(2008) Brides of year 2008

jolene428

Yoz! Morning all!

Jo_vin: sounds bad... how come like that? Ehhh was it the same coordinator who sells the hotel package to you? But seriously, i realised nwadays sg customer service quality dropped alot! I been 'scolding' those sales ppl these days! It's like all the crap reasons and things they can say...I thk we shld go to STB and complain liao coz hw is our IR gg to survive? Or has IR taken all the better customer service ppl ard and we are left with the lousy ones?

But hor, J0_vin, not to scare u but one thg to note abt F&B service.. if they really arent gg to give in to u, it's best to change place.. i know its tough, but it's better than they do smthg yucky to ur food like spitting into the food for ur guests to it...even if they are discovered and compensate after tt, the harm has already been done.I heard of such stories so just take note lor...tt someone demand for food when the restnt is close and the chef serve leftover food tt was thrown into the dustbin in the end...u nv knw wat the F&B staff put into ur food.

uk_fung

Hee Hee everyone is busy
jia you jia you~ all the best wishes and good weather !

babyjj

haiz yalo.. thats y very pissed with them now but also cant do much to them. and how to change venue now?? totally cannt de ma, unless i postpone wedding. which is absurd, for this kind of reason... super pissed..

Lost, the red umbrella goes over to guy's place as dowry on GDL day? What time u started the GDL thing? FH bring things over alone? and take the hui li stuff back alone? how does it work and how long it took? after that go distribute cards and deliver cakes?

jolene428

must always be comfy with the hotel coordinator u work with and keep constant contact...like me email my coordinator quite often and discuss on my concerns and new issues i thought of..so far her service been gd and very helpful..and my MIL even thought she is my fren when saw her at the food tasting chatting happily with me...

Mandy, if u change ur mind and want to use Rasa, i can intro my coordinator to u ^^ But true lah, sentosa quite ex.. i thk the buffet is abt $65-$75 per pax.. but heard u can invite 60 guests even if u order 50pax food and the serving is ALOT...nice concept for a beach/garden wedding ^^ Saw the ROM near the beach before, very nice. Pity i had my ROM in 2006 at Peony Jade liao... a good place for outdoor ROM oso, can march in in bumper boat :p

But OneRochester is a good place also coz i saw my fren's wedding dinner there.. he had two nites separately for frens and relatives..sounds good lor..and then it's very pretty and garden style
Are u doing a evening garden style of a afternoon one? Afternoon one must consider the shades too or else everyone chao-da by the end of the wedding..

i had 1 fren had his ROM and makan at zoo near the koi pond..very nice.. the bride came in a horse carriage!!!!!!!! Another fren had his ROM at SG Art museum.. they did it at the chapel liked auditorium but i notice they have very pretty garden there oso.. u can consider there
One colleague told me her ROM cum wedding - church style at the garden in one hotel. Not sure where, i can ask for u.. Or u can consider tis restnt at Hog Park there.. heard not bad but duno the name and a bit inaccessible lah...

jolene428

oops..wrong name is jojo not jo_vin.. faintz.. keep confused by the names :p sorry...

jojo: my GDL also tis Sat!!!!!!!!! My HB found two frens to bring over the items to my hse.. We only have 1 small basket so see wat they can do with it, maybe put oranges? heehee... Then yest i helped my HB prepared all the Angbaos and Pinjin liao ^^ in case he blur and miss out anythg...

I realised hor my GDL items dun have the sewing items.. haha but nvm lah...my HB already cannot appreciate the basin and esp the tum-pun.. wait till we have baby then he will knw hw useful it is :p

Lost: Amanda closed early and i went to Moments instead, introduced by my fren. The aunty there so nice. Then i realised my HB blur blur go learn the teochew An Chuang style (i am a teochew but my HB is hokkien) coz my mum duno the hokkien version.. So i decided to buy the whole set from the shop and the aunty taught me hw to An Chuang! So nice rite!!! The set comes with the longan/lianzi/lily/peanuts/red dates, yuan qian, charcoal, chopsticks and tray. Just need to put two oranges can liao. So happy and told my MIL abt it ^^

There is another shop at the shophouse opposite OG called the wedding shop.. the sales nt very helpful..and items limited. But i thk the yuan qian price is standard everywhere.. $2 per packet at there oso. But moments (#02 of ppl park complex, opp OG oso) sells $8 for 50 pc of da yuan and xiao yuan coz she said da yuan comes in 4 in a packet and xiao yuan comes with 6 in a packet and said it doesnt matter has even number or da yuan and xiao yuan or nt since the packets in diff numbers...I bought 3X50pc (apart frm the 50pc for An Chuang), shld be enough hor?

The aunty was saying da yuan and xiao yuan can use to increase ur yuan fen with others on normal days oso.. just put in the wallet and drawer of ur office and house ^^

jolene428

bought my pyjamas also.. but those really cheap one.. $12 per set for pink (mine) and blue (my HB). my HB gives me tt face when he saw got the teddy bear picture but he said will wear for me LOLZ.. hahaha...

So nervous.. GDL tis Sat!!! Will take pictures too and post on multiply!!!

Who hasnt add me in multiply??? My account name is fariesinn!!!

Wow... $50+ for both hands is very cheap! My Mani Pedi place charges me $7 per pc of fake nails! But tt time i did for my two big toes la for my PS. coz cut until v ugly :p Ehhh but hor, my fren said very hard to wear contact lens if pur fake nails
My mani and pedi i arrange on 1nov itself... 1 day prior my wedding.. hw to wash hair like tt???

bubu: dont worry, u are nt alone..i oso have very short nails but its coz i sms, msn and email alot so the nails very irritating if too long hahaha.. i always wonder hw my frens can keep LONGGGGGG nails when they work in office 0___0

jolene428

kristine: Are ur mother and MIL giving ur jiemeis and siongdi angbaos oso? Coz normally i see both mothers will give also.. normally $18 or $28 i thk.. like tt then u can 'reward' the more 'hardworking' ones with more $.. ur other jiemeis nt helping in reception for the dinner? My jiemeis all got to be busy whole day
So i must all give good angbaos.... my HB also said no choice coz he may need to get his siongdi to run ard alot before the dinner to do road marshalling at different points....Haizz...Hence i got the brothers a day room and the sisters a overnite room so they can have ample rest before the 'battle' at nite.. haha..

jolene428

lost: the aunty at the shop said better dun sew the da yuan xiao yuan on the pyjamas esp if only wear once... coz wat if end up u throw away the pyjamas after sometime? Then the yuan will be thrown away with u.

And if u throw the yuan on the floor hor, cannot sweep away and throw away oso.. must keep it there until it MIA on its own... i wonder hw...hee...

jolene428

eelin i like both the gowns u posted
So nice... tis means u got really slim shoulders oso
Haha..i got fat ones..so i worry abt my WG and EG nw
sianz...

Ohh my final fitting on Sunday.. if i cannot wear the gowns then i will starve myself for the next 2 wks... And the fathers and brother oso gg to choose their jackets... I got an bridemaid gown oso but exchanging for emcee gown...coz my female emcee is my fren's sis who volunteered to help me when she knw i cant find a suitable female emcee...

jolene428

oops, I forgot to say Hi to xiao Kai.. thk she will get a shock when she takes a look at the thread again... its moving so fast!!!!!! I think when i come back after my wedding...there will be TOO MUCH to catch up! :p

the umbrella is to be used on the actual day by the bride's side rite? must GDL over together to the groom meh?

charma97

Our thread really very active.. Good thing good thing.. Heehee.. Hope this will still continues even after our wedding.

Is it a must to wear pyjamas the nite before our AD? Because my hubby refused to follow this..

After seeing majority of your pre-wedding photos, i can't wait to get mine soon.. But my BS told me that I had to wait for end of this month.. very gan chiong of me.. haaahaaa..

jolene428

wahh end of the mth.. okay lah..if ur AD nt so near is ok... if my BS do tt to me i will scream lor..coz i cannot handle lastmin thgy :p keke so i told my HB, the AD if anythg to solve lastmin he settles for me :p hehe...

Ehh the pyjamas is wear on wedding day rite? My mum said everythg new on wedding day mah..... *scratch head*... and the aunty at the shop said cannot take off shoes on AD coz must Jiao3 Ta4 Shi2 Di4... in hotel oso must wear the slippers...

keke..my fren so cute..yest we went to buy the items then she realised she gave wrong orange juice back! haha..coz is orange syrup but she gives F&N orange.. so cute! Aiyah.actually is okay one lah... still orange mah...

jolene428

Oh ya! I am ordering from Elsie kitchen!
Coz the dishes are better ^^ And i let my MIL and FIL choose the menu :p hehe.. then relatives wont complained mah :p

charma97

Oic. Thanks Jolene for the info. I think i will faint if i really need to wear for the whole day.. I am now training myself to wear heels..

Same here. I will be ordering elsie kitchen as i had a malay neighbour.. Wont be inviting her to my wedding dinner. so invited her to have lunch at my house.

jolene428

keke... i ordering elsie kitchen coz of my one SIL and her bf

charma: If u have those cloth slippers hor u can take off ur heels when u are at home...as long as the feet dont touch the ground can liao ^^

lynnqi

wah. the thread is moving really fast.

jo_vin: now thinking if should cater at 9.30am (before i reach home) or 10am. hmmm. Cos scared the food turn cold.

eelin: i like the 1st dress.

jojo: Wah. why your wedding coordinator so bad one. Which hotel you went to?

Jolene: elsie kitchen is good? Me yet to order mine, but originally thought of neo gardens. Any idea what elsie kitchen delivery time starts from?

jolene428

ehh.. someone reco me elsie kitchen... who ahh? keke.. oops.. its halal!!! i thk neo garden shld be good oso... jane (is it?) was talking abt it...

I just booked my catering! Elsie Kitchen :p I so blur, give her my number, hw she calls me tt day :p So i gave her both hse number and SIL number...So fast wor.. they cfm my orders liao
I ordered for 30pax...$12/pax... $40 transport coz less than 50pax + gst = $428 in total

hope nice to eat :p hehe... if nt sure kena complain :p

My food must come in by 8.30am coz we enter hse at 9am.. so early hor!!! Then ask them collect at 1pm :p

I got facebook oso - [email protected]

rayrachel

YL> yah...gotta sit separate... coz they need to take ma... u can try to request la.. i dunno if the director will allow loh..

if u are the backdrop then can sit together la..

I went with my fren..but she sat at one end with Ann Kok nearby... the other 3 we sat inside alone ....

jolene428

aiyoh..just nw toking to my mother.. sometimes duno wan angry or happy with her.

as much as she is demanding (tho she said she is not demanding) and monstrous.. but then i feel sometimes she does a lot of thgs secretly for my own good.. like she bought me alot of extra thgs for my GDL..coz i havent been gg hm so i just found out over the phone..she got the towels (face and body), the cloth slippers (i only casually said the other day my fren got oso) and many other thgs lor...

tho i knw my HB cannot appreciate these thgs but just need to convince him tt its good for us lor... and as long as old ppl want to do it to feel good then we get to do wat they wan for the young ppl

So okay lah, kinda of think actually my mum nt that bad... maybe those horrible MILs like Lost's and Jane's arent tt bad also afterall

So hope everyone's wedding prep is as happy as possible

dodolet

I think for my gdl I will get like 6 to 8 boxes of cakes from pine gardens and the rest will be cake vouchers from bangawan solo bah...

I pass by pine gardens very day to and back from work.. It is like telling me u better get from me.. u better get from me.. LOL...

charma97

Tanlee: if your end, no one eating halal, u can go for neo garden.. If got elsie kitchen.. I asked my friend about the deli hub, they said no good.. elsie better.

Jolene: ok thanks for the additional information..

where do you girls bought your pyjamas from?

Sigh, i now headache.. my auspicious timing too early need to pay 200-400 more..

dodolet

lol.. lsntyl, you just reminded me to call for my pastor's solomnisation number... lol...

Jac, I haven even efile. As long as ur wedding is outside the rom, just need to efile by early dec, can liao...

jolene428

charma: hw much more u pay ah? $50 per hr before 7am rite? my MUA needs to come at 6am so i paying $50 more..

i bought my pyjamas frm chinatown.. very hard to find same design for male and female..unless u wan diff design lor..i bought both female design but for my HB i buy XL ;p hehe...coz guys got wider shoulders so cannot buy just nice one...

selena

Wow! the thread is moving very fast..

Ee Lin, Jo_vin, my banquet is held at ParkRoyal on Beach Road, solemnisation at 6pm.. My PS was done end Aug so can view photos end Sep.. BS say they need one mth to show me the layout..

Jojo, quite surprise by your comments.. usually during food tasting, the food would taste better than AD..

charma97

Jolene: i need to reach my house before 7am.. so i need to leave my parent's house at 6.45pm.. So think MUA need to come around 5 am.. need to pay each at least 100 more..

u 2 follow the teochew style? I am following the teochew style as my hubby is one..

lynnqi

charma: oh okie thanks. I also need to pay extra for my early timing. Additional $60 for MUA ($30 each hour). Not sure of the charges for the videographer yet.

jolene: thought my buffet is early. Seems like yours is even earlier. hehee

lost_in_space

wah.. too long thread again.. hmm..

the pyjamas we will keep it one
jolene don't worry for us :D

jojo as for the red umbrella, we didn't bring over to the groom's side.. cos my father will use it to shelter me to the bridal car..

xiaokai

Faintz..
the thread is too fast..
i didn't know that this thread is on Onz.
Dear all my AD is 30th Nov..
guess what i am also stick with the GDL stuffs
can some 1 tell me other than to buy the this and that.. how about the hongbao.. what we need to bao for the groom and the bride side.
help!!!
jolene u are very ative le..

xiaokai

jolene
in the end daughter still daughter,, everything they do is for ur own good!
btw by now i think we shall already settle most of our preparation.. but i always got that feel that i still have a lot of thing not done.
i know thing will crop up but nvm i shall wait..
hmmm the stupid guest list is making me crazy and my hubby still dare to say wedding so ma fai.. may as well just ROM .
ok he win!

jolene428

LOL...

guys always like that one lor! my HB oso same de, only last week then start to happily look at his guestlist and send out the invites for his guests while my guests already received my card and RSVP liao! At first want to do for his guests but thk will go crazi just nagging at him... haha so let him be lor.. Lucky nw is exams period and his marking all done and able to help me out liao

but at least he complained but still guai guai follow my mum to buy those thgs.. coz my MIL busy with work...

Ehh.. the angbao, u mean for GDL or the AD?

GDL i only knw wat angbao from groom to bride coz the female side prep by my mother... Groom to Bride i prepared.. Pinjin angbao, LiuLi angbao, canned pork legs angbao, 1 angbao for ur mum for bringing u up, then for my brother, da sao and baby. Plus 2 bottles of martell + 12 oranges...

Lost, did i miss out anythg? haha xiao kai, Lost is very pro with GDL, she just had hers..

ACtually i oso told my frens that if their parents are not traditional type then just go for ROM and buffet dinner can liao :p haha..save money somemore :p Haha.. but hor, at first more stress, after come forum and share ideas and learn more, i feel act. nt tt difficult and the GDL shop ppl actually can ans alot of qns one
Just use the easy way, buy whole set frm them :p

The guestlist is very stressful one lor... i trying to be calm and next wk onwards then go crazy again.. nw to settle my GDL first ^^

Hehe..i m gg to take pictures :p

charma97: I am teochew and my HB is hokkien.. so my mum giving my HB the teochew thgs and my HB giving her the hokkien thgs.. And An Chuang we realised must do the hokkien way...

tanlee: coz i got a room for my Inlaws mah..so i thk they got to go hotel after 2pm oso...but early meh? The others who reached the male hse at 7am has to cater even earlier lor :p Mine is 8.30am wor... But my mum will cater the food for bride's side lor..let her choose wat she wants, dun wan interfere...

jolene428

lost: alamak i didnt know #03 got sell. I went to #02 only and saw two GDL shop. Amanda closed early and i dont like the wedding shop that two aunties attitude, like everythg oso nt sure. So i went to Moments at People Park Complex.. next to the OG oso.. #02.. the aunty there very helpful and intro me the hokkien An Chuang set oso

but they dont sell pyjamas so i anyhow buy at one of the shops along chinatown lor ^^ Dont need to have dragon or pheonix one rite?

tanlee: u reminded me the PG must pay extra oso
Haizzz.. so $50 + $50 lor i thk... haizz...

I dont haev VG wor..sianz..i was thking of asking my PG to do the photos event highlight but nt sure must add hw much more...maybe ask my BS on 19oct when i go for final fitting...

xiaokai, told u mah..here very active de and can learn alot of thgs
hee...

lost_in_space

jolene, the bring u up angbao not on GDL.. on AD one.. together with 2 oranges, pig front legs, angbao, 1 more thing i can't remember :p
just go my multiply and @@ pictures :p

as for the guest list.. i just contacted my co-ordinator, told her got abt 31-32 tables.. she ask me to get 30 tables can liao.. :D meeting her this weekend.. yeah

baobei123

wow... i read the thread until wan to sleep liao so long only for 2 days nv log in..

cant catch up.. i also haven got my album leh.. AD is 16 nov they promise to give by 12 nov.only got my softcopies...

jolene428

keke...ya, i think when i go for my wedding come back sure super long de...

ahhh the bring up angbao nt on GDL? ehhhh aiyoh.. why my mother give me the whole list de 0__0 confusing.. nvm pass to her on GDL, if wrong then take back :p haha... pig front legs? real pig ah? EEKs.. i thk my fren give real pig 0__0 eeks....

ohh.. mine thk next wk then i cfm with the tables.. thk shld be 30 tables ba..tho HB said we invited abt 33 tables in all... Think relatives side after GDL then will knw lor..coz by then my mum then go give out the cards. My HB side thk all RSVP liao...

jolene428

ask u ah, the bed on the AD must let a boy and ger jump is it?

the only possible young cousins of my HB hor, we didnt like them v much coz v notti and if let them jump on the AD, i scared every other day they will come in and jump my bed oso...

happymrskoh

Dear all Brides-To-Be,
I am currently sourcing for caterer too. Shortlisted Neogarden and proceeded to order online. However, I received a call from the Sales Executive after making the order telling me that their menu will be changed in Nov and my order cannot be confirmed until the menu is out. Does anyone have this encounter? Thanks for sharing.

jolene428

AHH... scary.. real pig!!! I think v EEKs lehh... unless is roast pig lah.. raw pig very scary!!!

MrsKoh, ehhh...i ordered from elsie kitchen..so no problem with tt

charma97

OK I will go chinatown to take a look for the pyjamas.

The thread is moving too fast until i read halfway and discontinue reading.

I told my hubby holding wedding dinner so mafan.. We shld just ROM and forget everything.