(2008) Brides of year 2008

baylee

Anyway Girls..have u selected your march in songs yet????????

I am still choosing..i want something that sounds heavenly hahaa...dun know..

U girls think Bubble effect better or ice ar for walk in??

sylmc

haiz...true enough. stock of DPB is running low. I went to Poh Heng today and there is only 2 plated white gold bangle in SG!!! Somemore diff size!! have to settle for another pair of gold bangle *sob sob*

Mindy - I believe you mean Gin Thye Cake Maker. That shop will do wedding pastries/biscuits for all dialects. Can use their GDL basket FOC but need to have a certain no. of order with them

My sis order peanut candies and rice crackers from them. For me, my dad insist the shop must be of teochew origin so we orderd from Thye Moh Chan Cake House at Aljunied. Alternative is Yang Hua Cake House at Anchor Point.

dodolet

Huh? I tot SDJ is for teochew and bangles are for cantonese.

BF and I wanted only pure gold but it is ex, so we settled for 1 bracelet and heck about traditions.. LOL

After talking to my parents, we decided on 3 boxes of cakes and the rest will be vouchers.. Still haven figure out how many vouchers to buy.

eunicet

My MIL said she bought gold jewellery more than ten years ago, for 2 DILs cos it was much much cheaper then and she was planning way in advance. Haha.

Anyway, we all don't have to order the cakes so soon right? My GDL will only be 2 weeks before the wedding anyways...

shirlin3

I have alreadi ordered but no delivery, have to self-collect. Think you may need to double confirm. There is 1 shop I enquired, already fully booked.

vivaliciousviv

starwclare
i doubt i can...haiz....i m still tryin to let go tt dream n strives hard here in my current job..haiz.....y tt time i failed in tt 5th interview..haaaa}

rach
<font color="aa00aa">cool, do upload n paste the link here so we can see!! =)</font>

ergina

Halo Ladies,
Can I seek your advise for below??

I'm in a dilemma if I shld invite all my subordinates to my wedding in Nov'08? If yes, what should be the approach? I'm in-charge of a section of 20ppl and we operate 24hr with 4 different rotating shift. I mostly work only with my 2 leaders and seldom meet nor communicate with the rest.
Ps.I will be inviting my peers and superiors.

Thks in adv.

pinky81

Ergina Tan (ergina): Why don't you RSVP with them through emails, calls, sms, msn first? At least give them the benefit of doubt to attend your wedding dinner and those who do not want to. Definitely those who do not want or could not will be able to reply you.

Maybe state a clause that you will only mail out invites with responses. No responses = no invitation cards. Yup.

rayrachel

viv> hahaha.. its all in my multiply liaoz..

pinky81

Jolene^^ (jolene428): How many tables are you inviting? I think I have forgotten if you are taking the Siloso ballroom or the Pavillion. Do take some pictures of the ballroom setting, i.e flowers and let me see see can?

ermmm

Have just done up my Ring Pillow yesterday.. ;) very chop chop... Sunday went to buy the materials, then all done up yesterday already. My mum and aunt trying to alter the dresses I got for my nieces from the 2nd spree, so suan pian ask them to sew up the pillow.

806269.gif

As for my Ang Pao box, we had a funny idea. For last yr's Vday, HTB gave me a "treasure chest"-full of red roses. So we thinking of using the treasure check for our ang pao box. Have fresh flowers arranged in the box with a space to put ang pao. Gonna ask our florist if possible or not.. hehe..

As for my GDL, spent a bomb on it on Fri and Sat. MIL was "Teochew" when there are things which she likes and then "Hokkein" when got other things.. so basically, both type... ee.. anyone buy the peanut and sesame candy and/or "la pei" to return to groom side? She insist that we buy leh.. Anyhow, bought all the cakes, candies and biscuits from Pine Gardens on Sat already.

lilacbliss07

hihi.. nt so fast can see result le.. coz will have bruises and swollen initially.. dat's y need ard 2 weeks to recover.. keke...

will let u all noe by next week before my wedding.. bt by then my clinic not doing the meso jab le.. so u all might need to find other clinics to do it..

i will be having both dry ice and bubbles for 1st &amp; 2nd march in... bt haven decide to use which for which...

dodolet

Going to get my GDL stuffs from chinatown this week. Going to do this 1 month before my wedding so to get it out of the way and concentrate on the other stuff. Anyway I printed out the list of items required under our dialects and gave to both sides. So far no cross dialect problems, since got that from some chinese traditions website but we did knowingly changed or remove some traditional items with both side's agreeing on it.

I wonder can we start sending our invites liao or not, if my wedding is end dec. Dun like to do things up to the last min.. >.<

lilacbliss07

wah lost can use both at the same time ar?? keke... hubby dun like rose petals le.. keke...

i gt 270 guest confirmed.. bt dunno wanna confirm with hotel 25+2, 26+2 or 27+2.. wat u tin??

lost_in_space

the peanut and sesame candy i bought from beach road.. opposite the golden mile, just next to the army market.. i thought it's supposed to give by the groom's side?

lost_in_space

i think ah..
take 25+2 1st.. if not later cannot reduce one..
me got 300 guests.. i only take 28+2 nia..

my co-ordinator said use the dry ice 1st then when approaching the stage then they put the bubbles..

lost_in_space

don't worry ba.. next week (monday) then u confirm the tables.. by then u will know who will come and who will not come.. then if got 260guest, then u take 25+2

jazzy_chimes

hi lost n Jane, I think it's better to have 2 reserved tables since they are not chargeable if u don't use them in the end ... if not, it's really a headache if more ppl turn up than expected ... esp if yr parents have invited their friends or relatives ...

jolene428

hallooo.. I am on leave now!!! haha..

gg out to shop for another pair of WG/EG shoes...wat colour shld i buy? my fren asked me buy gold so can match my kua oso..ehhhh..... *scratch head*

jane: i heard after meso u cannot take carbo at all leh..or else doesnt work as well.. heard frm my fren who did her meso at paragon.. results is really good on her but she said she skipped carbo..but have to eat abit of bread or else cannot tahan oso...

lost: is the hotel providing the bubbles or are u blowing ur own bubbles? we oso thinking of bubbles coz need a fairytale feel mah... but duno where to get bubbles machine

pinky81: i supposed to have 30 tables..thk i have 340 pax guests nw..maybe will ask for 34+1 tables... or shld i just imagine 10% dun come and get 33+1 tables?

yeah, will take the photos for ya :D heehee...btw my wedding at pavilion...

ergina: i thk is good u email blast ur subordinates and ask if nt they may thk there are biasness... like my HB i asked him to blast all colleagues oso (he is a teacher) so tt even if only the management comes, other teachers wont feel he is biased to only invite the management... office politics is a ma fan issue
For me, i oso blast all my colleagues frm same dept.. and only the management comes lor..like my direct boss and big boss and few mgrs... no one will point fingers at me oso.. :D

xiaokai: hair mask? wat brand? so far the brands i used hor..all make my hair drop
arghhh even the one i bought at the salon (the salon edyna perm her hair...) oso the same
upset..my hair likr grass nw.. haizz... gg for 1 treatment before my AD...

gg for shopping nw...reply later..seeya...

jolene428

jane: i know wat u mean.. my HB relatives side..suddenly ALOT of ppl want to come in families... argghh heard they wana bring the kids to play in the swimming pool or the beach 0___0 i thk i will see ppl coming in shorts and tee shirt.. damn...

shld i emphaise it is a formal event? upset....

lilacbliss07

my guests mostly confirmed le.. gt abt 27 tables.. so i confirm 25+2, 26+2 or 27+2?

wah so shiok ar jolene.. keke.. i tin can eat anything bt of coz skip carbo better le..

if u wan the bubbles machine i can recommend u.. coz i rented once during my ROM.. $80 including setup and delivery/pickup..

lost_in_space

jolene, the hotel provides us with the bubble machine.. they will do the job for us :D
oh.. by the way, jane and i are using the same hotel.. haha.. hers is 7 nov.. me 8 nov.. i think maybe we might bump into each other when i check up she check out.. jane u check out on 8 nov right? :p

lilacbliss07

icic.. haha i nv really skip carbo le.. just eat lesser portion.. keke...

yupz yupz checking out on 8 Nov... wanna leave ur hp no so we can call each other?? keke... btw wats ur nick in multiply?? i cant find lehz...

simplejer

hi sotonglet

i agree with cynthia.the norm for sending invites are 2 weeks b4 the AD. But if scare too last min i can suggest may b abt 1 month b4 yr AD n 2 weeks prior yr AD u RSVP with guests.

summer_ice

i also wanted to have the GDL one month before my AD, but my mum is against the idea, she say too early already, cannot. So it's back to the 2 weeks before AD.

This weekend going to order the cakes for GDL and buy the canned pig trotters.

and then the week after, going to Chinatown to buy the other stuffs - teapot set, candles, table cloth. The rest of the items such as the potty, toothbrushes with tumblers, sewing stuffs, bolsters, pillows, in fact almost everything we are going to do without. Gonna end up with the simplest GDL ever, though I wished it wun be simple to this extent.

hapimint

haha.... mine GDL will be the simpliest...

I got my mum to order 30 cakes from the cake shop that she likes... then we will just pay for it....

My Mother in law bought me a set of white gold diamond jewellery, 12 oranges, 2 red wine and 2 cans of pig trotters....

Thats it... I waiting for the invites to get ready then I shall arrange the GDL le... I honestly prefer that I can do it this weekend... haiz....

baylee

Harlow Girls

Some of U girls..Q lucky hor..got both. I can only choose one...Maybe i have to ask my Banquet manager to give me both hee

pinky81

Jolene^^ (jolene428): Same for me as well! Since it is a school hols, they are going to bring their family to tour the sentosa island before coming to my wedding. Huh.. Hence to make myself less angry, my theme is set to 'colours'. I wanted to state formal wear under dress code by my HTB frowned at me. I dun understand why guys just dun get it.

Do you have problems with the projector side? Sigh.. I realised that putting the projectors on the grandstand is not a good idea as guests can move around and block the screen.

Jane (lilacbliss07): I think 26+2 would be a safe guage. My colleagues told me that usually 20% of the guests would not turn up. It is more possible for pple not to turn up than to have extras in the event.

sylmc

Sotonglet ¡V I also just want to buy 1 bangle but my mum insisted that it must come in a pair ƒ¼ I found it so funny, oredi got dragon and phoenix on one bangle, why need two? I think my MIL stunned when I told my HTB must have 2 bangles.

Erlina ¡V My parents bought boxes of teochew wedding biscuits to return to my Cantonese HTB. I think it is a great idea to use a treasured piece of your courtship during your big day! Go girl!

Summer ice ¡V We¡¦re having our GDL this sat, a month before our AD. The date was given to us by the shifu as per my FIL¡¦s instruction. We also doing An Chuan on the same day but in reverse order :p I also do away with the ¡¥zi sun tong¡¦ &amp; sewing stuff. Din even buy the umbrella and fan. But my mum paid for our new bedsheet, bolster and pillows. What's the table cloth for? I only bought tea set and lamps.

Mindy - You also waiting for the invites to get ready? Me too! Our printer was printing our invites when we left there this evening after viewing the 2nd draft.

dodolet

Jol ah.. where is my colored drawings of pillow!! LOL...

I dun think will do fan also.. but my dad sure wanna do the umbrella. I also bought tea set and lamps and some nice stickers.

I dunno y.. dun really feel like doing much things nowadays....

vivaliciousviv

<font color="119911">~~green</font>
<font color="0000ff">OT is like part timing rate.....Less than $10 per Hour, thus is SUCKS big time!! LOL</font>

<font color="aa00aa">ladies....i duno is this Post-marital blues or wat..i seems to find marriage life is kinda boring...and recent discovery of sth kinda made me more =( i duNo hw to Put it across...but well...i miss havin surprises....in wat ways...i also Duno....haiz....

come to think abt my bday a few weeks ago, havin a stupid melt buffet (i totally hate buffets as i dun like to go fetch food,i prefer to be served..LOL)
and after tt damn bad dinner, went meet his frenz to wine bar @10plus, w small cake cutting then hanged ard Zouk drink but no dancing, leave at abt 11plus..tt totally sux big time......ah.....

sorry gals, maybe i juz aint content or wat....sorry to complain here....</font>

<font color="ff0000">can i ask you all gals, does your hubbies still contact their ex-gfs?? hw abt u gals, do yuo contact your ex-bfs?? If both parties do have their ex-bf/gf calling or contact them..do u have the habit/courtesy/?? to let your hubby/wifey knows??? </font>

i jz wonder....please do share... =D

jo_vin

Hi gals! Been some days since i last logged in! Wah.. so many threads le. Cant finish reading them all. All i know is u gals have been talking abt the meso jab. Haha..

Just bought my shoes to match my EG! Also uploaded the pic in my multiply le..

Gals, when u all send ur invites, rem to go post office and weigh first. I'm glad i did today cos it actually cost 32c instead of the usual 28c.

TanLee and who's wedding is on this Sun? Must be super bz now right? How's the feeling? Rem to come back here and keep in touch ya? We're supposed to have a gathering sometime in Dec or Jan!!

My hubby is coming back on 13th nov. Exactly 2 weeks before our AD. I hope i wont b so stress then. Cos i think i can feel the stress these few days. Like just suddenly dont feel like doing anything. And when there's some things that need to be done, i just feel so tired and wanna procrastinate. Is this normal? Like what they always say, am i having pre-wedding blues? Haha.. I hope this feeling will soon go away...

I'm gg to try on my MTM gown again 2mr afternoon! Will post photos after that ya? Hehe.. So excited about it..

lilacbliss07

hihi jo_vin.. ya it's normal.. i also jz finished my pre-wedding photo montage and only 1 week+ before my wedding.. keke..

i also realised my temper become abit fiery.. coz when i told my jiemeis my plan for AD.. there's some disagreement.. and i was like this is my wedding and i plan this for so long.. yet they tell me tis cannot dat cannot.. so angry... den i juz snapped at them.. haiz... bt in the end they noe im stressed so nv angry with me le.. hehehe...

dreamy79

just to want to check which caterer did u gals go to? mine only 20 pax on each side so quite expensive for per head. Any recommendations????

strawbsc

Viv>U go home soo late??
hmm...haha..still havent bored yet. have to been too busy and my hubby too.We haven't even go honeymoon so I guess there is still some stuff for us to do...we are busy with his
singapore PR application which is driving me crazy and my taiwan PR application..
maybe find some common acivity like exercise?joing marathon??heehee...

My hubby still email his ex gf at times coz' she is a japanese..
I dun contact my ex although he is still on my msn..

summer_ice

wow eunice, that is really very simple leh. you even do away with the hard liquor, orange juices and those bedside table lamp &amp; teapot set? you are ok with this arrangement right? for me, im not, in fact im very upset with it lo.. and my mum say her dowry for me, she gonna have one box of gold only, scared if she give 2 or more boxes, will seem like she haolian.. i hear already, i feel even worse.