(2008) Brides of year 2008

eunicet

hana: I have zero idea where to do my PS!! :p Also don't know what I'd like, though some greenery would be good. And while I don't want those common places to go, Singapore is so small, bo bian, sure end up at somewhere everyone goes!! And I also think Shenton Way is really good for photos!!! But my PS is on a Friday. So hmmm, that would be tricky!! Loads of people!!!

Erlina: Where did you upload your photos to? Can we have a look? I quite like matt finishes on paper because can't see the fingerprints so clearly... :p

mary_poppins

Hi nec and msclaire, the robinson expo sale is like the john little expo sale. Their hourly sale for pillows and bedsheet are really very attractive. But you won't know what time they will have that. If you are robinson card holder, just wait till they have additional 20% off then go to orchard robinson to buy. Imagine if you buy a lot and have to take taxi back home, it's not worth it at all.

Hi msclaire, the lancome make up base that I bought from Lancome is a recent years product. So don't think it is very old. Even the UV Expert packaging is the latest packaging introduced last year. Biotherm looks fine to me as well. But of course it would be best to use those items bought on such sale asap.

Hi jac, think all dept stores are having gss sales. Check out the bank's website for credit cards promotions and the papers on various sales.

Btw Hugo Boss is having sales. If any of your HTB is intending to get Hugo Boss suits, it's a good time to go now.

leely

I think Shenton way is out for weekdays..

If you're totally lost for locations for PS, then just let the PG bring you to his/her pet spots lor.. Which is what I did.. and somehow my PG's pet spots are exactly where I thought of going (HortPark and Palawan Beach).. And my PG was quite glad we were thinking along the same line.. He said that honestly if we had requested to go Esplanade area, he'll be quite sian.. haha.. Quite glad my PG and I click..

Anyway there are pros and cons to letting the PG decide on the locations:
- Pro: the PG will know the secret spots/angles to take nice photos
- Con: your photos may end up looking like everyone else's from the same BS who used the same PG.. =P

shybride

koyoyo, no leh, those frens who 'wow' are all married liaoz. so they all had only 2 gowns (WG&EG) for the dinner.. :p This thread is a bad influence ah.. hahaha

lsntyl

nec>hee, ya. sari can be quite flattering. So nice you have many saris to wear. I don't have any occassions to wear mine le. Gathering dust in my cupboard. :p

dodolet

finally can have a breathing space from work.

Actually it is not de number of gowns u have. It is more the wow effect of each gown. I did not take their tea dress so I gotta use my outdoor WG again for my AD.

My own EG is due to my FH and I each agreed to get something nice for ourselves, so he did a suit in bkk and I got to have an EG. We decided to do the gown in SG with higher cost as I will need to be fitted closer to PS and AD.

Shy, but you have to admit u love ur CS into bits with the details and stuff. At least there is something tat you can keep, as most of us spend so much time looking for the perfect gowns.

ahnetsan

here i am, in office on sat, overseeing those renovation workers... stupid company, die die must have ppl in office..... as if the workers will steal anything like dat. waste our time, cannot claim ot somemore. sianz big time.

it's the last day of may and tmr will be 1st June!! 3 months more to our BIG day!!!!!!! and it seems that me and fh havent really done anything much at all.

later, we will be going to BS to select our PS photos... hopefully they will turn out to be jus fine, hopefully the photos wont make me look too mature and old and ugly!!!

raragal

crown> may not be a bad thing to top up more la.. hehehe... means the photos are really nice loh.

And its a good thing... of coz thats if we like pics la... mine selected long ago.. but gotta wait coz my AD not here yet.. sigh.. so.. it's a long long wait.... hehehe....

waxie24

actually i wanted to much to go JB to print my inserts.. but FH dun approve...

btw.. gals who are looking for wall clocks.. i remember in my last trip to jb (last yr), there's a shop jus beside popular.. their clock selections quite huge..

raragal

waxie> yeah.. i know which one u talking abt.. Marina Sq also have a similar shop..

But of coz JB is much cheaper.. hahaa..

its okay la..he dun approve..then he pay for it loh.

rjwedding

hi all.. i just gotten my PS photos.. i've uploaded to my multiply.. feel free to take a look lor.. my multiply is jyyf..

don't understand why wedding always have different people giving different comments.. haiz.. so many of us are facing the problem of people telling us this telling us that.. haiz.. really so sian..

piyo1818: those shop selling the GDL stuff will have all the stuff packed as one.. so easier for those not too sure what to buy.. u can check it out..

himawari

Eunice : I agreed with u.. Tot of going somewhere different. But we don't drive so it’s difficult to search for nice and uncommon places.

Xavjess : I only inform my jie mei which r all my good friends so far. As for the others I intent to inform them 1 or 2 mths b4 the wedding (wat my friends normally do). Maybe u can inform them earlier coz end Dec is gd for travelling with many holidays.

necrosis

went down to robinsons (raffles city) and bought the red bedsheets required for wedding...actually bought 2 diff sets ;P
bought new pillow/bolster/quilt.

total damage: $500!!! (free delivery svc, so i didnt have to lug this all over the place)
haha...

the bedsheet sets (got quilt cover, sheet, 2 pillow cases, 2 bolster cases, both queen size) i bought were 300 and 500 threadcount each.
the 300 one was abt 160$ after discount, the 500 one was abt 250$ after discount (before was $470!!)

at one corner was this cotton satin type, really very smooth and satiny ...but only available in white.

oh, anyone looking for chio chio 4 inch heels?
GUESS!! there is this sub-brand there, marlina or something that starts with M.
wow, they have this set of heels with super chio diamante design on the heel. costs only $399!!
(i say only, cos many ladies here can afford, unlike me, all my shoes are cheap cheap ones)

Ls,
you can wear saris to other pple wedding.
why dont you wear to mine lah, since many pple will be wearing at my wedding..haha..

mary,
thanks for the info. already went n bought the stuff...i got 20% + 20% off all the items, so i think pretty ok lah.
besides, expo is really really far!!

shy,
the main bad influence here is meiling!!! hahah....she's the shopping queen who influenced me to buy dresses and like 4 pairs of shoes liao.
and i havent even gone for fitting at my BS.
piangs.

~sblbee~

cyc,
i juz collected both my CS yest, had a rather gd experience cos d CS turned out ok, simple n understated...wif a bit of shimmers to d CS to make it less dull...for my chest part, i oso had similar prob, they have added additional padding for me foc, so it's not dat flat...u can suggest dat to them

aj wech,
wah i love d coasters but too bad i'll b taking d glass coasters frm my hotel as well, else i can buy them to give to those who attends my ROM b4 my banquet...it's really a steal
perhaps u can buy organza bags to put d coasters to have a complete look? :p

polarwhite,
wah...finally u r back...i was on leave frm fri to mon so wont b online v often but i saw ur pics le...it turned out so well, so happy for u cos i was watching d weather dat day n was praying for gd weather...hope u had lotsa fun!
im so nervous n worried now...2 more wks b4 my PS :p

mrs kel,
welcome to d coach club!!! so swt of ur fh to buy a coach bag for u, i agree it's d tot dat matters...will pester my fh to buy me a LV or gucci bag during our honeymoon as a compensation :p

cheryl,
u r so cute....i had a polar bear slping wif me, it's our baby cos he bought me d toy when we 1st visit s'pore zoo tgr, frm den on, he'll get me a toy whenever places of interest we/he goes e.g sentosa, thailand n europe etc...d poor toys either kena crushed or ended up on d flr d nxt morning...poor things :p

weiwei,
same here...i'll b getting d fake corsages so dat i can keep one for memo sake, my JMs too...

addy,
so happy for u....viewed ur pics u posted on multiply....u look grorgeous, glad everything turned out well for u on ur PS, at least u can take a rest during d wkend

babyiguana

Hi s'rene,

Since you are a cantonese, did you parents request to have a roasted pig?? keke.. Coz I'm now looking for contact, then i pass to my HTB to let him order.. =p
My GDL is in mid jun.. have not gotten anyting yet.. coz FMIL have not tell us what she wans oso.. Will oni discuss during out coming food tasting.. =)

~sblbee~

mary poppins,
oh really? i actually went down to bugis junction n plaza sing as well n d crowd was not as bad as it seems but given a fri evening, d crowd for food n traffic was really bad...guz nowadays shoppers toned down alot :p
hugo boss? wah...i always wanted to get my fh to buy a suit there but it's really pricey, we've juz gotten a french cuff white shirt for PS at g2000, it's really cheap...if using american express, got 15% off on top of d 30%...for those who wanted to get shirts, it's really a gd buy

jac,
i agree wif u, expo is really far in my opinion n usually i'll skip going too far for d sale there in case i couldnt get anything...waste my time n effort :p

nec,
im sure u'll look gd in a sari....i dun dare to wear one esp bcs of my spare tyre ard my waist, hehehe....wait i'll sure end up like a ringworm :p
wah....u r catching up wif me le....i actually bought more than 5 pairs of shoes, but dun really intend to use d cheaper ones for my wedding...if i add them in, shd b ard 7-8 pairs of bling bling shoes...
i've recently tried using fake eyelashes, it's so fun...perhaps u can see d dramatic effect for small eyes like mine....im still practising cos not really gd at it :p

florabliss,
im so sorry....went to collect my CS ard 3 pm which is past ur lunchtime alrdy so i didnt call u...cos was waiting for my fh to finish his meeting in sch but i'll sure take a few photos of my CS to post on my multiply

shybride,
have u posted pics of ur CS? i wana see...

eunicet

leely: I saw your comment on Erlina's Multiply site..You also made a photobook? From the same website as Erlina's? So fun so fun! Remember to share pics too!! :D

jessieq

hana: okok. understand. Thanks. btw, i think we are using the same bridal shop, Bridal Concept. So who's ur coordinator? Have you selected your gown for PS and AD yet?

jrgal,
Haha I'll try that ;) Do we need to bring a friend along for outdoor PS to help out?

Net,
Yah I read the new rule. Guess govt wants to reduce the no. of applicants who apply for fun and then give up. R u sick again? I saw your MSN nick.

Waxie,
Printing in Spore has its advantage, save exp petrol & time. Now can't pump petrol in JB liao.

waxie24

net> my PG on 24 june.. but PG is not from French wor.. I'm using my own PG.. i only have to select those I wana put in my album and all the remaining photos (edited) will be returned to me..

rach> i regret i didnt buy the clock that time i went JB.. and of cos he's paying since he choose convenience over $..

jrgal

hi green,
sorrie ah..forgot to tell u abt it..ya,i got my hubby's cousin,who is a reali nice lady to go with us. I m reali thankful tat we had her to help us during PS. She helped us buy lunch(bread and finger food cos difficult to eat in gowns n thick make up..) and helped me carry things during OD shoot. Get someone whom u knw wun mind being bored alone and reali close to u ,cos it can get tedious and boring waiting the whole day..=p hope tat helps.

hi ah net,
i hope u like ur PS photos..do share wif us ya experience hor..i top up 2k also,bt i reali love the pics..after discussing over n over again wif my hubby,we reali tink it's worth it.ha,cos we spent so much time n effort in the PS..

himawari

Eunice : I have seen some albums from bridal shop with natural background like wat u say greenery or blue sky. Think they r simple & nice. But then, it is not possible for us to “racky†such a place... Actually I am a bit worried about PS at places of interest. I feel awkward with people looking at me. I might be as stiff as a block or even statue!! hahaha..

XavJess : I didn't notice that we r using the same bridal shop!! My coordinator is Jeanie (hope I spell it correctly). Selected my AD gowns. Will be selecting my PS gowns next sat. How about you??

flora_bliss

meiling, it's alright. Anyway, i can't make it during lunch either. Was too caught up with work that I ended up lunching in and working at the same time.

Btw, I've met my designer to MTM the EG. Conceptualised a toga inspired with low & bare-back design. I hope it'll look good on me.

leely

Eunice> Nope, I didn't make it from the website.. I made it at a shop at Funan.. I went to collect today, but they forgot to print the spine, so sent back for reprinting.. need to wait another 7-8 working days again..

Hana> Actually don't really need to recce if you already have sample photos.. Just ask your BS what those places are and go lor.. Show your PG those photos and tell him that you would like that kind of shot/background.. then have faith that your PG will do a good job..
.. And your PG should teach you how to pose, if you're too stiff he'll tell you how to adjust, so don't worry about it..

lsntyl

Nec>woah, the bedsheets are not cheap. I just bought 1 quilt set and 2 bedsheet sets from aussino with FH. Was a buy 2 get 1 free offer but threadcount is only 260.

Meiling and Shybride>looking forward to seeing your CS.

Florabliss>your EG sounds sexy! Have you decided what colour it'll be?

BTW, just received a mailer from Robinson's. They're having further discounts for members from 6-8 June, including bedsheets.

nfk22

hi piyo1818, it's now officially JUNE! I'm also getting more stressed and keep stressing my HTB haha. but trying to think of the honeymoon to distract myself from the details of the AD.

hi bbiguana, if you got the roasted pig's contact pls let me know. my HTB also need to get one cos I am cantonese. thanks!

hi r&j, saw ur photos nice nice =). and the wrist corsages that you friend made is very nice too. think your friend can make and sell hee hee. I just got my album today and bought the jewellery. a few more things done.

dodolet

Mei, saris are suppose to be flattering for figures on the plump, or bak bak type. The meatier the better. Confirm you will look good in 1.

Nec, just now my FH had an inspiration of having something different during the dinner 2nd march in. Now I need to transform my EG gown to be dance-able and run-able and from cheenaish to indianish. How to do tat. >.<

Lsntyl, cool. I think i need to drag fh out to buy some of these stuff, Since it is on sale now... ^^.

The only thing i bought from GSS was my FH's pillow, as his is getting old. Somehow i cannot seem to work out inuff energy to do shopping.

Oh I had gone to send my materials for tailoring. I hope it turns out well. I am also going to meet my designer dis wed for my MTM EG.

Lastly, we have finally decided on our wedding rings, as the budget and the size and the cut matches our taste(as simple and comfy as possible).

eunicet

hana: Yeah! I like the greenery blue sky type!! :D Hehe...Was wondering if should go to Botanic Gardens to take photos...Is that a very cliche spot?? Or any really nice angles to recommend? :p

leely: Oooh, hopefully it'll turn out really nice, don't worry it's worth the wait!! But looks like the online one is really fast horr...And ah, I hope I do a good job with the posing at my PS!!

shybride

sotonglet where are you getting / have you got your wedding bands from?

ladies, wo dui bu qi you all.. have oredi brought my CS to new home, all ready for the big day and i won't be going there anymore. but no worries, latest when i come back from honeymoon in mid-jun, i will take photo and post online ok? :p

these last few days are the really stressful time. i seldom get pimples but now outbreak. usually my back is fine, but now also outbreak. ARGH..!! i feel like those earlier facials &amp; back treatments all wasted. so hor, remember to rush and stress and finish everything way b4 your AD, so that you have time to relax and be mei mei on AD. i am praying my pimples will go away in 2 days time :/

simplejer

I'm a Dec bride too..My AD on 5 dec 08..Venue @ Grand Shanghai.My BS is Digio..haven go try my gown yet hee..can i noe wat is a photobook?Can pm mi the link ma?

leely

Eunice> Think Singapore is too small, everywhere is also cliche.. haha.. My friend told me she went Sentosa one day and saw 5 couples taking wedding photos there..! (And I joined the statistics.. lol..) But Botanic Gardens is really nice.. Especially the waterfall..

Simplejer> I PMed you..

~sblbee~

florabliss,
it's ok....sounded like u had a real busy day on fri, luckily i didnt call u, was comtemplating to call u to ask if u have a teabreak time to pop by :p
hehehe, tot ur appt wif ur designer was in jul?dun worry, ur MTM EG sounds so gd alrdy, i can imagine a greek goddess when u don on ur lovely gown
wat colour did u choose?

lsntyl,
actually mine was nothing special, i juz added on d sequinns/beads to d long CS to make it less dull n went to collect my altered short CS :p

sotonglet,
i juz feel embarrassed wearing a sari wif my tummy fats spilling out :p i got many indian costumes though, juz not a sari...n oso i dun have d figure to pull off d top (u get wat i mean rite? :p)
wah....wat kind of 2nd march-in ur fh is thinking of? care to share? so nice....u r oso v game...guz i'll b scared to do sth different or scared of tripping over....actually had wanted to do a simple dance step b4 march-in but my fh has got no dancing shoes :p
hey gal, have u decided on ur tailor? who did u choose eventually? dun worry, im sure ur MTM EG will turn out well de....btw, where do u intend to buy ur wedding bands?

shybride,
dun worry abt it....hehehe, im oso a bit lazy to take pics of my CS cos it's too common le, did u MTM or get sth OTR, can describe to me d design? perhaps i'll know which u r referring....
meanwhile, dun b too stressed up ok, b a relaxed n beautiful bride on ur AD, im sure everything will b juz fine

mary_poppins

Hi shybride, just relax, the pimples will go away soon. Anyway it's the MUA's job to make you look perfect for your big day. No worries about looking less than perfect at all.

Hi Meiling, think we are still waiting for the photos of your touched up CS... Hehehe

tinkybell

how is every1 doing>??

I have been really busi lately and hardly have time to catch up... saw mani topics up on the list.......

princess_sue

hi ladies. Its sunday so fast right.... b4 we know it we have to be back to work.

cheryl,koyoyo, aj, hehe... you are right, in fact my frens are also sanrio fans haha.. and personally i feel its so cheery :p

btw, i have just met up with the contractor for my room reno and roughly we have already settled what we want so now pending for the final drawing then i believe by July, all should be fine. and things should be roughly done up.

earthsea

Hi girls, haven't been here in a while, so just to check in with an update:

Went to BS for a EG design session on Thurs. Gave the designer a lookbook I created with print outs of gowns I like from Style.com. He loved everything, so I hope the design turns out well. Design-wise I'm not so particular, but I'm kinda anal that the colours be as exact as possible. I'll be going in again next week to look at the designs, pick fabrics and pay the 2nd installment.

Yesterday I picked my WG. Designs were very limited because the new collection wasn't in yet, but my photoshoot's in end Jul so I don't have time. Sigh. But I like the gown I picked lah- it's a champagne satin mermaid-cut gown. I'm quite surprised I went with a mermaid-cut cos I didn't think it was me but it really ups the glam factor. And it's a good contrast with the floaty white WG I bought before I signed up with a BS. Anyone with multiple WG out there? :D

Worked out some PS arrangements with the BS also. Basically the FH is flying into Sg for 2 weeks, in which we have to get his OTR tux altered, buy him dress shoes, do our PS, and choose the photos for the album. Oh, and buy wedding rings. I guess this is what happens when you choose to marry a foreigner lah.

Describe your journeys and adventures! Looks like most of us will be doing PS from Jun to Sep period- hope we can all swap photos and pics then! What's a good place for us to upload with viewing rights- multiply is it?

sairalinde

Hey Meiling,Thanks for the comments. Wow been so bz with work and worry over PS. NOw finally over keep thinking about it. What a fun experience it was despite it all. I am sure u r going to enjoy ur PS, and of coz as all brides... we r all GORGEOUS!!!

Just went to see contractor. Most likely confirming with him. Decided not to go the ID route coz it was jus way too ex.

Tinkybell-> Know what you mean. Gosh wish we can all just quit our job and just concentrate 100% on our wedding and reno.

My goodness another couple more months more to October. WHat are all your status now? Abit panicking now... like machiem soo many things unsettled!!

necrosis

leely, eunice,
yes, ps places are quite 'úsed' in sing lor, what to do, our island so small.... ;)
you may want to try other parks or reservoirs if you feel botanic gdns too common...
i think macritchi (bleah the spelling) is quite nice, they have this wooden planks section right next to the water...
but i dunno how the PG will take the shot. :p
how abt Labrador park, i like the pier there too..

earthsea,
yes, multiply is a great way to exchange pics, share ideas and generally compliment each others'gowns/pics.
lol.
my multiply ID is necrosi
do add me ;)

i've just posted a few pics of the shoes i bought for wedding. lol. self-justification for spending.

vernwyen

ahnet:
erm... wat new rule? izzit abt the first timer who give up their chance on the BTO flat? Yea... tat is terrible
It's like being forced to take the unit which you do not like. They did not consider a flat is lifetime commitment, of coz everyone wants to have their desired choice but if it is taken up before their turn, wat can they do? I also oppose this idea

green:
on my outdoor PS there was only mi, my fh and the PG. No chance to go toilet also coz the locations we went all ulu wan :p I cleared my system before leaving the place.

jrgal:
thanks! katong mall is so near my workplace and i din know there is furniture shop there -_-"