(2009) Brides of year 2009

fifteenmay

Glamourous,
i signed up with Venus Bridal Selection. they are in JB. got quite a good deal : ) half price...

Pre wedding is by Venus,now looking for AD Photographer.
will be meeting our shortlisted vendors next week.

belindabelinda

Hi fat fat

should be traditional but have not really made up our mind yet ...........my budget around 1k-2k for Pg+VG.......... any JP to recommend?

glamourous2309

Hi Popprincess,

Suggest U go down and try the gowns personally as different people have different expectations and requirements. Basically, all the bridals listed above have different style too. Depends on what you are after.

For similar designer bridal, you can try Margaret Brides, Kai, Tan Yoong, Fedderick Lee and Silhouette too. Good Luck!

april_baby

we fixed the date on 9 May 2009 so now busy with the wedding banquet. Almost done la..finalising either Parkroyal on beach road or holiday inn park view. Both of this hotel the perks and the price is quite close to each other so the important thing is the VENUE. Just went to parkroyal today...like the place the coordinator frendly too just that the min requirement is 25tables. Tomoro will be viewing at Holiday Inn parkview. Going to confirm by this week. Went thru few hotel to see the setting and compared the price and perks. To me, personally i feel that the price for restaurant and hotel not reli diff much unless u talking abt qian xi..else other restaurant might have additional charges like beverage which will cost sky high. As i compared one of the very high recommended by all the wedding forum (peony jade) the price includes everything that provided by hotel is about S$50 different per table. if u have about 30tables. is just about S$1.5k less for the total cost and u can have hotel wedding banquet.
There are a lots of hotel doing their promotion, so do look up..

anyway, just a cent of thought

fat_fat_79

Hi jy27

i agreed with miu miu. I heard some popular PG increase their price twice every yr. Try to book as early as possible.

Hi Bellinda

If you are looking for traditional, you should ask your BS. Most BS will have AD PG in the package and charge you at a smaller cost.

If you wanna have candid or photojournalist, then I can email some of the PGs I have seen. In fact I have only seen 10 PGs in total. Most of them is at the price of 700 and above.

As for VG, you have to know if you wanna express montage (for dinner). If yes, most VG will be 1.3K and above. If you dont wanna to show the express montage during dinner, you can get a VG at around 1k.

Most important is that you are comfortable with the price and the style of the PG/VG.

I would like to ask if its too early to get a JP?

jaimegal

Hey Girls,
I didn't go MS during the weekend. Instead i went to Vivo to attend their wedding show. And i have signed up with GHA... The package is SGD3388 but both gowns are OTR, forgot to bargain for 1 MTM. I told Aileen (who is my coordinator) that if i cant find my gown OTR, i will top up $$$ to do MTM. I got 30 poses for the photo album. (bargained from 20 poses) Dunnoe whether good deal or nt. Going to my 1st fitting sometimes in May. Hee... excited. Now muz work hard to shed those pounds..

apr_piggy

Hi chuababy,

Thks! Oh I din go for the wedding show by the way...din have time to go...now so busy preparing for upcoming ROM this fri...getting nervous liao lei...:S

mscupid11

phaffia, i find crunches more effective than sit-ups.. means u only raise ur body 45 degree, instead of 90 degree to ur knee.. and u can try with one leg crossing the other to work on ur side abdomen.. me too lazy leh.. guess i will be more motivated when the date gets nearer.. hahaha.. now just try my best to stick to 3 meals a day.. i used to eat more than 5 meals a day worz.. hahaha.. so terrible..

so digio has a good collection of gowns to choose from? I saw some gowns from digio in the recent StyleWeddings magazine, pretty gd! GHA latest collection is nice in the elegant sense, but not really the type i like.. luckily i told my gown designer to kiv 2 pieces i tried the other time.. scared the new collection doesnt have something i want..

so phaffia, u gotten ur own flat? or staying with PIL? So vexed.. havent got a place.. no luck with HDB balloting, been trying for more than 1 year.. and resale COV is still high, not a gd time to buy.. haiz...

mscupid11

Hey jaimegal, we are both GHA brides!! yipee.. there has been good reviews on Aileen on GHA thread.. guess GHA roadshow always offer 30 poses instead of the pathetic 20.. i managed to bargain to 35 as i signed up with another colleague at tamp GHA.. their new collection supposed to come in late April, so May would be a gd time for us to do our gown fitting.. hehe.. so excited..

yah, now the 3 of us muz work hard towards the perfect figure k.. hehehe.. actually i just need to shed another 2kg but it has to come from my tummy!!! Me actually considered slim but tummy unproportionately big.. i guess my fats went to the wrong area lar.. now every nite i use Osim U-Zap.. still can't see any effect.. tink crunches more effective.. but hard work lor..

phaffia

Yeah mscupid11,

Crunches do work better. Hehe...am trying to get back to my jogging regime. But weather's not permitting at times. Then I will get lazy sometimes too...*guilty*

Yeap, we didn't have much luck with HDB too. So we started our search for our flat in Oct last year. Have set our sights on a resale flat in Hougang last Dec. Going for our 1st appointment in early Apr. Yippee! Prices may drop next year. Dun worry.
Will you be intending to get a resale?

Hey jaimegal,

GHA's latest collection is really nice. It's quite a good bargain that you've gotten. Will you be getting your ROM dress from them too?
You are going for your 1st fitting in May? I am thinking of going down to GHA to have a look in May too. Hehe. Will have to see if I can get anything suitable in DiGio first.

karine82

Supergal, i think u have to really noe you are doing for hotel within ur budget or u wan really nice Ballroom.

lets say u dun wanna burst ur Pocket, then work out a budget, example, per table not more then 1000( include GST, Exculde Beer & Wines) then shortlist all hotel within 1000. The ask them once u shortlist, find top 3-5 Hotels means your budget then ask them about Beer & Wines price and try bargain. Then u will be easy.

If you wan ballroom then u cannot think of Burst ur pocket liao...
Cheap things not gd, gd things not cheap...

My advise is work out ur budget first darling..

mscupid11

hey phaffia,

how much COV u paid for your resale flat? i was looking at flats in pasir ris area in ard Oct last yr too and the min is $30k cash above valuation.. haiz.. so we gave up ths idea.. how to find so much cash considering me and hubby have been working for only a few years after graduation..

anyway i tink digio ties up with tamp GHA, but my gown designer did mention that the gowns are not transferrable, meaning digio brides cant choose from GHA.. not sure abt this arrangment.. maybe u wana check with ur coordinator first.. but i tink the photographer & MUA for digio & GHA tamp is the same..

phaffia

hi gal,

we are going to pay about 22k for our COV. The condition of the flat is still alright. It's not too old either.

Yah, I will check with my coordinator about the fittings. Thanks gal.

chaos

Hi ladies!
Nice to meet you gal here. I'm also having my wedding on 13th and 14th june. Customary wedding on 13th and high tea reception on 14th. where are you gals going for your bridal? i went to SN last weekend, i think their coordinator rather friendly.

shall we keep this thread moving...

hope to hear from you soon

me0wz

hey april... i'm thinking of May 09 or 10, 2009...

Holiday Inn is also 1 of my choice.. oops..

but i haven't go choose a auspicious date yet.. so not confirm..

p1ngz

Have been reading up the SG brides forum and happen to chance upon this thread.. so wanna join in too.. =)

I'll be having my ROM in upcoming may this yr and my AD probably next year in Oct...

Have you girls booked your wedding dinner package yet? Care to share your packages? I've just started my search not long ago.. but cos new to this, so dunno what to start with.. any advise?

Many thanks for your advices/replies.. =)

fifteenmay

Hi Glamourous,
Its hard not to be! i called the photgraphers that i shortlisted and apparently they already have bookings for Sept 09 and he had to check if he's available for mine!everyone is moving so fast, its quite scary : (

supergal

Hi Karine,

Actually, I don't mind spending abit more on banquet and I'm not too concern on things like breaking-even or having the mentality of 'earning' some cash by throwing a banquet.

HTB feels that a wedding shouldn't be too elaborate though, as long as both of you are happy. He wants me to make a decision as soon as possible, as weekends' dates are usually quite hot.

I'm still quite undecided...like what you said, good things not cheap and cheap things not good...I think I will have to compromise abit on what some hotels can offer and what some can't.

glamourous2309

Hi Fifteenmay,

Am not surprised in fact. Coz when I did my check for MUA last year Dec with TG Goh, he's already taken!
Btw who is the PG you are after or have shortlisted? =)

Hi Joleen,

I would strongly suggest to settle your venue first before anything else. Coz that the most important part... Venue will determine other stuff too like the type of WG or EG too.

mscupid11

oh if move-in condition $22k cash still not so bad lor.. but those flats i've viewed at pasir ris are old, tiles ugly, cabinet ugly, everything must hack leh.. and even so cheapest is $30k COV.. wana faint lor..

but that was in oct last yr.. heard that the COV is falling since last mth.. am waiting for the COV to stabilise before entering the resale mkt again.. afterall the high COV is due to speculations from property agents who rode on the enbloc fever that spill-over to fringe areas, they shld have come to some senses soon.. just have to wait patiently lor.. worst scenario have to move-in with in-laws first then buy a resale next year.. sianz......

fat_fat_79

Hi Elaine/Jy27

Im sorry I was not able to send you the list that I have as most of the PG has already increase their price liao.

My advise is view the website of the PG/VG whom style you like. Then email them to get the pricelists. Look thru the pricelists to see which PG and VG is around your budget. Lastly meetup all those you have shortlisted and see them in person. Most importantly you have to click with your PG/VG.

Some BTB dont think that AD PG is very important so my advise is to get the AD PG from the BS. I think its cheaper. Most traditional style.

not tat we dun wan settle venue
but grand copthorne didnt want to release the date for late sep 09
we can booked but aty $50 more per table and no perks at all
their next wedding show will be in sometime in july i think so.
still waiting lor.
i oso anxious lei

eternal_mates

Fluttering_tails, wow... 1k of guests!! What preps have you done so far?

Hi Chaos, welcome! You're right, we should keep the thread moving :p

I have not been to any BS yet. When do you ladies think is a "right" time?

kai9

Hi p1ngz,

Prehaps u can start to read up on some bridal and photography studio. Some bridal tie-up with photography as a package so price is quite comprehensive and affordable.

Next, or rather concurrently, you can email enquires to your prefered hotel for banq on their price list thou.

Everything will fall into place as time go by.

Hope this helps. When is your AD?

karine82

Supergal, I believe you have to still shortlist the hotel first then bargain offers.
Some of us here might not getting really good offers.
If your bargain skill is good. You can get much attractive offers then us.

Or even, what the hotels offers to other might not offers to you. It can because of number of tables you having etc…

phaffia

Hubby is still receiving calls from agents, looking for a potential buyer, and he's noticed the recent downtrend for COV. Think if you are not urgent, can still wait till next quarter.

jaimegal, i forgot to mention that they will give better perks for bridal packages signed at wedding shows. So no worries about not getting a good bargain. Hehe...Cheers

dreamz81

Ah finally my ROM photos are ready. Those interested can view it at http://seanpriscilla.weddingannouncer.com/, under the photo albums section.

As for my Sihouette gown, still too lazy to go find the cable to transfer. Hee

Selected my WG & EG already, those who are gg to the style wedding bash this april will have a chance to see my EG.

I am still trying to find a PG & VG that is not too ex. Any recommendation? I finding one that does not provide print outs so that cheaper. I find that I dun need the print outs, i prefer to keep softcopy

chaos

Hi eternal_mates,

I have no idea, i just manage to finalise my dinner and high tea reception venue. Now shopping for BS. I'm quite keen on Signoria nuziale. We can chat more if you are keen. I'm on msn.

mscupid11

i am prepared to wait till next year actually.. so long as the COV continues to fall then maybe i'll start hunting in a couple of mths.. anyway now waiting for ballot results for April, really hope i can get it this time round, coz its new flat and within walking distance from my parents' place.. juz gotta pray hard..

so phaffia, when is ur next fitting? Is it for selecting ur PS gowns? Or take measurement for WG & EG?

jaimegal

Hey girls, sorry for getting back so late. busy at work.
mscupid so good, only need to shed 2 kg, i need to shed 10kg more to look good. Haiz... muz work extra hard, so stressed when Aileen said PS will be in sept. Only have 5 months to lose weight. Hope i can do that without much photoshop.
I am currently staying in my new house. In fact since last May. My hubby and I ROM late 2006 then I quickly go find flat liao. Cause we intend to settle 1 thing at 1 time. I staying in Sembawang, bought a resale 5 rm flat at S$275,000. (5K above valuation)Good deal actually consider my hse quite big. Heard tat after I bought, house price shoot up.I think house price might go down later this year or next so dun worry. I also seen a lot of hse before i decide. so dun be stressed. Will find your perfect nest.

mscupid11

actually in oct 2006 i already tried applying for The Premiere @ Tampines but no luck, then gave up on the idea. So silly.. shld have gone for the WIS at Sengkang & Punggol, at that time there was plenty of flats there.. then from 2nd quarter 2007 prices went rocket high.. and HDB changed WIS into Ballot system and it all became a luck game..

juz feel so unlucky lor.. anyway dat's not gona dampen my mood lar.. my bridal gown and photos more impt than anything else!!! =)

jaime, try to keep to frequent meals but small portion each time.. My colleague tried going on water diet 3 days before her PS (i.e. only drink water and nothing else), and she says its very effective.. but i dun tink i can ever do it lor.. hehe.. Otherwise like wat phaffia suggest, try doing some sports like jogging, etc.

Btw i got a stopid qn here.. read that some brides actually wear those stick-on bra even though the WG/EG has padding.. Is that true? I tot no need to wear if got padding leh.. haha.. but those brides say got better support.. hmm.. are u gals planning to?

eternal_mates

Chaos, me too, only finalise banquet and pg. I was thinking of settling the bs in sep, not sure if it's just nice or too late or too early... hee... Where's your dinner at?

supergal

Karine, I have already shortlisted a few and perhaps I have seen too many cases of people discussing here how disappointing their banquet turns out to be, I'm kind of affected in a way that I'm afraid to make the wrong decision.

But I know I have to decide eventually la..maybe now abit tight up with work, so don't want to think about it...that's why HTB always say I'm running away from problems..hehe

p1ngz

Hi KaiStarz,

ya i've went to a few BS to take a look.. and have taken up a package with one.. cos my ROM is coming so taking up one BS package that will include my ROM.. so dun haf to source again..
so now just left with the wedding dinner to settle..

I'm thinking of having my AD on either 13 or 15 Oct, as these 2 days are quite special to me and my bf.. but i'm also thinking of having it on 20 Sept, but not confirm yet.. cos dunno which days are auspicious and Tongshu is not out yet.. Do you know when will the Tongshu be out? I heard some say its after lunar 7 month, is tt correct?

Anyway, when is your AD? Have you booked your package already?

me0wz

me too! currently sourcing for AD venue.. so far gotten quite a few quotes..

But still not confirm if the date i choose is an auspicious date..

chaos

my dinner at one degree 15 marina and high tea reception at rasa sentosa. a very simple one. one of my friend is a event planner and he manage the venue etc for me.

I was told that i should settle a BS soon so that the designer can have sufficient to make a decent gown and probably PS in Dec or Jan. Giving them more time is a good thing so that it wouldn't stress me out if the output is not up to expectation. I'm asking my ex-collegue to do my AD PG and Solemnization for me.

I can give you his link to view his work if anyone is interested.

phaffia

Hi jaimegal, me also need to lose about 10kg before i look good. Let's jia you together! Hehe...you're lucky to have found your flat. Hubby and I were looking for a year before considering a resale.

Mscupid11...it's a very relevant question to ask. Though I will not be wearing the stick on bra, I think I might just use tapes for support. That's what I did the last time during my ROM. Hehe..but it's quite painful to remove afterwards. Maybe you can try to buy one and try during your fitting sessions, to see if it will fit your gown well before using it during your PS and AD.

If suppport is an issue, some brides choose gowns that have a strap across the bodice of the gown, just below the bustline like this.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/63581495@N00/2359889887/

This can give more support.

chaos

hi Grace

Can you send me the list as well? i'd only decided on the venue... the rest is still pretty in a mess.

kai9

Hi p1ngz,

I'm not sure when the TS will be out. But 20-Sep is quite an auspicious day. Mine on that day. Banq booked too.