(2008) Brides of year 2008

~sblbee~

i've given up on french cruisine as i dun even know to pronoun any word on d menu...d only thing i know dat it's linked to french is called french loaf n french fries...d rest is too tough, hate d tongue twisting game :p

sue,
im going to rush down to bishan again after wk, need to buy some wedding stuff again :p heard dat aussino have discount le....den my fren kept asking me to buy bedsheets...
cos usually u'll b one of d earlybirds, kinda strange when i dun get to see ur name there, speaking abt food, im hungry again le...terrible sia :p
yah it's v hot n it rained for a while...i saw ur AP box le, v unique n different, got tis romantic n fairytale feel to it...congrats! 1 more thing down for u, did u go n get d stickers?

tinkybell,
nvm...at least u got 2 pcs wif 10% off n at least u didnt buy all at dat time, so in a way u r still lucky, i always buy my things v ex de...:p no prob, dun mention it...im glad to b able to help u...at least my stickers wont go to waste rite?

oh my fh oso not faavourable abt going to get things frm JB cos we have no transport n we r not v familiar wif d place, he rather pay more n feel more secure...oh d teacup set wif 4 cups comes wif a holding tray, i only got it at $30...shd b cheap as compared to i-dear as they r selling at $29.90 + $ 9.90, it's still more ex after discount...but if u r toking abt nuptial lamps den i-dear cheaper...

lsntyl

waxie>email you the list le.

Kirei> you sure you don't want us to bring some food over? Make it less tiring for you.

Strawclare>I thinking of bringing FH to Chingjing. Really loved it the last time I went. But if we go, will be on a Fri and Sat so will be more expensive.
So now thinking where else can bring him that's different from Taipei. Should be spending 1 day in Hualien to show him Taroko Gorge.

~sblbee~

lex,
d guys always lack d word automatic...n can still smile at u sheepishly when u get mad, really get on my nerves whenever my fh did dat...he always wana slp n laze ard...until i started to kick his butt :p

~sblbee~

nelle,
wah it's such a big grp as compared to d previous round....bet it'll b lotsa fun as all d gals will create lotsa noise :p hopefully all of us will turn up as many couldnt make it last min d other time
look forward to meeting up wif u gals again...

I'm getting married on 7 Sep 2008. Have u all BTB booked ur JP already? I saw from the ROM website that states that we should not book a JP more than 4 months in advance. Do you all think i should book the JP now or in May? Any recommendation? Thanks.

fumiko_neko

wow allegic to so many things..
tink u must b v slim..

is ok..my maid will cook..
then me & my hubby do those grill part

if u all wan to bring any food, i welcome oso..

cyc

haha.. I agree with you girls on the guys being lazy. My FH also enjoy just lazing around watching tv and not doing anything. He's currently studying for an exam coming up on 16 Apr, so in the meantime, it's just me doing all the research and prep for wedding.

Meiling, the surprise for FH's bday is NO SURPRISE. heehee.. too occupied with wedding prep to think abt surprising him. it will come next yr! ;p Also, hope you have good inspiration this sunday to finalise your EG design!

lex, tinky, the MTM eye creams worked well in diminishing little white spots under my eyes. but not the dark eye rings.. hope make-up can cover for PS and AD. but will maybe give the eye masks a try nearer the dates.

lex congrats on your collection of rings! well, i must say that i'm most satisfied with my rings in terms of prep.. u can engrave some secret code that only u n hubs understand... hee..

tinky, when r u gg for PS? r u gg to wear tea dress for PS too? if yes, should quick quick cfm design yea? for me, also looking for tea dress now. wanna get it done asap so that boutique has time to make. i want to wear it for PS in Jun and I don't want boutique to come charge me extra for "rush" job..

sue, u work in changi ah? u live ard there too? guess porta porta is out for my bday dinner treat for fh. unless have car..

cyc

hey ladies.. just dropped by to take a look. this looks like a happening thread!

I'm an Oct 08 BTB.. hi meiling & koyoyo..

princess_sue

Tinky,

Ya there is 10% discount haha.. but its ok la if you didn’t get a lot the last time, its not much difference unless you buy lotsa stuff. I intend to go to msia the one tt koyoyo mentioned previously but not sure when yet. At the moment still very bz to find time to go there, so god knows when I will actually make a trip there. Haha.

Lex,

Hehe…ya… this forum is not userfriendly enough for me to post the pic so I couldn’t do so here. Or maybe I am not IT savvy enuff to know how to get it done :p the place to get wedding stuff is in City sq just across the causeway exactly where I have no idea too have to go and search for it coz I have not been there. Heard about it from Koyoyo. ïŠ

Mei,

Ya I like the box, its fairy princessy. ïŠ oh aussino, yes they do have sale. Hehe…wah you still wan to go bishan get wedding stuff ah… wah you really good leh. Hehe… really admire you hehe.

And when you talk about food it is making me hungry. My birthday dinner supposed to be today but FH cannot make it so gonna make it on my actual day this thur. So fast 1 year older liao. Haha.

Cyc,

Ya changi is quite far for you if you dun live ard the east area. But bus no 2 and 5 gets you there right to the door step if you want hehe.

waxie24

LSnTYL> got ur email.. thanks a lot..

ahnet> never try the vinegar stuff before.. i normally go doc n get the pills to delay the flow when i travel..

welcome Angelene Tan
i suggest u start look for JP now (ur date is HOT date too), jus check if the one u wan is available on the date n time u wan... me 13 sept, i'm still looking for JP for 6 or 6.30pm slot.. most have appts, only can make it at 7pm..
most JP are able to accept ur booking, but some due to work commitments, they will ask u to call back 3 mths before to confirm.

foodietravel

hi everyone, i've been MIA for quite a while. My GDL on 30th went well... Sorry to hear about Crispy's experience. I called the cake shop one day before to reconfirm my order. Phew! The cakes from Pine Gdn were fresh.. Most of my relatives finished theirs within two days.

I wasn't allowed to be around during the exchange so i listened from upstairs... Too bad no video. Can only see from photos my bro took. But the shots not fantastic. Lighting not good. Then after that, i was allowed to meet HTB at the rental place to do our own An Chuang.

Our GDL was 30th March. We mailed cards on 29th. The balance was hand delivered 30th Mar - 3rd Apr. Now Qing Ming so can't give out any more cards. Gotta wait till 5th May. Only left less than five people to go.

XLB,
how's your hotel prep coming along? I went for food tasting on Thurs and quite happy with most of the dishes. A LOT of food leh. We chose the superior menu but with abalone soup. Very good! But the jellyfish for starter was too salty. We didn't like the prawnpearl thingy either.

Queenie,
i know the ä½ çš„åå­—æˆ‘çš„å§“æ° song is available in a 4 CD collection titled The Catalogue of Polygram. This is one of the few versions that is sung normally... Several of the albums have the song also but the version is sung 'live' with orchestra! Don't advise getting that. Sembawang Music sells the Jacky Cheung compilation (i think 6 CDs in one set at $39.90.) Saw it yesterday. BUT it's with the orchestra version. Thus, we decided on using an English song for March-In one and two.

ahnetsan

hello angelene tan... welcome to this fast-moving, exciting thread...

wah angelene, ur AD is my GDL date... so many ppl getting married on 7th sept... my cousin getting married on this date too... so nice..

ok waxie, i think i'll go doctor and get the pill instead...

anyway, found something on the website jus now, tot of sharing with you all... since most of us are DIY-ing corsages or boutonniere... might be useful in giving us some ideas... go check this out... This link is also on my multiply... my multiply id is ahnetsan. strange, i cant post with the link here... admin says not allowed... anyway, so go to my multiply and check out the link ba.

ahnetsan

btw, was browsing through HWB magazine, saw a ring pillow which was hand-made by a bridesmaid... she hand-sewn the groom and bride's names on the corner of the ring pillow... so delicate thought!!!
cool ar?

ahnetsan

Anyone getting their own hair accessories? wat if you dun happen to like the accessories the BS provide? Anyone has any idea where to get nice hair accessories? or those earrings or things like that?

providencia

msclaire, are u able to delay ur timing or if the earlier couple can change their timing? Fight for your rights!!

nelle, what stickers? I want to see too. [email protected]. Thks in advance.

Shybride, waiting to see ur pics!

witch

i hope everything goes well for everyone!!!

I have started a new job and yet I'm feeling very sian...like I never rested enough or that I am really tired of working...very bad right?! I shouldn't be such a lazybum

I am very tempted to be a stay at home mum if I have a kid...but that would mean less income for the family.....sigh... anyone plans to be a stay at home mum too?

pooh83

Dor -> i am also unsuccessful in my balloting for abt 7 times and i have given up on the new hdb flats coz the queue numbers are always so long.. just bought my resale flat last week.. finally found one that me and my hb like.. but heartache coz very ex.. hee..

Ah net -> i tried the fancl tense up ex before my rom last year.. taken abt 10 bottles.. quite good.. can feel the difference after i put make up.. skin seems more smooth and natural.. but once stop, then back to usual..

gingerbread_gal

nelle,
pls send me the pics too - [email protected]

msclaire,
will your caterer be doing the decor for your venue ie the hall? I've read of some ppl who share the same venue share the same decor...they will then split the costs of the deco...of cos, this depends on whether both parties can settle on the same style of decor. If you are able to share the decor, then no need to waste time on removing the decor.
Any idea who booked the venue first?

Oh,
had a discussion with my bridesmaids on Sat...and they have decided to tailor their dresses...I know that someone recommended Love Potion at Far East...any other recommendations? What's the SOP for tailoring dresses? Go and talk to the tailor first and discuss abt the types of material to be used or to just buy the cloth first then head to the tailor/seamstress?

ahnetsan

gina, wat u mean by once u stopped taking tense ex, it's back to usual... ur usual means wat ar? is it worse than before taking tense up ex?

anyway, ur resale flat in wat area? wat much u bot?

xenxen

hi gals...

still got time for the inserts.. dun worry jia you !! the 1st few pieces will surely do nice nice.. aft tt will b so tired.. as long as not too ugly will do

shybride > care to share wif us ur photos ?

gingerbread_gal

Hi Nylek,
Maybe you can try D'sire? The gowns from D'sire are quite nice and not too lacy I think. But they might be over your budget. You can try taking their package without photography then source outside for the photographer for PS. If you do source outside, take note that most of the PGs will return you all the images when you top up a certain amount for your photos. I know that for Sophia, even after topping up, you don't get back all the pics.

I only went to a handful BS so I can't really give you more info. Besides D'sire, I also went to the Aisle which Keer recommended. The package offered by the Aisle is very competitive, so it might be attractive to you. There were some nice gowns on the rack the last time I went.

I had a couple of friends who went to Santiago..while the pics turn out quite nice, I couldn't stand their hard-sell tactics.

Personally, I think find a BS which can give you the type of gown you like and if their style of PG doesn't suit you, you can always source outside..But do note that for most one-stop BS, they will quote you a higher price without photography.

I hope I helped a little

providencia

Jac, don't buy cloth first, ask your bridesmaids to decide on the kind of gown that they want, then talk to seamstress, she can let u know what kind of cloth to buy, how much to buy and where to buy.

kitty_ng

Hi ladies, we r getting so close to our BIG day. Hope all yr prep is going on smoothly

Shybride, looking forward to see your pics :b

strawbsc

Angelene Tan > yah,same sentiments as Waxie.I also tot that it was 4 mths like u,but I realised alot of pple are looking for JPs liao..and the time slot I wanted was also taken up,I decided to take a later slot lor.so u better start look liao~ (^-^)

LSnTYL > 阿里山??溪投??æ‰æž—溪??if its a short trip.Yeapz..it is ex during the wkends,and the traffic is horrible.I dun noe whether this is useful to you anot : -

http://taiwan.net.tw/lan/cht/travel_tour/index.asp?class=11%2B15

skyea

Hi ladies!

Our big day is indeed nearing! Today is exactly two months away from my wedding. Hehe. Just sent in our order for the printing of inserts. Hopefully they would be ready soon!

shybride, your PG is Andrew Tay? We're using him for our AD.

Kittng, when are you going for your photo selection? I hope my BS will call me soon. Really anxious to view the photos. Hehe.

msbean

Ah net me also try tense up , for one- two month . Not bad la but very heaty as I can feel my body boiling (base on individual) and have to drink many many water . 1 mth I look Ok and radiant but 2month dunno is it too heaty for me ,my forehead have little little bump(like pimple) coming out .

Once stop = back to normal

Remember very high maintenance as One bottle is about $6 . if u buy online is cheaper about $4

Dun give up keep ballot me also waste $80 for 8 time of ballot to get my current unit .

pooh83

Ah net -> i mean tat it is the same as when i haven take the tense up ex. of course not worst than before.. hee.. btw i bought the flat at amk at abt $300+k.. u also looking for flat? which area u looking at?

berry_egg

i had my PS today.
everything turn out OK, and gladly it didn't rain as what was being forecast earlier.

generally it was a fun experience due to the funny photographer and we were also outgoing and making jokes during the whole process. Hopefully the photos would turn out well.

the best part of all is that i felt really happy and blissful in the all gowns and doing all the posing and smiles
and ... *blush* somehow i finally know that he's the one. errr... hahah. ok i'm mad.

msbean

The list of Sept brides with multiply acc for sharing our wedding or preparation photo : -

Nick /Multiply ID
1)raragal /rayrachel
2)Crown /jeslynbay
3)waxie24 /waxie24
4)msbean /karenyee59
5)ah Net / ahnetsan
6)Soyabeans / elevensoyabeans
7)fortunemew / fortunemew

Feel free to add in your if I have miss out
thx u : )

queenie10

Hi M,
wow u muz be a Jacky fans since u know so much abt his album. Do u happen to have tat cd in karaoke format? Tat song is really very unique & suitable for wedding. "Ce Tian" sang tis song at his concert with Miriam Yeung walking in in wedding gowns. Really hope that we can have that song as our 2nd March-in & hubby really hope tat he can sing it personally.

shi40lin

nelle, can send me see? [email protected]

Hi gals, I'm backo again. Been so busy and no time to come in here.

Meiling, you are really shoes freak ya. Next time your house got to customised very huge shoe cabinet for your shoes collection

Gals, i'll try to make it on 25 apr too!
I also might want to get nubra but see after my gowns selection how then decide whether i need to get a nu bra a not? Eh... sorry ya. What's the lobang from la senza ah? keke..i've asked but no one answering me leh...keke..Thanks in advance ya.

Seems like i'm doing nothing for wedding preparations leh....

ahnetsan

ok bean, w0nt give up on the hdb ballot...

wah the tense up ex gives u outbreaks once u stopped taking it?? scary leh

wah all found JP liao?

Waxie,
Gd for u!

I feel fustrated about my bf. I have settled most of the wedding things for him, I only asked him to draft out his guest list these months. I've been nagging him for it for 4 months already
I feel very sian to chase him further, I just sms him to ask him if he want to cancel the banquet? That makes things easier for him n me.

waxie24

i got question hor.. i have the licence no. of Dr lim.. which comes first, E-file or sign consent form first?

my fh dun wan resale.. so have to wait for new flats in the east area.. missed the bedok one.. but my friend got Q no. 1500+.. total flats available = 199 four room.. woah..

hihi!

Wow, this thread is really fast moving...!

Waxie24, Ah Net & Strawclare, thanks for the advice
Ok, I will start to book the JP first. I also want to have my solemnisation at ard 6pm. Btw, do you all call or email them to book?

Actually, i planned my wedding quite late, only started last month... :p Luckily can get hotel on that day, just booked my BS and PG & VG for AD only... phew...! gotta plan fast now cos behind time.

Where do you all get ur GDL date? from those geomancer?

bunnyhop

All of u hav been busy sharing ur updates...so wonderful 2 hear tat all of us busy busy...

I was looking @ xlb gate crashing ideas.
Most of them qite common, even for e keys in e bucket filled w ice...i find it a bit 'cruel' for e guys. Imagine freezing ur little fingies early in e morning...not a marvellous idea.
E one 2 complete 5 household chores can worth a try...haha...hmmm...mayb twist it a bit...challenge e di xiong or ur htb 2 do 3-5 manly tasks for u while @ home?

a. unscrew n screw a light bulb
b. carry a super heavy furniture piece...
c. install e latest computer game in e quickest
possible time
d. fix e toilet bowl...etc etc...

Oohhh our htbs will takan us like xiao if we ever do these upon them.
Perhaps we can give them 3 rounds (Pre-gate/In house/ crash into ur room) of tasks (a bit like amazing race; each stage poses an increasing level of difficulty)

Of course, ultimately, no matter how game our htbs r, lez care for their ego n NEVER bruise or malu them in front of others...
Best for a smart bride is to SABO him tenderly n yet he feels good abt himself! Whoila...whoever can do tat muz really take my hat off u.

My htb specifically expresses his unwillingness to b gate-crashed...but i manja him tat he needs to loosen up a bit or else e PG/VG will hav no funny moments 2 shot! They may find my plants outside more interesting than him lor...lez see how i can coax him lor...

Hi ann, don worry lah...e most impt thing is tat u n ur htb r going to walk together for e rest of ur life...let this thot sink deep in ur heart n mind. Even though i quarrel w my htb more often than before, i kinda like him more n more ! Weird rite?! I guess itz good 2 noe tat both of u hav different perspectives...in fact, im beginning 2 enjoy disagreeing w him occasionally as this can sharpen my verbal n mental capacities...i oso a bit xiao rite?

Diversity is e spice of life...life is qite boring if we always b 'yes' in each other's eyes.
Sometimes, i ask my htb if he ever regrets being my life partner...he says 'nope'...no matter how unreasonable i turn out 2 b...he still accepts n loves me...tat surely will melt any gal's heart loh...Sighz...i cfmed eaten up by him lah.

Crispy, to give out invitation cards 2 weeks b4 AD...depends on e no. / location of e guests. R they all locals?
Itz convenient for them, but crazy for u! Imagine finalizing all details like seating arrangement/ guests list within 2 weeks! Not forgetting ur minor details...do re-consider.
Mayb u can send by batches. Not so sure ones, send earlier. More definite to come ones, send nearer 2 AD. Better 4 u.

Btw, wat kind of hair colour do u all like to hav for ur hair?

dodolet

xinglin me neither.. dis mth is break from prep month

nelle i sent u a pm of my email liao

i will try to go if i can make it ah.. 24 got to choose gown and see designer. 26 27 friend wedding. Eat again T.T

jac, there afew places to buy cloth too, after ur seamstress advise you on the type of materials she need, you may go down to arab street to check out the material but dun buy from there. Try the new market shops for the same type of material u wanna that you saw in arab street. *sotong very giam 1*.

shy shy, must show ur pics okie?

waxie24

green> wat u feel is normal.. i'm in the same situation.. i m settling most stuffs as well.. i have to admit he's busy with his work.. but sometimes i feel the same way like u do; i m doing most the wedding stuffs.. hence i created a online excel (google spreadsheet, calendar).. i will add impt dates into the online calendar.. all he have to do is to login to see..
deep inside my heart.. i also worried to let him handle.. cos he do things slow.. me is the chop chop faster settle kind..hahaha

foodietravel

PSH,
you're so sweet to your HTB. I worry my HTB will be tekaned leh... Feel so helpless.
I will be keeping my normal hair colour... Imagine my future generations looking at me wedding photos and wondering what i was thinking of, if i changed to mahogany, light brown etc.

Ann,
was told that not good to give out cards during this period. Worse case will be to ask over the phone but tell them that you can only mail end April, preferably from the 5th of May (QM would be over in a mth).

Queenie,
i so-so Jacky fan. Just like some of the songs. Enuf to attend concert. But because i lost some of my CDs, still wondering whether to buy the compilation sets. That's why i can give u info. Sorry, i not into Karaoke. Can't sing. Only got Discman, no MP3!

happinessbliss

Green < its very tough to plan a banquet..But try to be patient with those guys we call husband... My hubby also, dilly dally until i nag nag nag till i tired liao. Then one fine day i decided not to mention anything abt the banquet,and I suppose he realise and panick... now he will try to cooperate as much as possible...hehe...Guys being guys are less gan chiong then us girls... give him some time ok? Dun let a banquet spoil the relationship....

Girls < I am so sorry I need to give the gathering a miss again! Cos sat usually need to go visit MIL and then need to rush back home cos my dog still recovering from his surgery...

Oh and on the PS venue: do remember to apply insect repellent if u are going to the lallang field or some outdoor field... I make a mistake of not applying and ended up with multiple mosquitoes bites....grrrr....