(2008) Brides of year 2008

providencia

mary, welcome back, sounds like a fulfilling trip.

koyoyo, i'm not a tai tai, if i'm one, i won't have to backpack and stay in hostels, I would be staying in hotels.
I work in hospital, easily replacable by foreign workers.
I wait for you to start the newly married thread, k?

Flora, that's a lot of gowns you have tried. U have something in mind to MTM?

MeiLing, dun be sad, 3 wks will be gone in a flash. U'll have more time for yourself and others.

fortunemew

hi rach, thanks for the red wine contacts. it's helpful.

my friend taught me a trick to save $$$$. For those who are bringing red wine from outside, and need to pay corkage charges.... you may ask your hotel coordinator if can bring in 1.5L of red wine, instead of 0.75L. that means 1.5L of red wine can pour more glasses and you can save a lot of $.

my friend did that for her swissotel banquet dinner last year.

annabella

Hi Meiling,

Where's the exact location of the GDL shops you have mentioned? I only knew world of fortune. Will be going down this sunday to check out the GDL stuffs.

tinkybell

Sue, most welcome.. i din do much, simply kpokpo only...
how's ur nubra hunt???

Meiling, wah........ u went so mani places ah??? the next time we wanna hang out for wedding stuff at chinatown, u can be the tour guide huh.... as for the super small size gowns at BS,i have the same problem getting into them... but cant be bothered, can alter n fit me at the end of the day will be fine... And i definitely need to go on some dieting n to go down 2 sizes on my tummy, so big n ugly....... Sigh...

xinyi_reiko

morning ladies...

Kittyng, is pretty good.
Had some comments on the food.. but overall is good, service is excellent. My families are happy with the food.

Another thing settled. 1 step closer to AD.

Next week will be giving out the invites.

flora_bliss

providencia and meiling, ya, tat's a lot of gowns to try in 1 day. My BS coordinator wants me to try as many designs as possible. So the coordinator and my sis helped to select the gowns for me to try. I was pretty fast in putting on the gowns. Even the coordinator was amazed at the speed and the fact that I don't need her help for most of the gowns.

meiling, I'm suppose to choose 2 EG. One for AD and an additional one for PS. But I've not decided which one to wear for AD. The green one is a little like greek goddess style with very low back. Gave a classy and yet sexy look. Makes me look tall and slim. The silver one is bustier design with a slight mermaid at the bottom. This one gave a more glam look. It also make me look taller. My sis and HTB preferred the silver one leh. But I quite like the green one coz most likely my WG will not be a low back one.

I've decided to MTM the WG. The style that I like to have will be something elegant and timeless classic. I want something that doesn't look outdated when I flipped thru the album 5 yrs later. I tried one OTR. It was satin, ivory colour with very long train and very elaborate lace details on the train. Think I'm gonna go for tat style.

lsntyl

rach>thanks for yest. We had fun and really like our invites. But now feeling so tired. Now we thinking about whether want to do similar invites for our dinner but realise we blur blur forgot to find out prices yest. >< Need to know which is more economical - printing own invites or inserts as originally planned. :p

Kirei>wah, you making me itchy to try this new serum too. I can never get rid of my freckles even at the dermatologist. Was resigned to them le. But if this really works... :p

Kailing>If you think its a good buy, then grab bah. But don't mind, is it 3/4/5 room and what is the location? then easier to give views. IMHO, 345K is ok for a 4room, depending on location. Also, how old is the flat?

fortunemew>got 1.5L wine de? Must go source le. :D

~sblbee~

sue,
dun worry, u r alrdy in ur tip top condition to take ur PS pics
u'll look slim n beautiful after wking so hard for tis day

yup i bought my nubra le...have been using for my gown fitting n selection

annabella,
amanda weavers is located on d same level of world of fortune but is those lane behind one...oppss, i 4get to bring d namecard out...den yue hwa is d emporium at d traffic light junction beside OG

tinkybell,
sure no prob...will bring u gals there...i spent so much $ w/o knowing yest :p
sigh, i need to lose inches off my arms n waist as well as thighs n hips cos my black EG reveals all these places

~sblbee~

providencia,
tis yr he has been constantly travelling out of d country for 2-3 weeks but oso gd lah...at least i can have time of my own but im juz worried dat he cant finish his portion of his wedding prep :p

florabliss,
wah...u r a super woman in gown selection...after 30+ gowns u still cant find ur ideal WG....i bet ur ideal WG must b special n beautiful so must show us after u have d sketch ok?
after u describe d design u have in mind, im sure ur WG will look timeless n classic
hehehe....frm d way u describe ur EG, they really look beautiful n special
makes me wana see ur pics :p

fionachua83

florabliss,

wah really alot leh 30+ gowns me tat time go for selection only try 10 gowns for WG+EG but not satisfy with EG. Will be going down to BS again to try more gowns maybe next week cos i not happy with the coordinator and asked to change another one.

providencia,
wao u intend to go 2 mths for honeymoon so envy leh then can go so many countries really like a rich tai tai can travel round the world.

koyoyo,
when ur turn to upload ur WG and EG for us to view? haha wan to see ur sexy gown tat u bought.

luvz17

prov, any idea which resort you will stay at maldives?

sotonglet, u r gng bangkok to tailor-made dresses &amp; suits only? my fren just came back fm there and she was saying bridesmaid dresses are cheap there, as cheap as 400 baht.

koyoyo, we shall wait for u to start the new thread =) i dun have any photos to show as photo taking is not allowed during gown selection. some more the staff helped me change so cnt take at all..

flora, 30+ gowns!!! just WG or EG and WG? i think i tried abt 20 gown for both WG &amp; EG and I felt tired already. Once hubby &amp; i have decided which one, we stopped trying already..coz the more we try, more gowns i like..get confused and cant decide...

ermmm

hi jules, my hotel is fine with me bringing outside food... they will even provide cutlerys and any other items that is required to "decorate" the table (e.g. table cloth, serving ladles, etc).. You should check..

My guy was just commenting that maybe we should make our own muffins for the reception instead of buying.. esp since we have 3 days in between our AD and dinner.. stress... I can't bake for nuts.. will end up my mum doing all the work and she will complain..

gingerbread_gal

Flora,
So you want a lace WG? Its good that you are fast in changing...me too! My designer was surprised that I change so fast. Its good like that cos you try on so many gowns....I agree that the WG shld look timeless and classic. Long train sounds very good esp with lace details
When will you be starting your mtm process?
I might be mtm-ing my EG and I totally have no idea on what type of EG I want....any suggestions?

Meiling, I saw the ang-paos that you bought...so many ah! I'm wondering how many will I need on my AD. Any idea? Have to give AP to jiemeis and brothers, to the pageboy and flowergirl and to ym younger sis during tea ceremony. Then do we have to give the elders AP during tea ceremony? I understand that they will give some jewellery or money during tea ceremony so on our part, do we have to reciprocate?

Hmmm, I love to go to cold countries....so would love to go for winter honeymoon

Sotonglet, regarding the tailor that I recommended, she might not be the cheapest around but i think her workmanship shld be good. Perhaps you can try the ones that Mary Poppins went to.

eunicet

Hey Erlina...

If you're thinking about muffins, you could get those pre-mixed ones...Very simple to make, no need to add anything except water (maybe eggs)...And I've tried the cake mixes from Betty Crocker before and they are actually really good!! I tried the chocolate ones and they are super moist...Guess the muffin mixes would be really good too! But you might get quite crazy making so many lahh...

dodolet

Jac, I would need the email addy to check how much she charge. I wanna a black lace over a bold colored dress, and a fitted mandarin collar lace jacket. ^^. Regarding ur EG, what design you have a strong preference for? ie, princess, mermaid? simple? oriental? halter? bustier? toga?
One of the ways is to go try wedding gowns of those cuts. Then transpose the design into colors of ur choice.

I think I have tried 20 over gowns, I am still contemplating on MTM too. Will I love details and I may not be able to get it in mtm, so it is still pretty stressful.

My EG are the eziest to solve. Put me in a strong color gown, can liao. I am contemplating on a purple gown, but FH refuse to wear purple shirt to match my color! LOL.

Anyway I am using the Changi Airport computers. 15 mins on the internet is nver inuff. Flying to taipei in about 2 hrs time.

crown

me also dunno whether to buy Queen or King size bed as the room size is only 9feet by 9feet. We have no money to buy new flat now.

I also watch Iron Man yesterday. Nice show

Ask you gals, where would you all suggest for outdoor shooting? MY PS coming soon

ahnetsan

yeah gina, show ur gowns pics on multiply!!

wah rach, your gowns ready on monday liao, remb to show on multiply too!!!

my PS on monday... must bring wat during the PS ar? and i jus finally bot my PS shoes last nite.

btw, do you all choose the outdoor locations or you let the PG choose the locations?

lexilicious

Cheryl
BTW I went down to Bliss Collection before - I thought some of their stuff wasnt bad but selection seems small and their stuff is really quite expensive.. so you might wanna add some of the other GDL stores to your list since you're already heading down.

ukfung
Me and Polar got our rings from Love and Co. Love and CO is in CIty Hall itself, not in Citilink, that's why you can't find it lor.. Lol.. it's at the corner, just behind the taxi stand. You to the Guess (the one selling shoes, not bags) and walk backwards ... somewhere around there.

I used to spend my drinking weekends in Mt Faber, there's a nice grass patch near the playground that overlooks the PSA lights, dunno if you saw it.. at least it looks nice to me when I'm drunk and stumbling around la lol.

Mei
grats on another pair of paradox shoes heheheh. Rem more pics ok, including the LL ones! Hahah I've given up on dieting - my conclusion is that it's easier to alter the gown to fit me (and faster too!) then to alter my weight to wear the gown ahhahahaha!

I also wanna print transparent stickers le! Where did you get your done?

tinky
You going to look for GDL stuff soon? I also thinking of going down Chinatown this Sunday and look-look see-see le.. I'm not buying GDL stuff also, like mei's mom, we're not fussy... but thinking of buying angbaos and lamps only... and those sticker stuff, none of those bosin etc etc things.

sue
got your nubra yet? I quite like using it le... buy the lightweight one though, easier to stay up.. LOl I keep wondering if the silicon one will fall off >.<

lsntyl

I still waiting to confirm my EG colour.
You gals are lucky your gowns are ready so soon. Please show pix so I can get ideas. :p

Net>all the best for your PS!

bedazzle

YL,

dun worry. Moi hvn't even chosen my WG, hvn't even mtm my EG... hohoho...
How was your JB trip? How much they charge for the inserts and printing?

Ah Net,
Some suggestions for places for photoshoot:
1. Changi boardwalk
2. Botanic Gardens ( I think the waterfall area, need to pay to go in)
3. Lower pierce reservior
4. labrador park
5. ponggol
6. sentosa

Remember to bring:
1. Sunblock
2. Umbrella
3. Insect repellant
4. wet wipes
5. water!!!

pooh83

Rach, I have just taken my photoshoot on mon.. I like the waterfall also.. no entrance fee needed.. but for sentosa need to pay $10.. ur photoshoot 2 days then u will not be so tired.. I will be going down to see my photos tml.. so excited.. hopefully it will turn out nice.. hee.. I thinking of king size bed coz my hb big size mah.. if buy king size then I can toss and turn more comfortably.. can sms me the contact for the bed u bought? my house not ready yet.. haven even went for my first appt.. haha.. will be going to hdb next sat.. btw can I ask u when do u pay the owner the cov? Isit after first or second appt?

Ah net, I dun have multiply.. hee.. but I will upload the photos on my wedding blog once I get the soft copy..

bedazzle

Sigh...

I really can't stand my bast**d brother. 31 yrs old liao. Still keep asking my mum for money every single month. Such a parasite. When she dun give, he'll threaten n keep calling. So end up she'll always give him. how how how?
She's always v stressed and vexed bcos of this. Otherwise she v good life liao...
Now she doesn't even hv mood to prepare for my wedding.

uk_fung

Mei/lex: ya lor me blur lor.. thought is citylink stupid... hahahha nvm I already told my girl friend to go Raffles City there
thanks alot

clear sticker me also sourcing le.. thinking is kinda nice to have a sticker behind the card instead just glue it.. can be messy.. and sticker faster ma hahhahah lazy ppl thinking hahaha

~sblbee~

mrs chiew,
heheheh....i like to buy n collect all these stuff...as long as they look cute den i buy...now my rm like a storerm...full of my wedding stuff :p

lex,
thanks for ur well wishes! i posted pics of my 3rd pair of paradox shoes le...will b looking forward to post my LL shoes during d wkends or by next mon :p
hehehe...my fh n i r challenging each other to see how much weight we can lose during tis 1 mth so i better buck up cos he's def more motivated than me :p
oh d transparent stickers i bought frm popular n DIY myself de...cant find anyone to print for me but i heard tis service is available in m'sia b some printers but it's kinda ex, i settled it myself for less than $10

necrosis

sotong,
have a good trip!! ;)

wow, you gals trying gowns...
somehow i've not done that ah....am soo slow ah. :p
havent even started shopping for shoes (which is dependent on gowns i guess)
still trying to jian fei.

ask you experienced gown-tryers
must we wear the nu-bra or whatever bra-like substance when trying gowns?

~sblbee~

jac,
i love to buy all those AP packets :p i juz buy n buy, havent calculate how many i need though :p there's no need to reciprocate for elders but u do need to give AP when u offer tea to d younger ones e.g younger siblings :p

sotonglet,
glad to have d chance to tok to u thru msn b4 u flew off
do enjoy ur BKK trip n hope u'll come back wif lotsa shopping n make us all envious

~sblbee~

nec,
usually gowns have got paddings in them alrdy, for me i need extra "push up" so i do use d nubra smtimes but for u.....there's NO need to do so...u can do away wif it :p

flora_bliss

meiling, by rite I shd be meeting the designer in mid May. But then my sis will be going to HK for holi and I'll be travelling to KL for biz. so will be meeting the designer on 30 May instead to conceptualise the WG. Hopefully I can get the sketch and show you gals then? As for the pics for the EG, I dunno when I can take the photo leh.

fionachua, when I put on the 1st WG, I started cursing and swearing coz it was so heavy. But after 2 more, I'm ok liao. I guess tat's wat it meant by practise makes perfect.

luvz17, only around 30 EG and WG lah. If 30 each, then I become superwoman liao. I've got a lot of gowns to try becoz my coordinator and my sis cooperated. They see, take down and I try.

Jac, I'll be meeting the designer on 30 May. I've tried those gowns that have bubble effect, embroidery, curly frills etc, all not nice leh. Lace still looks better on me. But I'm not sure should I have the WG in white or ivory colour.

necrosis

howdy keer,

i've sent you the VG rec.
i'm not sure if the quote i have is his latest.
do check with him to get the most up to date one.

erlina,
you're gonna be baking all those muffins yourself?
wah.....power!!!
but you'll be so busy with all other things and don't forget to 'protect' your manicured nails!!
;)

flora_bliss

nec, like wat meiling has mentioned, there're usually paddings in them. For me, I don't need to wear any bra. Somehow, some gowns make me look more busty (I wonder how come). Anyway, can't squeeze in anything else extra coz the gown is just nice on me.

flora_bliss

sotonglet, not sure if you are able to see this. My ex-colleague always goes to the following tailor in bangkok to tailor her shirts and her hubby's suit.

GULATI FASHIONS
73 Sukhumvit Road, Corner Shop Soi Nana 3
Bangkok, 10110 Thailand

Tel. (66) 02-250-0293, (66) (66) 02-250-0294
Fax. (66) 02-253-4654

~sblbee~

fionachua,
i juz passed by ur BS again n saw a v nice halter neck WG
hehehe...can keep u updated everytime....

florabliss,
i sure look forward to seeing d sketch for ur WG...n oso pics of ur EG....knowing dat u got extremely gd taste...ur gowns will sure look fantastic de
did ur BS mention to u abt d cost of adding d additional details for ur WG cos i understand dat if u require full lace, it's usually v ex de?

flora_bliss

meiling, ya the coordinator did mentioned I need to pay extra if my train is very very long. If it's slightly shorter than the one that I've tried then, no need to pay extra. But you think I shd take white or ivory?

Maybe I go back see if I've got any similar pic of the WG to show you gals.

lost_in_space

Hey gals.. i finished my PS.. finally~~ two days.. so fun~~ took almost 400 pictures.. :D
1 thing gone.. the next thing to do will be wedding cards plus flat..

ermmm

Eunice : My mum actually does quite a fair bit of baking and I will help her sometimes.. so kinda used to baking for long hours, esp during CNY period. Maybe I shall psycho her nearer to the date to bake for me.. ;) When I tell her the cost, she will likely be doing so.. anyway, I think she will be baking some stuff to supplement for my solemnisation..

Nec : eee.. just a thought lar.. not decided yet.. anyway, I have 3 days between my AD and dinner, so will have time to do so.. My manicures usually dun last me that long.. I think 2 or 3 days cannot make it liao.. keke.. so means anyway have to re-do already...

~sblbee~

florabliss,
oh dat's great, no need to top up extra, i dun like all those hidden cost esp when i dun get to keep d gown at d end
actually it depends on ur skin tone, for me i took a white n an ivory one
some pantang ppl prefer white as some felt ivory is only meant for 2nd marriage...do show us some pics so dat we can comment

~sblbee~

lost, hey congrats in finishing ur PS...wah, so many pics, seems like u enjoyed urself a lot
so happy to hear dat...wah, surely u got many nice pics one
got any pics to share?

waxie24

gina> mine was ard 2.2K (after discount).. robinsons (orchard) n OG (albert court) are on sale.. maybe u can go there to choose n test.

another thing to bring is handheld fan..

lsntyl

dor>bring your mom somewhere nice for mother's day? at least can help her destress a bit.

I uploaded my ROM invite onto my multiply so can go see if you interested. They cost 89 ringgit so about S$38. We're both happy with it although I would have liked thicker paper. Still quite a good buy for the $ we paid. Also bought another pair of gold heels as backup in case my original pair is damanged. Quite cheap cos only about S$23! When I free, I take photos and post in multiply.

Anyway, just heard from FH that we can see more fabric swatches tomorrow so hope can finally choose a colour I like! :D

xinyi_reiko

kittyng, haha.. ya lor.. more and more things falling in place now. Tml i will be going to BS with my dad and sis to select jacket and dress.

kailing

Gina Rach LSnTYL >
It's a 24yr old, 4 roomer in tampines. seems like problem is getting a resolution. we managed to know that the valuation of a flat in the same block but at the 6th floor is 310k as of now. From what we know, the furnishings and reno in that #6 house is hardly new whereas the one that we are eyeing was renovated 4 years ago. So given that the owner wants 343k, the COV now stands at 33k, if we assume that the flat that we want has a valuation of 310k as well.

To answer rach, the owner will not know the new valuation until she has signed on the OTP and agree to sell to us. By then, even if she knows, it is already too late for her. and the thing is we have time on our side. She wont be moving out till July so our 1st appointment is likely to be in mid-late Aug and by then, a re-valuation may up the valuation price and further lower the COV.

To illustrate how crazy it is, I stress again that the valuation has risen by 30k in the last few months and in general, the valuation of flats in the whole town have risen by 20 to 60k in the last year. Best part is,I bet we are not seeing this phenomenal rise in valuation stopping soon.

We really like it, only thing is it has false ceiling everywhere (living room and bedrooms)so we are not too sure if we want to get rid of it or retain it to save the renovation money.

waxie24

oh ya.. about wine hor.. I've seen a 9Litre wine at wine connection (east coast branch) costing $450.. i m considering to get that although my corkage is waived, i find it special..

flora_bliss

meiling, I tink my skin tone goes well with most colours. Tat's why I've got a bit of problems for EG selection coz all those colours I've tried on seem nice. The long train WG I tried was ivory colour. Not bad. But I'm just wondering if in white would it looked every more classy and elegant.

I think I have one pic tat is quite similar to the long train WG. I'll upload it to here tonight.

providencia

flora, so many gowns and so fast, I'm sure I'll be dead tired at the end of the session. Both the EG sounds nice, but based on the description, I like the design of the green one (but not the colour), do choose the one that u like better. Like what MeiLing said, colour of WG depends on skin colour, my ROM's in white and WG is in ivory. U are fair, so both should be ok, unless u patang.

MeiLing, what tasks does he have to fulfil? But not to worry, men's portion seems to be easier, mine hasn't started on anything yet.

fiona, nowhere near a tai tai, both HTB and I just like to travel, so came up with this idea of backpacking. my friends all laughing at me for having to backpack during honeymoon, but i think it'll be fun.

luvz, for now, the plan is to stay at Banyan Tree in Maldives. U planning already?

Lost, that's a lot of pics u took, do share if u can.

Sotonglet, have a gd trip.