(2008) Brides of year 2008

dodolet

jaye, where are u having ur wedding dinner/lunch? and of course the date....^^

Tell your mom 240 is not a nice number. 168 X 4 sounds nicer. ^^.. But if your mom is not going to take any tables and not going to take alot of the pin jin. It is okie to bao 240 x 4 ... just use the money she returned to be given to the jms for the gatecrashing and others.

gingerbread_gal

Nelle,
so sorry to hear about your mum...most imptly is she is in stable condition now....and yes, you are blessed indeed to have so many ppl who love you and your FH around you guys! Keep the positive spirit up! Jia you!

lsntyl,
the girls have guessed it right!! well, the gowns can be altered and then ppl can add as many things as they want on the gown...
think u dun have that bride in your multiply contact so u dunno who...but nvm lah...
wow, u all make me so happy, with the compliments on my gown
yay, let us all be happy brides

meiling,
u made me realised i haven't filed for ROM yet!!
yes, please keep us updated after your wedding...don't disappear on us ok? must promise ah!

why must the pinjin be divided into 4?

jaye,
dun stressed ya....just prioritise and get what you want asap....

uk_fung

yar like some ladies already mention before couple ang bao is a form of gift to thank them helping out the whole day.... Parent is yi si yi si for good luck

Don't worry so much as long as got the heart I think whatever way u do it your friend can feel it
Relax and enjoy

lsntyl

Jac>must be bah. cos din know can buy gowns on spree de. curious still but will not ask further. :p I've obviously not seen the other gown but I remember seeing some pix of your gown before I think you del or locked them from your multiply. Its really one of the nicest tulle gowns I've seen so far.

~sblbee~

nec,
oh i think i know who u gals r toking abt le...fionachua sent me d link le, sigh....i wonder y ppl have to b copycats wor? smtimes it makes ppl who wana share our wedding stuff wif others oso feel sian :p
i really love ur gowns n ur looks, im sure all ur pics will turn out really pretty de....n i must say u look like d pic dat u put up on ur msn display when u were in uni....sizzling hot sia

jaye yeo,
dun b stressed ok? welcome to this thread n our big family!
dun worry, since urs is a simple ROM den u still got time....try to keep everything simple n it shdnt b a prob

jac,
heheheh....dun worry, r u supposed to e-file now? sure thing, i wont disappear on u gals cos it's really v rare to find a grp of gals who can tok abt anything under d sun

btw, did u apply for d oct balloting for d flats? i did....if u r interested den do remember to apply cos d closing date is 16 oct...in case i didnt come in to remind u

lost_in_space

jolene, go amanda dreamweaver.. i bought the da yuan and xiao yuan there.. each packet got 4 packs, each one $2..

i just finished my GDL last sat.. although got a few arguments with MIL (me and hubby), we are still very happy to have it.. it's a memory for both of us..

the da yuan and xiao yuan.. u need to put 1 da yuan and xiao yuan into everything which is be given to the groom's side.. da yuan represents that u next time have good yuan fen with ur in laws.. his relatives.. and xiao yuan represents u will have good yuan fen with the younger generation (like younger silbings)

charma.. dun be angry with ur MIL.. it's like tat one.. it's better than we pay those stuffs ourselves.. can raise ur head in his family next time.. this is told by my colleague..
cheer up okie.. our big day is coming soon..

if u gals have any GDL things need to ask, can ask me.. :D cos mine very traditional one..

our bride side give a lot of stuffs.. ended up MIL very surprised.. but also good.. think she is quite happy abt it.. :D the cakes from Choz was excellent.. a lot of our relatives praised it and asked for more.. haha.. :D

hapimint

my MIL had every intention to use thin construction paper lor.... faintz...

My hubby told her that we do our own printing le... since its not too expensive... so now, quotation time... haha....

I quite jia lat... now then look into printing... my wedding in less than 2 months... haiz....

Btw, summerice, you want to look at kyo cakes? I am actually looking at them to order my GDL cakes... thought order online then tell them to deliver to my house... save the trouble.... haha....

rayrachel

Viv>sent u liaoz..

YL> wah.. steady.. haha.. okay.. Mmm.. iffff.. i happen to be free.. i MAY drop by la..see how.. ate too many buffets lately.. i put on 2kg!! almost fainted when i stand on the scale today.. faint lo..really.. piangz....

green> really ah?? no more durian liaoz?? wah... okok.. Mmm..then go lunch better.. hahaha.. dun mind paying more lo.. slurp... hehehe....

no sashimi meh??
i rem have leh..... MMmmmmm...did i rem wrongly??

I didnt eat on our ROM...our guests eat.. hahaa... we did went there for lunch buffet prior to our ROM.. so maybe i mixed up.. but its good food nonetheless..

Ivy> yah..cant tahan..so i went that nite.. hahaha.. to celebrate our 17th month together.. hahaha.... your HB so unromantic leh.. now married liaoz.. no need to spend so much issit?? piang.. we paid $190 including free flow wine.. i had 1 glass of wine.. 2 apple juice, 1 pink guava.. haha.. extra $25 for free flow wine + juices.. if u want only juices also $25.. hahaah.. i think we were the only dumbnits ard..the rest of the tables had just iced water.. but their wine is really GOOD!!

worth the money!

>

flora_bliss

nelle> Oh... I'm so sorry to hear what happen. Take care of yourself and your mum. Don't worry so much.

Jac> Got to swift swift action, can't let myself have any time to harbour 2nd thoughts. Don't fred abt the gown. Not everyone can carry off the gown as well as you do. The copied design may not look the best.

Meiling> Your AD so near liao, you still so Kaypoh. Cannot lah,you need to concentrate to make yourself even more prettym for the big day.

Fiona> I oso wanna kaypoh. Who is it huh?

fruittea80

Thanks everyone for the kind advice. This thread is moving super fast, I have to trace back 1-2 pages to locate where's my post! Haha...all of you like no need to work one leh. My work busy like crazy now and I cant wait to knock off each day to attend to my wedding preps and house reno!

Jolene, the bedroom slippers which your friend bought is those red coloured types? I've tried OG, Robinsons, Carrefour, Aussino, Marks & Spencer but couldnt find suitable ones. Maybe I try taka or isetan, I'm looking for baby blue and pink with his/hers or bride/groom wordings on it, hopefully can find.

Kristine, my AD on 2 Nov. Should be among the earlier BTBs to tie the knot in the month of Nov 08. Very stress now cos alot of things not done, hope all will fall in place in the next 2 weeks to come. I think we will bao $88 each to the main bridesmaid and best man. The rest of the bridemaids (I have 3 others) maybe $28 since they would have the angbao from gate-crashing and I also paid for the rental of their day dresses.

pinky81

Jolene^^ (jolene428): I think the one I tried is hardy's brand. My friend gotten linderman wine and it taste good as well.

eelin (eelin77): Maybe you can order Mac for them?

ma97 (charma97): I also agree that the custom is really so extra. For example, my dad is not giving any cakes to our relatives because he wants to make things simple. He just order for the sake of formality which is less than 10 boxes. My FMIL wants that formality as well but feels that my dad is not ordering enough and hence order some more boxes to have a nice number. $100 simply gone.

pinky81

For my catering, it is also a headache. Luckily the one that my htb reccomended very chin cai. I need to have vegetarian dishes as my neighbour is a vegetarian. My parents cant take seafood due to health reasons and hence all the kuehs and vegetables has to be prawn/sotong/shellfish free.

I wonder which other caterer can be that nice to cater to our requests and requirements.

providencia

Nelle, sorry to hear abt your mum. If she can be transferred to normal wards, it means that she's more stable, I do hope she'll recover in time. You don't worry too much, tks goodness you are well loved by the rest.

MeiLing, have a happy wedding, I'm sure you'll be gorgeous and dazzle the crowd. Mei Mei leh. So exciting!

Jac, don't bother abt pple copying your gowns, they have the sour grapes mentality. Yours is the prettiest and the most original in our opinions.

Jaye, 3 months is sufficient to plan for a simple affair, so don't worry to much.

charma97

Lost: I am trying to ignore her already. My hubby also knew that I am totally pissed off with her.. Trying hard not to make life difficult for my hubby.. But sometimes she really step and twist on my tail..

Pinky81: ya lor.. same here.. my parents nv requested much stuffs but still my in laws still buy this and that after hearing the advise from the sales person

jaye_yeo

It wasn't a simple affair.
we wanted solemnisation on 5th dec 08 and customary on 5th dec 09
but cus His grandpa passed away,his grandma says must be b4 100days or 3 yrs
So I panicked, wanted 5th dec 08 as our customary.
After the Tee Qing, realised it is not going to be a simple affair if i hold my customary.
so jialat...
on Guo Da li, i calculated last nite >$2000 that my bf have to spend
My mum n aunties says 4 pieces of $240 and above for each angbao on the oranges stack...
teochew Xi bing (8 box cost about $130)
2 x hard liquor $150
8x pork trotters $40
2x long candles. $?
then my bridal studios still need to pay another $2288 (deposit was 1000)
and i have to sacrifice my customised gown cus no time.
It's less than 2 mths away!!
End up I am not a happy bride but so troubled.
My stomach no menses also cramped...
So last nite, he and I had a good talk, decided it is time to stop the Aunties and my mum, Choose to follow our original plans 5th Dec 08 solemnise then 05th dec 09 customary and disregard the 100days after funeral custom.
cus his grandpa was in KL, his grandma also in kl, and they not really contributing and just tell us make it simple.

Yeah! this morning called my aunties and sms cousins. now i feel much lighter...
Just a solemnisation of my dreams,
then next yr try to simplify everything.

uk_fung

This week gonna be alot of girls being busy Congrats!~~~

<table border=1><tr><td>16-Oct</TD><TD>Adeline Lim</TD><TD>Not confirmed </TD></TR><TR><TD>17-Oct</TD><TD>^MeiLinG5^</TD><TD>Marina Mandarin </TD></TR><TR><TD>18-Oct</TD><TD>PolarWhite</TD><TD>Mariott (Hi-Tea) </TD></TR><TR><TD>18-Oct</TD><TD>Jesl</TD><TD>Park Hotel Orchard (20-Oct) </TD></TR><TR><TD>18-Oct</TD><TD>Liew Rachel</TD><TD>Meritus Mandarin </TD></TR><TR><TD>18-Oct</TD><TD>lynn</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Park View (19-Oct) </TD></TR><TR><TD>18-Oct</TD><TD>melody</TD><TD>Grand Hyatt </TD></TR><TR><TD>18-Oct</TD><TD>pipi</TD><TD>Hilton </TD></TR><TR><TD>18-Oct</TD><TD>snowypooh</TD><TD>Secret Venue </TD></TR><TR><TD>18-Oct</TD><TD>sue</TD><TD>Conrad (Lunch) </TD></TR><TR><TD>18-Oct</TD><TD>Cheryl Tan</TD><TD>18 Oct Danga Bay, JB &amp; 27 Oct Pan Pacific, SG </TD></TR><TR><TD>18-Oct</TD><TD>bluebananas</TD><TD>Fullerton Hotel </TD></TR><TR><TD>18-Oct</TD><TD>Adeline</TD><TD>Sheraton Towers </TD></TR><TR><TD>18-Oct</TD><TD>Michelle</TD><TD>Novotel Clarke Quay </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

dreamy79

any recommendations for caterers who cater for 20 pax? visited a lot of website and usually their min. pax is 25. Any feedback on good caterers?

Sigh really don't feel any excitement for the big day coming just have a feeling of get it over and done with. Am i the only one who have this feeling?

eelin77

dreamy79,
You're not alone. I'm also not very excited about the wedding. More excited about the reno for my flat. Dread having to smile and pose for photos on AD.

What's your budget per pax for catering? Is it for ROM? Lunch or dinner?

lost_in_space

charma.. heck care her.. teach u.. let her buy.. ask her properly what u want, and u pay for it..

cos groom's side can't get a lot of things from bride's side.. groom's side supposed to give.. bride's side return part of it only...

but my case, I bought a lot of stuffs.. maybe later at night I upload my pictures for u to @@..
not very expensive.. just some foods and dried stuffs.. on my GDL, my MIL saw the stuffs our side gave them, she was very surprised but of cos happy to receive
, I'm also happy that at least GDL is over.. and all are happy.. I saw my granny, parents, brother &amp; his gf all smiling on my GDL day.. it's worthwhile..

dreamy79

eelin

it's actually for AD lunch buffet for the relatives, xiong di and jiemei. Think roughly about $12-$15 per pax?

when ur Ad?

eelin77

dreamy79,
My AD is 30 Nov.
If everyone is not fussy, you can order Bento sets or sushi and have it delivered. Try places like Sushi Tei or Sakae?

lilacbliss07

hi all.. i wanna ask.. for tea ceremony relatives will give us ang baos rite.. den can i pass the ang baos to my jiemeis to write the name and put in a ang bao box??

eelin77

Jane,
From what I know, you can get one of your jiemeis to be responsible for collecting the angbao/gift on your behalf. Whether you put in angbao box or somewhere else is up to you.

ezvy

Green> Oh, so its your birthday this Fri...where you planning to celebrate then??

Rach> Wow, a whopping $190 for a dinner for 2.....I have never had such ex meal in my life leh...so normally who pay for your monthly anniversary treats??

I am going to Merchant for their buffet dinner with my friend this Thursday after hearing so much here..too tempted..looking forward for the durian puree manz...

darlinhubby

hi eelin..

nice to meet u. my AD is also 30 Nov..

so hws all the preparation?? i'm still struggling to clear my work asap..haha!!
where's ur wedding dinner held?

eelin77

blurqing,
I'm having luncheon at Raffles Hotel. What about you?
I still have alot left to do for AD. 2nd outfit not even designed yet, still have to find a kua that fits, and at the moment trying to work out the programme and make sure every little thing is taken care of.
How many helpers you got (jiemeis + brothers)?
Your ROM also on same day?

jolene428

Lost = Ehh i thk the da yuan xiao yuan is the one tt my MIL and GIL said must put into the tea for guests to drink so i have yuan2 with all the inlaws!!!

where is amanda dreamweaver? i gg down today to chinatown to find.. Does moments at ppl park complex have?

i was reading the booklet my Master gave me then realised i need to put the da yuan xiao yan under the pillow and in the living room of my inlaw hse too.. My MIL said must put $1 coins all over the corners of the hse so that it means bring fortune to the hse and also always have $ to spend... sounds good...

wow.. these days i thk my MIL ask ard and learn new thgs...keke...at first she alot of thgs duno one :p

wat u mean by put 1 da yuan and 1 xiao yuan in all tt i giving the inlaws? Meaning??? put where?

i thk for 20pax can try neo garden, i thk they got mini buffet for 15pax onwards - http://www.neogarden.com.sg/

For me i still thinking want choose halal menu or nt..my mum always said halal menu nt as nice 0__0 got difference meh..the list of food looks the same to me...

jane: thk u better dun mix the tea ceremony angbao with the banquet angbao then u knw hw much u 'earn' from each mah ^^. And must make sure ur jiemei bring up the angbao box and put the angbaos in the safe after all the guests reached...

eelin: how long the solemnisation depends on ur solemniser.. mine is rather lor..like 30min coz he talks alot..and give instructions and explain each procedures with the significance and jokes along the way oso... but i see those v fast one...abt 10min the most...

pinky81: hw come ur wine different from mine? ehhh... $24++ also mah? wats ur wine arrangement? I may just get all frm Rasa..

selena

blurqing and eelin,

My AD is also on 30 Nov too.. so stressed as many stuff not settled yet

blurqing where is ur wedding held? have u all seen ur ablbum layout? BS say can only view end of the mth.. wondering is this the norm?

eelin77

Selena,
I opted not to have pre-wedding shoot, so can't answer your question, but i know they do take quite some time to produce the album.

Where is your AD? Are you also doing ROM and tea ceremony on the same day?

lynnqi

dreamy79: you are not the only one. Me also lost all the excitement for the AD. Why cant we just have a dinner and that's it.

Selena: I am viewing my layout this sunday. Expected day to collect album will be 2 days before my wedding (1st Nov). I am one of the slower girls in the forum. Most of them have collected their album at least a mth ago.

jolene428

tanlee same here... haha so sianz rite? after all the hardwork..actually the wedding day will be over in split hrs....

how come all ur album so slow one? I took my pictures in june, design ready by july and got my album by late august or early sept lor...

is it coz u didnt take picture before hand? ehhh i better warn my fren to chop chop the pre-wedding PS first or else will get the album so late oso...

eelin, u dont have pre-wedding shoots? wow... then ur wedding shld be v cheap wor! So earn alot de!!!

jolene428

hehe.. so happy.. my da sao gave birth liao!!!

And i checked with my MIL and my Master that my brother can attend my wedding!! Yeah~!!!

eelin77

Jolene,

So happy for you

No pre-wedding shoot also don't save le. Still have to fork out a few thousand from pocket
Budget for pre-wedding shoot transfered to get a band for AD, so no savings actually. Just hope our guests will not think lunch is much cheaper than dinner la. *cross fingers*

lost_in_space

jolene, the da yuan and xiao yuan need to buy a lot one.. i bought a lot of them.. granny said must put 1 big 1 small in everything u give to groom's side.. (eg: the potty, the bathtub, the washbasin, the mug).. granny also asked me to sew 1 big and 1 small yuan on the collar of our new pyjamas.. she also said that during tea ceremony, wash the big and small yuan and put inside the tea pot and serve to the elders.. she also said that on the AD, ask the matchmaker to walk in front of the bride, and throw the big and small yuan on the floor.. (meaning, the bride haven't reach the groom's house, her yuan (fate &amp; relationship with the groom's side ppl) already arrived)..

:D as for the $1 coin thingy, i was asked to buy a coin pouch and put 3 $1 coin inside and hang the coin pouch in our wardrode.. like tat will have $$ to spend next time..

amanda dreamweaver is located at the market next to OG chinatown, level 2..