(2008) Brides of year 2008

jule

Wah.. seems like alot of activities in the few days Im not ard. I just came back from BKK and bought some things for the wedding, very excited too.

All the cards shown are so nice!!! Too bad I only got 2 colors to choose from...

I ordered my simmons mattress last year from ackerman&smith.

BBIguana,is it the wedding quilt cover + pillow set ? Got this couple sewn with Xi wording ? I got that from Aussino too. Although the threadcount not very high, but it's very pretty!

~sblbee~

cheryl,
ehhehe....mine will b abt 30-40 pax for my side, ard 20-30 pax at my fh's side :p
gal u r so slim alrdy...if u cant fit in, den who can fit in? :p wah...me stressed le :p

polarwhite,
ok...shall chk out ur beautifully designed wedding bands now
thanks for sharing!

straylamb

green... mi hotel is hipv... the one near cuppage... e function room also foc... hee...
strawclare... dun sad liao... hope u r okie...
nan2 ren2 bu4 gai1 rang4 nu3 ren2 liu2 lei4... watever r guys thinkin of??

~sblbee~

providencia,
heheheh....tis leaves me wif no choice cos im a civil servant, have to support d govt mah...my pay master leh :p
yah lor, agreed....cos my size v common de so everytime cannot find my clothes n shoes during sale...so i rather not waste my time :p

sotonglet,
ehheheh....i expect it to b bad for my pockets but heng, mid-yr bonus coming...can afford to spend part of it n save d rest for d wedding :p heheheh....yah waiting for my santa to b back but luckily he called me q frequently when he's there so dun feel dat he's away but tis week cant call me le

i love ur lace leh...so pretty, bet ur dress will turn out nice too

providencia

SotongLet, tks for the recommendation, shall try to remember to drop by club marc when I'm in centrepoint. I saw ur lace, really pretty, but not sure who can help u with the dress.

MeiLing, i see a lot of pple with great buys during GSS, so i thought i was the only odd ball ard, glad to know someone who shares my sentiments, but this GSS shall be special, must venture out and see if i can finish all my wedding needs.
I feel my credit cards going into a cardiac arrest.

kailing

hello! whatever r guys thinking of? erm.. guy here. but I find it very hard to trace the story behind the multiple entries here. haha..

I saw someone who says that guys cannot multitask. *tsk* haha. I'm the one doing the majority of the planning now! =p

Yeah. No. 1, we are going to select our cards from T dragon too. Seletar country club has an agreement with them too. Was thinking if I should abandon it and print our own card from scratch, via laser colour printing on a postcard size thing. Will be cheaper. Hmm.

No. 2, we need a cheap videographer too. We do have people who are experienced in taking videos but then, like spoiltbabe, we do not have the video camera too. Otherwise, I was thinking of investing in our own handycam, makes more sense as we have the handycam permanently after the wedding. anyone who can help? If there's someone who can lend a handycam, I dare to make a deposit of a few hundred dollars to guarantee its safety on the actual day. oh yah, did i mention our actual day is on the 14th? cos i dont really post here too frequently, think ppl here dont really know me. haha..

No.3, I dont know if anyone still remembers my post about the house that we were targeting in tampines, near the central. In the end, we didnt get that unit but we managed to get another one next to it. It's 3rd floor 4'A' with recess area which we thought we wouldnt have like. But turns out that the living room faces the playground and is rather sheltered from the privy eyes of the blocks facing us and the reno was only 3 years old and superbly done. We agreed on a price of 350k which we thought was a steal as the COV is around 30k (our estimate). The reno cost we figure must be in the range of 20k+. So we were really happy about it. But then, relatives were shocked that our unit costs so much, somemore on the 3rd floor. Then again, these relatives bought their houses like more than 10 years ago when houses cost like 100k and somemore, they stay in those rather ulu areas. oh well. cant please everyone. hope they change their minds when they come for our house warming.

gingerbread_gal

providencia,
how did you come across compass entertainment? can you share what's your quote like?
I got a quote from ET music...nearly fainted - abt $4k...

I don't like shopping during GSS too...always cannot find anything nice to buy and some stores are so messy

uk_fung

Cyc, you have your Tea ceremony -> Church - > dinner same day?

if your break between tea ceremony and church is not that long... why need to cater 2 times? maybe just get box of cake/ snack/ drink for tea ceremony then cater after church... then dinner eat again at your venue liao...

Me looking for lunch after tea ceremony lor :p

Ya mei got to see if mom ok with hi-tea or not.. depends.. see the menu good or not :p

fortunemew

Green and girls, you can use Photo Story 3 to create your wedding montage. i know of one wedding photographer use this to create....i ask him n he told me. this software is free, juz download from microsoft website.

An Net, so u haven't bought your wedding bands... can consider eClarity at Shaw Centre level 3 (Lido building).. cheaper than outside. cos for me n hubby, we are not particular on branding. they got hundreds (or thousand...cant rem) designs to customise make... rem must say u are been recommended by friend then got discount. need to do the rings now cos some shops will take up to 1 mth to custom make... get it ready before ur PS shoot.

Rach, yesterday i check at his http://www.melvinho.biz mainpage, he did link wrongly lah.. ;p...but he change it to correct link finally..cos now i check, the link is finally correct.

fortunemew

wa KaiLing guy...your wife is very lucky to have u...it is not easy to find a guy who can plan so much.

u know, i have to sit beside my HTB n stay watch to make sure he key in the guest lists. everytime there are excuses like watch tv..etc..etc....i make him sit down n finish it... LOL...
morale of the story is, if your guy say he will complete the guest list by x months, and x months has passed away, juz schedule a timing n sit down next to him, make sure he key in under our watchful eyes... :p

Kailing,
U r so sweet to your wife!

Fortunemew,
For wedding montage, I asking my colleague to do for me and I'll pay him some $$. I only have 28 pics to pass to him to make into montage, the montage should be very brief one.

I also tried sitting beside my FH and forced him to do guestlist side by side but he grumbled that he was tired and lazed on the bed, watch TV instead. I chased my FH for 4mths before he passed me the guestlist. Yeah lor, I reached my tolerance limit and asked him to help me arrange appt with his parents to do his side's guest list haha.

samanthaquekys

haven't been logging in a week? so the topic is on catering now..

MIL wanna cater for lunch/dinner after my ROM. and i think on AD also need to cater for both sides. FH's side think MIL will take care of it.
might need to source for hi-tea for my side. anyone knows of caterer good n reasonable price for hi-tea?

polarwhite,
congrats on your ring collection. i have yet to decide on mine n place order, let alone collect them. lol.. still have time to look ard i guess. right?

lex,
you're so cool! driving up to KL alone! though i've driven up with FH before but would never wanna do that alone. you must be one daring driver to drive in msia. i think i'll be stuck on the road after the custom. the drivers that are all so fast n daring. i'll be too scared to drive on. lol... *salute*

mei,
i wanna see your new CS. green n pink. sounds pretty already! pics plsss????

uk_fung

Mrs. Kel, still got time if u plan to get ready ring... Provided have your sizes.... if make.. by right the custome make time need about 3months.. so got to place your order if you want to have your own design liao.. give them more time to do is always better.. any problem still go time to fix...

rjwedding

think i will also go along with Kyo Cakes.. don't want to bother too much about the cakes.. i will also be going around SG to pass the cakes to my relatives during my GDL.. ai yo.. must really plan the route well..

seen my PS photos yesterday.. they are great.. really so nice.. me n my hb kept to our allocated photos (40 photos), no top up.. hahaha.. so happy.. i will be collecting the softcopy on 1st Jun, then I will post online for all to see lor..

hi iris_met: my cards are ok leh.. folded a few, nice leh.. so problem at all.. u try calling T-dragon to ask them again why yours can't fold nicely..

hi praisey: but overall your event is nice and memorable.. u don't look very tired.. u look lovely..

vernwyen

kai:
so you are the rare species :p my fh isnt too bad lah, juz that he needs reminders CONSTANTLY. Many things i cant decide on my own so i always bug him to faster do this do that, sometimes find myself irritating also -_-
we having the same AD eh! where is your AD venue? would be printing our invites at Tdragon, dun wan to think much liao.

tinkybell

Meiling/Cheryl, Elsie Kitchen is not very expensive lah.. quite average if we look at the normal menu.. have been using them for my work related functions n really a thumbs up.

Polar, saw ur wedding band, nice... especially the gold plated portion..

cutiephinphin

Hi Jac

Compass is definitely cheaper than what you've enquired with. 3 sets and price around $1500 for a 3 pc ensemble with additional sound system optional. I'm not sure what have you enquired with.

They have been around for quite a long time and they perform at many corporate events too. You can also try out Dream a little. They have a no. of singers too. If they are towards your style & preference and you want more info, can pm me if you want. I'm using them for my wedding.

kailing

seletar country club. solemnization in the evening followed by dinner..we only book 5-6months in advance and we didnt want a hotel plus we like an outdoor solemnization so this was one of the few affordable venues we can find. a little but ulu but it's near tampines and serangoon north where we stay.

~sblbee~

mrs chiew,
heheheh....yah lor, she prefers lunch so let her decide lor :p but d lunch menu looks gd :p

mrs kel,
will b collecting my CS end of may cos i sent it for alteration, i'll b oso collecting it tgr wif my long CS which i sent for more additional embellishment

tinkybell,
heheheh....it's not ex based on d price but d menu wise....but i must say d std of food is nice but since my mama tried neo n felt is gd so i let her decide lor...

cyc

checked with mum on catering after tea ceremony. and since the tea ceremony quite close to church ceremony, mum said will cook some beehoon and get some pastries. so no need cater. good for me. tks girls for your suggestions!

lex, isetan got private sale this thurs. should be in your mail. go check. should be able to get some good bargains. ;p

~sblbee~

providencia n jac,
dun worry, i share d same sentiments as u :p u r not an oddball cos it's exactly most of us gals feel
hope to grab sth frm d GSS tis yr round...

hi fionachua,
thanks for adding me to msn

dodolet

Actually GSS can still find stuff.... usually IF i wanna get anything i will look around first and go there VERY early in de day (like when the shop just opened) to get the items i wanna buy then it would be less messy.

I think for big ticketed items is more hua to buy during GSS and also they will still have some standards ah, so it would still be pretty pleasant shopping around.

Just curious, the entertainment performance usually for which part of the wedding? Cocktail? or the dinner part???

aj_wech

hello cheryl, i am not new in here har, just not very frequent. paiseh, paiseh. nowsadays, too many websites to check in too liao.. :p
i am also holding my wedding in oct, wl b at rasa sentosa, outdoor - beach wedding, so cross fingers, cross toes, hope for good weather.
hv settle gown, waiting for fitting now.

I am working in shanghai, so hv to remote control wedding stuff in s'pore har.. :p so i hv good excuse to cut short on every other things i hv to do for wedding har... blame it on the distance. haha.

hmm... seems like i am the only one who got a corset.

koyoyo

cyc,
U are taking off to go ISetan sale, what are you aimin for ? Too bad i dun have the card either..
Gers,
i see you all are moving on to purhcase of wine and caterer.. That fast.. I am still thinking wait till the ps is done.. So those who already did the above do share..
Meiling after u mention the yout tiao i am tempted to confirm neo garden..
Sue,
Guess u attend too many meeting.. air may not be good.. Do try the cough syrup .. robitssuan is good . but if u got family doc u should see one first. Must take care ok!!
cHERYL
Can share your list on food variety? I am thinking of halal food for my church but my mother side i want somethg suitable for elderly. more chinese style ba. BTW, heard u already went for 1 IPL how is it?? They say if u stop it will be worst so i was thinking start only in sept.. care to tell me more? PM or msn me??
Tinkybell,
I am pretty sure i heard of Elsie kitchen b4 but just cant recall... any halal food? What their famous dish.. i wan try and recall cos i think the feedback is very good for tat caterer..
Gers,
I am thinking settle the caterer only when i settle the printing of the invite.. how come u gers can decide tt fast???

Lex,
Welcome back !! U have MIA very long.. how the trip ? bought anythg? I miss eating KL ba ku teh.. it herbal n very diff from local...

AJ Wech,
Where u bought the corset ? can show? I was telling meiling i was searchin hi-low for one during my rom preparation and ended didnt get one cos most of it too lacy .. add design to my gown when i wore em plus no helper cant wear it myslf... is yours easy to wear? Have u tried wearing for say 1 hr??? I only manage to IPL for the butt

POlarwhite ,
Time we hit gym i am missing the adrenline n grow oil once again

Addy
show us the video???

aj_wech

i sometimes envy the ladies here har, they get to go out together n share their wedding plans and excitement. must b so fun lor... they also share their wedding pics.. which i cannot access .. haiz..

providencia

Jac, sorry for late reply, cutie has given u the rough quotation, abt 1600 for 4 piece band with male vocal. I heard them perfom at the four seasons wedding show last year and again this yr at a corporate event in Ritz Carlton. feel that they are quite gd, 3 segments, 45 mins each.

SotongLet, it's recommended for the band to play during dinner and not cocktail, cos cocktail time is too noisy, pple want to mingle.

MeiLing, here's to good buys during GSS.

uk_fung

Shanghai can not access multiply?? is it coz of fire wall instead? lower the sercurity at the internet option?

by the way. Koyoyo... hmmm I did not get corset but I get griddle.. similar things.. griddle is also use hooks behind.. then corset I think same ba.. dun think is tie one ba... if u want Griddle... most of the bra shop have ar.. but griddle not suitable if u wear bear back/ those translucent gowns ya..

uk_fung

Anyone bought wine/ do wine reserach liao?? last time rem got some topic here but then after that all die down and prepare PS liao hahaha

cyc

my FH bought wine alr. bought it from Carrefour (PS) when they had a fair in Mar. he said the price is ok.. if want brand, let me know. I can get from him and post. basically we only got red wine.

koyoyo, i've got nth in particular to buy. its just warm-up for GSS! ;p

rach10

Hi leely & Enuice> I have went to far east to shop ard.. managed to saw 2 - 3 pairs that I like...
But thinking I should shop for more before I really buy... hehe... Fussy me...

I've also confirmed on my WG and EG... My EG is MTM, so I have not see the outcome yet... Its a red dress with black laces... What about you?

12th June,, so you must be very excited now...
As for the OD PS, have not really choose... But we did shortlisted a few like Alexandra (the new bridge), National Art Museum...
We have 3 outdoor place, so still thinking of the 3rd location....
What about u?

I only need to print for my banquets...

kellyduffy

any one planning renov for bedroom or house? or have done up the room already?

I am looking for ideas for walk-in wardrobe. comments please

bedazzle

it's exactly 4 mths to my wedding !!!
same for Kai and spoiltbabe.

green, spoiltbabe,
halleluia I dun hv to stay with my in laws cos they dun have enough room. My bf is sharing room w his bro now... I'm at home quite frequently bcos of the nature of my job. I usually work from home. So I can't imagine staying w them, but well, I dun hv to worry about tt. Renting is out of the question, I'ld rather give the "rental" money to my mum or save up for a Chanel 2.55 than to pay the rent. keke..

Kai,
where hv you been? keke... congrats on settling on a house which u n your wife like. She's fortunate to have you around. =)
Seletar CC is nice, hope you have a great dinner.
Go T dragon and have a look. Sometimes it's worth spending some money to save you some hassle, but if you don't mind, go to the printing shop in JB City Square, recommended by rach n YL. Heard it's good and cheap.

my bf and I used to be in the media line. We can do the filming, graphics, editing v well. But... can't possibly do our own wedding express highlights on wedding day.. haha... Hv asked him to do the photo montage, which he hasn't got started. In fact, he's lazy to do all tt.

Strawclare,
What happened? Argue bcos of wedding preps? Cheer up k. You must been too stressed out. Hv to plan your wedding and also deal with your debt. It's your family's debt? you hv to settle it alone? Somemore you hv to fly around... phew... b strong girl.

I'm surprised when you say it's the first time in 4 yrs that you two quarreled. Bcos my bf and I never fail to argue or quarrel at least once a month for the past 6 yrs... haha.
Recently, it's the longest time since we last quarreled, which is like 2 mths. I treat him to a nice dinner and told him it's to celebrate us not arguing for so long, break record. haha.
btw, Can you ask your brother, if I hv the equipment, how much will he charge for filming?

green,
my bf also only dun like me to wear mini skirt. cos he say I v "chor Lor", everytime wear miniskirt then forget, then open my leg big big, haha...

simplyserene

Wah Iris... then I must go check my cards this weekend as well. My fiance very cute. He was proudly telling me yesterday that he has started pasting the inserts onto the card. It was like those little kid telling his mum of his day's achievements. So funny

strawbsc

dor >if u int in VG,email me.I can get my bro to email you to liase?cheers.I think he shod have frens to do it bah..I think..haha~

Kai & Ling>**applause** can see you are a more responsible guy ..your wife is lucky to have you.Luckily,my fh is like u,otherwise wedding would be in a mess.He even has a "time-table" chart on what we have to do each mth.anyway,he has a chart and graph for everything lah..haha..he is the one to buy the xi bing,buy the "si dian jin" etc..I think he does more housework than me.(he even packs my handbag!)
Is the place u bought near the MRT?I looking for the ones near 842 that side leh..
my AD/ROM is oso 14th sept!

ah net> I have the same opinion as ur fh.no matter how many pics I add,I might only see it 10 yrs later maybe?I m a practical person lah..haha..I dun even wan the poster!I actually didn't even wan the whole album!coz' I think it takes up space in the storeroom..haha..but most of the gals would always add photos lah.its the norm.

fortunemew & green > my fh even have a excel sheet for the wedding list.I m the one that still dun noe how many people I m inviting!I think he is the "wife" bah,I m the "husband".

straylamb > thank u gal~you're so sweet.ok lah,I m just paranoid @ times..haha..but this is the 1st time he really got angry...

spoiltbabe>I think it a stupid matter lah.I got over-reacted when I saw pics of him and his ex.Started to think I shod go for plastic surgery lah,laser lipo lah,breast enhancement etc coz' I lost confidence in myself suddenly.I was comparng myself to his ex gf who is a japanese and had model-kind figure.at the end of the day,I thought since he decided to marry me,I must be better than her lor.And he has made alot of sacrifices for me,he changed his schedule to fly me back home,does all the housework from cleaning,ironing my clothes,packing my bag!I m actually a queen at his pl(except washing dishes).thanks for asking.I feel much better now liao.(^-^)
I aldy forward ur email to my bro.He will email you.cheers~

(sorry ah.my message is belly long)

aj_wech

when i come back, all of us will be busy preparing for the AD liao..

china ban multiply sometime ago due to some tianan men pics.

koyoyo, i dont have pic of corset with me now, perhaps i can try and take a pic later. i have tried it on for a day and it was quite ok. i was able to breathe n still eat. :p I bought it for S$29.90 only. so i thought it was a good buy.

we opt to take the house wine from rasa to save us the hassle, as we manage to get 18 bottles (FOC) from them.

strawbsc

dor> How I wish it was family debt dan I can pass on to my bro and sis and mom and dad.haha...I bought my own private property dats y own the bank $$,so I have been desperately trying to sell the pl as the mkt is not good lor,luckily I sold place recently and signed OTP but 3 mths not up yet,I m just crossing my fingers that everything goes well.coz' the buyer can back up anytime and forfeit their deposit.It was a super IMPULSIVE buy...me and my sis went to this place once.We stepped into this place for 10mins and signed the OTP so it had been so stressful to sell off the place,never again will I buy a place with just one viewing (its a lesson I will not forget)..so far I didn't tell my fh the truth abt me buying a pl in 10mins.He will strangle me for sure although he did ask me why I bought the place.I act blur look steam and change topic wenever he asks.
He has a good temper lor,its me that always lose temper and raise my voice thats y we never quarrel before.And becoz' we get to only see each other once a mth or once every 2mths.how to quarrel?no time to...haha~~
To me,quarreling is healthy leh,rather than keeping your feelings imside n bottling up till it explodes.So you and ur fh to settle ur differences as it comes is good lor.

you can email my bro @ [email protected] think you better liase with him coz' I m clueless about VG..haha..I aldy told him about you.

~sblbee~

aj wech,
yah, finally see u back in action after u MIA, how r u? when will u b coming back to sg? guz u'll b coming back soon cos it's juz ard 5 mths to our wedding...when's ur fitting? i cant wear a corset cos some of my gowns can see d back :p
dun worry, though u cant view now, im sure u can join us in all our action soon when u r back in sg...so u can access to all d applications

koyoyo,
hehehehe....i was v full dat day but d whole plate of scallop n youtiao was wiped out during d reception....hehehe, den d latecomers dun get to enjoy...heng, i didnt go late :p
i ordered my wine frm my supplier yest le, $15.50 per bottle...save me frm d hassle cos it's d same type of red wine served by d hotel cos they r giving me 1 bottle per table :p

mrs chiew,
i settled my red wine le....placed d order, juz need to confirm n make payment when my fh is back

~sblbee~

sotonglet,
heheheh....i v impatient one, always grab n go if there r too many ppl, den ended up impulse purchase n d items left untouched in my wardrobe :p i seldom do recce one, it's touch n go :p den i cant afford to do shopping early during wkdays...hehehe, no shops will open b4 7.30 am :p

providencia,
hope dat we can have wonderful buys during d GSS *cheers! let me find a glass 1st*

rjwedding

s'rene.. ur fiance so cute.. good that he helped in pasting the inserts.. my hb so lazy, everything i do.. cos I know for sure the cards wouldn't be finished on time if he does it..

looks like most of us are about 80% done with our preparations.. so exciting n nervous..

bedazzle

wah... buy a house in 10 min!!?!
dun worry, just wait n see, hopefully the owner is genuine.
I'll email your bro. thanks a lot.
wah I admire you leh. both you and your fh fly around and you still manage to maintain this relationship.