(2008) Brides of year 2008

jolene428

dzxz = halo
Wow.. u as kiasu as me.. started planning 1 yr before
But is good.. sometimes get to learn more things along the way.. i am glad to learn so much things earlier or else sure panick..

i think it is okay that your mother 'return' the angbaos for the female side to you
My mother said she will 'return' if not all, majority of the amount back to us
Coz she knws my HB is paying everything for the wedding... even the SDJ, GDL items and furnitures for our new room (i will be staying with the inlaws till 2012)...

I thk every mother will want the best for their daughters no matter hw ge gao they are seemed to be. Like i used to think and still think my mother very fussy and ge gao but she always said its coz for my own good la... and tt the inlaws wont thk i got no backing and can be bullied lah... Thus i thk mothers nowadays are mostly very understanding that the angbaos are to be 'returned' to cover the banquet... if not ultimately, the bride will suffer if the groom runs out of savings immediately after the wedding...

And i agree that it is good nwadays we pay for the wedding ourselves so we can have it the way we want and we can stand up tall in the inlaws family
But of coz becoz of that we must spend our money wisely coz... AD is just a day of fame and glory... wats impt is the life... ever after the wedding day.. or in other words.. the marriage... its always good to have leftover cash to play with then to really start a fresh lor...But best if can dont pay anything via instalments.. if nt after wedding still not debt free...like my fren, 1 yr after her wedding, still paying for her wedding cost 0__0

jolene428

Haha.. so long thread and so i need to slowly reply manz :p

lunchtime soon.. hope can reply then go lunch..wait come back sure LONG thread again! Phew...

wat are u all working as ah :p

pinky81: I like jo_vin idea :p hahaha.. buy a latch :p I was about to tell jane to do the same thing. I told my frens abt the come in every morning thingy.. they all said 'MOVE OUT'... haha.. and even my HB thks its crazi lor! I feel so blessed manz...

or best lah.. let her spot u two doing smthg lah..then she will next time zi dong... best if she kena red eye for it :p hahaha..

and hor i understd de.. quite sian if the jiemeis duno each other and dun wan cme and meet up..and give ppl tt 'dont thk its impt' feeling
I organised a gathering for my jiemeis and siongdi to meet with me and my HB last mth lor.. and his Siongdi got some nv come, so cannot brief all of them the programme.. abit upset but haizz.. i get my HB to meet them separately..

jo_vin: my da sao cannot come coz she still in confinement when i get married
She hasnt given birth yet
due 12 october..haizz.. and my mother said maybe my brother cannot come oso...

i thk i will cry on stage when i tell my guests i m so sad my one and only brother cannot attend my wedding

Ohh my wedding on 2 nov..

Ohhh i bought the $40 GDL set at Idear yesterday with my mum and HB. She also bought a red umbrella.. got lace..so pretty...$12.90. We bought a mini clog $7.90 also and a fan (not sure how much)... i think in total about $70. She took the smaller potty instead coz she said the big one too high for baby to use. But we didnt buy the candles coz too short...

Going to buy the dao tiao miu tiao (some sweet cake i thk) from the traditional xi bing maker at chong pang area..

ehhh the da yuan xiao yuan is a must ah? how come my mother duno?

think must order cake tis few days liao...

My Parents in law when to deliver the cards for some distant relatives yest..phew..my HB doesnt even need to go with them...so sweet of thm... i got a fren who has to go herself lor.. poor thg rite? She said even her HB duno the distant relatives very well lor but must deliver the cards to them.. so weird...

fumiko_neko

aiya..i jus put watever date la..
then finalise then see wat date u all like
then someone fr tat date grp can be assigned to b e coordinator of the day

13 oct (mon) - rach, YL, ivy, crown , waxie

17th oct (Fri) - cath

03 Nov (mon) - Green, Rach, Crown, spoiltbabe, Ivy, ah net

17th nov (mon) - rach

jolene428

Karen Francise Tey (ceo38) = I think ur BS really cheater leh... my frens who bought the softcopies all can upload the photos lor.. maybe go CASE complain if they dont give u a uploadable set..

pinky81: U gg to stay with ur inlaws too? Have you applied for a new flat?

Haiz.. charm97 i know what you mean la.. mothers will say you ownself go stay with them wat before wedding so they dont appreciate you so much.. so demoralising right?

Aiyohh...like my mother first will rush me to faster ROM str after my HB proposed to me.. end up ppl thk i shotgun.. wah lau... then after tt rush me to Customary thn keep saying from 2007 then to 2008 all bad yrs .. dunz.. if so bad yr why got so many ppl get married? Rubbish lor... Now i doing wedding plan she ask me to faster get a baby and said my cousin say want baby, 1 yr married still no baby..

I really wana suan her lor.. said ppl say want baby maybe is to pls old ppl? Then if both busy of coz no time to make babies lah.. i got a fren last time said trying hard to have babies then i ask 'how many times u do a week'.. she said twice a week the most.. then i was like HUH? like tt call trying hard to have babies? I got a guyfren dec wedding... tis dec due for delivery.. he likes to joke and said from experience, just do everyday lah haha sure tio very soon :p

Old ppl really has alot of time to think about funi things...

jolene428

jo_vin = i agree with you also and i dont like bad manners kids..sometimes i see crazi kids with no manners and very disrespectful i am worried i cant be a good mother myself.. ahha

tramatized by my own mother.. worried i become like her.. nevermind.. i will wait for 1-2yrs first.. but i nt young oso liao..so v sianz..somemore my HB the only son... (with 2 sisters)..

jolene428

ask u all ah, will there be competitive among the cousins as to who give birth first ah will be more doted by grandmother? Hmmmm...

of coz my GIL not like that but just wondering lah.. haha...coz my mum tells me stories tt her fren will dote the DIL who gives birth first...

lilacbliss07

jo_vin.. u see from my multiply the one i bought issit the one u toking abt??

hee thanks all for consoling me.. maybe i too stressed le.. after the weekend feels better liao.. keke...

nelle

Mei, he have to take extra care & minimize legwork. Just happen at such a time.
Don't fret about the honeymoon 1st. You will still go, maybe not at the date you want.

At this rate, you may have about 2 empty tables. Try asking the manager if they have any suggestions.

ezvy

waxie> is this brand of wu hua guo nicer.....Wanted to tell you my house there got a shop that sell all sorts of candy from malaysia, they sell wu hua guo too but dunno if the brand is what you mentioned...will take a look..

Strawclare> wat is ur blog liao huh....long time never take a look at ur blog..

Wanted to perm my hair too, tired of the sraight hair, wanted to cut short initially, but would like to try perming b4 i cut short..(never perm my hai in my life)...

I prefer weekdays too as I need to visit my parents and have to do housework during weekend.

~sblbee~

nelle,
yah but his sch is having exam n today is his paper so he gotta go back n at d same time, collect d papers back for marking....sigh, juz hope dat his leg will reover in time

as for d honeymoon, mayb i'll worry after my wedding ba....now my mind is in a blank alrdy, no mood to do anything rite now :p as for d tables, at tis moment, i still exceed d min requirement, mayb i'll juz confirm 38 + 2 muslim tables, 2 lesser than wat i've now....hehe :p den use d 2 as spare :p
thanks for ur advice! *hug*

keer13

Sorry, been missing for a long time as been running in & out of hospital as my dad is quite sick. Now, I wonder if I should postpone my wedding? Very stressed up at the moment. Struggling if I could proceed to send invites as time is running short or to call the venue to postpone the wedding?

lilacbliss07

haiz my MIL so troublesome lor.. she say the relatives can only come at 9.30am.. den we got a 2hrs break in btw.. so long.. photoshoot for 2 hrs also abit bo liao.. den VG dunno do wat.. and timing for PG & VG will overshot have to top up $$..

anyone got suggestions??

keer13

xesthit, i'm also headache over my mum's clothes, maybe i will bring her to OG to see if there's nice CS for her. u can try. let me know if u have any other lobangs too ya. btw, think can try People's Park, think they have some stores that sell nice aunties clothes too.

Sotong, did ur mum buy a CS? is the stuff at yu hua expensive?

Meimei & cutiephinphin, envy you gals engaging Ichiro as VG. His works is really cool. Fell in love with them when I see their trailer. But too bad, u gals were before me.. hee hee.. Finally, manage to track down u gals here.. :p

vivaliciousviv

<font color="0000ff">clare...</font>
i forgot the link to your blog...heee...i wanaa see pix also!! heee....

<font color="ff0000">rach</font>
ya, sianz...bdays nth to look forward also..used to love throwing parties or gatherings w frenz....now like simply boring and nothing spectacular abt...AHHHHHH!!!!

dodolet

Hi keer, I am sorry to hear about your dad. I think before you decide to cancel or postpone ur wedding, it is importatnt to talk to your parents about their wishes. Talk to your dad's doctor to see the condition of your dad too. If it is terminal, i would say best to hold it to let ur dad see u marry off. There is still time to send the invites.. Just send by 1mth++ before your wedding can liao.

Yes, yu hua is at china town, the stuff are still pretty nice and the sales gal are helpful. I got my fmil 2 chinese top (1 silk and 1 brocade) and 2 silk pants and 1 chinese embroideried shoes for S$350. Check out the discount items..if they have the sizes, it could be pretty cheap. Oh after spending 300odd I got the yuhua card. There after there will be a 10% off the org price.

I have checked OG too.. The chinese tops are still reasonable, but the painted CS cost about 500 to 700+. I almost fall off the chair when i know the prices.

Oh, BTW, can check out 4th floor city plaza. There are afew shops selling CS some includes alterations some without. We checked afew, the price is about 100++ upwards..

I wanted whykeen for my VG, but he was going for 150 per hr and i would need about 10 to 12 hrs... BF said too ex.. soooo.. SIGHHHHHH T.T

jolene428

hmmm.. sounds good oso
Yeah, maybe go further places for photoshoot lor...

or ask them go earlier to hotel to have tea ceremony? I have frens also have tea ceremony after first march in lor...

lost_in_space

u tell her lah.. ask the relatives to come to hotel earlier.. abt 4-5pm.. if not then stick with ur morning timing..

that's what i going to do.. remember that u and ur hb is the main character.. no waiting one hor..

nelle

Mei, keep your spirits up! You are the brightest star in your event. These 'dimmers' cannot put you down.

Just meet the min requirement - if more pax, it is a bonus.

Try this visualisation exercise tonite.
Close your eyes and imagine on the AD, you are going through the actual schedule plus the details in your head. When you 'experience' this many rounds, when the AD comes, it is THE perfect wedding you have ever wanted in your life.

baobei123

Hmm.. Jane schedule is abt
7am reach her hubby's place. then at there do wat until go back her mum's place if there is no tea ceremony in the morning...

best is go town for OD shoot...wif xiong di and jie mei.. fun...

lilacbliss07

she say last time got another relatives also try before den end up no time.. haiz.. i also tin so.. but want their ang bao so bo bian le.. as if i really care abt serving tea to them.. =P

so maybe try yvonne's idea lor.. go further places for photoshoot...

nelle

flora, like what mei said, I hope you are not too disappointed about the photos. I am sure they will be good and show the best side of you.
Saw the $$ (of the budget for additional photos, if you set aside) for other things.

nelle

The wedding expenditure is scary!!!
Small expenses really adds up. Every budget I set aside I am over by $10-$50, so when all these add up it is a few hundreds!
The heart skips a beat everytime this excel sheet opens (well, it used to skip everytime I see my partner...hahahahaha.......

lynnqi

Opps. Forget to buy a red tray for hub to carry over when he comes in the AD morning. Or is that not necessary?
Then hor, the Tangyuan, is eat at groom's or bride's place or both???

jo_vin: yaya. Its so difficult to explain. My SIL says she will help, but we realised she cant understand our view either. Faintz. Hub had to explain to her all over again. The latest draft had some tables with less than 10pax, then another with 11 pax (which means we have to add 1 seat, cos its '1' family), then others with 8 confirmed adults (but duno they bringing kids anot and how many).
We had to put in a very nice way to FIL, that it's ok if he had invited his guests but didnt turn up, but he has to at least confirm who are going to turn up and if they are bringing kids. If not, if everyone bring the kids, there will no seats for them. Hopefully the new draft will be better. sighz

Went to Sago Lane yesterday with hub. No lah, usually i go out on sunday i very sloppy one. Will look totally different from the photo. hehee
Can buy the tea set there for about $33

Lost: By rite only need 1 teaset. Matchmaker supposed to bring the teaset from place to place. But I also bought an additional set.

baobei123

Jane

to play safe.. you go back to ur MIL's hse at 10am.. juz in case got ppl late..

or before u go back ask ur hubby call back and check if most of them reach ur MIL's hse already anot ...

baobei123

ya I want to ask something..
does a new bowl, spoon and chopstick require while eating the tang yuan..

my mum bought for me but now she dont allow me to use it.. say rubbish like i have to leave something for my bro.. cos bowl is like fan wan... bo liao...

jolene428

ermm.. my mother asked me to finish everything earlier.. aiyohh.. if i put the timing for guests too early for my HB hse.. then same thing will happen oso... Sianz... maybe i put 9am reach my PIL hse... shld be ok rite? Then can eat first then tea ceremony frm 9.30am...

Maybe i go back and ask my MIL tonite..

lost_in_space

for me, i will leave my place at 8.. reach MIL place at 830.. then leave at 1015, reach my place 1030, leave my place again to his place at 12.45pm..then reach hotel by 1.30pm

~sblbee~

nelle,
thanks....im trying to keep my spirits up....all thanks to d support n encouragement dat i've been getting so far....
hehehhe....i agree wif u completely on d wedding expenditure, urs skips a beat, i think mine nearly stop whenever i see my spreadsheet, got to restrategise to save more $ :p

any bright ideas on tekan session? my JMs didnt say anything abt dat....im so afriad dat there's no tekan session n it's not fun....i only know dat i got tis wedding contract dat he needs to read aloud n sign....d rest i havent plan yet....tsk tsk tsk....scary....

lsntyl

Meiling>gambatte! I'm sure the wedding will go well.

Hmm, for my hubby's tekan session, my jiemeis made him dig for the key that was buried in milo powder, write I love you using talcum powder on his face, made his brother do 20 pushups n he had to sing me a song in hokkein. But his mind blanked out and he couldn't think of any song so in the end sang in Eng.

jolene428

yesterday my mum shared something interesting with us.

1. when move into new hse, MIL must buy a rice cooker for the groom = to represent always have rice to eat in future. Same concept as during CNY must buy a small wooden rice contain and filled it with rice till the rim. To signified every year got rice to eat.

2. Teochew brides must eat mian xian with some ingredients on ur wedding day... egg and tou gua etc. Cant remember the rest.. if you are a teochew maybe can ask the parents = signifies eat finished all these things, the teochew brides can marry a groom who will always have good income and able to feed the bride well and give her good life.

3. When enter female and male house for tea ceremony, groom must take ALOT of food (pile as high as possible) for bride to eat. And bride not supposed to finish up the food. The remaining food is the Yu2, will need to be kept in a bowl on top of the fridge and for it to Huat until 1 mth later then can throw away = Signifies always have enough to eat and Huat Huat Huat!!!

4. I think this we all know is not to burn finished the dragon and pheonix candle so that there is yuan2 fen4 left for the younger generation to find their love ones and get married too.

lsntyl

tat will definitely stress him. :p I actually tested my hubby on the hokkein song a few nights before the wedding. He had no probs singing it. But on the actual day, he said his mind froze and couldn't think. :p

popeye_gal

jolene,
i dun't know must not burn finish the dragon and pheonix candle. Need to change the dragon and pheonix candle if the first want burn finish?

hi ...
you can go to see mt AD pic and view my mum's clothes..not really that glam, but presentable.
you can try OG for cheong sum.

hi keer...
i know its hard for you to think about marriage now...but the wedding have to go on... it can bring good luck too..

jolene428

I think cannot change the candles leh... My mother said must buy a not too big and not too small candles so that can leave at least 1/3 of the candle left lor! I think very impt nt to burn away ur next generation yuan fen

My mother said actually if u not teochew but if want follow eat the mian xian etc also can ^^ So if you are hokkien or cantonese and can find the list of ingredients can ask your mothers cook for you too
Anyway is for good significance mah!

Ohh one more is I think u all also know le... is it's best that your mothers must return something from among each of the things brought over for GDL....Like the cakes - must return even numbers, the PL mst return some oso even if want to take most, the dao tiao mui tiao oso return abt half (the other half bring back to female hse for tea ceremony) and the wedding tables must return at least abit also. Coz it signifies that you eat 'finished' your Son in law and end up nothing left for the brides!

Ehhh angbao from guy to gal on GDL hor, i first time heard abt this Liu4 Li3 angbao that is like miscellaneous... so other than PL, the bride's mother can use the money from this angbao to pay for the angbaos for the jiemeis/brothers/PG/VG etc. And if your grandparents bao u any angbao, can use the money here to bao back to them. U heard of this?

keer13

Hi Sotong &amp; Cynthia - Thanks for your advices. Yeah, think what you gals say make sense too. I feel better now. The only worry is that if my dad is still in ICU during my wedding date, I feel guilty not waiting for him to be discharge to attend my wedding. And, I don't know what others will say behind my back that if I continue to conduct my wedding. As if I still have the mood to prepare wedding. Although I don't have mood at all. Haiz.. And, his condition is very unstable now so very tough to make any decision. If touch wood, he can't make it, I really don't know if I should still continue or postpone the wedding? Appreciate any advices.

Yu Hua sounds good. The price is still reasonable. Ok, I will check it out with my mum. Anyway, Chinatown is very near SGH. :p

Agree OG prices are steep but they have very nice elegant CS for mums.

Yes, whykeen is really good but guess they are too expensive. My hubby also objected to the price. Lucky him that they are book on my AD. But, I'm happy to find a not too bad freelance VG at a reasonable price at $900 + $200 for express highlights. Anyone keen, please let me know. His fliming &amp; editing are quite good at the rate he charge.

jolene428

tricky qns.. coz even if the mothers take tables, may also return majority of the amt mahh...

And pingjin supposed to return partial also for good siginificance..

Will you discuss with your mothers how much she taking first?

I think Normally will give about $1888 to $2888 of Pingjin and will return $888-$1888 back...

jolene428

but she ask for $2888 lah.. coz she said is the 'market rate' in my family lor... wah lau... stressed...

U spoke to ur mother before?