(2008) Brides of year 2008

~sblbee~

sue,
im here, reporting mdm....morning cant log in msn, duno y :p hehehe...ok, let's get ready to use d tape n correction fluid....
i was munching on d way to gown selection, den stopped when i realised dat lotsa gowns cannot wear...so sad

cyc,
morning...no more sinful food n snacking for me now...so sad dat i couldnt fit in my gowns

mrs chiew,
yah my hotel provides me a helper rm but i exchanged it for an additional nite's stay :p

I took my pre-wedding outdoor photoshoot yesterday. Thankfully the weather was good. We hired Mabel Lee as our photographer and Angel Chua as my MUA. They were both very helpful, especially helping me with the gowns, touch-up, etc. We really enjoyed ourselves at the Empress Place area, Spottiswoode Park, Hort Park and Labrador Park. I can't wait to see the pictures!

gingerbread_gal

Jules,
my htb is also wondering why i'm fretting over the bridesmaid dresses...he even went online to find websites whereby he thinks they can get the dress from.

somehow the older generation seems to think that there is no need to get things done so early. my mum thinks that choosing my gown and buying shoes so early is a disadvantage cos there will be newer designs later on.
Guess they don't really understand the current pace at which ppl plan for their weddings these days. In fact, before I started my prep, I also didn't know have to do things so way in advance. So don't be too bothered ya?

Let's just cont planning our wedding happily

YSLAm, congrats!! the proposal sounds really sweet

~sblbee~

lex,
yah i tried on 3 ROM dresses frm d latest fashion show, though i love d white one i posted on multiply but my fren n my fh as well as d BS ppl voted for d one wif pink ribbon...so i'll go ahead wif it :p

lsntyl

yes, come along with us lah, dor. Doesn't matter even if your FH is not with you. Can go in look-see. Then if you don't like it, can just scrap it.

I hope to print my ROM invites on Thurs. :D

~sblbee~

providencia,
i didnt manage to take any pic, after dat incident, guz it's happier not to bring any camera or bag inside d fitting rm though i've got d chance to take pics...but dun wana risk being caught again :p i hope i'll look gd as well...now pondering if i shd swopped 1 EG for my tea dress :p
dun worry, nag at me pls....i need constant nagging to realise how much weight i put on :p

jac,
glad to hear dat u got a rather gd experience at essex walk...how did u manage to resolve d prob? they exchanged a new pair for u? im going down to taka once they call me up :p
hehehe....my weight gain is ard my body....smore im super broad so when i wear my gowns, it's like an american football player, how demoralising

nelle

ok, girls, hands up for:
1) evening of Thu 26 Jun; or
2) evening of Fri 27 Jun

We'll see which one is highly popular. *heeheehee...qinying*

lsntyl

oh ya, for those interested, today Ben & Jerry giving out free cones from 12-7pm. Branches are:
* The Cathay
* Raffles City Shopping Centre
* United Square
* White Sands
* VivoCity
* Jurong BirdPark
* Singapore Zoo

luvz17

eunice: i wun be staying with them (luckily). manage to get a resale flat last mth, tmr 1st appoinment. already told my hubby not to let any parents interfere our house preparation. or else, i will go crazy...

mindy: parents in law shd be glad that i have decided to hold only 1 dinner. i shd have hold it at indonesia as well...if that is the case, all expenses doubled!

jules: just cannot understand y it is abt bridemaids dresses. it is not that we dun want to dress the brothers, bt they dun want to..

die die must go through this process..everyday must keep talking...hahaha..later become too naggy, how??

Ys Lam, CONGRATS!!

xinyi_reiko

morning ladies..

Kittyng, thats great..

I finally finished glue-ing my inserts.. and realised i got extra 20 inserts.. I also started to write in the names..

gingerbread_gal

Meiling,
yep, they changed to a new pair for me but its of another colour. The one i got initially was ivory but now its silver. Cos they cannot custom make the ivory one and the silver one looks almost the same, so took the silver one.
Oh, you mean you dun go to essex walk? you go to the one at taka?

I prefer friday for the dinner

uk_fung

hee hee mei u really love fashion/ shopping hahaha
good la now fix liao just wait for the day to come.. do do facial, do do hair hahaha sleep early rest more hahahah

~sblbee~

mrs chiew,
yah shopping is my fav pastime....buying things oso...i cant tahan window shopping, i'll rather stay at home if i cant buy anything...heheh :p yah, im so happy now...waiting for d PS dates to come but oso trying hard to lose weight....cant seem to get enuff slp nowadays...slept at 11+ pm last nite....super tired today

zerochristy

dor (bedazzle)> Hi dor, sad to say that the SA in Love & Co did not attend to you. I got mine wedding band at Love & Co their service towards me is very good from the frist day till collection of wedding band. Maybe its just that happen that when your there the SA are occupied with other pple. Sometimes its a matter of luck. If that day you enter the shop w/o any customer there you think they will not entertain you also? I went early in the morning when the shop open so its like no escape for the SA and they odd to service me and dun konow if you have heard this before usually chinese pple believe that first customer is very important and if they dun treat us good the rest of the day is unlucky.

LSnTYL (lsntyl)> Hi LSnTYL, yap i would say some of the SA dun know their produts its also good that you can do some homework yourself. I dun usually 100% trust the SA cause I also do sales myself. What I usually do is look at website first... than call them over the phone and ask questions... save my trip to the shops. Than slowly see forums and than select the few shop i have in mind than both FH and myself would see service/goods & price.

dodolet

I both dates till now is free lah. but will only confirm closer to the dates.

Anyway me going to taipei this friday and then to bangkok on wed. I was thinking since I am in bangkok, should I make any EG for myself since I have only 1 EG for my AD. Any advise or tailors to recommend?

I am also very tempted to get my own laces in bangkok and ask my BS to do the design I wanna. SIGH... Headache.. so much temptation and not inuff money to suppliment the temptation.

superwoman_cqy

Nelle I have classes on both days :p But well for you its worth it to skip them really...

To edit: I realised I will be out of town from 26th to 6th of June but not confirmed yet cos that country is still in chaos *blur me*. But you all can just go ahead with the dinner and I shall join you all for the next one ..

~sblbee~

lex,
i love cupcakedivinity....actually tot of ordering frm them so had to drop d idea due to logistical hassle :p
dun worry, juz wk it out n u can afford to eat more...unlike me, i juz lie on d bed n do nothing except to lament abt my ever-accumulating fats :p

~sblbee~

jac,
oh great, i think silver is more versatile but im gona get a champagne one cos d design i like looks funnie in silver...shall go n try again b4 i decide :p hehehe....i go to d taka one so i can use my taka vouchers to offset for my payment else v shiong to pay so much at a go :p

sotonglet,
wah, u get to travel so often? do enjoy ur trip ok? how many EG u wana wear on ur AD? tot u alrdy bought a CS for sending off guests le? heheheh....

princess_sue

hey lex, you are right about the easy to put on hard to lose it. Wonder why so unfair haha..o and yes, i agree on the teeth whitening. i think its really not worth the $$.

hey mei, how was your EG selection? was it ytd? mgt to get any?

cyc, wah.. you reminded me that today is free cone day... oooops.... now i really feel like eating b n j ice cream .. hm.. i must find the time to go get free ice cream today. hahahaha there goes 1 kg.

uk_fung

let me see where got B&J maybe go eat later hahahha is cup cake nice to eat? nice to look at that's for sure.. hahahah :p I dun think I wanna add any extra cost to wedding .. just see for fun :p maybe for other event.

xinyi_reiko

kittyng, mine is pretty long wait.. i dont think is a good comparision, as i went through quite a no. of rounds of editing.. i counted is like a couple of mths.

dodolet

Mei the CS for my change from fh house , serve tea to my house serve tea purpose. The BS providing me with 1 more gown for receiving the guests. My WG will be used most, as it is going to be used for fetching the bride, the church and the first dinner march in. Was thinking of changing to something simpler to move around after the church wedding leh, cos I wanna a long train for my WG. So thinking of doing a simpler gown for church recept and sending off guest.

Should I have so many or not. Now I still thinking.

I am seeing so many pple working out. I better start to put mine in place also.

~sblbee~

sue,
it's always like dat one....our fats easy to put on but hard to lose...ahhaha, im 1 fine e.g...aiyo, eat a bit of ice cream wont put on 1 kg one lah...unless u eat every day :p
oh i managed to confirmed all d gowns le, will b trying anotehr gold EG for fun when i go down d nxt time :p didnt change my WGs but changed my red tea dress to a green EG...wonder if it's d rite choice :p

~sblbee~

fionachua,
same here, envy them leh....all of them get d chance to travel to other countries, nelle, msclaire, shybride n jac etc...

sotonglet,
jiayou on ur wkout plans....i gave up on myself le...1st have to improve my posture 1st cos my BS ppl commented dat i dun stand straight....wld b better if i stand properly :p
oh....now i got more headache...too many pcs of gowns/CS lying at my place...have to really find d chance to wear them now...abit regret :p so dun b like me...

gingerbread_gal

sotonglet,
I'm like you...want a WG with long train then now am wondering if i shld change out of my WG to mingle around with the guests or just cont wearing it for the reception

meiling,
u haven't add in your shoes ....i'm presuming when u change your attire, you will change the shoes to match?
so in total, how many gowns do u have on your AD?

and no lah, i hardly travel for work unless its for conference...the KL trip is a much needed trip to relax ourselves...intend to stay in the hotel and jus chill...
You have any vacation plan for june?

I'm thinking of where to go for honeymoon...any suggestions?

~sblbee~

mrs chiew,
not all my gowns r there....my mtm EG, my ROM gown n black gown cant b found there :p u can see my AD WGs, PS gowns n teadress there ba

~sblbee~

jac,
oh cos i havent go n collect d new pair since taka havent called me yet...hehehe, hopefully by end of tis week, they'll call me up else i'll b disappted again :p yah i'll try to change my shoes to match my gowns esp those which can reveal my shoes :p
oh honeymoon? u can consider europe or japan? hehehe, smone frm my thread even suggested alaska cruise, it's so cool

nelle

depends on the budget, Jac. $500 (both pax) will get you to nearby places in M'sia, $5k will get you Down Under/Taiwan/Korea for at least a week.... :p

nelle

mei, I would like the alaskan cruise too. Guess the cost? Starts from SGD12k (for two pax, incl. airfare to Vancouver), excluding tips (you know US have a tipping policy of at least 10% per meal/svc cost), optional sighseeing tours at each port, etc etc.

peng liao...

providencia

nelle, for now, both days are fine, should be back from vietnam by then.

MeiLing, u give me permission to nag one hor, just dun regret next time, k?
dun give up,continue to work on body and posture.

Jac, glad that shoes are settled, i agree with you that whenever pple say they are fat, it usually means that some specific area needs toning. Short trip - Bali, Langkawi, Hoi An. Longer trips - Europe, US, NZ, Aust.

Sotonglet, how long will u be in bangkok? enough time to tailor an EG? takes 3 days?

providencia

nelle, my fPIL says that alaskan cruise is full of old pple, but it's truly a beautiful trip, very worth the money. The other day u asked me abt my honeymoon plans, I didn't dare to share, cos i scare u will scold me.

dodolet

prov, I am reaching Bangkok at 11+am on 7/5 and leaving it at 6+pm on the 10/5. You think that there is inuff time?

Jac, I am very tempted to get an EG made that is ezi to get in and out. TEMPTED.. T.T

FH wanna go NZ, but I dun wanna. Anyway it all depending what you really wanna.
I rather go for those adventure holidays before the reality of marriage life hits me full on my face (yeah.. my mom and fh been singing the baby tune since march).

If the honeymoon is towards romance on the luxury side, I would suggest going to some of the famous thailand/bali resorts.

Anyway Nowadays, you can even do Russia or Eastern Europe which is very romantic but less boring. For me, alaskan cruise is too sadated. ^^

tinkybell

Hi Brides, Good Afternoon, was busi for the entire of yesterday n whole of this morning, finally got chance to log on and check out the latest topic...

Sue, getting ready for PS le... so excited for u... i guess it is time i stop eating rubbish n lots of other things le, i am putting on again...

Meiling, u trying on various gowns.... finalise ur choice le mah??

providencia

Sotonglet, u will need to source for a tailor/seamstress beforehand and have your pattern ready.By the time u go to tailor, will be late afternoon already. So u got 2 and 1/2 days to for tailor to work on your EG. Can be done if not too complex, ie, not too many sequins and beadings.

ahnetsan

soya> thanks. anyway, i din go to my colleague's wake. i dun think i can take it, as their custom is put the body at home de. i go hospital only, i keep thinking abt it. if i go to the wake, i think i will faint.

anyway, office has been quite tensed up these few days.... i dun even dare to walk past the passage near to my colleague's table. i dun even dare to look at tat direction.

go toilet also wan my other colleagues to accompany me.

gingerbread_gal

Yeah, the Alaskan cruise is not cheap....when I was in Vancouver last year, so tempted to go but its really costly...
so Prov, r u going for alaskan cruise? which month are u going?
I rem during last june, alaska will frequently have 24hrs daylight (summer). I've seen the cruises that go there...so very very big!!
and yes, in the states, must give tips otherwise they will chase u for it...but in vancouver, some places can dun give tips.
If anyone is going for alaskan cruise, must make time for Vancouver too - its a beautiful city!

cos HTB has to start his job by 2nd Jan, think we can only afford for a 4 days 3nights vacation....so prob will go to and island and rent a villa?? We've decided to leave the long long honeymoon to our 1st anniversay. But so many islands, not sure where to go...

SotongLet,
if u r serious abt getting a tailor in bangkok, I can help u check with my sis-in-law..she's thai so she'll know where to go

princess_sue

wah mei your try on for fun sounds abit deluding leh.. more like try on for fun then get another on ehahahaha.... right?

tinky, ya... i am kinda excited yet scared also... coz like so many things to get ready and i have not done.can you imagine.. when the mua tell me maybe i should get a nude bra.. i was like.. huh? wat is it like.. i heard of it la.. but nv exactly seen or try it.. she was laughing and say am i a nu ren... hahahaha... i was telling her.. i very chia lat one.. i dun have make up./. and i dunno wat is that.. everyone start to leaugh at me haha. terrible right.

~sblbee~

tinkybell,
im so happy for u!!! u settled ur AD EG le, v nice colour, my fav
i sorta finalised my choice le...but subjected to a little bit of change :p

sue,
heheheh....i hope dat d trying of additional gowns wont cause me to change my mind again :p

kailing

Hi, if anyone is interested in going to Australia and renting a car (major cities), I have a 3 day unlimited mileage package to sell. Rental car is a Toyota Camry or similar car. Pickup of vehicle by end August this year. Minimum age 25yrs, min driving experience 1 year. Check with me on the available date and your offer price. email to kaikai19 (AT) yahoo (DOT) com