(2008) Brides of year 2008

summer_ice

jol, table cloth is for hokkien tradition, its those kind of red red cloth that has the sewings of the 8 immortals on it and used to wrap the table de.. you know which one im referring to? hehe

im not going to do an chuan, though we bought a new bed already. reason being we're gonna stay with my parents after AD, so if the bride's family gonna do an chunag, very weird right..

my HTB bought the bedsheet, my mum say no need to 'guo' on GDL day coz after that still need to bring back to my place. too troublesome le.

jolene428

dreamy79: i think u can go to neogarden..they cater for small grps too ^^

jane: sorry lor.. my wedding is this Sunday... and the montage nt done.. my HB was still busy with his masters project.. i thk everythg crashed at same time.. haizz... didnt forsee all these... lucky he is on leave tmr liao so i hope he can work on it.. anyway, i havent scan the pictures oso haha...

jolene428

lost: no la..cannot dont eat carbo one...will become v grouchy... must eat to keep urself cool... but then eat very little..just enough to keep cool...

jolene428

jane: haha i thk my HB dun wan the bubble machine..coz he said cannot control the direction rite? he wan the bubble spray out like an arch..haha not possible hor?

lilacbliss07

haha yeah i just finished my childhood montage and pre wedding photos montage... posted in mutiply u all can go see... =D

the bubbles ar.. they blow in 1 direction and u can choose the direction.. bt dunno issit in an arch shape le... keke...

haha dun stressed le.. wedding come so fast will end very fast too.. keke...

jolene428

woooo... i used the sally hansen nailgrowth miracle and the nail really grow v fast!!!! dont need nail extension liao!!! yeahhh...

jolene428

hahaha yaa on leave liao lor... 4 more days!!! ARGHHH...

ehhh like tt very hard to control the direction..aiyoh...i thk he dun wan haha

lsntyl

viv>don't think too much bah. If really troubled, talk it out with your hubby.

Am still enjoying married life a lot. Eventhough we do less paktoring, think we are both enjoying it. Maybe hubby n I are dull bah. :p He's talking about learning salsa or some other hobby together though.

Hubby is no longer in contact with his ex gf.

Vivian,
Many married friends told me that marriage life would probably be more boring than dating life. When I was staying with my bf at inlaw's house last month, I felt bored initially because I was always hiding in bedroom. Haha after 1 week, I got used to it.

I don't mind my bf going out with lady friends on one-to-one or contact his ex-gf etc. I don't contact my ex-bf anymore.

Hmm... I think you are sian by your routine lifestyle rather than the married life lor. After wedding, maybe you have nothing to look forward to. Try to find some hobbies to do or ask your friends out during weekend!

happinessbliss

Viv < yr husband still bring u go melt for a celebration lei.... just 1st October, its our 1st ROM anniversary... hubby nvr buy me anything or bring me anywhr.... but i did a surprise animation clip and show it during our wedding dinner, it is meant as a surprise ROM anniversary present lei... but in return i nvr get anything, i also very disappointed... but ok la, he still wishes me Happy ROM anniversary... so am glad he still remembers lor... haha... i very easy contented la.... kekek....

lsntyl

green>sorry, I can't make it on 3 Nov. Need to pack for my BKK trip the next day.

happiness>that's v sweet of u. I'm sure he appreciated it a lot.

clare>hope u settle all the immigration issues soon.

pinky81

dreamy79 (dreamy79): I have more people at my place for lunch of about 40 people so I book for about 35-40 pax.

For my hubby side, he has less hence he will be ordering dim sum from Yum Cha.

Jane (lilacbliss07): I am still loading your montage.. my dl speed at night is real slow.

My temper has been rather bad lately and my jiemei has also sensed it. Imagine I wanted to have a colour coordinated theme with all the jiemei wearing the same dress. Turn out that this complain that this style not suitable and so on. Feel that they put themselves first before me. Such comments do not stop even though I proposed to pay for their dresses. But now ok liao as we found the balance in our wants.

Karen Francise Tay: I saw your montage already! Very nice! Were you the one who mentioned that your photoshoot did not turn out well? IMO, it's very nice leh. =)

jo_vin (jo_vin): Chamz... I sent my invites using the 1st local stamps leh.. think it is about 26c. Huh.. If not enough, think they will be rejected to my place because I put in my return address.

rayrachel

viv> hahaha... i guess from what we all can see.. u are one of the most blessed and loved Bride liaoz...
and yet u are still not happy ah... aiyoh... if u are living the kind of life i'm living..think u'll commit suicide liaoz.. hehehehe...

Nope...my HB's ex are like 9 years ago? hahaha... Mmmmm... dun contact la...
I contact them.. but purely just frens.. Mmmm.. not all.....
but seldom contact la.. where got time.. i got plenty other frens to keep in contact with.. hahaha....

YL> hahaa... u have one of the most down to earth HB..congrats!

Thats so nice to be picking up a new hobby.. hehee....

green> hahaha... thank God my HB rem the dates.. for now... hahaha.. years down the road i hope he'll still rem!! hahaha...

Outing> 3 Nov: rach,

eunicet

Hmmm..Makeover service. I wonder if that includes mothers' makeovers. Hey ladies, any of you have contacts for mothers' makeup?

euanterence

wah u gals are fast..i havent even done my montage yet..am thinking of putting some clips frm my hen's party into the montage so it might take a long while..not sure abt u all but am still slowly taking my time to do up the stuff.. still have angbao box and poster havent do, dunno wad guestbk the hotel is giving..waiting for wedding favours...MC speech havent draw out yet cos my Indian fren is doing it both in english and simple mandarin.
Guo Da Li is next weekend...
hmm am i the only one who is lagging behind? =)

vivaliciousviv

~~strawclare (strawbsc)
<font color="0000ff">well....i think applications for PRs are really tedious and long waiting and need alot documents....b patient and ask the officer what exactly they require so you both can plan out what to get, etc...Processes stuff is really ...can be a wait... =p but tts really cool, to have Taiwan and Spore citizenship. Heee....but i aint sure abt Income tax payable to where....do check abt this also... =)

regarding the Qns i asked, abt contactin ex- bf/gfs....please read what follows... =P</font>

~~LSnTYL (lsntyl)
<font color="119911">hmmm....new hobby ..?? we juz adopted hammies....Pi Pi n Pu pu....but still... i duno, lack of sth le..or maybe due to sth tt juz happened, read wat follows after these....our working hours are very long and irregular and kinda like we are married to our Jobs...sianz...tts y keep thinking to ..but...ahhh...esp mine...i m like clocking 12-14 hrs a day at work, thus really sux....i m so whiny...haaa</font>

~~green (green_tranquility)
<font color="aa00aa">hmm...prolly you are right...i used to always club weekend before i gt engaged to my hubby...tts my way to relaxation n sth to Look forward to ...nw my off days are extreme boring...wash clothes, clean room, surf net if he at works on weekdays (as i do have off days on weekdays) he prefer me to stay at home so that maybe can help out w his parents or sth...show face??? my facials, massages, medi pedi all apptmts very difficult to plan liao....let alone meet ups w my gfs....haiz..he's not really as in control me la but juz tt i duno hw to put it across, if i make plans ...he might not be happy and might ask me y i make tt apptmt la. etc....</font>

~~rach (rayrachel)
<font color="ff6000">hmm...i duno, am i really in bliss?? i aint sure also...maybe i m?? maybe...?? well...we better plan a getaway to Bintan/Batam Massage SPa trip..i m breaking down soon sial.... =(</font>

~~all ladies
<font color="ff0000">regarding this issue, do you/hubby still contact ex-bf/gf...my problem is here:</font>
<font color="0000ff">i do used to contact my ex-bfs alot lo, so as him..then i think he kinda felt uneasy as well, i used to like/love a guy (H) v v much and he was always there when i have problems, etc...then he requested me to totally dun contact this guy (H) lo...and many other ex-bfs ( remain frenz only but he dun really feel comfy abt it), so on due respect, i start to dont really contact my ex-bfs anymore lo...hubby also, kinda, maybe? ex-gfs....dun really contact except his so called long time fren, ex-gf, 1st time tt act ex-gf...he told me he sin really contact her lo...i believe him lo...until there was once, i think last year, when he intro me to try FaceBook, i saw those applications (hug, blah) gt a few like sent all actions to all but a few between him and her lo...i confronted him...asked him y din tell me still gt contact in some form (online) and i thot he wanna dun contact any ex as he also want me to stop contactin my ex....he terminate the facebook acc and told me no more contact...until last week, i saw his Msn History, there were msn-ing....blah blah....she told him tt her current bf two-timed her la, etc...then i gt really fed up...he asked her to call me to explain to me tt there are nth gg on, etc la...i mean, if this basic courtesy to tell me tt she msg him, etc, juz let me know lo, u n i so called decided to stop contacting ex and now there is a double standard being exercised here...felt kinda vex...i duno whether to believe in this shit...or wat...</font>

i really duno what the hell i m talking abt here too..jz wanna pour out...

fionachua83

sotong, i prefer the 2nd ring pillow u can jazz up with nice ribbons and flowers.

jac, i just went down today to see my photo layout quite satisfied with the overall except one layout got to make changes.

Gals, i hv upload my photo layout in multiply.

hapimint

I planning to do it on the 8th Nov.... Just want to get it over and done with so that I can start sending the invites.

Actually, whatever that we do for the process of the wedding, its for the preparation for a lifetime, not just a day...

So my stand is always, most important is happy and sometimes, open one eye, close one eye....

Like my MIL not rich so I am not expecting anything from her so when she got me the set of diamonds, I am really touched...

So during the wedding dinner, I will present her a jade and diamond pendant as a thank you gift...

Then my own mother started increasing number of tables and number of cakes, but when she said 26 boxes, I up it to 30... Cos at the end of the day, whats another $50 if I can make the elderlys, parents more happy....

Summer_ice, dun be upset anymore, its okay... I mean, being simple doesn't mean that it is less meaningful... think of it on the bright side....

For me, I told my mum not to get me those baby tubs, sewing things etc.... I wont use it and waste of my space...

In fact, for the jewellery... I told my mum to keep it simple....she also prepared 2 boxes... but I keep telling her, no need too much... I only got two ears, one neck and 2 wrists and probably 2 fingers that I will ever wear rings on.....

So no need so many....

ceo38

Hi Pinky, yes yes. I was the one who kinda "complained" abt my photoshoot. Nice meh? I find it ok only leh... hmmmm... some of my friends say nice but some say certain photos I smile until very fake, ma chiam got facial cramp like tat. Sigh...I got camera phobia ma...
But anyway thanks for your compliments... really...thanks.

vivaliciousviv

came across these lyrics...quite ...ermz..duNo...

<font color="aa00aa">
"Your subtleties
They strangle me
I can’t explain myself at all.
And all that wants
And all that needs
All I don’t want to need at all.

The walls start breathing
My minds unweaving
Maybe it’s best you leave me alone.
A weight is lifted
On this evening
I give the final blow.

When darkness turns to light,
It ends tonight
It ends tonight.

A falling star
Least I fall alone.
I can’t explain what you can’t explain.
Your finding things that you didn’t know
I look at you with such disdain

Now I’m on my own side
It’s better than being on your side
It’s my fault when your blind
It’s better that I see it through your eyes

All these thoughts locked inside
Now you’re the first to know"</font>

<font color="ff0000">i think depression is seeping in again.....tears.....</font>

jo_vin

Karen, i also saw ur photos le.. Ya, they look nice. Dont worry! Ur black cheongsam is very nice too! U can carry it off well..

bubu, when's ur AD? Mine is 27th Nov, n i will only be able to GDL on 17th Nov.

Pinky81, i also will put my return address for the cards. But i think sure gg to write until siao. Cos got so many... argh....

ceo38

Thanks Jo_vin. After hearing some comments from u ladies, i feel so much more relieved...maybe I am being real picky or wat...haha...or I too kan cheong ba...

summer_ice

last night i talked to my parents about when we should have the GDL, as we did not consult any ShiFu for our dates, we are able to decide on the date ourselves.. finally everything has been finalised, 16 nov having our GDL..

Mindy, yes you are right, ultimately the whole idea of banquet etc is to make the elders happy, so when my parents said no need too many cakes, i told her dun need to help us save these money if she is not comfortable with too little boxes of cakes etc.. anyway come to think of it, doing away with the baby tubs etc also means less troublesome la, anyway i dun tink i will need those for the time being! heehee

dodolet

Me having my GDL at 29Nov, as closer to my wedding are the festive seasons and everything will be like more ex and in the christmas colors and stuff.. ^^

My GDL stuff are more or less things we will use immediately. Cakes we will like get 4 to 6 cakes and the rest will be in vouchers. We got the tea set, bedside lamp, sewing set(cos I do sew and patch stuff) and tooth brushes &amp; paste, face towels. Lastly the orange syrups are still not bought.. ^^ Oh yeah. the candles, as commanded by my dad.. >.<

Anyway i dunno if i wanna an chuan or not.. but sound so weird esp when i have no place of moi own...

Anyway i finished my ring pillow liao!! and my unity candles and pens...darn happy about it... Now I am stumpped about my corsages.

ivycsh78

finally i oso fix my GDL on 6 Dec sat...haiz my bf got marathon on 7Dec so no choice.....i still need offer cake to my late mom...so need one day go n offer cake n tell her i getting married...
my aunt say i need to haf hokkien biscuit..1 set to his hse....n other stuff like 2 set of pajamas...bla bla...headache

i order walnut cake for my gdl :p

pinkcupcake

Very nice montage, Lilacbliss! and yes, great figure! I'm envious too!:p

Karen! I thought your photos are very nice!! Why didn't you like them at first?? I think you look great and there are many many nice photos in the montage!

2 weeks more and i haven't done my ang pao boxes and montage still work-in-progress! oops!

ceo38

HeHe, Mei, Dont know leh...some of my frens say I smile till very fake lor. Cos my PG dnt really knw how to make me smile naturally unlike Hilarion... Moreover, the pics aint too much of what I wanted you see eg. there are no pics taken at night de..No buildings, not much of the interiors of the restuarants were taken (went to Ben &amp; Jerry but PG say inside too dark cant take pics)...you know what i mean... but overall, some frens say pics nice, some say ok, some say my smiles fake...mixed comments lor...overall i myself find them ok la...

ermmm

Do you gals know where to buy kids' tiara? My niece tell me she wants to be princess after seeing the dress that I got for her from the spree. TIA.

eunicet

Erlina: Those neighbourhood shops like Sinma should have. I bought one coloured one for only $3.90! Haha! The diamond-y ones are $7.90, sth like that!

SotongLet: Your DIY gong fu is really good!!!
Anyway, now my colour theme is drastically changing cos of the church colours. So can no longer use blue. But your DIY candles are v nice, and I am inspired to make mine too!! :p

selena

BS finally called... Going to view album layout this Sat.. hopefully everything turn out well so not much changes.. my AD is exactly 1mth later.. so excited..

I have already send half of my invitation cards out.. the rest will be given by hand cos it's close friends and relatives..

Eelin, i am thinking of giving $68 to JP.. what do all of u think?

jo_vin

Selena, i think its ok to give $68. I will be giving $48 only leh. Isit too little?

Gals, ask u all huh.. Hen's nite isit only for gals? Cos i got a few very good guy frens n i tinking of inviting them to my Hen's nite, but will it be strange? Haiz.. Dilemma..

happinessbliss

Viv < maybe its that gal contacting yr husband, not yr husband contacting her lei? For me, i usually adopt "Ignorant is bliss" method...my husband has many frds and he is also quite popular with girls cos he can "talk" really well... i use to be very upset with him cos he always contact these 2 girls... they are sisters...and very rich... they always call him to go their house fix their computer. 1st time or twice is ok... but can u imagine their comp constantly break down? almost every month or so... i got fed up and had a huge fight with him... in the end to cut the story short, he still contacts them but will not go to their house to fix the comp instead they will send it to him or he will collect the comp and come back and do...i decided to place my trust in him... afterall i choose to marry him in the first place... a marriage really depends alot on trust... if u can find within yrself to trust yr husband, I'm sure both of u can conquer alot of problems together....
To maintain a marriage is not easy... so u really have to give and take.... talk to each other if u have any problems...my husband and I still maintain our "Pak Tor" time 3 times a week... whr we will go do some shopping or a kopi session... or just a car ride...just 2 of us...

simplejer

I think i will be the latest bride to be GDL..My GDL date will be 5 days b4 my AD..but i yet to buy the stuff for GDL..

Depends on the individal parents. The norm will be that parents will prefer to give to relatives after GDL together with cakes. it is not necessary to give out invites after GDL. For me i would distribute to my frens b4 the GDL..