(2008) Brides of year 2008

eunicet

Hi Shirley, have emailed you!

kayjay

Finally collected my wedding albums! Can view from my multiply. ID: jing84

Some photos didnt turn up as what I've expected cos when we were choosing the photos, they were no bigger than an ezlink card size but when its blown up big album size, realize some expression really funny!!!! Do u gals have the same prob? haha

jo_vin

Kelly, thanks for your compliments! So how was ur HM? I'm sure u enjoyed urself right? So fast collect ur AD photos! Faster upload!! Cant wait to c them! Hehe..

Add me on facebook too ya? [email protected]

Where are the rest of the gals!!!

sylmc

hello everyone, I'm back!! Thanks Eunice for helping to forward the programme and helpers' list to the rest. The weather has been beautiful for our solemnization. The whole wedding was what we wanted though time control was a problem and we have to rush through our speech but no regrets. My husband was so emotional that he broke down at the end of the whole wedding -_-"

eunicet

Jol: Hellooo!! Congratulations! You are now a Mrs! Thank God for the beautiful weather...Better than today's weather, so cold and wet!! *Shivers!!* Put up your photos when they're done k!

jo_vin

So happy! My hubby's uncle and grandfather dio 4d!! My mum too! My hotel room number came out 2nd prize and my bridal car number came out starter! Hehe..

lost_in_space

jovin~ congrats.. hehe.. so happy that ppl tio 4D.. his auntie also tio 4d last week..

but sad to say that his grandmother just passed on last week.. grateful that she managed to attend our wedding.. and then went home..

blanqq

good morning gals,

Wow jovin, u bring luck to the family, they will sure love u to death..

i heard when the couple do the champange pouring, whoever got hit by the cork will dio 4D.. And ours provided true enough, cos the cork hit my mother-in-law and she is the one only who dio 4D and it's 1st prize. We are given big ang bao each..

missywinnie

i am just wondering if melody in this thread was someone whom i know. cos i attended a wedding dinner on yesterday and the venue also at PJ.

stay

halo to all the Mrs-es!!!! so sorry for MIA-ing for so long after the wedding.... i went for my honeymoon right after the hotel stays, came back last Sunday but was busy moving over to my in-law's place. Now back to work already....
how's everyone coping being a Mrs now??? im enjoying it so far coz its fun having to compromise 2 different living habits and im glad that my hubby is working very hard to make me feel comfy at his place!
congrats to all who tio-ed 4D! we were not even close to having our numbers opened at all! muahaha!!!! no luck ar....

sylmc

PJ serves very delicious food! My youngest sis has her wedding dinner there last year and we were blown away by the food especially the mango scallop *yum yum*

racht - how's your wedding prep? 2 weeks to go right?

agree with Eunice, yday very cold. These few days woke up in the middle of the night and for a moment, could not understand why I am in YS and not JE hahaha...not used to bed and hubby next to me also. even the pillow and bolster felt weird

racht

jol.. still "struggling" with finalising the ad schedule, helpers' checklist n table seating arrangement.. hv yet to confirm final details with hotelier too.. (=__=) 3 more days to go before my ad actually~ (*.*") do u happen to hv a checklist for angbao too? i.e. who to give and for what purpose etc?

jo_vin

Lost, sorry to hear about your hubby's grandmother.

Wah, blanqq, ur MIL dio first prize! Good la! U also lucky gal. I'm sure they will love u alot too.. Hehe...

TanLee, actually our car plate number also jumped. Open opp way. Luckily his grandfather got buy opp, then dio lor..

Sleepygal, so good! U got lucky house! So ur hubby get alot? Hehe...

Hello Stay! U're back! Congrats that u're enjoying ur life as a MRS! As for me, life is still the same. Cos my hubby is still in MAcau working.. Feel so sian la.. Haiz... Life is as normal, not much change, so seriously, i dont feel much difference between a Ms and Mrs.

stay

morning jo_vin! dun be so sad, ure gg to look for hubby soon! look forward to that okie! in the mean time, there are always ways to keep in touch with hubby! cheer up okie!! uve got us in the forum too!!!

sylmc

racht - the list of helpers also double up as a AP checklist but I think I miss out some roles. Below list is more comprehensive. Take a look

1) Jie Mei (additional AP for JM who drives)
2) Xiong Di ((additional AP for XD who drives)
3) PG
4) MUA
5) Open bridal car door @ bride's and groom's place
6) Elders for holding tea set @ bride's and groom's place
7) Helpers for registration
8) Helpers for ushering
9) Emcee
10) Gate Crashing APs
11) AP for In-Laws and Siblings (Bride to give after tea ceremony at in-law's place. Symbolize gifts for new family)
12) AP for bride's family (groom to give when bringing bride back to maiden's home. Symbolize gifts for new family)
13) Bridal Car Driver
14) JP if you are holding your solemnization
15) AP for Delivery man for Roast Pig
16) APs for fetching bride's party other than Xiong Di (sometimes, aunties will also follow e.g. mei po)
17) APs for children @ bride's and groom's place (newly weds are adults liaoz so must give APs to children)
18) APs for tea ceremony if you/groom has younger siblings. (Note : Prepare extra coz your cousins may come and then your parents/in-laws may suggest that they serve you tea as well)

In all, anyone who helps out at your wedding gets a AP. So better pack extra. You never know who will lead an extra hand on your wedding day

muddypaws

hey there,

I just had my wedding on Sunday, and have 12 bottles of Cornerstone Classic French Red and 8 bottles of Cornerstone Classic French White left. These are going for $15 per bottle (negotiable)(via self-collection). Please email [email protected] if you are interested. Thanks!

dodolet

I got ap problem also.. i dunno how much to put ah.. wat is the standard???

Darn tired.. every day also got things to settle.. >.<

Using Jol's list ah
1) Jie Mei
2) Xiong Di
3) PG
4) MUA
5) Open bridal car door
6) Elders for holding tea set (must give???)
7) Helpers for registration
8) Helpers for ushering
9) Emcee
10) Gate Crashing APs
11) Bridal Car Driver
12) JP if you are holding your solemnization
13) AP for Delivery man for Roast Pig (must give???)
14) APs for children tea ceremony
15) florist ??
16) banquet stuff ??

racht

thanks much (again) for the checklist jol! btw does the angbao giving list go according to yr dialet group too or just in general? (".")

ahcharm

Charma97 here.. I am back.. Don't know why I tio suspend here.. so recreated a new acc.. email their moderator also no use..

How is everyone with their new status?? For me, is as usual because I had been staying with my hubby for years liao..

except for calling my in laws. Mama and Papa.. Need time to adapt.. Heeheee.

blurz_ger

yes! i also having headache deciding on how much ang bao to give to the different parties. anyone can share the market rates for all these?

sylmc

AP giving list is general except for #11, #12, #15 and #17. Out of which #15 is for the dialect group as Cantonese will have roast pig. APs for new family is more of a hokkien tradition. Some replace these APs with blankets and towels which are already exchanged during GDL. I know brides who buy gifts for in-laws instead so these will replace the APs too.

sotonglet - yes, must give AP to elder who hold teaset but the AP is from your mum and your in-law, not from you and husband
Uncle who deliver Roast Pig should have a AP too. Can just give $6/$8 lah. Florist and Banquet staff really up to individual.

Market rate for Helpers APs is between $8, $12, $18 to $28. Jie Mei and Xiong Di can give more since they will help you for almost the whole day. The rest like open door, tea ceremony, PG and MUA can give a smaller AP. Dun forget, your mum and in-law will also give to helpers so each helper will get at least 3 APs!

For me and hubby, we gave a bigger AP and told our mothers to give a smaller AP. We spent about $500 just for the APs, excluding the 'kai men' AP!! But my Jie Mei very nice, they took 4 'kai men' APs from my hubby and return 2 APs back to me lol

fionachua83

sotonglet, for me i never give AP to holding teaset. The lady who carry the pig leg my mum give her $38 AP. Then also a AP for the MUA and the PG $10 each dun hav to give them so much all the money come out from my mum.

For the helpers jiemei who help me i ask my mum to give them $28 each cos they still can get AP from ur hubby, the gatecrash, ur MIL side so dun hav to give so much. As for the xiongdis, my hubby give them more AP $68 each cos they will help him alot. Then for the open door and tea ceremony my hubby give $28 to my siblings and his siblings.

Then u also got to pack extra APS in case u need to give out to the children. My hubby give AP $10 to my auntie and uncle children.

lsntyl

tried the hi tea at ellenbourough market. both hubby and I were quite disappointed with it. Food and spread were only so-so.

jo_vin

Stay, thanks for consoling me..

Charma97, no wonder so long nvr c u online. Dont know y this forum like no one mend de hor? The threads also very messy. Hehe.. But anyway, glad that u're back! I tot u forget us liao.. Yaya, need to organise a gathering soon! Organise in Jan can? Cos i'll b gg Macau 24th - 29th. Hehe...

luvz17

Anyone knows Mrs Teo (Florist) add?

For actual day, do our parents have to prepare angbao for JM &amp; XD too?

jolene428

hi gers!!!!!!!!

miss me? I m back!!! Alight in Singapore last nite and was busy unpacking and then watch the dvds we bought at shanghai until we KO haha...

my honeymoon is fun!!!!!!!! but japan so expensive lor!!! But i love the cold weather!!! Show ya the pictures soon
Will upload on both FB and Multiply :p so will take some time :p hahaha...

jo_vin!!! U are a lucky ger lehh and all the rest who tio 4D also lucky gals :D haha.. me and my HB no habit of buying 4Ds and not sure abt my inlaws and my parents :p keke... nvm lah.. maybe we are the work-hard life lor :p keke...

jo_vin: dont be sad lah.. u gg to meet ur Hb liao :D heehee... he nt ard better sometimes,can go out play :p smtimes i will wana hangout alone or with my frens de lor after seeing my HB every other day :p kakaka...

charma97: nice to hear frm u again!!!!! Can lah... we organise a reunion dinner/lunch gathering after jo_vin comes back frm her trip lor :D unless most of us are back in sg before 24th then we can meet before Xmas then before CNY oso :p hehe...

lost: sorry to hear abt ur Hb's grandmother oso..... but lucky she can attend ur wedding like she wanted to before she past away
i believe she passed on with no regrets

blanqq

welcome back jolene, glad that you really enjoy yr honeymoon. Ya, ya, let's have a gathering.

Can't wait to meet u gers

jolene428

HEE yahhh!! cant wait!!!

when when??? if reunion dinner we can do a potluck or steamboat somewhere.. who can lend her hse? if xmas we can go party or dinner together

simplejer

i had mine last last fri le..haha had an enjoyable night..was busy n tired after our wedding day!! will be uploading the pics too..

sylmc

simplejer - welcome to the club of Mrs!! We have graduated hahaha huh? what did you do after your wedding day? We only returned our bridal clothes and counted AP later that night. Can't wait to see your photos.

I wonder how is mindy's big day....Pin&amp;jie AD is today!!

dzxz

Hi charma,
sorry to jump in...if I am not wrong u are from Fame Bridal right?..Anything u can share with me about this BS? in terms of the gowns etc etc ke ke

jo_vin

Jolene!! Welcome back!! This thread has been so quiet recently esp without u! Hehe... not we dio 4D la.. His uncle and grandfather. Hope they will love me alot. Haha..

Ya, gg to meet him liao. But sometimes alone here is so bored. Esp now sick, feel even worse. Haiz. Only little bit cough. If got fever everything, im sure i'll feel worse without him. Cos im very dependant on him de..

Japan nice? Can see u really enjoyed urself! Ya, the stuffs there are really very exp! And the gals thr really can dress up right? N the service at the shopping malls very good right? Upload ur photos! Will go take a look then.

Charma97 will be organising the gathering ma? Hehe.. Let's all choose a date la.. Maybe in January but before CNY lor. Cos i guess many will be bz during CNY period. Have to change notes for ang baos, decorate house etc. I think just have dinner outside ba. Dont go ppl's house later very troublesome for the owner to clean up. Haha..

rommy

Hi all delighted brides to be

Selling 26 bottles of CORNERSTONE Classic French
Red 2007 for $420(negotiable). These are remainders from my wedding in mid november.

Self-collection at Sims Drive (very near Aljunied MRT Station) opposite Audio House.

For those interested, do email me at [email protected]

jolene428

heee!!! *hugs* jo_vin!!!

japan is fun!!! i love the weather!! 4K pictures!! still sorting them out :p haha thk i gg to upload based on day by day :p hahaha...

yeah!! we can meet outside for reunion dinner..maybe steamboat or picnic together???

ya lor, i got to springclean the hse too :p my inlaws are repainting the hse and throwing thgs away coz of the recent bed bugs attack!!!

jo_vin

4000+ Photos!! Wah!! U very scary leh!! How u manage to take so many!! Haha..

Haiz.. last time have to take 1hr to read n reply all the threads. Now only 1min.. Whr are all of u!!