(2008) Brides of year 2008

kellyduffy

hi hi.. Good morning..

I going for my honeymoon tmr.. will be back in two weeks.. cant online during this period BUT can meet you all for xmas party..
_

jolene: oh that time rem i ask about the projector.. heng in the end, we "cham seong" and the wedding coordinator agree to loan the second projector on their compliments. so we very happy.. hee..

fionachua83

florabliss/nelle, hehe i think mine GDL and AD is the most simple one.

I only buy:
1) 2 bedside lamp run in battery
2) 1 tea set
3) 10 xi stickers
4) 1 comb
5) 3 pkt ang pao
6) 55 boxes cake with 15 round cakes and 40 mixed mini tarts come with 2 baskets fill with those sweets.
7) 12 mandrain orange(those use in chinese new year orange)
8) 2 bottle orange juice
9) 1 new iron
10) Dragon Phoenix candles
11) 1 pair of hair/body shampoo, cleanser,toner,moisturier,toothbrush,toothpaste, perfume all to tie with red ribbon to display on AD on the dressing table.

I did away with buying the jia Zhuang cos my hubby say buy liao also no use so i tell my parents i dun wan to buy so i save money on these.

dodolet

Err need iron and bath stuff??????? i din know that....

Oh well.. I am a cantonese.. They have more rules than many other traditions.. I also did the jia zhuang, in towels, toothbrush and paste and sewing kit part only, as these are the things i will really use in often basis. DIY that too.. ^^"

Anyway flora, u can go on net to search for wat entails in gdl, and pick out the ones u wanna follow, and just buy those in your list only. Heck wat the shop keeper say....

jolene428

kelly: ooo.. hey! sorry ah, did i miss replying on the projector? Lucky u managed to get the 2nd projector

pinky81: think u need to ask ur coordinator wats the minimum lumis for the projector is required.. at first i oso loan from my fren but hers was 1000-1500 lumis but rasa needs min 2500 lumis projector.. hence i in the end need to go and rent one.. Coz is lumis not right, the colour tt appear on the screen will be ermmmm... ugly.. different shades... but its personal preference lah.. if ya not particular abt the quality of the shades then its okay ^^ if nt, better check with ur coordinator k? :D

jolene428

the walkie talkies i rented from my old contacts, coz i was frm events last time oso mah... they rent professional motorola walkie talkies.. nt those toy-alike ones u see outside.. and the frequency is damn far.. coz me and my HB test it out.. he drove until quite far away i still can hear him frm hm
And our walkie talkie can even intercept security guards channels! hahaha.. so funi...

I thk the walkie talkie worth abt $400 a piece
And they renting at $12 per pc to us only ($15 per pc to organisations)... we got about 12 pc i think :D Coz we spread our helpers all around mahh

gingerbread_gal

oh gosh....there's still clogs included?
why need jia zhuang? is it translated into dowry?

Nelle,
dun mind me asking, so where do u keep the spitoon? i thot no need spitoon these days....

fionachua83

sotonglet, iron have to be included cos the shifu say wan so we just follow as for the bath stuff my MIL say hav to buy watever i use and must buy in pair.

lilacbliss07

hihi morn... going for lunch soon... yippee...

jolene.. i nv go measure le.. keke will do it tonite den tell u... become slimmer but tummy still not totally flat those kind le.. keke...

jo_vin.. i where got good figure.. haha.. fat arms and got tummy... urs den good le.. i like lehz slim slim.. hehehe...

wah heng the fire nv spread to ur bridal shop.. hehe ya lor faster go and take.. i excited for u too lehz.. rem muz SMILE~~ hehehe...

my AD i really totally jz relax and let my helpers do all the tins.. keke.. feel really happy.. dats y i very grateful to them.. and they so organized.. haha...

my frens wedding got use walkie talkie too.. bt mine i nv lehz.. coz i seated them all near to each other.. hehehe... den ballroom area and reception area very near only.. so not so complicated.. keke...

lilacbliss07

u noe i told u all i getting the 2nd MUA for 2nd march in... in the end i nv le.. i just ask my SIL help me change my hair accessories and tada its a diff look le.. hehehe... dats wat another MUA taught me.. actually quite easy one.. as for makeup.. dun really need to touch up le.. hehehe...

esther_c

oh writing ur vows is so meaningful!

ho man,got enough time for so many things to do?

oh ya gers,dun forget to go to the bank to change currency and bao ang pao.i just did that few days back.

nelle

hahaha...Jac, I got the plastic one (more for toddlers to poo poo) and use it to soak small garments.

The clogs means the brides' parents hope that the groom's career/job will be 'giak giak', translated from teochew means stable so that can afford to take care of the wife.

flora_bliss

fiona> I think my GDL even more simple. Only got the following:

(1) 12 Oranges
(2) 10 cans of pig trotter
(3) 10 boxes of cakes
(4) 2 bottles of red wine
(5) 2 bottles of orange juices
(6) 2 pairs Dragon Phoenix candles
(7) 1 tea set
(8) 1 bedsheet set
(9) Pin Jing
(10) Si Dian Zhuan
(11) 4 packets of "Xi" stickers

I'm doing away with the dowry stuff coz they'll just gonna take up space. What's your 3 ang bao for? Someone also told me the groom side need to give my unmarried siblings ang bao?

nelle> If they are not organized people, I can understand. I'm angry becoz they simply don't care about it. At the very least show some concern and ask lah. She went to OG liao. But can't find anything. She wants something with long sleeve. She will not consider short sleeve or cheongsam.

sylmc

I used traveling time on way to office to write my thank you speech. Will do that for my vows also...these come straight from the heart so just write down what I think of and then try to beautify it :D I wish my HTB will write his own vow too but he is too stone and wood to do it lah....

jolene428

yaya... i think most brides nv redo the 2nd march hairdo and makeup...

keke coz by then hor just wana relax manx... go thr the hasser again even more stressed :p heehee...

Yah! helpers are very impt at the wedding!! My helpers are great oso!!! Damn pro like tt!! hahaha.. I love them~!!!

nelle

oh. Jac, JiaZhuang are actually bride's parents buy for bride. This is to prepare the bride to take care of the new family.

For the clogs, I bought miniature magnets in the shape of clogs, got man and woman's version somemore..hahaha.. and now they are sticking at my fridge.

nelle

flora, on GDL day, groom need to give MIL angpao (translated loosely called gratitude angpao for bringing up the bride), bride's parents to angpao to groom (called NuXuMaiTian hongbao, translated loosely means for the groom to buy ricefield so that can take care of the bride) and finally bride to give 2 angpaos to groom's parents (JiaPo and JiaWeng angpao) in hope to 'win' favor.

Bride also must pack towel sets to give groom's siblings, meaning that she want to have good relations with them.

fionachua83

florabliss, the 3 ang pao give is for my hubby grandfather, grandmother and aunt for them to buy clothes they say is a must. So we just follow. haha i forget to include 30 cans of pig trotter. The bride side will take the dragon candle and the groom side take the phoenix one.

lsntyl

wah, my GDL didn't have most of the stuff on the list. No clogs, no towels, no angbaos for groom's parents, no candles, no combs...

I only had
dried seafood
angbao for pinjin and 4 dian jin (moms agreed not to buy jewellery as gold prices was v high)
wines
cakes (traditional + vouchers)
fruits
pig trotter

No one said must have all the other stuff so we didn't prepare.

selena

did any bride go for 3rd change? Hmm... I am thinking whether have time, considering I have 40 tables...

another 9 more days to go...

lilacbliss07

jolene.. ya lor.. keke...

selena.. ya i got 3rd gown to change actually.. den in the end im too lazy to go up and change so i jz remained in my 2nd gown... keke... and also many pple say my 2nd gown nice and i din get to wear it for my photoshoot.. so tinking jz wear it can take more photos with it.. keke...

jolene428

selena: i think hor, will be too tiring to change to 3rd gown.. and somemore by the time u finished taking pictures, nt much time left to mingle ard before the end of the dinner...

keke... i thk most likely u will be too happy all is over by the time u finished ur 2nd march in and just wana enjoy ur time with frens

selena

oic... jane, i will bring 3rd gown but think might be like u too lazy to change... seems too troublesome.. hee...

this is the last wkend to do my last min preparations liao... wonder did i left out anything..

do you know which credit card has the best perks for paying for the dinner banquet? still thinking which bank to use... hee...

jolene428

selena: that time my fren told me citibank signature card has the best perks... and can clock very good premiermiles
heehee...so we applied and use tt too ^^

lost_in_space

i already missing the fun i had during my wedding day.. just collected the actual day photos.. total pictures in CD is 1k .. how to develop.. siao liao..

marcy

hey gals... my wedding is tomorrow..time flies real fast... just last year i was preparing for my wedding and the big day is here!

lilacbliss07

wah lost u so fast can collect ur photos liao ar.. keke.. i still waiting lehz.. u everytime super fast den me one.. even though my AD is 1 day earlier than urs.. hahaha...

ya lor missed the fun lehz.. ya selena u will be lazy to change one.. keke...

jolene428

marcy: congrats and no worries, tmr will be a great day for u!!!

lost: i will be collecting my AD photos later too! WOW.. 1K -_____-!! crazi manz.... but did the PG chose 300 photos and developed for u into a photo album?

i realli worried tt the PG did a bad job
pray hard...

rommy

Hihi Jolene

My wedding went on smoothly and am happy that many commented that food is nice.

Am now staying in Jalan Membina (10 mins walk from Tiong Bahru Plaza)

Flying off to Hokkaido cum Tokyo tomorrow nite and returning on the 29th Midnight.

Will keep in contact once return from my trip... see u ladies around yah.

eunicet

Jol: Wow, your buffet lunch sounds yummy man. Chocolate fountain...Pastries!! Wowwwww! =)

Anyway, HTB and I will both be writing our own vows...Do you all know if there are things you HAVE to include? I will source around for samples also lah though the content should be straight from the heart... :p

jolene428

wow! rommie, think u staying near my fren!! its the new estate there rite?

hokkaido! So nice! i wanted to go there too but my HB doesnt like it... hope u enjoy ur trip!! Think will be so fun playing in the snow!!!

seeya ard :D

sylmc

Eunice : heehee...sometimes I think the buffet is more to pleasure my taste bud. And bcoz we are not holding a banquet, we want to have really good selection to assure our parents that it will be a good spread for our guests. But Rasel does has a fantastic wedding lunch buffet selection. There is even craving stations like lamb with mint sauce/beef etc I replace 1 dessert item for chocolate fountain. I MUST make sure I get to eat properly on that day. If not, dui bu qi zhi ji

I only know if you are writing your own vows, must 'clear' it with JP first

~sblbee~

nec,
i havent go yet but i intend to add a few more bags to my collection
i juz made a count last nite....i realised dat i got 19 coach bags including pouches, 8 burberry blue label bags n 1 lv bag :p

florabliss,
i'll confirm wif u on thu cos im having a few meetings nxt week n trying to clear my stuff b4 i go for my honeymoon
but shd most probably b fine....

anyone keen to join us?

dodolet

Jol! I also settled the menu with Rasel... Getting choco cakes,eclaires,ice cream puffs and tarts for deserts only.. 8(. But all my fav deserts.. so okie...Oh I change to randang chicken and laksa with herb rice and bee hoon as per ur recommendation also.. ^^. But I did add in another veg dish as my mom said must have more veg cos ur wedding first day of the 12 month.. pple will go vege 1. -.-

Eunice, y not modify from the standard vows and add things that are more impt to both of u.

lynnqi

elloz gals. I'm Back

Now my body clock is trying to adjust back to Sg timing. ZZzzzz.

a white beetle picked up the bride at my blk one sunday weeks ago, wonder if its 1 of the brides here. hehee

racht

dearies.. does anyone have a sample template for wedding costs/budget? can you share with me pls? thanks vy much~ (^.^)

sylmc

Hi racht, this is the template I am using but you have to make some changes as mine is buffet lunch and we have to bring in our own caterer, tentage, florist etc There should be items that you do not need. I'm tracking the entire wedding costs including what our parents have to fork out. Btw, there is no field for honeymoon as we already had a pre-one. Remember to include this expense into your own template :D

<center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_msexcel.gif
Budget Template
Budget Template.xls (31.7 k)</td></tr></table></center>

baylee

hey Ladies,

May i check with you girls...which credit card did u all charge ya banquet to? To earn the best rewards?..Any idea??

I will be holding mine this SUN 30th hee

jo_vin

Hey gals!! Im back! Been so bz recently... Yest night just went for my Hen's night n it was very fun! Will upload pics in my Multiply!

Jane, i think i will also just relax n leave everything to my jiemeis. I think that way we will be enjoy the most on the AD. U didn't do another make up during the dinner? Erm.. wonder if i should do it too then.. Cos my MUA will be charging me another $50 for it.

Selena, im also considering whether to change to a 3rd outfit or not. Alrdy took the gown from my BS, so i think i will just see how i feel after my 2nd March in. If too tired, then i also wont change le.. So all depends on that day..

Marcy, congrats! Ur AD is over! How was it? Update us ya?

Jolene, so fast can collect ur AD photos! Faster upload to Multiply! I wan to c!!

Rommie, congratulations!! N enjoy ur honeymoon!!

TanLee, so how was ur honeymoon? Fun?

My AD is on Thurs!!! So fast!! Really very bz these few days ah.. But the tot of my hubby flying back after my AD makes me feel so sad.. Like just married but cannot stay 2gthr liao.. Haiz..