(2009) Brides of year 2009

christinawong

Christy,
ur ROM pics are very nice. all ur shots are so clear..

mashi_mashi

Lyinnie,
Dun be sad. Every family got their probs. juz take it easy.

I heard tat gallery hotel is nice. but they dun actually cater for big functions like wedding events. i enquire fr them,they say max can put 15 tables. mayb u can check wif them...

Ryan & Melissa,
Take it as it goes lor. if ur dates is nt tat popular, u still able to bk a venue. no worries. juz whether is it ur 1st choice or nt. if nt get ur FH to explain to her on y need to get the date early. mayb she might change her mind to get the dates earlier.

all the best...

vallous

haha aye..i also dunno what u mean by those princessy makeup..if u attend courses for makeup its more of knowing what colour suits you and whether its a morning or night event. Usually night event will be thicker makeup.

When usually not a good makeup artiste i would mean that the person doesnt know your skin type and doesnt know what type makeup you are suited for. I would say if you are young below 30s then should still look young, dont make up until your husband cannot recognised you or even makeup till you look extra 10 yrs older then tats what i called bad MUA.

To be sure..i often tell MUA to do light and simple makeup. For dinner, just darken the eye shadow and more daring red used for the lipstick will do. The rest remain the same.

lettingo

haha vallous ,princessy is what my friend use as a term for the makeup that she tink she should have for AD... but i tink like what you say above... actual day simple can le... i dun tink my MUA will be very bad, tats why i take her, as long as she is cheap... now very budget leh.... kuazhang makeup for PS better bah...

raine24

Hi Miho,

Congrats and welcome to the fourm!
just wondering why you've decided not to go with the BS package, cos its much less of a headache to do so.. everything is nicely settled for you. no need to do so much sourcing, esp now when you have abt only 6 mths to your wedding. And not to mention cost saving too. You still have the option to be creative, with all vendors actually more or less settled.. thought that would be most helpful. Just my 2 cents worth la k? ;)

what's your nett budget for your wedding?

vallous

whuahaha...i have heard of princessy gowns only leh. Cute friend you have.

Anyway...i also on a tight budget. I tell you lor..my friends are like all rushing to get married also..in sept onwards, i got so many weddings, ROM and even baby showers. Some can avoid like weddings 3 months prior to my own wedding. If not , i lagi bankrupt.

lettingo

me too me too !
my friends all get married in Nov, Dec, Oct... Feb i also got one
But their dinner i still go, even tho there is the 3 mths rule.. just that i won't be jiemeis...

natalie06

ixoral> ohh at least u managed to get ur lovenest, so nice. Im currently w my parents at 900+ but will most likely b moving to telok kurau or bayshore area. HTB n i like e peacefulness there but yet to confirm anything right now cos we decided to take our time to shop for e one dat we both like. Planning to purchase early next yr

Emily> im getting my rom bouquet from tanjong pagar market florist. saw some samples previously n i must say e price is reasonably cheap n its nice. hope this helps!

emilyng

Hi Nat,
Hee..do you have any pictures of the bouquets as well?

How do you gals get to know these florists?
Do you think they do church decoration too?

vallous

aiyo...i knt go...my PILs already warn me liao. I dare not go, wait anything happen, kena blamed. Also good lor...like that can give excuse and save on the angbao.

This sat i got one good friend ROM, i told my hubby dun tell my PIL..we quietly go...anyway they went on holiday so keep it a secret.

h2hm2m

Lalaa, so did ur manage to meet for lunch?

we met another gp of PG n VG last Fri. Quite ex leh. The PG charges 250/hr and e VG full edited package is 2900. Their works are really gd. very artistic but we're not sure if we shld spend so much on PG n VG leh. headache now...

summerbabe

Hi Raine,

Thanks for your thoughts. I am actually now thinking of that cos everything else needs $ and coordination. We have decided not to go fo BS package cos we dont quite fancy the studio and outdoor shoot as well as having to spend alot more money than the original package when you choose more photos. The package can then cost more than $5k. Like a friend who is getting married 1 Nov, her BS package was only $2k+ and she ended up paying $2k+ more cos of the addition photos selected. I do not want to be put in that position.

Hmm but without package, I have to source for gowns, kua, cheongsam, bridal car, deco, hand bouquet and corsages etc. I saw a hand bouquet of calla lillies that cost $175 or $150 from Angel Florist. Is it expensive? I know calla lillies are. My fiance asked if we need to spend that kind of $ on hand bouquet. Another thing is also I wont be restricted by the BS package, like in this case where I only want calla lillies and BS package may not have that.

Now in dilemma and also panicking lest I cant get a good MUA.

Hopefully less than 10k for everything for the ROM day including tea ceremony which is my actual wedding date. Dinner is only a formality and is being paid by future MIL.

zer061zer0

Hi Miho,

I too am not having the photoshoot as my HTB is not in Singapore. However, there are BS who offer a package without the photoshoot.

By taking up the BS package, your WG, WG, kua, hubby's suits, flowers, make-up, car etc..

So in short, it's like a one-stop thing. In fact, you can speak to the BS and ask if they have calla lilly bouquets. My understanding is that unless the flowers are seasonal flowers, they can accede to your requests.

If need to, I can recommend you my BS. I am with The Aisle, and basically everything including AD PG and VG are from them, and the bill comes up to about $4k.

sparkless

hey emily,

i went to grace assembly sometimes too. i also enquired abt grace II.

i have a friend who used a florist, also from bedok. she said this florist very good and cheap and she has a stall in the market. i wonder if it is the same florist.

but i can check the florist's contact.

grace church doesnt provide the deco?

Hi Josie

I thought that is a perfect wedding favour using cupcakes... For me the hotel is providing me but I dont think I like it so will use my own sourced wedding favours.

Hi PK
I also comtemplate the idea of having my wedding cake to cut since the dummy cake is so chessy to have. But I wonder what shall I do with it later on? Any way I was also thinking of having 1 tier real cake. Any suggestions on the cake shops?

cosyouaremygal

I am attending too. Be one of the emcee and one of them would still be my jiemei.

Our agreement is not giving ang pow for each other.
Parents are kept mum.

desjo_11

Hi cheryl,
I have placed deposit,hope she is referring to me.just 'wori' coz she mentioned is ROM..keke.I have engaged Tin as MUA for my mil.hv plc deposit also,but yet to confd time.hv she revert?

Vallous,think ROM shldnt be a prob.not customary ma..keke

Hi Hui,
How come ur BS dun provide MUA for u on AD?

raine24

miho - there's an option to have a package without the photoshoot and it wld still be cheaper. My BS takes $600 off the pkg price if u dun take their photoshoot option. Everything else is still included.. only ard $2K+. Would still definitely save money than going around sourcing on your own. unless your wedding's not too big and there's not much on the list. U still gotta source for your own AD PG & VG though. If you source on your own, everything's going to cost more for sure. Not to mention the headache.

But of course its up to you la. if you have the resources to spare, and time for that matter, and don't mind the stress (i.e. very organised) and know EXACTLY what you want.. then you cld do your own sourcing as well. It all depends on U cos its YOUR wedding!

Do give it some serious thought yea? Gotta start soon and u don't have much time left!

zerochristy

Mashi> Thanks for the compliments.

Melvin's skill also not bad too.. but too bad hubby prefers to take up with 1950 Photography... I shortlist the PG so my hubby choose la... so I got nothing to loose cause both I also like.

cherlinjo

That's y tentative... haha but yah... both of us are staying in the same area... by car abt 10 mins only. Alternative plan is to have tea ceremony for my relatives before the banquet commences. =)

livinginsg

Hi girls! Just check with your hotels if u can bring in cupcakes to be given as wedding favors. I remember reading somewhere that some hotels are against it because they do not want to be responsible for guests suffering from food poisoning (from food served by 3rd party). Same rule applies if you want to supply your own wedding cake.

Hi Josie-I think it's a great idea to give wedding cupcakes! So sweet:)

As for wedding favors, will most likely use those provided by my hotel.

Hi Sabine, will you consider distributing the cake to the guests? Have only shortlisted one vendor, will keep u posted as i go along..:)

dzxz

Hi Hi..me too not going to get a new flat so early cos wedding going to dry me up...moreover my htb is paying for his current house...so tentatively stay there first lo..

ke ke htb is also staying at bukit batok area...me also want to find somewhere like at jurong east or bukit batok area...ke ke but seems that not much new flat..can only get old ones

kv24

hi.. can i have the MUA tat you all used and their rates.. i wan to get cheaper MUA for my mother,sis etc.. also is there any porfolio to see their samples??

glympse

Josie - yea I gotta make ang pow box, haven't thought of how to do it yet tho haha. Thought of leaving it to one of my jiemei to settle
as for wedding favours, will be using the one provided by the hotel.

Jaalie - I've signed up with The Wedding Present, I like working with their designers, and like their work. Do you have a budget in mind?

Hi Miho,

welcome!!!

I think you can still take a BS package even if you don't want a photoshoot.

That's actually what I'm doing now. My BS package is just for the gowns, suit and flowers (inc. deco), no PG, no MUA. Together with the PG that my HTB chose, that's under 10k.

With 10k, you can do quite alot. My PG is expensive but there are many fantastic ones who charge about 1.2-2k for full day, most can do some portraits which are taken on your AD (so don't need that extra time for a pre-wedding PS). We love our PG's work that's why we didn't take a BS package with PG.

I agree with raine and zero that taking a BS package helps alot. My BS package also had MUA but I didn't want cos my HTB has his own contacts.

Maybe you can use 1 weekend to go around some shortlisted BS and see which ones can 'alter' their package to suite you. That's what my HTB and I did cos we only wanted certain things.

At first we thot we had to 'a la carte' everything... finally found a BS with what we wanted. Had to pay just abit more than other BS who give everything, but at least we found everything that we liked.

So like raine said, have a quick think through cos it's almost the 6 mth mark le. But don't worry, once you get the ball rolling, everything will get better.

just keep asking around for more help if you need ok?

emilyng

Hi ixoral,
Thanks gal! For showing my your bouquet picture...your flower looks very nice...and I think a lot of pple have commended on it too…

Some of the florists in the Forum for Florists e.g Simply Flowers are pretty exp...but look very nice..

I still havent decide which Florist to choose..and Bedok is a little far for me since I live in CCK.

Hi Tulips,
I haven't asked abt Grace Church's florist but from wat I understand from my sister, her previous florist from Grace wasn't tat good...

Sigh...looks like I am getting my head big with all these preparation..
ARH!!!

Hi dzxz,
Your HTB stays at BB too?...heehee...cool...maybe who noes..we might be neighbours next time!! HAhaha...

cyntwy

Hi Ryan & Melissa

Next year's Tong Shu is out, that's how I got my AD date for next year Dec.

Lynnie, try business hotels, like Regent, but be prepared to pay. Gallery Hotel can cater for a small no. of tables, but not too sure if they can cater for weddings. Or try holding a wedding luncheon instead. Outdoor reception? Check out the latest ad on the home page, they do have alternative wedding venues that you can consider.

shjeans

ixoral: coolz... hope to see you around tamp. real soon. 700+ shd be bigger.ours 500+.very near urs? no choice lah, we want to stay near my htb parents.(simei)

You got ur keys already? We shd be getting our keys next month or Dec. looking forward.

Nat: TK and east coast area very ex!

ixoral

emily> thanks
no probs! u can try one of those freelance ones who operate from multiply websites. sorry cant rem the names but mentioned b4 in that thread as well.

shjeans> i'm not sure if 500+ is near. haha. actually i got my keys a few mths back. but only recently then gonna start reno...saving up $$ first :p

cherie81

cyn> hiaz.. economy so bad now I also dont feel like spending so much on PG thou he is really very good. Everything have to put on hold at the time being till next year. Thou I bought my bra for my ROM but I would love to get myself a pair of nu bra.

jaalie

Hi Glympse,

Not really...may I know where is this BS and does it have a webby?

I hope to be an April's bride...not sure if I'm in time for that

cyntwy

Well like i said, it all depends on what you want in your PG package. For my hubby and I, we decided to do away with the studio shoots as we won't be flipping through the album much after the wedding anyway. It's the AD photos that count for us. As for, studio shoots, if we really want them, then we'll do them separately after our AD. No point spending on items that dont carry much significance for us. However, if you feel, you really want what's in the package and they are able to cater to your requests AND you really have the means to pay for it, go for it! Focus on the essentials first. Have a gd time during your ROM
and enjoy the wedding process. No point fretting over the small stuff.

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>AD date / day</TD><TD>Venue</TD><TD>Bridal Studio</TD><TD>Date for PS</TD><TD>Pre wedding PG</TD><TD>AD PG</TD><TD>AD VG</TD><TD>Multiply </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cecilia_ben</TD><TD>011109 (Sun)</TD><TD>Orchard Hotel</TD><TD>MBR</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nat</TD><TD>011109 (Sun)</TD><TD>Four Seasons Hotel</TD><TD>MBR</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>p00h</TD><TD>011109 (Sun)</TD><TD>ST</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tinkle_Fel</TD><TD>011109 (sun)</TD><TD>Grand Copthrone waterfront</TD><TD>Sophia Wedding</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Sophia Wedding</TD><TD>Sophia Wedding</TD><TD>Sophia Wedding</TD><TD>ferfercia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Emilyng</TD><TD>071109 (Sat)</TD><TD>Inter-continental</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rynn</TD><TD>071109 (Sat)</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>PMB</TD><TD>300409</TD><TD>PBM</TD><TD>lephotographe.multiply.com</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>babyphatz07 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jasmine Lee</TD><TD>141109 (Sat)</TD><TD>Mandarin Oriental</TD><TD>White Link</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>CS Lim from AM.PM</TD><TD>Why Keen from Ichirofilms</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chuababy</TD><TD>151109(Sun)</TD><TD>Inter-continental</TD><TD>BV</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>csc02 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Fanny</TD><TD>151109 (Sun)</TD><TD>M Hotel</TD><TD>Bridal de Couture</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Mojoideas</TD><TD>Mojoideas</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stella</TD><TD>151109 (Sun)</TD><TD>Carlton Hotel</TD><TD>Bridal de Couture</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Bridal de Couture</TD><TD>Secret Haven</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stersang</TD><TD>151109 (Sun)</TD><TD>Conrad</TD><TD>Bridal de Couture</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Bridal de Couture </TD><TD>lightbox</TD><TD>Mirage</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>dzxz</TD><TD>181109 (Wed)</TD><TD>Grand Plaza Park Hotel</TD><TD>Fame Bridal (Yishun)</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Christinatyt</TD><TD>211109 (sat) &amp; 221109 (Sun)</TD><TD>OCC</TD><TD>Julia Wedding News</TD><TD>15-Dec-08</TD><TD>Friend</TD><TD>Friend</TD><TD>Friend</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cornygal</TD><TD>211109 (Sat)</TD><TD>Noble House @ UIC Building</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>cornygal </TD></TR><TR><TD>Frances</TD><TD>211109 (Sat)</TD><TD>Rasa Sentosa</TD><TD>Bridal de Couture</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ixoral</TD><TD>211109 (Sat)</TD><TD>Novotel Clarke Quay</TD><TD>Dawn's Wedding (JB)</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Jayce Photography</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jac</TD><TD>211109 (sat), AD:231109 (mon)</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Amanda Lee</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Vividshots</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jaslyn</TD><TD>211109 (Sat)</TD><TD>Orchard Parade Hotel, Grace Methodist Church</TD><TD>Bridal De Couture</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>friend</TD><TD>friend</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>JO&amp;JY</TD><TD>211109 (Sat)</TD><TD>Sheraton towers</TD><TD>Sophia Wedding</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Sophia</TD><TD>Sophia</TD><TD>Mirage</TD><TD>lichun18 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kachina</TD><TD>211109 (sat) &amp; 221109 (Sun)</TD><TD>Peony Jade</TD><TD>Dawn's Wedding @ JB</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD></TD><TD>Topix Studio</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kel</TD><TD>211109 (Sat)</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Bridal de Couture</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Piggerellas</TD><TD>211109 (Sat)</TD><TD>Fullerton</TD><TD>French Bridal</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>p0cc0</TD><TD>211109 (Sat)</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Digio</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>rachenie</TD><TD>211109 (Sat)</TD><TD>Mandarin Oriental</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Shjeans</TD><TD>211109 (sat)</TD><TD>M hotel</TD><TD>The aisle</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tatsumi_asato</TD><TD>211109 (Sat)</TD><TD>Raffles Hotel </TD><TD>Margaret's Brides</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Daniel Beh</TD><TD>Daniel Beh</TD><TD>Alex from Forest production</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tulips</TD><TD>211109 (sat)</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Vaughn Tan</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>wish4goodluck</TD><TD>211109 (sat)</TD><TD>Grand Hyatt</TD><TD>Bridal de Couture</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Apr_piggy</TD><TD>221109 (Sun)</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Atrium</TD><TD>Bliss Creation</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>friend</TD><TD>friend</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>wendyzhou </TD></TR><TR><TD>Charlene</TD><TD>221109 (Sun)</TD><TD>Inter-continental</TD><TD>French Bridal</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Piggy</TD><TD>221109 (sun)</TD><TD>Marina Mandarin</TD><TD>Bridal De Couture</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>II</TD><TD>251109 (wed)</TD><TD>Orchard Hotel</TD><TD>The Aisle Bridal</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lynn</TD><TD>251109 (wed)</TD><TD>Marina Mandarin</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>JustMarried Bridal, KL</TD><TD>Freelancer</TD><TD>Aspire Videography</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>popprincesstrin</TD><TD>271109 (Fri)</TD><TD>Fullerton</TD><TD>BV</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Avenue8</TD><TD>Avenue8</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>trinachang </TD></TR><TR><TD>cheerful</TD><TD>281109 (sat)</TD><TD>Peony Jade Clarke Quay</TD><TD>La Belle Couture</TD><TD>May / June 09</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Marcus (free lancer)</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>tydy</TD><TD>281109 (sat)</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Attrium</TD><TD>White Link</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Mojoideas</TD><TD>Mojoideas</TD><TD>blissfullymarried</td></tr></table>

Hey Nat, I live east too and I'm also looking for a place at bayshore or telok kurau, tell me, how cool is that? We've been rather slow at viewing the new developments at telok kurau cos by the time we find time to view, the property's almost sold out! We've more of less put the viewing on hold cos our work's crazy but will try to buy one by June 09 so tt we will have time for renovations and such. I think it'll b difficult to get a brand new property cos most TOP in end 2011 or 2012 so unless we have a place to stay, that is going to be a very big prob (I wldnt want to move in with him and I doubt his parents will allow him to come stay with me)!

vallous

hi desjO,

yah so i can attend lor close one eye. initially my hubby refuses to accompany me there also but i insisted. haha..I really want to attend cos she is my best friend.

livinginsg

Hi Jaalie, do you like cheong sum and kebaya? If you do, you can consider Louis Ler of Amor Meus. He is more of a "tailor" than a bridal designer. He does not offer packages but he can refer makeup artist, etc to his customers. I also took my wedding gown from him. His website is very simple (just his address and contact info) but his boutique is just at Purvis street. Hope you make it in time for April.:)

sansara

Hihi..

I have not come into our forum for some time bec of my busy schedule.. Missed out quite a bit...

I just talk to my geomancer on Sat to confirm my dates.

Wedding date : 26 June 09
Bridal Studio : Bridal De Couture
PG : TBC
VG : TBC
Venue : Conrad