(2008) Brides of year 2008

weddings arrr..weddings...so many things to prepare! i didn't know mine was over nearly a year..looking back, I seem to be so blur, confuse..all i remember is how i struggle with RSVP and the montage. the rest of preparations, i have very faint idea.

then, now my SIL wedding, i see weddings in different prespective. then i realised that there are so many things to consider, plan, prepare. why didn't i feel it this way last time? I think I am just too blessed to have kind souls whom i just "delegate" duties to them..gosh!

but i do enjoy talking to brides and remind me of those "good old days" of BTB feeling, a bit mixed feeling to be exact..

msclaire

Maybe can we get the restaurant to identify the table with something? Banner that says "ALL YOU GETTING MARRIED ALREADY PLS GATHER HERE" heheeheh. Scully more pple join us than we think.

bedazzle

rach,
I've read ur posts on the complains... gosh... it's really terrible. But wat's done cannot be undone. I'm sure your guests can understand that all these are beyond your control. But if I were you, I'll definitely write a letter to OCC and let them learn from their mistakes and also let more couples in singaporebrides know about it so that they can be forewarned.

You lucky girl, strike 4D. God has really been good to you =) That settles all your financial problems!

spoiltbabe,
where was ur banquet held? can cover even the band? that's very good!

my guests were very generous with their blessings and I received more $$ than expected and really thank God for all this.

Despite the hiccups in the above post, my dinner turned out pretty well. The waiters and waitresses are prompt and helpful. And guests have commented that the service and food are quite good.

Really looking forward to seeing my photos and videos for the day...

gingerbread_gal

haha, msclaire, that's a funny idea!!
I think most of us recognise each other esp since those who have turned up in the previous ones...and seems like most are quite punctual and when u reach, you just see this group of ladies chatting in a very excited manner and you'll know its us!

flora, good to hear that then!
FS gave us a few printers and i haven't looked through yet. You sending your cards for printing already? I will use your timeline as a gauge
have u checked out lil'art?

anyways, the weather seems pretty good this week and i'm worried...cos this means there's a possibility of less good weather next week...

rayrachel

wyen> no leh.. honeymoon abit boring.. haahha.. :p
Yah...then we can have our gathering soon...

waxie> ya.. shall see how next week..

wah. so you made a loss of $7k?
how were ur AP like?

YL> yeah loh.. sianz.. post something there la... reply to me or something.. i wan them to know how their bad service can eventually affect them..
I wanna our compensation!! emotionally and financially!!!

dor> wah.. hahaha,...my sabo only lasted 30min.. but my jiemeis managed to do what they wanted and planned to do.. it was chop chop for all.. hehhee...
And the guys were late by 30min somemore.. so we chop chop.. but still get everything done.. cool sisters i had.. haaha.. :p

My technician and AV were taken over by our XiongDis.. OCC just had to ensure the food and service is taken care of... which obviously was not..
so.. we are making hell out of them!!!

wah..... u got demand for compensation or not??? or u paid liaoz??

thats good.. i have 9 pax smsing me they cant make it between 3-5pm..super sian loh..
attendance was like.... 90% i guess.. every table average 1 person didnt come... yah.. bad...

HB already shot them an email..waiting for discussion next week... wont let this off so lightly..
mentally, emotionally and financially we are at disadvantage loh..sianz!!
EVerything had to go welll...except no serving of drinks!! sianz!!

spoiltbabe> yeah.. chances are slim.. but we'll try to see what we can get.. u all help me la.. post on the OCC thread.. coz i know they got read de...

Share ur own experiences with ur own hotel...and compare it with OCC...then they'll know how bad it is... :/
I'll stop brooding once they give us a satisfactory answer...

wah..thats nice... good for u..

msbean> we were told its 2 servers to 3 tables.. but obviously.. we didnt see that many servers at all!!
Even my guests mentioned not possible.. more like 1 server to 3-4tables... u go post on OCC thread leh....
yah.. guess what?? Dessert out at 1035pm.. noodles out at 1010pm.. half an hour..people staring in the space waiting for photo taking loh...
waste time sitting there.. if they can spread out properly...then my guests wont feel so bored rite????
we ended at 10:45pm...

Pay already ma... paid on the day itself... sianz... see what kind of compensation we can get lo...

All> have posted my animation, express highlights, AD pics taken by 2nd PG on multiply.. take a look!

Still waiting for my main PG's pic.. soooo exciting...

nelle

Cynthia, I used to be the unofficial organiser...hahahahaha.... till I am really busy with work/business trips and the house renovation that I seldom come into the forum.

So this will be the 4th gathering I'm going.

bedazzle

Rach,

Haha... actually we nvr sabo the guys much, only ask them to eat the "suan tian ku la". But the haggling for the angbao was v long lor. they keep asking for more.

how much your hubbies bao for the gate crash angbao? I'm thinking whether mine is too little...
I have 9 jie meis. Abt $60 each.

waxie24

rach> my angbao ar.. hm.. ppl give average $80 per pax.. cannot even cover my cost price, a lot of kids.. that's why loss.. 7K considered ok liao.. i'm expecting more than that initially~

mine is buffet, even before 10, ppl who eaten their fill left le.. before the band end at 10.30.. we kenna sabo to do a dance..

our gatecrash budget 388 for 6 JMs.. but brought spare cash.. in the end.. my Jms fierce.. they snatch everything hubby had on him (including spare $) total close to $600

lsntyl

I've a terrible headache and still so much work to do.

what games you gals use to sabo the guys?

rach>if got time, I post. But my banquet not yet leh. only after this weekend then I tou li ku hai...

happinessbliss

Rach < don't brood over it ya, The most important is to enjoy married life...hehehe... see what and how OCC can compensate. Squeeze them as much as u can...hehehehe

All < Wishing all a blissful marriage....

waxie24

mine 1st gate: pick the correct key (2 chance)..2nd gate: drink with long straw (8 straw connected together to finish a cup of coffee+tea), waxing (8 pcs of hair/fur of at least 2cm long).. 3rd door: give 2 reason why he wanna marry me..
punishment : to pick from "suan tian ku la".. end with finishing all the punishments..
hubby to string a bead bracelet n wear for me (due to time constraint, this was omitted)..

piyo21

hi jasch,

I'm 2 days later than you.
By now, you should have done the follow.
1. Taken yr PS
2. Food tasting.
3. Draft yr guest list.
4. Printing yr invitation cards.
5. Starting to buy GDL stuff.

oic..understand!
like i say, I am the "Salty people" here...haha..never mind, i happily take over to organise this time round.
(cynthia no shame)..me not as good as nelle for sure cos I never organise such outings before...

ops..i think the gals will start throwing rotten eggs at me.. OUCH!!

~sblbee~

providencia,
yah....it's a bonus if i can attend cos im so busy but i wld really love to see d beautiful gowns cos i've yet to choose my WG :p sigh....starting to feel d stress alrdy cos it's juz 1 mth away to my AD

cynthia,
no lah...it's always nice to have an additional person ard but since many of u r dec btbs, will feel a bit left out cos i guz nelle, providencia n i r d odd balls :p
oh so u mean dat u r married? congrats! so nice of u to b planning for ur sil's wedding, wat a lucky gal

nelle,
same here...it's d 4th gathering im going....hope dat there'll b more to come

gals,
so confirmed how many going? cos we need to book seats on dat day rite? most prob i'll b 1 of d few earlier ones....

sportyangel

my FH will wear his uniform for the ROM after that he will change to batik from indonesia
for tea ceremony, he will wear kua

what concern me is only my MIL who wants me to wear kua instead of my ownn cheongsam... but my AD are on d last oct so we still got time to find 1

nelle

Mei, not sure if they accept reservations...I don't think so. If you are reaching there early, see if you can ask the service staff to arrange for about 10 pax seating.
Thanks...sorry that you and flora are always doing this.

happi_bride

wax> how come yr jie mei so fierce/ snatching all $ on your hubby?

there is one strategy for saving yr hubby in case he get milked of all cash - ask him to go late... v late until 5 mikn before auspicious time... so yr jie mei no choice except to let him go in. your bro must know how to save the groom.. just ask v loudly "who dare to go against the auspicious hour of opening the door?" i bet no jie mei dare to anmswer the consequences..so they will have to open door on time lor...

my jie mei v mild..gate crash 10 min i think,anyway thwe driver overslept so they had to drive the bridal car to fetch the driver instead. my gate crash only include eating suan tian ku la, guessing my hobby/ my fav food, writing his vow for me n also to make him sing a song. actually all i planned one - my jiemei say i think and ask them to do can liao.. each abt $100 AB i hope its ok..

LsnTyl> my HM will in japan. photos not yet.. i only got the AD photographer to take pic.. i was so forgetful that i did not bring my camera and forgot to ask my frens to take too! my AD photographer say photos only ready in ab 2-3 weeks time...

spoiltbabe> probe my hubbt also useless... he just say got people one lar, me lor, my father lor, my sister lor will do the recept. and on that day, i just dont care.. i sit in the room n do makeup n dress up. i dont care what happened.. in the end, really leh.. he, his dad, his sister, and his relatives all know how to move themselves into all the relatives tables to sit in tables of 10, such that my reserve is not opened at all. anyway i also had people last day sms me not coming and also no AB lor.. i told my hubby i wanna sms them back to say that i never see their AB leh.. (made a loss abt <2k) cos i had abt 10 people not coming, relatives giving quite small AB cant cover basic cost, some frens/ colleagues also gave borderline amt, and i receive a $100 centrevoucher too....

Dear gals,
How about outing on 31 Oct (Friday)? Then everyone will be back from honeymoons.

My work is getting hectic and tough to cope these months, so I need to OT at nights now. Hope I can survive through everything like what you all have done!

eunicet

Cynthia: What kind of cards did you print with Focal Ad? And you say not as nice means what ah? Cos I am only intending to print postcards...So nice and shiny I happy liao!
I think any shop prints postcards though...

LingLing: What kind of GDL stuff do we need ah??

flora_bliss

Jac> I've not submit the printing form to my hotel coordinator yet. Still deciding what to print on the inserts. Anyway, they only give me Lil-art. Wat are the things that I need to check out huh?

Nelle> This is our 4th gathering. I'm glad we managed to continue with it. And I only help to "chope" seat on the 1st and 2nd gathering. The 3rd one I was late, remember? I may be able to go there earlier oso coz tat day will be on leave.

Rach,
I think the banquet team is horrible! How can they ruin your happy wedding like that? Hope the higher management will know about it and compensate you in some ways, at least give you dinner vouchers.

So far, other places compensate guests for their poor service by giving them vouchers.

jasch

Thank Ling Ling for listing out all these!!
Hmmm.. tink afterall I am not that behind time yet.. only left with no.2 and 5. not done yet.. hehe

~sblbee~

nelle,
no prob....i see wat i can do, hopefully i can go off early dat day cos im always wking late these days, so stressed :p but im sure dat i wont b d last one to arrive :p

hi meiling
i already married last year, had my customery cum ROM in december..so ..i am the oddest. anyway, I am glad I wasn't rejected by you girls..you are so nice..
i wish to expand my social circle also.

hi nelle and flora,
i can come early..i usually knock off at 5pm.

does you girls have multiply? can add me? my ID is rockenton
thanks ya.

hello flora bliss
things to check are
1) your parents in law name both english and chinese
2) your dad's name, english and chinese
(check how they going to insert ur mum's name)
3) you and hubby's name in english and chinese.

-- NOTE: pls check the chinese characters are correct.

4) check your RSVP contacts
5) date of wedding in western and luner date
6) details of wedding, i.e. if you have ROM, what is the time and place?
7) wedding time (AM / PM), and ballroom name?

hopet this helps!

from Salty Girl =D

flora_bliss

Cynthia> Based on wat you mentioned above, I guess the printing form from Lil-Art is rather comprehensive. It has everything stated on the form, and I just need to fill it up. For our English inserts, we would probably not going to mention our parent's names. Will juz write something like "together with our parents".

hi florabliss
indeed they have everything..but in the end they still make mistakes. its natural to make mistakes cos I have in printing industry before so I can understand their position.
as customer, we can't rely on them for accurancy. better get a few person to check the details.

hello Eunice
those normal wedding cards
not nice as in..i find their designs not as fancy as lil'art and t-dragon. that is very subjective.

if you want post cards, they also have...
personally speking, their tradition wedding cards (red color one) looks nicest.

providencia

Ha ha, Mei, didn't realise I was an oddball till you mention it, now a bit shy to attend, ha ha. Need help with collecting the free tickets? I suppose one month is sufficient time for you to choose a WG, I don't want to worry you.
Spoilt for choice?

cynthia, very curious, what do you do? how come perks so gd, can knock off at 5? I want your job leh.

Sorry gals, can't help to chop seats, cos just too far from town.

raspberriez05

Hi jojo
if u're still looking for envelope seals, u can use these pretty embossed stickers that i over-bought :p used them as seals for my invites &amp; thank u gifts. i'v got heaps extra that im lookin to sell away.

Bought it at 10pcs for $2, letting it go at 10pcs for $1.50 cuz i need to clear the space! Have got 4 different designs. If u're interested i can email the pics to u

piyo21

it depends on yr dialect so it's a bit hard for me to tell u. U can go to those shop selling GDL stuff, u will be able to tell u

actually not only dialiet, but depend on how "tradition" you are.
things like bath tub, spilton are excluded cos we dun use them...

some ppl find those GDL things very old fashion and they rather buy from department stores. but i find them unique.

aiyo..u all dun say odd ball lar..the more u say, the more i pai say leh!!!

haha...my job huh.. sometime work late sometimes work early lor. the price of going home early, have a quick lunch and come to work early.

i dun mind chop seats lar..but pls dun fly my kits hor... =P

rumi78

hey girls,

I am thining of making customized invitation cards with our picture on the cover page. tdragon, lil'art or focal -ad is cheapest? Quality also ok one?

summer_ice

hey jasch, our AD on the same day! hehe

i have yet to do the below:
- take PS!! super late already..
- print invitation cards
- confirm JP
- confirm wine supplier

we're only done with food tasting and now still drafting out the guest list..and GDL stuffs we have been slowly buying over the past few months, next is to order the cakes.

and i intend to do my own guest book, so that is another item on the 'to-do list'

hello..summer ice
if you really do not have time, no need to DIY guest book...hotel and bridal shop will provide. also you can buy from Precious moment.
in my 2 cents, confirm JP, wine supplier more important..and draft guest list.

when is your PS date?

hi xesthir
my 2 cents..no offence pls..
i think its not practical to print your pictures on the card. not only it's expensive but once wedding over, they throw away the card. i suggest you can print your pictures with your contact and mail it together with your invitation cards for friends only. then for relatives, after the wedding mail them your table photo to them...