparently the rate they r quoting couples now.) Cos I just checked with them & they confirm that the rate for late 2009 is $908 (assuming weekday rate).

Btw when did you ask them about the booking for sep 2009? I think their answer depends on when you asked them. For me, I called them before the march wedding show to ask if it is possible to book for late 2009 and they say cannot.Then when I called them juz recently, they say can. So i think its mayb a matter of timing...?

taime81

Hi CHeeky, do you have photo of novotel of cinnamon ballroom. Actually i wanted to get that intially but worry that it is too small. Phonix was too big for me, i was looking at ard 20-25 tables.

kai9

Hi fifteenmay,

The no. of PGers depend mainly on how comfortable with your budget or the PG packages that comes with it. Some add PGer require top-ups thou while some is included in the package.

If you are having large scale weddings and u tk u might need more, having 2 PG should be ok.

AM/PM PG might be good while not safe (dun hav ROC/RBC?). You should look around and experience other photographers then decide ya.

jaimegal

Welcome Yan, good to see more and more brides in this forum. wah, our 2 newcomers' AD actually the same. so coincidence.

Yan,i also have a GHA package. My one signed up recently. you can let me know if you need. Need to select properly. once made up your mind, muz squeeze the best package out from them. Cuz that time i no experience, never squeeze alot.

Mscupid, my uncle shop is at Katong area. i am waiting for them to send me the picture. but i just went to the shop the other day, saw the cakes, look yummy.Will update you once i have it.

mmelody11

Hi all.. I'm also a Nov'09 BTB.. my date will b 15/11/09.. act 21/11/09 was one of my selected dates.. bt the date has already been taken up by another couple (already choosen my hotel).. haiz.. so those who want their ideal place & date pls act fast..

phaffia

Sorry for the lack of updates gals. Been running around trying to look at home furnishings and related stuffs about the flat. Doing our homework for the new flat. Whew....

Thanks mscupid11 for GDL recommendations. Will look at them after the details to my flat and renovations are settled. Too many things coming at one go. Can get a little overwhelming at times. Hehe

Welcome Yan and noti!

Hey yan, no problem about sharing the pkg..can I have your email add? I like grand copthorne too but we cannot fulfil the min no. of tables hence have to give it up. Heard that MM is a nice venue.

Hey noti, what a coincidence. Hehe..where will you be holding your banquet?

mscupid11

Noti, welcome to this thread! Me also curious abt ur banquet venue.. do update us k..

Yan, both jaime & I are with GHA. What's ur email add? i send u the details.. Btw, have u found ur love nest?

Phaffia, ya with ur new home coming up there's really alot of preparation work to do.. but gona be fun lor.. so envious.. hehe..

Jaime, katong is so near my hse.. hehehe.. k, do update me when u have the pics & pricing. thks!

eternal_mates

Ling, Hotel Intercontinental is able to accomodate your requirement, but it can be quite ex especially if your wedding date is considered a hot date in their calendar. But heard the ballroom is nice and grand looking. How about Conrad? Think it's pillarless. Their tables are of 12. Hope you will find your venue soon.

yanny5515

hi ladies, my email add is [email protected]. many thanks in advance.

mccupid> i am still looking for my love nest. btw, i love both GHA and Digio gown, just wondering are we allowed to chose from the both since they are sisters coy?

i checked with the before their wedding how in march, was told can only make tentative booking.
attended their wedding show, get same reply and was told to go back to them later june/july
when i came back from my holiday, heard that they had a showcase in vivo city, then some couple said allowed booking for sept 09.
my hubby then call them, was told of the higher price based on 20 sep 09 and booking only allowed till april 09.

so i really got no clue on what is going on actually... very disturbing lei

if i can get the minimum perks like
Min 45 tables for grand ballroom
Fresh floral pieces (Can choose your own design)
1 barrel of beer and 1 bottle of wine for each table
20% parking passes but can go up to 30%
1 nite stay in bridal suite
1 complimentary room service breakfast
dinner for newly weds before actual dinner.
1 complimentary room for ROM
Helpers stationed around the hotel to lead guests to ballroom
9 course meal

i already satisfied cos honestly speaking, this is the perks my friends got 2 years back lo...

tksl

hi girls, i need advice on something.. last week, i received news that orchard hotel is having a wedding show.. prior to this, (in beginning of feb) i asked the wedding coordinator whether they're intending to have any wedding show and she told me confirm dun have until june-july.. now they're gonna have one in april..

i compared the perks and discovered that i'm paying at least 2k extra (assuming 30 tables)coz

(a)she told me 2009 prices will increase by $100.. yet the new package is exactly of the same price i paid during the sign up..

(b) the hotel is offering a 12% discount.. which means i have made a loss of 2k because i only had a $688 nett discount

should i email the wedding coordinator about this? my bf told me that we're signed on the dotted line, so they will not allow any changes.. and if we make a fuss, maybe the hotel will get upset with us and things may get ugly...

im feeling so upset right now.. for the fact that im soo dumb to have signed up with them so early in the year.. can u girls advice me on wad to do? leave the matter as it is? :'(

p1ngz

hi II,

yup.. not sure of their overseas package.. haven ask them yet.. anyway, come to think of it, think i signed them up quite hastily.. din realli compare much with many others.. nevertheless, hopefully it's the right choice for me!

how about urself? who did u sign with?

hey fifteen and jolene,
I'm considering fullerton and four seasons. I'll be having my civil ceremony at fullerton this oct too. I'm not sure if it'll be late to wait till after the ceremony to confirm fullerton for wedding dinner or not but looking at everyone's speedy bookings of restaurant I think I better act fast. The perks from grand cop looks yummy!

taime81

Hi, maybe you can try to speak to them nicely, and do not make a fuss out of it. See what else they can throw in for you.
Most hotel i came across, 2009 pricing is higher than 2008 pricing. You sure they're having 12$ discount? This is the first time i heard of banquet giving discount in %. 12% is quite a lot.

fifteenmay

Hi Glamourous,
wow thank goodness i came in here to read the remarks first. we were about to call AMPM to confirm already, now i better let my htb know that they are not ROC/RBC.have to check if we want to take that risk.He also thinks like your hubby, dun want any glitches on our special day.Went down to meet Yew Kwang this evening, he is more mature and sincere but we kindof still prefer AMPM photos.
So frustrating!

Popprincesstrin, better act fast!Its quite crazy now esp in the month of Sep 09!

kiwimelon

Hey ladies! Guess all of you looking forwards to your big day!

I'm also BTB Sep 09. But wondering if anyone of you went to any shi fu to get auspicious dates? Any shifu to recommend?

emeraldbride

suz, my opinion, u shuld email ur coord to ask her what can you do abt it? I m not sure abt hotel packages but for other services, usually they say if the price is lower, they will refund or sumthing like tat..

Dun be upset ok.. if they can't refund u in money, see if they can give u in other terms of benefit..

fifteenmay

Hi Kiwimelon,
Welcome!
My future MIL went to see a shifu for the dates but i am not too sure which one she went to.
Sorry cant help you there : (

tksl

ya lo.. 12% a lot hor? cannot make big fuss.. if not later trouble trouble.. lol. bf sending email tmr. will update u all.

wow..not been loggin in for a few days and the thread has been moving quite fast! hee..
anyway, Pan Pac is not too bad..went for 2 weddings there and the food is good and the service is great! so can take tt into consideration..

marina mandarin's food so-so but overall not to bad either..hope you gals get ur choice venue!=)

chaos: my sis will be designing the cards for me..hee..the seal looks classy..hmm..*tempted*
ehhehe..

mscupid11

Hi Yan,

I've just dropped you an email. =)

From what i understand, digio & GHA tampines do tie up in terms of photographer & MUA. But the gowns are not transferrable, i.e. digio brides cant choose their gowns at GHA.

Even within the GHA group, gowns are not transferrable between the 3 branches. Only GHA Yishun & MS can transfer gowns, GHA tampines operates on its own.

Funny management which i also dun understand why.. hehe.. But guess doesnt really matter coz all their gowns are nice! =)

glamourous2309

Hi Fifteenmay,

RBC/ROC refers to Business Registration Number.
For company set up registered in Spore, most or all would have RBC numbers. And for companies with RBC/ROC, if anything goes wrong, it can be lodged with CASE (Consumer Association of Singapore).

You may want to check out on CASE link too:
http://www.case.org.sg/

For your reference, to check on ROC/ RBC:
https://www.psi.gov.sg/NASApp/tmf/TMFServlet?app=RCB-BIZFILE-BIZCODIR&S=a3c0fe861bdb43744883621b83f0&D

I hope this helps for you and All BTB planning their wedding!

octo

Suz, i guess you can check with the hotel coordinator on it. Hmm.. better not make a big fuss, since they hold the reins on your big day and anything could happen. Just let them know your concerns.

MM is also having their wedding show on 20th Apr. Before we signed up, i also asked if the perks at the wedding show will be better. According to my coordinator, she is giving me the show perks already and if there is any more addition perks, she will top up for me.

She also gave me 2 free tickets to the wedding show. Actually the perks given to me, is quite ok already. I don't think the hotel will be giving more perks.. but really got more perks, I hope she sticks to her promise. hee.. 20 more days to the show.

chaos

Hey Fluttering Tails, i will be sourcing for my card design much later while i can play with the seal first. I'm curious, are you holding a malay style wedding as well as a dinner at the hotel?

piggylover

hi ladies! wow.. super long time no come in already. i hav confirm my PG & VG, so everything settle down already. the rest will wait till next yr den arrange le. hehe...

hoonie

hi all BTB

im intending to sign my wedding banquet with Orchard Hotel. but there's only either free flow of beer of wine. which one is better?

glamourous2309

Hi ALL BTB,

A few pointers to share with all on choosing Photographers... First, ask whether is the Photographer and his business registered (And has a Physical Setup studio or at least an Presentation Office)-- Because it's for your own protection! When things goes wrong, or consumer's right to be exercised, the customers has the comfort in knowing they could make an claim or complaint against a business that is registered with RCB.
Can use the link I've furnished in the above thread to check.

I've heard of known cases where Photographers, who are freelancers (un-license) cheated clients with their deposits, or Not turning-up for the reporting, or rendering services not up to expectation, etc. They have NO Agencies (eg. CASE) to seek help or refund. Or the photographer who are foreigners (eg. Malaysians), did a bad jobs or no-shows, and the Wedding Couples can't track them or locate them for those mishaps etc.

Secondly, Always asked for and Reviews the latest and recent Wedding Works or Portfolio.
No point seeing someone's works that are dated 2 years-ago... for his style or presentation may have changed then, or worst his consistency will not be there. You do not want somebody to show you His BEST Works of 1999 - 2003, and realising that when come to your time (2009),you are given a different approaches, or quality and presentations is totally different or unexpected, from what you'd last seen.

In short, the best is to reviews his recent works of not more than 3-6 month old, ... the rationale is simple, if he claim that he is in this FULL-TIME, and the Wedding Photos is truly taken by Him, then the Pro Photographer should be showing you at least last months' wedding & bridal works, and not half-a-year away jobs -- and not just 2 - 3 weddings, but at a minimum least 5 weddings in 3 months. This is also an benchmark to which Wedding photogs are into this Professionally, or just part-timing ( even for the so-called pros alike ).

Hope the above helps all BTB.
Happy Searching for your ideal PG! Cheers.

hoonie

may i know what to look out for when looking for actual day photographer? and what kind of things to ask for.

kai9

Hi hoonie,

For AD PG,
- check their portfolios/ablums
- any commerical works
- how many yrs experiences
- your comfort level while meeting the PG