(2008) Brides of year 2008

jo_vin

Jane, dont let all these things affect u ya? U must stay happy!!

Jolene, my mum wont be keeping the ang baos for the tables she wanted. Cos she utd that we are paying for the tables ourselves. Initially she wanted, then that time when we met in-laws (in-laws is my hubby's grandparents) to discuss, they say will give some pin jin. Then my dad rem my mum wanted to keep the ang baos for the tables, then my dad say, 'got pin jin liao u still wan the ang baos from the tables ah?'. Haha.. then we all laugh and my mum say no need lor. But she got tell me that she would like to keep abit as 'yi si' la.. I can utd her pt also. My hubby also can utd so quite lucky for me..

Charma97, the day that u c ur layout will be the day my hubby comes back!! 12th Oct. Hehe.. Let's look forward to this date together!!

Jane, only $23 n they say no money? Wah.. really very evil wor.. No wonder u so angry with them... 'ren ren!!' Wah!! Ur MIL is so bad!! U sleeping halfway and she just come in off the aircon? Walau.. U really very cham. Then u on back after she go out la? Haha.. N lock the door again. Else go buy a latch, only inside can open. *evil* Haha..

Yaya, ur MIL like tat, u better engage nanny. Later she nag nag, say wah, still hv to take care of baby for u la, or take money from u all. Better avoid.. After reading all ur story, ur MIL and Jolene's mother sounds like my hubby's mother!! Money faced de. But lucky for me, no need to stay with them cos hubby since young not staying with them le. So most of the things settled by his grandparents. Sad in some sense also la. U know? His parents just got to know we are getting married in Nov. Sssshhh...

Lost, luckily u break down and burst out everything one day. Glad that everything is fine now and u nvr make the decision of leaving! Jane, u also gei gei one day breakdown la, then burst everything out! Maybe next time ur MIL also dont dare to anyhow do or say things like Lost's situation. Aiyo, so many ppl staying in one house. Can feel ur anticipation to moving in ur new house. N i utd when u say about the nephew! I hate no manners kids!! U just scold him la, anyway he's still a kid and should be taught some manners lor. If for me, i dont care one, just scold. Cos i cant stand kids who have no manners. Now dont teach, wait till when then teach? Right?

jo_vin

TanLee, ur FIL same thinking as my hubby's ah ma!! She also dont understand that we have to arrange the tables swee swee. Then she say, aiya, no need so troublesome la. Just give her 4tables then she tell them then who turns up just turns up lor. I wan to faint after hearing this but dont wan to be rude so dont know how to explain. Then stupid hubby also dont explain. Damn angry.

TanLee, u gg to chinatown 2mr or next sunday? Cos we are gg on next sunday! Hehe.. If its next sunday, skali i can see u! I rem ur face!! Cos u very pretty pretty, with 2 big dolly eyes!!

Jolene, why ur dasao and bro cannot attend ur wedding?? My dasao also pregnant but they also attend.

Pinky81, i also have 7jiemeis, when i had the gathering, 2 also cannot turn up. Then 1 of them who turned up say maybe cannot be my jiemei liao. Sad also..

Charma97, my wedding is 27th. N i intend to complete giving out the cards in end Oct. So give urself about 3-4 weeks beforehand i think should be fine.

Rommie, glad tat things are all fine for u!

cacky

Thanks for your well wishes gals! Hope the day went well for the October 4th brides too! My wedding day was a beautiful day where I got to savour every single moment.

It wasn't hurried, I had time to sit down with my jie meis, chat with my relatives. In the evening, a little gan cheong before dinner started but after that, it was a breeze. My dinner finished before 11pm.

Coz it was a weekday and we didn't want our guests to be home too late coz' they have to work the next day. We only had 1 march-in such that they can sit through the rest of the dinner to enjoy the food. Saves us the trouble to think of 2nd march-in etc.

Hehehe. To the rest of the brides-to-be, remember, you only have this one special day. Savour every moment of it.

Remember the look on your loved ones faces. I remembered the smiles on my parents and it brought me warmth.

ceo38

Hi gals, so long no come in tis forum liaoz. Ive been so bz lately. Stressed til my forehead got outbreak of pimples!! So terok now my skin

I only go c my pics for the first x on 1 Oct. I m kinda upset. Cos I 12 buy bk all e soft copies of my pics but my BS charges so ex. 1.6K!!!! Faint...

I dnt 12 spend 2 mh on tis cos we have other expenditures for the wedding to spend on. My BS jus wnt budge at all on the price. End up I decided to buy e soft copies but however read-only files. Tat means cnt upload, cnt attach, cnt print :'(

I so envy u all...can upload pics on multiply. I guess I can only upload e 27 pictures tat I am entitled to that is my album pics only. Sigh...turn off.

charma97

Yeah Jo-vin, let's look forward to the day come. one more week to go..

Thanks for the advise ladies.

Yeah I will be using 2 different boxes. One is DIY by myself, the other one is borrow from my friend.

sportyangel

cacky : im sure ur day was so beautiful ... cant wait for my own day

i almost feel like vov 08 brides already, coz my date will be d end of oct ... still long way to go

anyway, i cant wait to hear from d 4th oct brides story bout their stories ...

TO ALL 5TH OVT BRIDES : jia yo for today ... kya 5th oct already ... be preety its ur day, enjoy n jia yo

sportyangel

cacky : im sure ur day was so beautiful ... cant wait for my own day

i almost feel like nov 08 brides already, coz my date will be d end of oct ... still long way to go, sigh cant wait

anyway, i cant wait to hear from d 4th oct brides story bout their stories ...

TO ALL 5TH OCT BRIDES : jia yo for today ... kya 5th oct already ... be preety its ur day, enjoy n jia yo

lost_in_space

wah.. so long thread again sia.. need time to digest liao..

Jovin.. not pass the angpows to matchmaker.. is pass the fate coins to the matchmaker if u have one.. ask her to put 1 BIG & 1 small packet of fate coin in each of cabinet/drawers of ur new room.. if u still sleeping in ur own room, maybe u put it @ his room ba.. not too sure abt this.. it is done during GDL..
i'm having mine next sat.. keep u all updated next week on GDL stuffs :D

the meaning of pyjamas that i was told by the shopowner - to have a long life (cos both top and bottom are long one.. long sleeves and long pants for both bride and groom) u say long sleeves & long pants in cantonese u will know..

I didn't want my wedding day to be ruined.. so must be brave to say out things which i dun like and dun wan to happen
same thinking as my hubby haha..

jovin the nephew thing is jane one not mine.. mine is SIL haha.. u got confused liao lah..

as for the teaset, i bought mine at Amandadreamweaver @ people park hawker centre level 2, abt 38 bucks.. i bought 2 sets.. cos 1 set for bride and 1 set for groom.. cos my mother's teaset (the one used during her wedding) dun know put where liao.. supposed to use hers one lah..

by the way, i will be sending out all invitation cards next sunday
so can use this as a reference, my ad is 8 Nov... abt 1 mth before ur AD, send out the cards, 2 weeks before AD - RSVP, 1 week before AD - finalise seating arrangement..

jane, u got to "ren" since u are going to stay with them.. me going to move out soon, so i can heck care and say what i like
+ i got hubby's backup.. of cos cannot be too much lah.. just say in proper manner what to be done and not to be done lor..

gals, do we have a list showing all AD, GDL, venue thingy? think should have 1 ba.. very confused who is who liao.. :D

dzxz

Hi Hi..
Though my AD is next year Nov..Can check with u all.. me and my HTB is sharing the whole wedding tin..so we have all the say..ke ke mil have no say..we are thinking to give my mum maybe say 6 tables, & these 6 tables ang bao give all to my mum. Then of course my mum still got more relative to invite. I know supposly my mum should pay for those extra tables and ang bao she take..But I decide to pay for her all the tables and take the ang bao (except for those 6) as we need the ang bao to cover...

Is there any right or wrong?? Will this reflect bad on me?
In fact my mum is anything de...she very understanding..I also got talk to her regards to this issue...I even ask her am I bad or what..she say no ke ke but mummy always dote the daughter ma...sure say no de...

So anyone can give me advised..as we both are paying for all the things including the GDL so need some ang baos to cover the dinner lo sigh....

Seems that nowadays we couple will pay for all the wedding things..I feel this is better lei cos its our wedding ma..yee dont want later the MIL pay then future complain WOW I pay for this pay for that then now I no respect for them ke ke ...

rayrachel

viv> haha...ur HB working on ur BD..my HB gg reservist during my BD...sianz.. but my BD is on Sun..
he may get to book out..see how..sian loh.. sigh....

cat> we can meet up twice loh... that is one oct outing..and one nov outing.. hehhe..

I dun mind gg for both days.. diff people will be ard ma..

waxie> okay.. will let u know if i see it.. used to eat this too..

haha. u preggy???

All>MMmmm..anyone is preggy already??? im not! hehehe.

So sianz... super sianz today....

Had a minor accident that caused my Big left toe nail to be cracked half way across my toe....
it bled...went to the clinic..had it cut off... and doc gave me a stupid jab..that is useless...
and he can tell me...maybe the dosage wasnt enough... he gave me 1ml... asked if i wanna another jab?!??!
No lo! The jab is more painful than if he just cut off the nail! Kaoz!!!

So i tolerated it...and then i cant sleep last nite..coz...it was hurting....
and my Big Toe is now Big Fat Toe!
Urgh....

And i'm feeling so depressed and down now..sianz... i dunno why....

it seems so difficult to be leaving with my parents.... i dunno its mum's expectations or what...
nothing i do seem to please her....and i'm getting so sick of it...
how i wish we can leave this place..and it may be better if we are staying with my ILs.
i dunno...maybe another set of problems will surface.... sianz..

ermmm

Valerie, you can try Daniel Yan at Suntec. They are having moving out sale. My mum just got 2 dresses there on friday, and she is very very happy with the bargain she got.

strawbsc

Hi everyone!!!
waxie > maybe in sheng siong??It think so lah...

YL > how was it??I was looking at the typhoon and den I tot u...what a shitty time...
The weather report says the sept is not really a time for typhoon so if there was really a typhoon coming..it will be huge and serious one...

Luckily my wedding was a day before the typhoon manz...Imagine no one coming ur wedding~~~Ehh~~~a empty wedding BQ...lol

True...U and ur hubby has experienced the worst typhoon in taiwan..My whole family was so excited abt it...eh...(very mountain tortoise)..

rach > poor thing...poor dear...must be very painful ah....
Eh...sometimes it might be better stay with ur own parents oh...ILs...hmm....as u said it might even more hard to please other party's parents ...

13 oct..I cant again~~~wah~~~so sad...

lsntyl

wb, clare! Wah, I saw you photos on your blog. You look great with short hair! Taiwan was ok lah. We like your parents, quite mountain tortoise so found the typhoon quite exciting. luckily managed to do PS before the typhoon struck too. Although didn't get to do all we wanted but still, trip was quite fun.

rach>wah, hope you get better soon. Hmm, personally, I'm v grateful we're staying at my parent's. Much less adjusting for me. Eventhough my hubby's side are all v nice to me, my FIL smokes which I really don't like.

gingerbread_gal

Meiling,
I'm the type who will flip photo albums now and then......but i think will just stick to my original PG cos he still has some nice photos...will just 'brief' him on my expectations when we meet :p
you know, i made up my decision on Sat then when i met a married friend on Sat evening, she told me that now, the only memories she has of her wedding are those through her photos and video and she has so much joy going through them....and then I wavered in my decision again! Heh! And it didn't help that one of my fav PG is still available on my wedding day....
See, still see-sawing even after i said I've made up my mind :p Actually one key factor is that I thought it won't be nice to 'dump' my PG now and that if i get 2 PG, then there might be a clash of egos....I'm so sorry for ranting here!

Oh ok, ya i will just give the AP money depending on the 'amount' of work being relegated to them...

msclaire,
wow, twice the budget?? nvm lah, once in a lifetime! as long as you have no regrets!
I nearly wanted to bust the budget again by getting a wedding cake and cupcakes but in the end, i decided not to...but that didn't do much to keep budget intact :p
like Lost, we haven't update our budget for a long time too :p

flora_bliss

Hi gals. I'm back from photo selection. As expected, the photos was not shot in the style I like. So I can save the money on topping up the pics for the album. Feeling a little disappointed but the good thing is I don't have to spend thousands of money to buy extra photos.

Valerie, my mum and MIL both tailored their EG at the same place where I did my CS, which is Max Couture at Katong Shopping Centre.

Happy that I did my ROM registration online over the weekend
Now busy shopping for jewellery... wedding bands, jia zhuang and si dian jin... care to share where you ladies got yours from?

msclaire

florabliss, there's always the AD album to look forward to!

Jac, i guess all this while we were pretending to keep the budget low. Although we are only doing a churh ceremony followed by lunch reception, a lot of the things we opted for the more expensive option. For eg, getting a custom make ap box (instead of diy), renting 30 tables n accompanying chairs for the hall (instead of using those already present), building tentage with platform, etc. Cake is one thing we're still debating on. Waiting for cake tasting to see if they can win our taste buds (& money) over.

dodolet

My MIL wanted something simple and chinese looking and can be worn again....*Crack Brain*. She wanted something OTR only and dun want any mtm.

So we went to yu hua and got her stuff there.

Wah everyone is back from honeymoons.

I think staying with hb (and inlaws) need a few weeks to adjust. Some funny daily habits which you never know off will be disclosed slowly haha!

~sblbee~

really sorry i was really busy over d wkend, my fh had juz tore his ligament on his feet....he was given 5 days' MC but i wonder will he recover in time, tis adds to my worries
....i had to do my final fitting wif my gal fren on sat n den went housewarming on sta nite n den another JMs' meeting yest....had been a eventful wkend for me....

msclaire n lost,
dun worry, im wif u.....my budget burst a long time ago n now im trying to save every single penny as far as possible....

jac,
heheheh....im glad dat d sensible U is back again!!! i understand wat u've been thru cos im always indecisive :p im glad dat cos of d limited time i have now, i dun have d luxury of time to make any more changes :p

florabliss,
hi gal, dun b too disappted...at least u managed to save some $ :p im sure those dat u selected r really pretty n u can make into a v nice album....will b looking forward to see ur pics

~sblbee~

lsntyl,
thanks!!!! i certainly hope so too....it doesnt really help when so many "gd" things happened to us during tis period:-
1) cant confirm our honeymoon plan due to d shortage of ppl
2) more n more last min kite flyers, may end up wif many holes
3) his leg injured

waxie24

rach> no la.. i'm not preggy.. cos i bought another brand from NTUC.. but the taste isnt the same.. so was looking for it.. take care of ur toe.. must be real pain..

all> i found the wu hua guo... my friend found it at marina parade.. shop is like uncle tibits kind.. hehe..

vernwyen

rach:
saw your injured toe... ouch! it must have hurted bad! at times my nail chipped into the flesh alittle i already felt the pain. Remember to dab dry after bath eh

green:
not me eh, my HM in oct :p looking much forward to it!
Indeed, first few days staying with inlaws i felt conscious. Now better oredi, coz they very late then come home and i can have the whole house to myself.. ho ho ho!

rumi78

my mum is 60+ yrs auntie and cannot wear dress or gown and not modern. Any recommendation of where to get elegant and ti mian clothes for her to wear?

Pref is OTR one. Where is Yu Hua btw?

uk_fung

YEAH~ hee hee enjoy my wedding very much (except the part that my eyes got a little infection so abit red red and blur vision) Everything went smoothly... very happy very satisfied and VERY TOUCHED... my hubby is full of suprise for me hahaha he give a super speech that nite and make me cry on stage! hahaha and I get to see alot of old friends... really touch that they make their time to my wedding really fun... YESH your turn to enjoy now... relax... really got to clear all the task few days before the AD so that u can just relax relax.. so nails... anything suprise/ changes that come up.. just take it easy coz everything will be fine... hubby got to help and your xiongde jiemei will really help you alot.. just let them handle
Keep smiling ya

strawbsc

rach>nov oso cannot...I coma back on the 4th nov...coz' y leave starts on the 5th nov...
You have to take care of ur toe...So scary...So ah...my internet was suddenly cut off last nite..lol

yl > yah..I cut my hair super short liao..lol...I m sick and tired of tying it..Lucky!!!U managed to do PS??Great!So when the photos will be out?I m excited for u..

lsntyl

clare>donno when photos will be out. We waiting for PG to chase us cos we haven't paid him yet. :p But you got facebook? Cos some of the candid shots from the PS was taken and posted onto his assistant's facebook account.

rayrachel

waxie> haha. okay... dun eat too much..its all preserved.. hehe.

spoiltbabe> yah.. thanks.. hope it recovers fast. no pretty toennail.. so ugly!!! cannot wear covered shoes..yet open toes are ugly!! haha...

YL> you saw my short hair too? hehe..

clare> oh.. u back on the 3rd Nov ah??

mmmm.. how abt we have the nov outing on 17th??
Coz 10th is our monthly anniversary.. haha.. better to keep myself free.. kekeke.. :p

if we have it on 13th Oct and 17th Nov, how about it??

Oct 13 - rach

Nov 17 - rach

lsntyl

why all the gatherings on Mon arh? tiring leh. start of work week.

rach>yep, saw it but ended up focusing on your toe. :p

I permed my hair before the wedding too...

fumiko_neko

ya lo
i prefer wkends..but u all wkend wan to dating rite :p
whose house reno liao? all we go to tat person new house?
or wan to come my hse again?

crown

Rach, take it easy. It¡¯s not easy to stay together. I am also trying very hard. A lot of nights cant have a good night sleep. I missed my own bed.

Clare and Rach cut short hair? YL perm hair? I also perm hair after my wedding. Hmm, this coming outing will be fun. A lot of new hair styles
new looks for new life

lsntyl

my hair permed b4 my wedding. ok ok lah. makes it easier to style for PS. oh, I might not be able to make it for 13 oct le. will confirm once I know.

Neko>good idea but no home yet leh.

rayrachel

YL> hahha.. coz mondays freeier.. hahaha... but fridays are out for me... but Oct Fridays I'm available.. but 10th i'm not..
So if anyone wanna change to a friday for OCt, I'm okay..

Only Oct though..

hahaha... so my toe became the focus.. hehe.. ooh!! u permed! wont that make it shorter?
ANy photos to seeeeeeeeeeeeeeee?? hehehe..

cat> weekends. OCt i'm out.. Nov gotta see how.... which weekend..

SUndays usually tiring.. so sat are fine for some weekends..

i dun mind ur house la.. so near to mine.. hehehe..

crown> bed is okay..sleep is not a prob for me too.. hehehe..

hahha.yah.. we shall see on 13th Oct..

fumiko_neko

if u all ok...we can org a sat evening or sun afternoon for a gathering at my hse again..
but i will b away from 7th nov to 25th nov.
so any wkend dates before 7th nov or after 25th nov..i m ok..
my hse at yishun..v near to MRT..

baobei123

Karen Francise Tey (ceo38)

to buy e soft copies but however read-only files. Tat means cnt upload, cnt attach, cnt print :'(

how come like tat.. hmm... u paid $$ but cant upload, attach or print. where got such a thing