(2008) Brides of year 2008

providencia

Koyoyo, what black EG? I want to see too..

Praisey, for the quality of the pics, i think that's money well spent. I hope mine will turn out just as well.

MeiLing, saw the news yesterday, seems like it might be a replay of Boon Keng DBSS, glad that both of you have talked abt the options available. Go thru your wedding first, then slowly look for a place. Be patient.
don't be too sad hor.

clareliu

The lady boss name is Angela, contact: 9680-5107. The Bencoolen building is opp OG
She do sell cheongsam too. nt exp. Can bring ur mummy go c c.

lsntyl

Rach>Kim is in the new nubra thread? Who arh? :p

Checked Nihon Mura reviews on hungrygowhere. reviews are mixed but I don't mind trying if majority is ok.

Try seahorse if you want a cheap and firm mattress. My friend is using it. She's quite pleased with it. I'm oso using their pillow. Quite ok so far.

lsntyl

Meiling>Hee, exactly! Talked it over with FH and we still want to be able to enjoy life and save a bit rather than ploughing all our pay into the flat. So we wait for prices to be more reasonable and slowly look in the meantime.

koyoyo>everyone wants to see your black EG. :p

~sblbee~

providencia,
i must really think n consider carefully b4 i make d decision....have to go slow cos of d limited cashflow :p thanks, i wont b sad lah, dat's life, im too poor to own a flat :p

lsntyl,
yah lor, we oso wana enjoy life n go for holidays n fancy restaurants once in a while, cant imagine eating bread everyday juz to support a flat...so torturous until d day i die which is not worth it :p

providencia

MeiLing, in that case, then don't think abt housing for a while, sink fully into your wedding preps and work on it only when cashflow is not so tight. Happy preparing for wedding. Wealth is secondary, happiness and contentment is more impt.
Holidays and fancy restaurants definitely sound more appealing than bread everyday.

rjwedding

hi iris_met: welcome back too and welcome to the MRS club too!! what time ur dinner end?? mine quite early.. my phototaking very fast.. chop chop.. so fast until we are so shocked.. then we still got time to mingle with friends.. so nice..

last week i also feel so tired after all the wedding thingy n my honeymoon.. now slowly recover back already.. back to my usual self now.. even my colleague also says not my usual self last week, they find me so weird.. hahaha..

sleepygal79

Hi Mary Poppins, yes, I bought from Catherine. It should be the same person. My hubby had pre-reminded me not to choose more than our allocated 60 photos. Hopefully we won't exceed the number. Yup, i do agree that YKS is really a very good PG. But we should not exceed our quota.

Hi ladies, if you can't find a JP that fits into requirements, try Mr Yeo Woon Soo. I had him for my ROM in May. Personally, I feel that he was good, friendly and patient guy. Probably in his sixties. His contact is 91178697. Email: [email protected]

gingerbread_gal

Meiling,
how come the downpayment is 20%? I thought its 10%?
oh no, have i been under the wrond impression all along with regards to downpayment?

Yeah, if you are not in really urgent need of a place of your own yet, then do consider your options carefully. Good luck for the Oct WIS if you're going for it.

simplyserene

Back at work for the 2nd day... very sian...

Our banquet started at 8.30pm as well. Despite sending reminders, my side was all ready to go at 7.45pm but his side... haiz... Anyway, I think our dinner went quite quickly as well. It was over by 10.30pm. Maybe cos we had a small celebration.

I hope the photos taken will turn out fine.

fionachua83

koyoyo, i also wan to see ur black EG.

meiling, dun be too sad be patient wait for the oct one maybe will be much cheaper than this one, nw be happy preparing for ur wedding.

~sblbee~

providencia,
yah i think i shd follow ur advice....than i can b happier everyday
dun worry abt my housing 1st until my AD is over den i go full swing in flat searching :p

jac,
it's diff for dbss....frm my understanding, it requires 5% cash deposit, will b returned once ur cpf deduction is approved den within 9 weeks have to pay d 15% balance....sigh, i calculated, it's ard $100K+ in cash + cpf
even wif $40k grant if i get a $500+K unit, every mth have to fork out ard $2K+ in cpf + cash
faint sia....dat's excluding d stamp duty :p

fionachua,
yah i hope too....now shall juz concentrate on my wedding prep....now doing my wedding guest list....

calvinz21

Hi Melissa,

Think it's still too early for you to start looking for your PG and VG now if your AD is on next year June. If I'm right, your bridal package should have offer for the PG too.

Anyway, $800 for PG and VG together? How about the hours of service?

But afterall, these are my personal opinions, the decision still lies with your FH.

namipandora

Hi Ice! Hello!

It's actually a rush affair. I have to first rush to find a bridal shop, and a hotel venue at the same time. I'm fortunate in the sense that i'm having only less than 20 tables.

However, since i've only bought a flat in may, and getting the keys in September, it'll be a mad rush for me to do renovations and wedding preparations at the same time.

Thinking back, if it's plan a year earlier, i think the cash flow won't be so cramp altogether, but knowing how fickle i am, even when i decide anything early of the 1 year, i will change nearing the date.

How about you? How's your preparations?
What about those who's getting married in November? do you get panicky knowing that it seems like a lot of stuff has not been done yet?

koyoyo

Thanks for the concern on the black EG. That is a EG i chosen for ps. unfortunately the foto wasnt taken to wat i was hoping so i didnt take any foto w that outfit.. however if u wan u can view the look of tt gown worn by a model.. i can upload here.. just need someone to tell me how to do so..
Meiling,
If u have decide not to take up DBSS then be it move on tothe next thing on ur list. Let me tell u as a DBSS flat owner .. IT not easy !!! lifestyle all gone! macham like have to change lifestyle when u have a BB...

jasmini

hello ladies,
whoa this thread is very active indeed

thanks waxie, for adding me to the list

yes i signed up for prewedding & AD with Kelvin Koh. and yes, he's damn expensive *lol* but he's really really good at it and he's a nice fella, not 'atas' at all. and actually he's considered reasonable since there's no hidden costs - he returns us all images (abt 3k of them!). my best fren's photographer charged her $105 per digital photo returned in CD! and she's v greedy and took 66 of them on top of her 20+. i think she paid much more than me for her PS :p

rayrachel,
my BS is mid range only ba- but her service and design is very gd
she charges from $2k onwards....

ladies,
whoa everyone is drinking bird nest?! i'm tempted to drink too. hey ask u all a sensitive qn: any of you intending to take contraceptive pills on the day of wedding and from then onwards? i'm not sure if i'm prepared for a child so soon....

cfay

Hi nlimm, i am not expert in Nubra too. just tat happen i saw some posting previously that there is a Nubra spree going on but i do miss it. So will like to find out more, what is the effect of wearing it since is doesn't cost that cheap. :p

rayrachel

fanny>the usual tradition is to also invite relatives over to eat and share in the joy la.. which most people have skipped.. but my dad is very traditional de.. so.. he'll want to invite them over.. being the only daughter.. its the only time they can get to do it also.. so everything also wanna big big.. hahaa...

green>its like a box kind... put the mattress on top of the box... very sleek and compact..no head rest.. no nothing.. looks like 2 mattresses stacked on top of each other like that.

Its opposite my place..

Chong Pang area.. i dun have the address.. if u wanna go. i can give u directions..call me when u are going la.. its facing the Air Force camp side...

Bubbly> thanks!

YL>wonderwoman

yah... seahorse at least is a long time brand la.. see how lo.. will go ask if can get cheaper rates..so far the cheapest i can get.

Jas> sorry..which BS again??
hahaha.. i dunno wor... but heard its not good to take such things.. Mmm.. i also dunno how productive we are... have frens who got it after married.. so sianz.. we dun want leh.. i prob wanna wait till 2 more years.. hehee....

dunno and not sure yet.. dunno the nite of AD how also... hahahhaha...scary......
>

Rach,
Thanks. I'll call you again.

Hehe if dun want baby so soon, it's safer to take pills or use condoms. I have a married friend who got pregnant by accident and it affected her career plan.

I already discussed the contraception issue with my Bf. He agreed to use condoms.

gingerbread_gal

Meiling,
it sounds complicated!!! for DBSS, there is $40k grant??
all that money for a 4-room flat?? its too expensive in my opinion....
nvm, wait till the Oct WIS....enjoy your wedding first!

koyoyo,
i think if the size of the pics you want to post is too big, you have to crop it first before you can upload to post here.

~sblbee~

koyoyo,
i'll move on, thanks for ur advice!

jac,
we can get a $40K grant cos his parents live in amk :p yah lor, i think i better wait for oct wis, hopefully will have a better choice den :p

gingerbread_gal

Meiling,
i was under the impression that for new flats from hdb (including DBSS), there'll be no $40k grant... so it'll be a 3-4 years wait for the flats is it?
i think if need to fork out so much $$, you can get a resale?
I'm looking forward to the Oct WIS....keen to see the flats available this time round....though we're probably not getting flat this year, jus wanna kaypoh around, so won't be your 'competitor' :p

koyoyo

HI JAc,
DBSS is a joint program between HDB and some private development thus generally it still consider a high-end HDB flat thus u are able to qualify for the 30K grant if u are first timer and additon 10K if u live near ur parent.
what the code to upload photo?

lsntyl

Meiling>that's what FH and I plan to do too. Stop house-hunting till after wedding. Then concentrate on finding a home and renovate.

lsntyl

Jas>FH doesn't want me to take pills cos he said its not good for body so he'll have to use a condom unless he wants a bb lor.

Rach>wah, how u know wonderwoman is Kim? No wonder she ask strange questions.

You can go to seahorse's showroom at Taka. Can try on the beds and see how.

If scared use condom pain, then use lubricant lor. :p

crayonv

<font color="ff0000">haaa, i think better compromise w Fh abt havin children ....dun want "ACCIDENTS"....else get hubby to control his 'u knw wat' n so call withdraw b4, but not 100% safe la, haaa, most guys v happy whn in there but if they aint ready to hav kids, pull out b4 he...</font>

too much details, LOL

~sblbee~

jac,
as wat koyoyo said, there's hdb grants available....yah i agree wif dat amt of $$$, den i can get a resale le....still hope dat d property mkt will slow down so dat i can get a gd deal frm it :p
thanks for not being my competitor n increasing my chances of balloting by 0.001% :p

lsntyl,
yah same here....oct is my wedding mth n i'll try to ballot for a unit in dat mth, hope dat i can have gd luck :p den i can slowly reno mei mei my flat if i managed to get a unit :p

happinessbliss

Erm, for contraceptives/birth control I think it is better to consult the gynae b4 u start on anything. I use to be on evra patch, but my gynae uses it on me to regulate my menstration (cos i have very irregular menstration)... I use 6 cycles... stop abt a year ago... no side effects... but bear in mind that for any contraceptives, b4 u start planning for bb, u need to stop the contraceptives for at least 1/2 yr to 1 yr b4 u try...

Rach < I dun use condoms cos i'm allergy to something on it.... i will get rash breakout on my "u knw wat".... so my gynae say then use withdrawal or by "counting date" lor.... condom by right should not be pain already cos already got some lubricant on it....

vividz

hi s'rene, u same as me, 2nd day of work, very sian, just hope today will be weekend but too bad 1 more day to go before weekend comes. I guess is holiday mood bah.

hi R&amp;J, my wedding dinner end around 10.45pm, my phototaking was delay so quite rush, we didn't even got time to go back for sabo session on other 2 tables, too many sabo tables, haha.

~sblbee~

cyc,
i juz chked....i dun have ROM leave, my fh has cos he's a teacher, den i only have 3 days of marriage leave, think i've to apply for 1 day of AL for my declaration on d 14 oct

gd for u, lucky gal...i've got no choice, i cant avoid all d surcharges if i intend to go for my hm cos of my fh's job nature so have t pay until siao lor

happinessbliss

ya lor... but then this thread is for exchanging of info and "knowledge" mah irregardless of what topic.... hahahah... but i suppose the more sensitive ones will be reserve for girls talk privately... u won't knw who is lurking behind and reading our posts...

jo_vin

Hi Chimes, I have 4 albums. 2 18R, 2 15R. Haha, I'm those that like to take alot of photos ma.. Kiasu.. Haha..

Hi namipandora, yours really very rush, and still getting ur flat in September. Think really must have quite alot of money involve. My preparations should be done about 7788 le. Cos HTB leaving overseas next mth for work, so gotta finish most of the stuffs quick.

gingerbread_gal

lsntyl,
that's what we're doing too

koyoyo and meiling,
i see now....sigh and i thought i ahd familiarised myself with the workings of HDB, can see now that i'm still very new to hdb stuff.
market might slow down but the slow down will prob come at a slow pace....

meiling,
haha! 0.001% chance! you are so funny!! all the best ya!

vernwyen

now on babies topic ah... :p we dun intend to take protective measures, anyway it's not tat 'zun' to hit on bull's eye. In fact i was telling my fh we can start trying now and he was more than happy! keke...

cyc

mei i thought you are a teacher too? actually kind of curious, how come u and FH choose Oct to get married when its the exam period for kids! sure he'll be busy..

eh.. cheapskate me just got notice that can take one day off in lieu for National day! haha.. to claim w/n 3 mths from Nday. so will take it during that Oct/Nov stretch too! haha...

mei, paying the surcharges won't dampen ur mood for HM right? cheer up!

rayrachel

Happiness> yeah loh.. hehhee...

spoiltbabe> start trying now?? mad ah.. if really kena then AD u wont get to enjoy liaoz.....
u never know when u'll hit... better not man....
if u get it now.. AD will be super careful and i dunno.... maybe alot of symtoms.. hahaha..

lsntyl

My friend got pregnant v soon after her AD. So its really your luck lor. I told FH its up to him to decide. If no protection, then be ready to be parents anytime. :p

Hee, just settled all my Taiwan accom! Happy, happy. Now can relax about it for now.

Strawclare>thanks for the Taichung hotels. They look really great. We're bookmarking it for our next trip. As we're spending one night in Lushan and one night in Chingjing, we're skipping Taichung so I've more time in Taipei to meet my friends and most important, shop! This time, I must visit night markets other than Shilin. :p

~sblbee~

cyc,
nope im not a teacher but wking in a sch as well....oh by d time of my AD, d sch exams have alrdy ended cos tis yr gce "o" level exams gona start earlier....den on my day, it's only d minor subj dat my sch is not offering :p i try not to take nov cos it's lotsa exam invigilation n teachers going for holis, so in order to get our colleagues, better to catch them b4 they fly off :p
gd for u....i dun have such entitlement wor, still have to wk on 11 aug despite it's sch holis, i dun get to enjoy d benefits teachers have :p yah, guz im more or less prepared cos i cant go off during sch term as well :p

ct_jo

Hi Sotong, I briefly read some of the comments in that thread and realised that there are so many unhappiness. I will take extra note and precaution. Was quite shocked to hear that Cindy has resigned, cos I called up TWD last week and asked for her, but was told that she’s on leave. I didn’t think so much cos she did mention to me during our last meetup that she will be going on leave. Hopefully everything goes smoothly as I’m only liasing with her, and if she has left, wonder what will happen to the BTB under her care.

Btw, my MUA is also Jovin but I did not fix any PG. I took my graduation photos at TWD and Dawn is the PG, I find that she is average, not creative. Not sure is it bcos there’s nothing much to express for family photos or some other factors.

Hopefully both you &amp; Nlimms PS will go smoothly.

cfay, I also miss out the Nubra spree, wondering when is the next spree.

Ladies, does anyone of you know where can we rent/buy gowns for mum &amp; MIL at a reasonable price? Both of them are the XL - XXXL sizes.

pinjie8275

Hi keer,

I am not a christian. Hence no worry. U can approach Touch community. They didn't say anything about GOD just pure human relationship.

Yesterday I just did my DISC profiling. Very useful and enlightening. My HTB's characters and mine is like a north and south pole... My instructors highlighed the possible shortfall/problems in our RS which are all damn true... hehehe... We also talked about our childhood and growing up yrs. From there, they slowly analyse the various possible points that have moulded our characters. Very fun! (^_^) I would encourage all to go. I really agreed with a saying which I dunno saw from where. Many pple spend lotsa time preparing a wedding (which is over in a day or so) but only few willing to spend time to prepare a marriage (which lasts for a lifetime. Agreed?

I also tried the NuBra featherlite. Got mine last Friday too. Love it! I would prefer this than the silicon's ones.

Hi cfay

Actually no special effect after wearing NuBra lah. Is more for convenient and comfort when u dun wish to be binded by strips... But if u get the right one, it will actually helps to enhance ur cleavage especially if u r wearing gowns, dresses and tight fitting clothings. Good when waering white tops too.

The previous Nubra thread have been deleted le... Now there is another thread named Nubra Fan Club. Can try to see if anyone is organising again bah. It's really much cheaper than u buy off the shelve. I think the usual is $69 but if u consolidate ur orders, u can get $50. (^_^)

raspberriez05

Hi namipandora! Welcome! I saw u in the other thread as well
ok firstly, take a deeeep deep breath. Is your Big Day on the 29th Nov THIS YEAR??? Cuz lady, if it is, then U HAVE ALOTT OF WORK TO DO!
U mentioned u havnt found a BS n a venue as well?? ok... im panicking for YOU, babe. but not to worry too much, we are here to help u out as much as we can, ok
gimme the details in the other thread n i'll tabulate it 4 u. Ok for the BS, u can try callin a few n asking if they can squeeze u in. Cuz u gotta rush thru yr photoshoot! The usual time frame for photoshoots is at least 4-5mths before the AD. n then u have the fittings, etc.. My BS is PreciousMom*entsBridal n u can try givin them a call to see if they are available : 65625486 (u can try mentioning my name-pat
) Let us know hw it goes dearie! I'm keepin my fingers crossed for ya!

providencia

sigh, the HDB policies are not very helpful towards us - who want to set up our own little family...anyway, let's just wait and hope that the market will become more favourable..

namipandora

@Jo-vin, i think it's a good move to do everything together before yr HTB leaves. Sometimes certain things really need 2 person to discuss and decide.

@Raspberrie, thanks for the contacts!! I meant in the beginning i had to rush to find the BS and hotels then, but now I have already decided on a BS and PW photographer and a hotel in June. So far, i have selected a PW gown, but the AD gown will only be chosen in October, which i'm thinking of bringing it forward to select in september instead.

For PW shoots, I'm doing in September latest. That's what my photographer said. 2 months is enough for him. Anyway, now looking around for small nitty gritty stuff that i have not done yet.

When are your wedding dates?