(2009) Brides of year 2009

vallous

Hey Gals...Just for laughs..saw it at one of the website...

enjoy

Guest from hell

- Don't underdress. The dress code is there for a reason. Jeans and polo tees for men are no-go at banquets. A smart casual dress code demands at least a short-sleeved buttoned-up shirt, khaki pants and shoes. Mini skirts and spaghetti strapped tank tops are out too.

- Don't overdress either. A real-life horror story: A bridesmaid once wore an evening gown with a plunging neckline to the wedding dinner and stole the bride's thunder. Remember, this is the couple's day, so upstaging them is bad manners.

- Don't gossip. Especially not about the newlyweds' dating history. There is no need to dredge up old - and embarrassing - stories about ex-es.

- Don't be a cheapskate. The only thing you should take home from a wedding is the wedding favour. Table decorations and floral arrangements are not part of the deal, unless the hosts offer them to you.

- We repeat, don't be a cheapskate. A general rule of thumb is to try to cover the cost of your own dinner. On average, dinner at a five-star hotel would cost about $120 per head but the experts were quick to add that a guest should give within his or her financial means.

- Do send your well wishes even if you can't attend the wedding. Make time to meet the couple before their wedding in person and give them a small gift or hongbao.

- Do be punctual. There are usually two timings on a wedding invite - for the cocktail and the dinner. You may skip the cocktail but do turn up on time for dinner. It is the host's prerogative as to when the dinner actually starts. A well-mannered guest should still be on time no matter what.

- Do introduce yourself to your neighbours. After you've made yourself comfortable at your table, introduce yourself to the people sitting to your left and right. A good conversation starter is: "Are you a friend of the bride or groom?"

- Do turn your phone off. Don't be that annoying gnat whose phone goes off as the couple are exchanging vows, or the anti-social SMS freak whose fingers seem stuck to the phone. [email protected]

Tips were from Audrey Quek, founder of Audrey Quek Image Consultancy

noknok

schedule
10am gate crash
12pm groom's hse 4 tea ceremony
3pm reach church
3.30pm mass start
4.30pm high tea recept
5.30pm proceed to hotel
6pm MUA / tea ceremony for bride in hotel
7pm banquet

My place - Joo Chiat
Church - Aljunied
HTB hse - Jalan basar
Hotel - Terminal 3

siao loh.. anything crop up i have no time buffer.

dizonne

nok,
i find too rush le leh..
noon time gt lunch for ur relatives also..after eating, they gt to rush rush go to ur church...then still gt reception...u oso gt to wait for guests to eat finish b4 u leave e chuch ma..dun tell mi pple eat til half wae, e bride saes..sry, i got to run...abit weird lor, i feel...

n hor, like wat u sae, if anyting crop up, u reali gt no time lor...oso, by making urself so packed tat dae, i scare u will be too tired..n ur mood will oso b affected...

is it possible to chng e church to another dae? or forgo e gate crash??

noknok

forgo gate crash also no use. problem is his relative can only reach his place in the afternoon and his parents need to be at home to open the door for them.

Both venue booked le.. cannot change.. I also dun wanna change. arghh.. pray hard ba.

ecarg1310

i confirm eating tang yuan at my in-laws. The GDL shop person told me that. Then have to use the bowl that mum give me as dowry to eat.

sharon... my album not fast liao. my PS was in jul. selected photos on 1 aug, jus collected... slow liao.

i confirm not having 2 hairstyles for the night cos' I have 2 EGs, and already I find that time is tight to change... so shall not make it so rush for myself.

Tmr is my GDL!!! Now, getting ready all the stuff. Finally finished all my sewing. First time in my life I sewed so much things. I think I am now left with putting the money into the respective Ang Pows. The rest all done liao!

dizonne

noknok,
hw abt u push back e tea ceremony to b4 the dinner instead? then u can bring forward ur church..tat givs u slightly more time...

can use bridal suite for tea ceremony, or ask hotel to arrange another place for u at no xtra charge...

dizonne

try to xplain to her lor..like tat reali too rush for u 2 le....mine alreadi i find it rush...urs is worse than mine lor...keke..

beta giv urself more time la..wait aniting crop ups(touch wood!!), at least u wun b flustered..also, wif a short break in e afternoon, u stil hav time to rest...coz morning gt to wake up as early as 5am to eat breakfast n do makeup leh...

noknok

I realise cannot.. still the same problem no body at home to receive the relatives. Dun think can have tea ceremony in the hotel. Too many of them le.

noknok

I also realise one thing.. I need to go home first before going to the hotel.. need to send my dog home.. haha.. siao liao loh..

dizonne

hmm..
y muz e relatives go to ur hse if u r not having ceremony there?? can ask them go direct to e church?

do u need to serve tea to ALL relatives? For me, i only serve tea to those close relatives. Anywae, im sure e hotel is able to squeeze sm space for u to hav ur tea ceremony. I have seen couples doing it in e ballroom. After tea ceremony, the couple would move out to entertain guests, while waiters would push back e vip tables and complete e set-up..

as for ur dog, can ask ur siblings, or BM, or XD to bring back for u ma...no need do personally..we sure will be veri busy tat dae de..hw can do everyting ourselfs..need to delegate la gal....

noknok

e problem is the relative are from malaysia. Most of them hv no where to go to loiter around. Dun think all of them will wanna go to the church cos most of them are buddist.

Yes, I think hv to serve all.. I went to one of his relative's wedding before.. it's a house in malaysia and it's packed with people. dunno e couple serve how many cups of tea. I lost count. I really dread it man.

desjo_11

Seems like u all almost done.
Can feel the excitment coming

Hi Grace,
I managed to get the time change earlier.MUA indeed got a client.so end up she mk it 5pm instead.bo bian..early better than late.think dilly dally abit here & there,think finish almost 7pm..relax abit then go down.I also want to mingle with the guest
btw enjoy ur GDL tmr

Hi Vallous,
Thanks for sharing..is cool..haha

Hi Sharon,
wowmedia offer me a $500 pkg but with less action & scene..jus pondering if to spend $500 for just 3min? ;p

desjo_11

oh ya, sharon..I also wun b having 2 hairstyle..save $ plus time very tight..dun want to rush..i really hope got some time for me to taste the food

freeesia

seems like it is a trend now to hold TC at hotels/banquet venues. esp for those who have big extended families but live in regular HDB apartments.

dizonne

huh?!?! then u having church wedding for? r bth sides parents going to the church? if they are, then relatives hw? stay at ur hse alone? abit weird leh..

y not u book a chalet at changi..then at least everyone can hav a place (near to ur dinner) to rest...oso acts as backup in case sm of ur guests are too drunk to go hm..haha..

Wah...ur bf's family so traditional de arh..if mine like tat, i sure die..coz i gt 5 grandmothers..haha...darn xtended family lor..haha...

surelylook09

jaalie (jaalie),

Dun worry, if ur BS know when ur AD, they shld be able to give u the Photos on time.Actually everything can be done within a month.Only that my BS abit slow so they take pic earlier

noknok

Church wedding is for us. both of us are catholic or, my HTB is going to be baptized next year.

Both sides parents need to be at church as the solomisation is done there. That's why i wanted the church to be in the afternoon so everyone will go to church after the tea ceremony.. aiya.. super the luan..

Huh.. book chalet for wat.. dun wan lah.. waste money.

saggiegirl

flower_freesia> i do agree with u...coz especially with hubby side family v big (with 12 siblings on dad side and 12 siblings on mum side + cousins...etc...)..so really no time to go back to bride's family for TC...

mummy suggested to hold TC at hotel function room as her place is rather smallish
... our side we dun have much relatives...so they can come for TC and after that go xmas shopping at orchard area and then come back for dinner
(lucky dad did not want to invite msia relatives...if not we faintz)...

dizonne

nok,
u making mi confused leh...

if we go according to ur plan, ur parents will go to church with ur relatives. But did u ask them? Scarly they dun wan to go leh? Then whe they go?

if you hav tea in hotel, u scare relatives gt no holding place if they come early..tats y i suggested getting a chalet...those aloha changi types?? then at least gt holding place for them..those who wan go church can go..those dun wan go then dun go lor..haha..

or u can include in your invitation, e church invites oso..tat wae, guests will koe tat u r having church ceremony n they wun xpect anione to be at home to open e door for them.. If not, during rsvp tat time oso can remind them lor..

i onli scare tat ur bridal suite wil become their holding place leh, then ur dinner sure delayed de, coz alot of interruptions...

u discuss wif bth parents n ur htb la...c wat they can come up wif...coz they would koe ur relatives' pattern beta...

cheerypie

Hi all, I'm here to share my progress too

1) Bridal Studio
- Had seen my album layout. Need to change the layout design so waiting for the 2nd layout viewing.
- Will be choosing my AD gowns on 3rd Jan.

2) ROM
- Already done with my efiling and confirmed the JP.
- Have not meet up with the JP to sign the consent form.
- Will be solemnize on the same day as my customary.

3) Wedding Invitation Cards
- Already gotten our cards and 80% of the cards already pasted with inserts.

4) Guest List
- Already told all of my friends, colleagues and relatives about my wedding.
- Still need to final confirm their attendance 1 week before my AD.

5) Food Tasting
- Will be going for food tasting on 11th Jan.
- Will be using the wedding favors and guest book from the restaurant that I've booked.

6) AD PG/VG
- Already confirmed my PG.
- Asking a friend and my brother to be the VG.

7) Song List
- Collected some of the songs that I want.

8) Childhood Photo Montage
- Childhood photo montage have yet to do. May do or may not do. Depends on my mood haha.
- My BS will help me do the wedding photos montage.

9) Program List & Emcee Script for Actual Day
- AD schedule have not draft out but already got some samples to refer to.
- Emcee script is not done too but have some samples to refer as well.
- Already confirmed my 2 emcees of the day.

10) GDL
- Date is set to 10th Feb. Items for GDL already set as well.
- Going to buy the GDL stuffs on mid of Jan.

11) Bridal room
- Going to paint the wall myself with HTB.
- Bought the new mattress, pillows, quilt and bedframe.

12) Sisters
- Already confirmed who will be my sisters and left one to be confirm.

noknok

My side no problem, only my parents coming. If church in the afternoon, then all the relative of his side will be 'forced' to go chuch loh. I also dunno lah.. thinking of moving church to the morning and state the earliest time relative can arrive at his place.. I also luan liao.. talk to htb no use. i need to talk directly with my future MIL

dizonne

nw can sae forve la...bt wait they dun wan go hw? then u jialat rite....haha..

if nt church in e morning? then tea after church?

aiyo..i oso luan le..if mi, i wun cpect them to go chuch lor..n if they wan cm early n there's no one at hm, then too bad for them lor...though they are guests, they dun xpect e bride n groom to do nothing bt wait for them on their big dae rite..

winnie_gal

hmm...look like most of u here won't be having 2 hairstyle... still pondering wan anot.. but already confirm with the mua if dun wan. she sure pissed off de..

Grace: i need to horn my bridal shop liao....wedding is like 2 more week to go~
enjoy ur GDL. u will enjoy...

desjo: seriously i feel not worth it..for there
3 min....

Vallous: cool article...heheh thanks for sharing!

pink_piglet

I'm a June bride too

AD Date : 6th Jun 2009
Banquet : Plaza Park Royal
BS : Santiago
Photography: To be confirmed

hi Christine Tang,
i signed up with Santiago too.
But now they have removed the thread, no information now haiz...

mary_jane

Hello everyone!

Been busy at work, only have the opportunity to come in here today

My multiple ID is maryjane1982, facebook is [email protected]. Feel free to add me

paradise, I'm also a TWD bride-to-be. I signed up at the Upper Thomson branch.

habe

noticed that many of you listed emcee script as part of to-do. i always thought the hotel will provide a standard script?

livinginsg

Hi girls! Just completed my PS. We are blessed with a very bright and sunny day!:) We took pictures at places that we hung out i.e. Sentosa, Clarke Quay, and my home. The THANK YOU signs came in handy and HTB even roped in his scooter. Really feel relieved that the PS is over..Now i can eat! hahaha

dreamz81

sharon> i'm also having 2 hairstyles for dinner. My mua charge me $150 but i think my MUA is worth the $$.

We can go to the bank now to change bank notes already? how to tell them? cos i tot only near cny then they allow to change.

luvreia

I'm a June 09 BTB too. Details below:

AD date: 20 June 2009
BS: Silhouette
Prewed BS: TBC
AD PG: LightedPixels
AD VG: Vocare Media
Venue: Chijmes Hall
Wedding band: Josi Gems
Band: Compass Entertainment

Btw, I'm still amazed that the thread for every month has a hardworking member who keeps updating information about everyone!

vallous

i guess no need to ask if others got do or not lor. If you think for urself that you really need it and you will not have regrets spending that kind of money for being pretty for that night then by all means go ahead.

So sharon, if you dun wan her services for extra services,, dun care she pissed or not lor. Its still ur preferences.

I went to the bank to change, they can tell me no new notes yet. So i just changed normal small notes. Actually no need new notes..seriously its not CNY.

vallous

maybe to inject more excitement into this thread...start the ball rolling..

perhaps can post your best and favorite PS pic here to share.

sylmc

BTBs who are looking around for a caterer to provide on your wedding day. Check out Rasel Food Fusion. I have engaged them to provide lunch for my sister's wedding in the afternoon and on my AD this month, I engaged them again to cater for our 320 guests. We are extremely pleased with their food quality and presentation!

To have a better idea on Rasel - Stay tune on Channel 8, next thu 8pm, on christmas day. Rasel will be featured on air under the variety show of 'Yong Yuan Chi Bu Fei'. MediaCrop is filming their wedding buffet presentation. Zhen Shi Mei is one of the food testers. The sneak shots for next thu episode is already on air now.

871079.jpg

sylmc

BTBs who are looking around for a caterer to provide on your wedding day. Check out Rasel Food Fusion. I have engaged them to provide lunch @ our house for my sister's wedding and when it was my turn to get married, I engaged them again to cater for our 320 guests. We are extremely pleased with their food quality and presentation!

To have a better idea on Rasel - Stay tune on Channel 8, next thu 8pm, on christmas day. Rasel will be featured on air under the variety show of 'Yong Yuan Chi Bu Fei'. MediaCrop is filming their wedding buffet presentation. Zhen Shi Mei is one of the food testers. The sneak shots for next thu episode is already on air now.

PM me if you would like to view photos or discuss about their food selection

871091.jpg

cherlinjo

Hi Jol! Thanks for the info! I am considering them for my AD buffet lunch! May I know which package did you take from them? =)

Welcome Pink Piglet & Luvreia to this thread! =)

sylmc

BTBs who are looking around for a caterer to provide on your wedding day. Check out Rasel Food Fusion. I have engaged them to provide lunch @ our house for my sister's wedding and when it was my turn to get married, I engaged them again to cater for our 320 guests. We are extremely pleased with their food quality and presentation!

PM me if you wish to discuss about their food selection

871146.jpg

sylmc

PM me if you wish to discuss about their food selection

871155.jpg

sylmc

habe - Its nice to have a non-standard script
My thinking is that Emcee script is important as the style should reflect the newly weds and also complement the wedding theme. I opted to write my own emcee script for our wedding and yes, me and hubby are also the Emcee
much to the horror of my sisters. They were like 'How can the bride be the Emcee?!!' kekeke

bearbearwife

Hi all, hope all of you are doing fine for your wedding preparation. I will be viewing my PS layout after xmas day.

PK, happy for you that you finished your PS. Keep us update on your progress.

hpc

Hi PK, good that the shoot was smooth. Mine will only be after CNY, cos now gown not ready yet. We bought a Scanteak Dining Table Set cos there's a little sale now and get them delivered only in March. Our dream teak table, so we are very excited

Hope everyone is keeping fine and Blessed Christmas

jaalie

hi April & dottie,

thanks for advising. Cos' mine quite rush...jus wanna make sure. hee...

which BS u all sign up with?

freeesia

my parents are from m'sia so they are definitely inviting some of our closer relatives from m'sia. same for my HTB's side since his parents also have many many relatives from m'sia. i dread to think of wearing a heavy gown, stand in one spot offering cup after cup of tea in a house crammed full of people and no air-con! want to faint thinking about it. thankfully we agreed to have TC at the banquet venue. hee~