(2008) Brides of year 2008

straylamb

waxie... thanks for updatin!
xiaomei... pay by instalment got interest? how much is ur package?
Jas... hi!!
green... ur teachin??

lost_in_space

anyone here had went for the 1st round of photo selection? Can roughly let me know how much u top up for the photos? I'm going down this week.. not sure what is the price range like..

Hi Bay,

I will be informing my friends and colleagues using a email template and then give out the invitation cards after they replied the email..

lost_in_space

anyone here had went for the 1st round of photo selection? Can roughly let me know how much u top up for the photos? I'm going down this week.. not sure what is the price range like..

crown

hi Jas,

welcome to this thread. We've an upcoming gathering, see if you wan to join us

31 July (Thurs)- spolitbabe, waxie, lsntyl , fanny
1 Aug (Friday) - waxie, crown, lsntyl, neko, spoiltbabe , fanny
4 Aug (Mon)- green, xiaomei, waxie, spoiltbabe, lsntyl, straylamb
7 Aug (Thurs) - green, xiaomei, waxie, lsntyl, spoiltbabe, straylamb
8th Aug (Friday) - neko , waxie, green
15th Aug (Friday) - neko, spoiltbabe, waxie, green

waxie24

jas> welcome jas.. added u into the list.. ur PG lightedpixel.. kelvin is superb... haha.. must show ur pictures.. ur prewedding also with kelvin??

babe> me might also take mini mooncake from my hotel... still havent talk to my co-ordinator yet.. maybe for ur SDJ, you can get some jewellery to wear on ur AD to match ur gowns.. i cannot choose my SDJ, FMIL going to buy for me instead..

fionachua83

I love jap food too.

Tomolo i will be going down to my BS to show them my MTM design see whether can be done also haven been doing much wedding prep as mostly are already done by my husband.

lsntyl

Do we really need to wear real jewelry for the wedding? Can wear costume jewelry instead?

mini mooncakes sound like nice idea. Think I'll ask PJ about it too...

straylamb>our green is a lecturer. :p

keer13

Hi Sotong: It costs $1,200 to MTM my dream EG from another BS. Hoping $$ to fall from the sky then I go to MTM.. Still considering.. Hee.. I'm thinking of MTM a red velvet mermaid gown. I can upload & show you some pictures tonight. Sorry, I do not have any fotos to show you on my PS EG as they do not allow photography. Let me see when I go for my fitting next week, I will try to take some snapshots & show you.. :p

Hi Pinjie - Yes, think Colour Contact Lens will look fake. DEFINE seems like a better choice. So, did u use DEFINE, black for your PS. Saw ur photos on Multiply, u look nice in those lens.. Think I will try brown. Thanks! Btw, understand that you had DIY some blinks to your shoes, may I know which kind of crystals did u buy to add on the shoes? Is it the iron on kind or have to use glue to stick 1 by 1. Do you have pictures to share. I'm will custom made a plain shoes & maybe try to add the blinks on myself, to cut costs.. hee..

Hi Charmaine - The shoes are from UK. You can refer to the link below. It cost about S$100. For me, I'm just using this as a design to custom made my shoes.. It will be ready in 2-3 weeks time. Will upload & share with you the pictures then..

http://www.nextdirectory.ie/shot.asp?b=X41&p=3094&s=6&n=Womenswear

keer13

Hi Cfay - Thanks! I love that shoes too.. But, didn't order it online as I wanted a 5" shoe. In the end, I had it custom made. Pray now that it will turn out nice.. :p I can absolutely understand what you are going thru.. I have also been looking around for nice shoes, all over Singapore, even to JB but to no avail. Thus, finally decided to heartpain once & for all, to custom made one. Hee hee.. My difficulty is also because Im looking for at least 4" & above as I want to look taller so to create a slimming effect.. Haha.. Cos in the end, didn't manage to lose much weight till now..

If you are looking less than 3", I think there are many nice shoes around too. Agree that City Plaza has quite a few nice shoe shops. Try that one 2-3 stores besides Arnolds Chicken at the 2nd floor. Tangs have nice diamantes shoes as well. Last place I can recommend is Metro, there's 2 brands there which is pretty good, Lucineo & Vivie.. I will try to uload some photos of the shoes which I had taken to my mutiply tonight. :p

princessxiaomei

[starylamb]
0% interest free... i paid 1000 cash then the remaining will pay either by 6mths or 12mths loh... certain credit card certain months... SA quite a variety... 5* only OCBC's... =)

[spoiltbabe]
yah loh.. else how to take photos of us... hahaha.. but since half the group already honeymooners.. so i think should be quite easy bah.... hahaha

waxie24

yl> can wear costume jewellery... but i was thinking.. if anyone ask about eg. "your earrings very nice".. then I can say "this one my MIL buy for me one"... MIL happy. we also happy ma..

msclaire

I second that, LSnTYL!

all my preps is all my ownself. eyebrows, facial, nails...i'm just too vain for my own good wahaha.

Actually also doing some misc stuff like making CS, looking up songs for wedding, compiling church booklet...nothing really major. Hopefully can meet up with caterer soon so can discuss the menu. Oh yes, the other day i saw this malay wedding near my house, they had the most beautiful decor possible. Plenty of offwhite cloth drapped all over the place with chandeliers. I really want that design! any idea which coy does this sorta deco?

vernwyen

xiaomei:
oh! i dunno tour agencies have 0% installment! Tat's a good news :p

YL:
tentatively plan on the 26 Jul, the mothers can also discuss about the wedding stuffs. Have you arrange yours?

waxie:
i have accessories liao eh, and hor... i really dun like to wear gold
So you reckon i should use the money to buy gold? I quite confuse loh, to me, we prefer to have hard cash so can ease our burden abit, on the other hand i worry those old ppl will nag behind the back (esp those aunties at my side).

lsntyl

spoiltbabe>mine is on 19 Jul. Moms already settled wedding stuff le so this is just a get together and last chance to bargain.

Don't worry about the old people lah. As long as your FMIL is ok. Tell her the $ keep first, next time gold prices better than u get lor. By then, maybe she forget le. Even if she rememeber, your finances might be better then?

cfay

Hi Keer,

Thanks for your reply.
I don't remb you have my multiply a not, in case you don't have, here's my ID : bipit

Do you mind telling me how much you spend for this shoe and where you custom-made, actually i am looking for sliver which i can multi-use it for all the gowns. hee.. ;p

Don't feel like spending a lot because at the end of the day, don't think i will wear it again lor.

I do agreed with you and i also had been to City plaza and Tangs, can't really find the design i like, and some is either too high or too short. haiz.. But yet to try Metro. probably i will go and see see. hee..

You can wear so high ar? Is you HTB very tall?
Or does he plan to get shoe for higher heights too? Oh ya.. do you have any recommendations of where to tailor nice men's shirt with reasonable price? Have you heard from Dickson in Suntec before?

necrosis

msclaire,
those malay wedding specialist do that kinda decor.
cost shld be abt $2-5k, depending on how elaborate.
;)
i was thinking of getting the malay wedding pple to deal with my church lunch buffet area.
lol...

mmm..i've not been doing much of anything wedding either.
planning greece trip (this friday leaving!!!)
and was moving house and settling into new place.

met with some of my BMs but we didnt talk 'work', just nonsense. :D
so fun.
told them abt their debut performance as my bollywood dancers, now they regret agreeing to be my BMs!!! muhahahahahaha.......

pinkybtb

hi brides, you girls started planning ur HM already? i dunno if i am behind time. AD on 28sep, done my PS and bought the GDL things BUT i still haven final the guestlist and the inserts printing and the food tasting.....

dodolet

Keer, WAH so expensive lah.. 1,200 i can DO 1 WG 1 EG and 1 CS. all MTM with lace and blinks on them liao. Ok, show me ur dream gown and I see if I can advise you on the materials and tailors to do your design at a fraction of the cost.

Oh Msclaire, I spoke afew friends and they had told me if CS with crystals and lace will be like > 600 liao. So not bad after all hor.

nec, i am trying to find a set with gold or silver design and verse and such for below 30 bux leh..

Jac, i saw a post here that you can have fake petals at tekka mall, but I am not sure where.

Eunice, tecman is very EX lah.. everything like cut throat price, you can get stuff cheaper outside. Oh I am doing my own ring pillow. I hope to complete in time man.

I am going to yu hua soon to go see if they got cheap sale for there cheena looking shoes.. ^^ Good for kuas and CS.

Oh I nver wear contacts before, I wonder should I wear for my PS. My PS is the end of this month. ^^

berry3

hope all r adjusting well! =)
for me, im not staying with in laws.. just the two of us in the house.. =)

for me, not honeymoon, and still not planning ha ha ha...

for the last 1 month+, quite busy "renovating" the house.. as we painted our house ourselves & also redo the painting of the kitchen cabinet ourselves.. so yeah.. quite headache..

i'll go back from work looking at the mess for the past month... and in between the "renovation" we got guests around.. so need to pack up, arrange things nicely.. then few days later after they're gone, the mess suddenly appears... =D

hopefully could finish the work in the next 2 weeks!

dear crispy,
you can download faststone resizer.. just google it.. then just resize everything (don't forget to back up ya..) ^^ it's a FREEware.. & reliable.. so not to worry.. !

dear xlb..
WOW! congratss.. =)
^.~

back to work.. @.@

the check list hor, i haven't modify yet..got some fine tuning i need to make. will post them in my multiply blog.

princessxiaomei

[spoiltbabe]
hehe.. 5*-OCBC Chan Brothers-citibank/uob and not sure if have others also anot.. should be have.. SA Tours-UOB,OCBC,Citibank...

you have to pay about 1K deposit then the balance by instalment loh.. =) hehe.. go japan lah.. hahaha... join me...!

[pinky BTB]
your ad 2 days after me! hehe.. we so ke lian,kena f1 date... duhh... i collected my album le.. bought my GDL stuff.. cards in the midst of printing.. food tasting end of aug... what else we need to do? when are you sending out your invites?

vernwyen

pinky:
dun worry, you are not behind time. I have not settle my GDL and invites (have not even print out yet -_-"), and my AD is in 14 sep! keke...Wardrobe not bought yet, room has not repaint, aircon need to rerun... phew! list goes on :D I like to plan for trips so do something i like and forget those headache stuffs for awhile.

rayrachel

Net> haha..thanks.. i hope my jiemeis wont be allergic to it..else i'll see 12 itchy gals.. haahhaa...

princess> ooh.. okie... 1Oct like a bit late. haha.. my AD is 1 Sept... anyway.. wont know we got money to go HM or not..
So cant plan too much also... will only know after AD>. hahahaha.... scarly we booked after AD..see how loh..

fanny> what kind of wine do u want??
my personal favourite is B@rworks - [email protected] (replace @ with a)
And i went to Parkers Wines too... http://www.parkers-wines.com/

Parkers Wine carries 1.5l bottles...and i tried it at my fren's wedding.... both me and hubby liked the wine!

celine> Nubra is not heavy..the featherlite and Super Padded version is good...

celine08

Pinky- yah dun think u are behind time too. I haven't settle GDL, food tasting, room deco, guestlist, HM and the list goes on and on.

spoiltbabe- you getting your own hse or moving in to ur FH's hse? I'm moving in. =(

rach- where can i get it? thinking of getting another one.

i'm going down to select my photo. Hope i can control. :p

rayrachel

princess> at least u can pay by installments.. we cant even do that..and dun wanna do that..else we can never clear our debts.. sigh....

celine> need to wear a few times... trial and error.. i just discover another way of wearing it yest..and woahhh.... nice cleavage siah.. hahaha...

spoiltbabe> u also looking at bintan? hahaha.. we might consider just going to Phuket..and prob sometime down the road..we go somewhere furhter loh...
So shall just plan for Phuket ba.. heehhe... :p

hahaha..26th Jul is my GDL!!

waxie> hahaha.. i wanted 9th Sep intially..but was told not a good date by MIL..so we changed to 1st Sept.. hehehe.. i'm still the one and only one!

hehehehe...

13 sept is also another choice.. but its my mum's birthday.. hehhe....
14 Sept coz its 八月å五.. i guess its full moon nite..hahhaa...all will be busy making babies that nite then..

Jas> welcome to this thread.. we've been ard for a long long time!

Wah..can see u are from a high end side..ur BS and PG & VG all super high end de.. but TWP is really good!! But super ex loh. hehehe..

straylamb> dun think got interest la.. now alot of interst free installment de ma..

PinkyBTB> welcome back!! hahaha.think u MIA for a long while!

you can try JB if u wanna cheap insert printing.. City Square..

All> i've done my food tasting last sunday.. it was kindda okay...we changed a few dishes... hehe.. but big portions loh.. hehe..

I love the Yam paste!!!!!!!!! BEST!!!!!!!!

jazzy_chimes

hey sleepgal, my BS also had 2 brides who had their banquet on the same AD in June, same hotel but different levels ... hehe so coincidental

where did u go for your PS?

pinkcupcake

me feeling excited just reading about you girls going for your photoshoot...

chimes, $1600 for how many more photos?

girls who have completed their shoot, any pics to share? ;) me curious... heh heh. But if you're shy about it, it's okay.

rayrachel

celine> hahaha.. actually its something we all know... push ur sides to the front before u stick it on..
and i realised i can get better cleavage with a smaller cup size..

Coz its fuller.. heheh.. :p

YL> i most likely will be getting from Parkers Wine..

definitely not wine bos... my other consideration was [email protected] are more flexible actually.. 50% consignment.. Parkers is only 20% consignment.
But we prefers Parker's wine..

And also more professional shop.. hehehe.. nice ambience too..

crown> i think its fine.. i think my ROM has got more than 18.. haha...can get to count it..

you can take a look at www.melvinho.biz/slideshow/rara

lsntyl

ya, i'm prob going with b@rworks too. see how. I saw a v sweet posy at the BS on Mon. Small bouquet but long ribbons. Told FH that's what I want. :p easier to hold

charma97

I am going to take my PS in 3 weeks time.. Still brain storming for locations. So far only found one..

Any suggestions?

necrosis

i think the $3k + for the malay wedding decor will be too out of budget ...even tho the raised dais and love seats would be perfect for the tea ceremony.. :p
need donation$ before can dream of it.

LSnTYL,
we're going to santorini, no choice, it's THE island in Greece, so even tho it's peak season and super touristy, we'll still make a stop there.
hopefully next time can go when less peak season and can explore the other less famous parts of the island.

the other island we're going is naxos.
near santorini, to save travelling time.
good point is it's less touristy, and we're just going to go there and look for rooms when we reach.
read there are some villages surrounded by olive groves which have rooms to let, but must enquire at the village pub.
so rustic. :D can't wait.