(2009) Brides of year 2009

sansara

Hi Rayrachel,

My Bridal Room also one of my shortlist bec saw a lot of good review from the forum. I am also considering Golden horse cos near my place... Sigh.. need to get this settle soon.

Would u all know when is the latest date we shd go for fitting considering the wedding is in June?

happy_ting

belinda/starskyz

i did apply for punggol breeze but kinda regret it now.. i saw the floor plan is not bad, quite squarish, so i applied too. but now abit regret cos realise it's location is not as good.

hi fat fat,

nope mine is from goldheart.. but i dun have time to go collect yet hee hee

tksl

im going for the vivo and marina one to hunt for AD photography.. hee.. but i think going on sunday leh~ sunday vivo still got not?

occty

Hi all! I'm planning my AD on 7Aug! Do i have to start preparing now? Will it be too late to decide next yr? Cos my man is e sort who never believe in placing deposits and not getting e stuffs. He would think it's damn ridiculous to book banquet or BS a yr ahead.. Advise advise! Thanks! Btw,when does 7th starts in 2009?

verena

Twinfairy> is there a viewing for AMK DBSS at HDB this weekend? Think I haven't been following the news and I can't seem to find much info on this on HDB website either.

juztea

Glympse, you have to visit a variety of shops to know if you can find something you like from there. The $3k types are not the boutique designer sort. So its really up to you, of cos if you can walk into one that can offer you your ideal gown at $3k. WHY NOT?
Personally, after visiting most of the $3k shops, I feel French Bridal is the most balanced, it terms of pictures and gowns. Some the gowns are nice, but the photos are not. So it really depends, but you really have to visit a variety. I work at Tanjong Pagar, so I have tonnes of time to look through all of them. Haha...

Go for a hunt for a few weeks with your girlfriends, narrow down 3 or 4, then bring you HTB to visit and decide. I was stuck between Silhouette, French Bridal and Dang Bridal. Hahah... Its a really fun process, enjoy!

waterbomb

Hi, I am having my pre-wedding shoot in Phuket in January next year. Anyone interested in doing shoot as well? Am looking for someone to share a make-up artist with me...

rayrachel

San>you can call me rach..

Good.. hope u make a good decision soon.. if u are going to Bridal Room.. can tell them Rachel refered u..

More freebies..

You can do ur 1st fitting ard Dec... you should take ur pics about 4 months in advance... and if u are taking just OTR.. you can just go 1-2 months before ur PS...if u are taking MTM... 8 months before ur AD would be a good time to start looking for ur gowns..

u stay yishun???

lareine

hi love.or.money! we're doing away with gate-crashing too, and having a 6-7 table banquet only. we're keeping things small cos i'm having 1 wedding in SG and 1 in the US, so budget is stretched both ways.

OCCTY - it really depends. if you're having a full conventional Singaporean wedding, you probably should place deposits soon (latest by Jan 2009 maybe?), esp if yr preferred locations are popular hotels.
my FH thinks it's crazy too, but Singapore's a small place and there are only that many hotels that ppl usually choose.

cherie81

Suzanna, Yes sunday still have. Maybe I will go down tomorrow. Why dont you go down on sat? Then you can go back home and think about it . And if you really like it you can go down the next day.

mashi_mashi

Aggiegal,
might tink of moving in the further is got kids lor. as present new flat is 4rm. if got kids liao, mayb 4rm nt enough. haha...

c hw ba. so muz ensure got resale value as well...

mrswang,
their most basic de tink is 3388 (otr). but u hv to tok to them lor. they might b able to give u better perks if u nego wif them. try to ask them to throw in exclusive range WG for u. so tat u hv more choices. as their exclusive range is really very nice. haha

zerochristy

Aggiegal> Thanks for the comments!

Package lesser than S$3K> I previously seen b4 this type of package but there are lots of hidden things which the BS dun tell you whats more to pay until you ask… So be a little careful on this.

Twinfairy> No la… I dun have bigger diamonds la. If I can I dun mind but until you mention I also wonder why I did not thought of getting a bigger diamonds while choosing my WB. Aiya…..

keitsu

Wow been so busy at work... didn't have time to check out the forum and there are so many updates...

Hi Sabbie... we share the same wedding date.. initially I also tot of having my banquet at M Hotel, but in the end give up... :p

Vallous, so good your home is ready already.. me still gotta continue hunting for mine... *sighz*

mrswang

seem like dont have pkg less then $3k le.

thanks all ya. =)

will recky. btw what basic stuff should i look out for the pkg? anyone can guide me?

starskyz

kristle> wah~~~~ you are way way faster dan all of us sia... how's ur PS? did u enjoy it? show us ur pics yah!!! =)

meiting> dun worry tat much bah, look on the bright side.. the location has a LRT station and near the new waterway which can boost your flat value in the future.. who noes, you might get a good quene number and get a high-level flat! it might turn out to be a blessing in disguise for you..

gracelourdes

hahhaa...dun worry, i know wat u meant...hmm...if u alrd got a fixed date tat u want, u might just want to book even before the wedding show so tat u can get the date...

desjo_11

Thks Shice & Vallous, maybe I just 'do' the 'rolling of pineapple' ba..keke..But the tot of doing hse work also scary hor? ;p

Vallous, from buying resale to renovation completed, time frame really very short.HDB normally take a few mths to settle all the paper wk

Welcome Sabbie
we be counting down together ya

Hi Shining hoshi & Keitsu,
I also waited >1yr then managed to get our flat in last dec balloting..maybe can consider BTO or resale?else hv to stay with in-laws liao ;p

chanll

your PG charges you $600 an hour? if so, it's really expensive.

Hi Priscilla, personally for myself i like tunglok group. Their food is good.

vallous

Hi desjO,

I cannot tahan stay with in laws although they are quite nice. COs eventually i felt its easy to stay In but damm difficult next time to GET OUT.

So far, it took us about 1 month to source for a hdb resale then we bought it, hdb process it in 5 weeks...not bad quite fast. The reno took about 4 weeks or so.

Actually everything is fast. At least faster than waiting for the balloting and WIS..so sian.

zerochristy

mrswang> Hmmm actually it depands what your looking for. Some BTB like photo more so their package is more on photos one. If your more into details than you have to look for MTM gown. Like myself we not having wedding dinner and also change somethings on our package. The BS is very kind cause they are very flexi on us.

Our package dun have wedding car which we also dun need cause we will be using our own car. We have a mini-album copy from our main album... we also change to other things.

luvlove22

Hi Vallous

U r so lucky to have ur reno completed in 4 weeks, I waited 4 mths for reno to finished last mth. (Mayb we did too much)

Hi desjo

Lots of pre-cleaning to do before ready to move in, and putting charcoal can help to clear cupboard odour. We have been doing a few rounds of cleaning before moving in, now every week have to do thorough cleaning also, cos my doggies keep messing up the place.

Now a bit regret getting bigger flat.

desjo_11

Hi Vallous,
Me too..I also cannot stay with in-laws.This is to avoid conflicts & spoil r/s..lucky lady luck smile at me,else wait till my neck grow also cannot get a flat..Q no is always so far away.U really gd hor..everything get it done so fast..the feeling of seeing ur lovenest completed must be so blissful ;p

Hi luvlove,
Wow..ur renovation tk so long?so the charcoal really helps kill the cupboard adour?think mine shld be completed by early Aug..by then Chinese 7th mth liao ;p

Hi Shining Hoshi,
When will ur flat be completed?Didn't they give u an estimated completion date?Hopefully b4 ur Big day

yup yup, tunglok has good food!

well, being wedding PG ourselves, we feel that it's worth it. Their style is really what we're looking for. ah well... that's the price to pay for being fussy.

peareys

ixoral/karine82>> I'm wif SG Bridal, they're located nxt to crystal crown hotel not too far away frm custom.
They're still wrking on their website http://www.sgbridalhouse.com/
Alternative u can join us at http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/1/344856.html?1213532562
and u'll see wat their brides comment abt them.

My m'sian colleagues advise that i dun go to those city square bridal shop coz they will "chop" if they know u're s'porean
and the quality is nt that gd but that's up to individual.

At first when bf suggest that we have a look at m'sia BS..i was like huh...so orbang, so troublesome, so dangerous. i was so anti abt it but no choice juz go to entertain him. haha but to my surprise they're really gd some are even better than s'pore BS.

I've actually shortlisted 3 at that area which is SG bridal, Venus & Fables which i serach frm SG brides & M'sia Brides forum.
My 1st stop is SG Bridal, they give us a very "at home" feel, they are not pushy but very friendly, they cater the package to our need and throw in alot of nice freebies. I fall in love with their album & gowns stright away in fact wanted to sign on the spot..
but bf remind me that i have to check out Venus too..haha so we tell them straight that we actually want to have a look at Venus too, but to my surprise she say...we should compare a few more and choose something that we like and feel comfortable with
and even comment that they're gd and they're very famous among the m'sian & s'porean.

So we went on to check Venus out, their photographer served us, indeed very nice gowns in fact their signature gowns
are nicer than SG bridal, nice album & they have 7 lovely theme of background to choose frm where else SG onli have 5??
but most of the album is more or less the same design, pattern even hairstyle of the brides and they're nt too flexible
when come to freebies. 1 thing to my disappointment is that their website pics is so nice but i happen to browse through
a bride multiply pic...it totally look diff, the background of that theme look so fake, the others is ok.
And they charge RM30 for hairstylings.

By the time we finish with Venus it's too late to visit Fables coz b4 the 2 BS i actually walk-in to I DO wedding & 1 more BS nxt to Venus but they were out...So we went back to SG Bridal and we still receive the very friendly welcome frm them. No regrets!
My frd who visited the 3 BS through my recommendation comment that Fables gowns is better than Venus...but ended up
signing with SG bridal coz he say my co-ordinator is very friendly, flexible and most important the package is very reasonable.
He sign up for the RM3888 package, convert to SIN it's ard S$1650.

Christy>> Ya, i have to agree that some m'sia bridal shop have hidden charges and certain things they dun include in the package, so we must really calculate properly. So far SG & Venus package is quite comprehensive, juz that they dun provide AD MUA
and AD Car. We'll be using our own car so not too much of an issue.
My BS are very flexible, they even include my ROM package at no additional cost.

mrswang>> There's always pros & cons of malaysia bridal.
1. Their package is at half price but we get exactly wat we get in s'pore.
2. Topping up of photos / pose will be at half price, i've check out s'pore top up is S$85-90 but theirs is RM85-RM90.
3. They are all crosspages with digital effect. I have a frd who sign up at s'pore for 3K + but she only get 4 pages of digital effect.

1. You have to travel ard 6-8 times depend on how you plan your trip. 1st to Sign up; 2nd to choose gowns; 3rd to try fitting; 4th for PS; 5th to choose photos, 6th to tie AD car, collection of gowns & album; 7th to return gowns.I personally dun find it troublesome coz we juz take it as a trip to spend our weekend.
2. Their package dun include AD MUA, AD Car and AD PG/VG, wic some s'pore BS dun include too.
3. Some find it dangerous to go in, but we feel that as long as you dun dress like a rich tais tais u wouldn't be a target.
4. Some BS will "chop" coz they know we're s'porean, but i can say that my BS never.
Other than that i can't think of anything that is no gd abt going over.

peareys

Ops! sorry for my long post...haha btw ixoral and karine82 i heard frm other brides that my BS is going to increase the package price in sept'08 so if u're interested you have to act fast, u can look for my co-ordinater Queenie, tell her i intro de maybe can get more freebies. (^_^)

peareys

Hello Aggie, how's your trip?
Oh...the new rule, HDB aim is to minimise the no.of applicants to apply for flats they dun require.
It's say that you will lost your chance of balloting for a yr if you opt out twice when your Q no.is within the No.of flats avaliable.
But i cnt remember which month they started this.

oh, mind saying who it is?

anyway, it really depends on the couple. One of our agreed big ticket item was photography, so that's how we planned our budgeting.

taime81

Suzanna, i went to check out the details. The fair consist of banquet event and bridal. They didn't mentioned anything abt ad photographer.

Ms Vivi, you can consider Digio, they have lovely growns. Service also pretty good.

tksl

charmaine, i went down today also.. a bit disappointed.. i thought it will be a relatively big event, but it was very small.. i didnt see the banquet event section though.. i only saw the bridal section. Initially wanted to get some info for my friend coz he looking for banquet, but can't seem to find.

miss vivi, i was looking at this new bridal studio (from hk).. i saw the photos, quite nice..

now only can look forward to the marina one, hopefully it will be of a larger scale..

Sorry, I have been MIA for so long! Anyway, I went to look-see, look-see at a wedding that my caterer was doing..I must say I was rather disappointed with the overall presentation of the food..sungguh tak berselera!

So in the end, I settled with Istana Weddings and I just know I'm in good hands! Insya-Allah!
For bridal, am considering RH..still looking around though..Photography hopefully FAP..

hey Nina, I heard of your BS..are the baju-s nice?hee..I'm egg-cited to read your excitement!^_^ Congrats yah!

sparkless

hi melissa,

HDB flat - some thoughts here

have an idea if you want resale or new flat. Resale- prepare to fork out a sum of cash.
New flat- start checking HDB website. for a start, you may want to check out the newly launch DBSS @ AMK. But be prepared new flats won't be ready until 3-4 yrs later. Otherwise, the next balloting exercise is on Oct.

Since buying a house is lifelong commitment, don't rush into one and work out your sum before commiting to one.

cheryl_11

Hi already...

Am new to this forum..and i'm getting stressed after reading thru the last 2 archives..haha... coz bf and I have plans to get married in Sept 2009.. but have not done a single thing yet.. gosh.. looks like i have lots to catch up on..

Any gals planning to get married on 21.09.09? Coa thats the date im thinking of..

gracelourdes

good morning cheryl...

honestly, 21/09/09 is a v hot date for getting married...if u r bent on tat date, i suggest u to get ur venue asap...also, be prepared to pay extra 'premium' for ur venue even if u do get...

i guess it's cos 21/09 is an auspicious date and also cos it's a public hol as well so alot of hotels take the opportunity to charge exorbitantly...

after which, u better tik abt getting ur AD PG n VG also cos alot of them have been 'snapped' up for such dates alrd as at tis juncture...

i guess BS isn't so bad cos there's so many BS everywhere...even s'pore u can't find suitable ones u can go JB also...

so my suggestion is, speed up!!