(2008) Brides of year 2008

rayrachel

all> hihhii!!! sorry i MIA for sooo long...real busy..and tired.. hahaha..

dor> thanks!!!

u should have gotten a smaller size padding....

fanny, Ah Net> thanks!!!

The Face Shop> anyone using their products???? got a super good deal from Korea...will collate orders and order together..
I bought about $300+ to be used concurrently....will start using them once my current MU finishes...
hehehee...anyone wants let me know... its at least 30-50% cheaper loh..... dirt cheap!!!

looks like the thread is much quieter now.. hehehe.. Mmmm.....
Mine... was all good except for the service rendered by OCC>.. sigh...read from OCC to find out more....lazy to type anymore...
hahhhaha....

Life's back to normal...and work is starting... hehehhe...

Jiayou to the rest...ensure you gather feedback abt their service before u pay at the end of the day..

dun be like me...meeting them to settle some stuffs next monday..

happi_bride

done with mine too...
went well e except some hiccups during the day - driver overslept and did not arrive on time, resulting in groom team late b y 45 min. tea ceremony started late cos one relative is late by an hour! ended my bride side relatives had to wait v long...till abt 2pm then we finished all. my kua zip split open from the bottom to half way when i was in the car, and i had to cover using my hand throughout the ceremony.

dinner went well.. not too bad... gown was too long and i felt like tripping... i had 3 change of gowns!!! heeeee... thats what i liked best!

my banquet manager was very good - thumbs up! very responsible, efficient and effective! service was 100% good and im very very satisfied it!!!

some frens said food and the wine was good. well... now looking forward to my honeymoon coming next week!

flora_bliss

Thanks gals for your advice. But I think I'll still go ahead to have my mum's name on the card. Her greatest wish is to see her kids married, and most probably I'll be the only one doing so (coz my bro and sis has no intention to get married). Since she can't be around to witness my marriage, the very last I can do is to have her name on the card to show that she is marrying off her daughter.

Cynthia> no need to bring anything. Somehow we can just sense that we are meeting one another. I don't even need to bring my stuff cat as a mascot.

babyjj

jo_vin, they're rushing the job for me, normally not so fast de..

jolene, we bought a condo near my HTB place.. flooring and all mostly done le, just need some ID and furniture.. But I wana put mirrors in the living/dining room, so need to measure and order. Scared not enuff time.. hoping i can get my keys asap.. my dad doesn't do single units, his lobangs also normally dun do single units, lucky could get him to help me with my reno else if i get outside contractors sure cannt finish in time de.. u mean u once got $400 per pax for being jiemei?

I collected my inserts and finish writing the names and put into envelopes for about 50 pax already.. HTB and my tables ard 17, so we have 120 more to go.. Parents' tables we gave both sides 100 cards each they settle themselves.. ahhah... But even if the cards are ready we wont mail them out so soon.. scared too early when it comes to Nov pp forget le.. we're gg to distribute invites for frens in late Sep/early Oct. For relatives will distribute after GDL. tot of printing caricature stickers to seal the envelopes, but like very troublesome to source for design. so mayb dropping the idea..

jane, my GDL is 18 Oct, 1 day after yours.. haha so qiao, my AD also 1 day after yours and same as jolene's.. :p my HTB is teochew and im hainanese.. lucky his parents never say must go very early. Think will be asking my MUA to come ard 6.15am..

wa yvonne to reach HTB hse before 7am u gotta wake up very very early..! got surcharges for getting MUA, PG and VG to come early right? omg jane start makeup at 3??!! i tink i'll be panda liao.. >.< if parents never insist earli we'll stick to leave bride hse before 9am. My geomancer never say specific auspicious time, only say leave house by 9am. Some geomancers I notice specify even minute, eg 7.15am. O_O Duno if my geomancer zhun not lei..

i tried a turquoise gown too, was choosing between it and another pink gown. I like pink, but coz the pink gown is bubble gown, like my WG, i tot of choosing another. Next best was the turquoise one. Eventually chose the pink one coz i dun realli like to see myself in green or greenish tones, though frens and HTB say they like it.. u can see both these gowns in my multiply..

jo_vin's multiply id is marigold81 is it?

just back from food tasting.. so full....

ct_jo

Hi summer ice,
You might want to consider focal-ad. We had an appt with Stephen (person in-charge) two weeks ago, and sign up immediately cos we feel comfortable with his service, being very sincere and true.
Stephen took ard 2-3 working days to come back with the draft and according to him, he would need 1week to complete the printing after our confirmation on the draft. We took up hotstamping and was told that we can keep the stamp.

His charges are as follows:
Insert printing for 200pcs is $80.00 in matt gold print on either ivory or off white or light pink paper. If you need tracing paper, add $0.35 x qty + the printing charges.
Gold hotstamping is $80.00(block) + H/S $0.35 x qty on the normal insert (FOC).

baobei123

Hi Jo Jo yap need to reach before 7am so will wake up abt 3am like tat to prepare MUA will come at 4.15am ... ya lor.. early chgs..

me too juz came back fr food tasting

lilacbliss07

jojo>> keke icic.. ya lor i tin im the earliest bride here.. keke... i also dunno my geomancer zhun or not.. haiz just listen lor... haha...

ya jo_vin's multiply is marigold81... wah u and yvonne go food tasting huh.. so shiok.. keke.. i just went to my BS to try my gown again.. tinking of changing my AD EG.. but need to top up $300... haiz tin not changing le.. =(

rayrachel

fanny> thats great for u.. my gown was too long too..coz i was given the wrong can can...abit too old and too small..end up my gown very long...almost tripped many times.. but i still handled it well...

Everything was great....except for 0% given to my guests from OCC...super bad and lousy complaints received...sianz......

Now HM also over.. back to work and forum..but guess i'll not be in that frequent..but as best as i can..i'll be here...

green> when's next outing???

lsntyl

rach>glad you had a great wedding and honeymoon. wad happened at OCC? lazy to find the thread. Or you direct me there? :p in the end your angbao enough to pay the bill?

fanny>wah, how come your driver oversleep? got any pix? n where u going for your HM?

rayrachel

YL> not really sufficient..dad had to top up $20k for me...then breakeven.... coz bridal car struck 2nd prize on 30th Aug...so we had some spare cash... was blessed that Dad bless me and helped me to clear the bulk...

had $30 AP kind loh.... sianz..some never give...some untraceable...sianz....

vernwyen

YL:
sigh, we did not have an extra set of handycam, though we were not there to enjoy the performance throughout, i got friends asking me where did i engaged them
Colleagues raved about Bevlyn's professional singing. Her emcee speech (bilingual) was well delivered too

rach:
welcome back! Enjoyed your HM? quite a few of us already went through ours liao
Sep brides clearing soon

annabella

Hi Mrs Chiew,
Yup. Can save some $$$ bringing in our own beer.

Wanna know if yr husband suit for AD have been finalised? My BS co-ordinator is still in the process of sewing my MTM EG. I haven't try on the kau/cheongsum and my husband didn't even know what he's wearing on that day, is this okie? Coz my AD is first week of Oct.

oh..focal ad is another reputable printing company. my engagement cards was printed by them. and they are very flexible to give me addition 20 cards FOC cos i do not have enough.

very flexible!

personally speaking, focal ad design not as nice as lil'art.

so you can shortlist either t-dragon / lil'art or focal -ad.
choose one of them sure wun go wrong.

hi florabliss..i am just kidding..a cold joke from me... :p
hi meiling..
i am not a BTB (bride to be)... but just a busybody who started joining dec BTB thread and this thread cos I am entrust to plan my SIL's wedding this year...if really crowded then i will be the first one out.

babyjj

wow jane and yvonne u all gotta wake up very early... MUA, PG and VG all got surcharges?

my food tasting so-so only lei.. food cold and sharks fin and abalone got some very tough, not cooked enough i tink.. kindof worried.. if 1 table this standard, 40 tables how?? haiz...

porsche

annabella: mine in mid-oct...he has only selected 1 suit...still dunno what to wear for the 2nd look... i also havent seen or try the tea dress yet..haha..

waxie24

yl, babe> i tell u.. i forgotten to record the band performance.. i got a small part capture on the background~ argh.. my sister didnt do her job.. so regret.. my guests love bevlyn's performance too.. my cousin might be interested to get her for his wedding next yr

rach> glad u enjoyed your honeymoon... see wat u can do to OCC.. they shld compensate u some way or another~

i book a short trip to macau this November thru tiger air.. hubby say honeymoon postpone next yr cos he have projects to complete.. we also cleared our banquet $$.. top up 7K...

baobei123

yap... MUA is $20/hrs - so abt $60
PG &amp; VG is $80 each ....

did u told the banquet abt tat.. my food tasting quite satisfied...

lilacbliss07

ya my MUA is $50/hr.. so $150

PG - no surcharge
VG - $50

my food tasting also not satisfactory.. already gave my comments and they say will improve on it.. =P

baobei123

ok. atleast u mention to them.. abt the comment if not y go for food tasting..

Hi gals can check wif all of you will you all give thank you speech to ur guest ? i plan not to hv cos we got 47 tables to handle afraid very kan cheong and no time somemore will be quite nervious also..

lsntyl

aiyah, wasted about the performances. Saw Bevlyn perform live before. Was quite impressed. You 2 gals got her CD? Hubby bought it for me. Can pass you some mp3s from it if you want. But i think best if buy her CD to support support her.

Rach>wah, read through the OCC thread. shocked by their service. Hope you can get something out of them.

waxie>you will be hopping over to HK too?

gingerbread_gal

Flora,
i understand what you mean...have you checked with your in-laws abt it, just in case they have some reservations about it?
in any case, i'm sure the printers will have advise for you on the wordings...
which printer will you be using?
I haven't looked at the list of printers that my hotel has provided....

so meeting on 26th is confirmed?

hi ..26/09 is confirm
time:6.30pm

is nelle the in charge? so the girls can contact her in case they can't locate the rest?

bedazzle

Congrats to all girls!! I just had my AD last Sunday too... Everything turned out pretty well, though there were some screw ups too (mostly by the legends staff)...

- The morning gate crashing sabo session lasted 1.5 hours! cos the jie meis were too fierce and greedy.
- Rain fr 6pm - 7pm, just when the guests are coming in.
- Bus driver dunno the way to the venue and took > 1 hr to reach. By then almost all guests are already there.
- Banquet crew totally messed up. They were even arguing among themselves. AV technician and banquet coordinator couldn't be found at the most crucial moment at 7.45pm cos they went for prayer and break fast, when we are already ready to march in!!!
- Finally the AV technician and banquet coordinator was found after 10 min, but food was not ready yet!!! We had to delay the march in for another 10 min just to wait for the food to be ready. Total: 20 min wasted waiting for the banquet staff!!!

Apart from the above, everything turned out pretty well. Less than 5% of guest were not there, the attendance was v good. Didn't lose much money except the tables that were given to my mum.

hi florabliss
i suggest that ..you and hubby pay respect to her before the wedding is as good as your late mother "witnessing the wedding".
also both hubby and you can offer joss stick on her tablet on your AD is as good as well.

my 2 cents is..putting her name doesn't serve any purpose in "witness your wedding". another thing is, you can get emcee to announce...
ÎÒ½÷´ú±íMr X and Mrs£¬ ÐÂÀÉ(your hubby) name ¼Ò³¤ ¼° Mr X (your father), ÐÂÄï(your name) ¼Ò³¤¡£ÎÒÏëÐÅÒѹʵģ¨your name)ĸÇ×Ò²»áÔÚÌìÖ®ÁéΪ your name)¸Ðµ½¸ßÐÁ¡£

vernwyen

waxie:
i was alitte disappointed when my hubby couldnt get another handycam to record her performance... but he promised me to go watch her at one rochester... keke... tat compensate abit

YL:
oh yea, i bought her CD too, esp like the 'Play With Me' and her version of 'La Vie En Rose'
And guess wat? I forgot to bring the CD for her autograph!! argh....

rach:
read your bad experience of your BQ venue... try to get monentery compensation from them bah, though i guess chances is kinda slim. Whatever it is, the BQ is over liao... Dun brood over it too long ya, enjoy your marriage life

flora_bliss

cynthia> no worries, I'm not at all offended. And we'll definitely be going to the temple to pay respect to her prior to the AD.

Jac> My in-laws are quite liberal so they let us take charge of it ourselves. Seems like Regent only gave us 1 printer - Lil-art

jasch

Hi Girls!!

My AD will also be in DEC 2008.. now trying to see wat i can prepare for my AD.. totally lost and no idea wat i want and wat can i do for our AD in 5Dec2008.. hehe

Will come in here more often to get some ideas.. =)

baobei123

ya lor.. haiz.. yes very x.
and also yesterday got the invitation card my MIL also very traditonal and juz happen the hotel got red and white colour. so my hubby's relatives will be getting red , my hubby's friend either red or white.. my side totally white.

hi florabliss
here cannot display chinese words..if u wan, i can prepare emcee script you. i do freelance emcee ..haha..no charges lar, dun worry =D

msbean

Rach , aiyo did you ask what is the ratio of staff for each table , as OCC practice is 2 table is to 1 or 3table is to 2ppl as one is runner . I see your cases is 3 table is to 1 ma . becos many year back I also work in OCC banquet , they often have this problem of short of staff . Sad cases they have not improve the service though this so many year .

You know why they have the rush as the staff is dismiss at 11.00pm and they have to catch shuttle bus at 11.15-11.20pm else they cant catch last train home also .

By the way you pay already ?
Rach anyway is over, see can get any compensation if not those complain your guest will 4get after some time . Now you are Mrs lor so must enjoy your Mrs life dun worry too much .

You are so luck kena 4D , if I kena 4D I can fly just nice for me to clear all the outstanding

Waaa outing nice wait for me to marry 1st heehee

lilacbliss07

issit.. normally 1 corsage is hw much? got any recommendations?

haha i just choose watever is nice le.. just happen mine the red one is nice.. keke..

flora_bliss

cynthia> Thanks for offering your help. I've already got the emcee script almost ready. Btw, I oso realised recently like can't write chinese words here. I wonder why.

lilacbliss07

hmmm ok i go hm den see.. my office cant access multiply.. =(

actually i tinking to argue with the BS... coz contract is put FOC.. nv put rent or give.. den they say is rent.. kns...

vernwyen

hmm, so far it seems majority of the brides here gotta top up for the BQ. phew.... we were lucky ones, managed to break even and also cover the charge of the live band. I was so worried tat we need to top up coz we still add a 20litre barrel of beer and 6 bottles of red wine...