(2008) Brides of year 2008

koyoyo

hi lex,
I went to the one at shaw at beach road.. hmm. Where is the branch u mention? Cos it sound good i don't need 3 cartoons.

fsling

I m totally stress out!
Just get to know from make up artist that becos she has another client i have to start my make up at 5!! when my hubby needs to enter into my mum's place at 9++.. i have to pay extra to photographer too...

uksportgal

hahaha actually hor... since we all are all AD in OCT.. can we find one shop we all order together.. then see if we can get more discount and also share the min Qty thing??

jna

I m a September's bride too...
I am going to do the wrist corsages but went to Spotlight @ PS found not much of the flowers choices...
Anyone here know other place can get it?

shybride

rach thanks for the advice on reno.. we also wish we could do up nicely everything.. but no $$.. for our EA reno alone costs $41K.. plus lights & toilet furnishings will be about $44K.. then still got furniture & electrical applicances.. sigh.. just basic lor..

apple_gal

Hi, Moments
Yes, I take kua for my PS. There is no fittings for kua, cos it's standard size, S M L. They will give u the suitable size on PS day.

Hi, xinyi
Sad to hear this...

lexilicious

uksport
if we wanna do that I don't mind but muz check details I think.

Cuz from what I know, they only usually provide delivery to one place - whose place... er.. LoL, that one I dunno how!

But then again, I suppose they can split up na. It's just that we get a bigger discount because we'll be ordering a large quantity in total.

I know some of the girls got their wines le - I haven't so *sticks a hand up*
1) I have 35 tbls atm, looking at 70-80 bottles. Table number might increase to 40-45 depending on how the parents' dinner goes next week.

I'm going for all red wine as I feel the storage might be a bit of an issue plus white wine have to chill before wedding.. I feel that i got too much things to worry about.. Don't want to think about wines... I only wanna drink them

Anyone else thinking of pooling?

shybride

nelle i also wanna pretend i never heard them saying abt the traditional stuff.. but i scared last minute have to rush things.. that's what happened to a fren.. so better do earlier lor. by the way what is stretchfit? i m going for the shape workshop at contours express in march.. for lower body toning :p

cassie, yeah it's 30+10.. too bad it isn't 30+40! :p

~sblbee~

lex,
i dun mind pooling if it carries d brand i looking for, need another 20 bottles (abt 2 cartons) ba...r u juz looking at d 2 brands u recommending me? cos i wld prefer d house wine by my hotel...so it'll b eaglehawk wolfbrass black label :p

necrosis

hi jac,

could you please email or pm me your VG details?

gals who are looking for BS, do consider JB ones too...photos pretty good and very worth $$$ !! :D

y kim,
what abt the venue disappoints you so?
decor? you can always top up the florist and get them to do better...but foodwise, cannot change chefs, so food shld be up to your liking...

uksportgal

Are you in hurry of getting these? coz I am rather busy lately... might not have time to check out the shop...

Maybe we can talk to the shop.. based on Qty only coz we also diff date after all.. so we can have the range of getting diff brand of wine we like, Qty, deliever location etc...

Planning if really go for it.. will get a list of what wine is available from the shop and price.. so we see and decided how ..

coz after all diff shop also diff price for diff brand... so got to count count see pool together better? or seperate which one more suitable for all of us..

koyoyo

HI ALL,
i think lex maybe right. On our side it seem good idea to pool together but then on their side if they see delivery to other place they may treat the sale as separate... i only need a cartoon most prob i am lookin at wolf but i dun think they have it at dennis i check last sat.. not sure abt our outlet though.

necrosis

hello babes...

piglet,
sure you don't want a VG? cos your wedding moments are sometimes audio and sometimes you need to see the whole segment ....not just stills from a photograph.
i really suggest you look into a VG, even if it's a simple budget one.

shybride, your short gown is lovely!!!
where is wedding cottage?
i think i'll need all the cheena cheena items too...my mom quite keen on those. lol.
she even suggested my uncle dress up as a rooster (for the under bed chickens!!!)

anyway, my bed has drawers under it, so no chickens gonna run here and there!! (what if they shit all over the place?)

nelle,
can i borrow your figure for my PS ah? :p
my silly %$@$#@$$%$ jian fei plan is not working!!
now am enjoying a bowl of bak chor mee while reading the forum...lol...

shybride

thanks nec for the compliment! wedding cottage is IMM 2nd floor

meiling, i think there's a function on the hdb website to calculate distance between 2 places. you can try that lor..

thunderbunny

Hi Apple & Selina: Yeah, m looking for package tours. Wont consider F&E coz dun hv time to read up moreover got language barrier. Okie, will check out SA during Natas. Heard Chan Brother's good too but u pay premium price.

shybride: Its ok just do basic first lor.. personally I dun tink its wise to overcommit & den stress over financial at the end of the day..

snowypooh

are u gals in a hurry to get the wines. still got more than 1/2 yr more to our AD leh. if getting now, won't storage be a problem? if not, can pend until great singapore sale then get the wine/items you require mah. i'm sure can get better deal then. >.<

lexilicious

just talked on the phone with another wine supplier - Wine Amigo. Slightly pricey at $20/= a bottle, but they work on 100% consignment. You pay upfront the full amount and whatever you cannot finish, can just bring back to the shop. The lady was very nice on the phone, very chirpy and friendly. Will probably go down and take a look at the place since it's in Funan.

Since I'm the "alcoholic", I guess I'll go do more research before deciding on which supplier and wine I'm going to take

lexilicious

snowy,
hehe yah GSS. The problem with wines I feel is that the price doesn't really get affected by sale because most of the costs go to the shipping and the tax.

The tax for wines (before the revise at the Budget this year based on alcohol content) is actually $9.50 per litre. Add on 7% GST and shipping costs, that bottle of $16 wine you consume... well.... doesn't cost much in the first place, so your expectation on its quality should also adjust accordingly
SO I think the GSS won't really affect it much.

Oh forgot to mention that the lady told me to budget for 1.5 bottles per table since mine is on a Sunday and people won't drink as much cuz next day have to work. She did mention that weekend weddings would be more advisable for 2 bottles.

Oh forgot to mention...
about hard liquor.. I've empty bottles (duty paid) if anyone is doing alcohol transfer thingy.. drop me a note if you want bottles from me and I'll check what I have. Mostly are JW Black Label's and Chivas I think.

zenith

hi jas,

yr AD is the same as mine!
actually wanted to go hokkaido too but my FH dun hv so many days leave as i wanted to go both hokkaido &amp; tokyo, and i hv so much problem with the travel agency &amp; they kept increasing price. so in the end, i decided to do F&amp;E to tokyo instead. hopefully next time hv a chance to go hokkaido in winter. I chose SA too at first cos hv many good feedback on their hokkaido tour. but their svc...... lots of room for improvement. (in my opinion lah)

kitty_ng

Hi jas, welcome!!! We hav the same AD

Hi selina, can i check abt yr hokkaido pkg..how many days exactly will u all be at hokkaido? Cox i noticed most pkg actually dun stay v long there.

Hi shybride, dun worry. My reno v simple only too...but the cost somehow escalates when lightings &amp; furniture comes in

nelle

yah, MeiLinG, shy's right. Go to HDB webbie, search under the 'Distance...', I think under the 'Services' toolbar.

Shy, true hor. Better to get things ready if not alot of grumbling you'll hve to hear. But you just do what you know, the rest, just to tell the old folks, hard to get/no time to do those things on actual day/no $$ (this is good, cos they will say no $$, they pay lah!), etc etc.
You look sweet in the dress.
Stretchfit class is a combi of yoga, pilates and toning of muscles.

nec, DISCIPLINE!!!!!!! aiyo.... ok, if you can't cut down weight, the next best thing is to be well-tone. I have galfriends who are quite fleshy but they are not flabby. The muscle tone is very good, like, when you wrap your fingers around their upp arms, your fingers don't 'sink' into the flesh. So the best thing you can do is to exercise to tone the flabby parts.

~sblbee~

nec,
same here, my dieting plan doesnt seem to wk, sigh...was having a big pack of vegetarian meehoon during my lunch time :p

shybride n nelle,
thanks thanks, i'll try it out later
hopefully it's within 2 km

nelle,
guz dat i belong to those flabby flabby type dt u r referring...heheh, i think i can use my arm fats to fan myself liao :p

koyoyo

snowypooh,
I dun think we need to physically buy the wine n bring home. cos it a few cartoon normally u strike a deal w the wine shop n they deliver to ur hotel.. so how many of u gers have free corkage from hotel mght?

koyoyo

hi lex,
i need the empty bottle.. my hotel is mindful of the hard liquor (duty paid) care to discuss more? PM me. thanks

~sblbee~

koyoyo,
same here, im looking at eaglehawk wolfbrass but i cant seem to find it anywhere...hope to get it on consignment as well as i dun wana too much wastage :p

lex,
if u r asking for quotes, could u kindly help me to ask if they carry eaglehawk wolfbrass black label, sorry if it's too much trouble...most prob getting ard 2 cartons if not 18 bottles :p

nelle

ok, ok. Do this easy exercise. Take a bath towel, fold it into half. You lie face down on the floor. Then place the half-folded towel in front of you to cushion your elbows. Raise your body up, like push-up style. But, instead of all the weight on your palms, bend your elbows and rest them (your elbows) on the towel. Your arms should be shoulder-width apart. For the feet, you are on your toes.

Remember to keep your body straight. Get your family members to see if your body is straight. Suck in your stomach. This is called the plank position. Do this for 10 secs and rest. Then another time for a total of 4 sets. Everyday ok?!!?

You should see some results after 2mths.

lexilicious

koyoyo
You have mail! *ding*
yah my hotel also no corkage... I didn't even bargain for this one.. they just give -.-

meiling
can, no problem, when I check it out I ask for you also.

hehe I don't wanna serve hard liquor also but my dad got a lot of drinking kakis and they dont like that "cheap wine" stuff as they call it. So yah I make my dad happy and offer hard liquor as an extra option

snowypooh

Koyoyo, it's fine if they deliver to your hotel directly but tot u gals are ordering &amp; having the delivery now mah so storage will be an issue.

Mine has free corkage &amp; doesn't need to be duty-free so I guess i'll have more choices.

there may not be significant discounts for wines during GSS but there may be promotions such as "buy 1 free 1" or "free gifts with purchases"?

lexilicious

snowy..
thanks for the advice.. I'm going to badger them heheh.. I'm not planning to buy now - but just asking around and prepare myself mentally for the amount i'm going to burn in the name of wine

BTW what do you mean by doesn't need to be duty free? From what I understand, hotels insist that our wines/liquor be duty stamped and paid, otherwise they don't server. My co-ordinator was rather particular about this bit.

raragal

green> hahaha.. oh okay.. Mmm.. shouldnt be a problem though. let me know which sat.. i love badminton. hahaha.. but not very good at it la.. long time no play liaoz.. hehehe.. :p

jna> I'm afraid i cant help much.. i not good at DIY.. nhehe...

raragal

shybride> ahhh?? $41K with a CONTRACTOR?? u do alot ah?? My FH quote for people also not so much leh... those above $50K one usually are those bungalow or big houses.... $41K with a contractor is ALOT!!

We bought furniture for our 3 Room flat liaoz.. nhehe...

Dining Table with 4 chairs ($1388)
L shape Sofa ($1988)
Coffetable ($388)
2x High Back Bar Stools($200)
King Size Mattress ($2088)

Everything for $5600 at Furniture Mall.
He gave us further discount after we total up everything..so total $5600.
Paid $600 deposit..

We estimate another $2-2.5K for lightings and kitchen &amp; bathroom accessories...

Our own house is resale 3 Room.. need to hack and lay alot of tiles and walls..bathroom also totally changed... converting it to a studio apartment type.. hehe.. estimated renov is about $30k for now..

snowypooh

Hehe... just contributing 2 cents.

perhaps I'd done a fair bit of research while preparing for my ROM that's why I'm not so "gan jong" now. Got pros &amp; cons lah.

necrosis

nelle....
yeah....discipline is one thing...
but really time or lack of is also a factor (read: excuse)

been going to the gym rather too infrequently cos no time

any exercises to reduce the flab on the upper arms.???
my arms are quite ''toned'', as in, it's possible to see the definition of my triceps (is this considered toned? )
but there's this piece of flesh (from whence it appeared, i've no clue!!!)in the lower arm...
how to get rid of this?

next on the list of exercise recommendations please: the ubiquitous tummy fats or how to get a trimmer waist.
i guess i should cardio first...occasionally, i can see the lats definition...but i stress, occasionally only and by stretching the imagination quite a lot.

xiaojan

xinglin - yah i'm sourcing for PG and VG now...but the VG that i have shortlisted is quite new...may not have worked with depixel (my PG) before so i'm worried that they dun have the chemistry to work with each other

daniel beh's works are nice! and thanks for the useful website!

superwoman_cqy

Sleepygal.. if you are of tanned skin, then I say avoid dark colors like black, brown etc.. Instead why not try brighter colors? That's my opinion though :p My luncheon gown is warm yellow in color with black sash :p

waxie24

jna> i heard that the DIY shops have moved from concourse to tekka mall. there are some DIY shops along south bridge rd (between hong kong st n carpenter st).. maybe u would wana try look for them there.

nelle

nec, isit behind the upp arms, above the elbow?
If it is, the gym equipmt is still the best. Unless you have weights at home.

For tummy, stomach crunches still works best.

superwoman_cqy

Hey Nelle.. I ve been attending the stretchfit class for the past couple of weeks but dont recall seeing a member with pink mat.. Will call you if I see you :p

Planking (as described by Nelle) is really effective for toned abdominals ..

nelle

haha, qinying, I have been slacking. Didn't go on tues but went last Tues.

nec, we went to amore woodlands. But typical pilates classes are also very very good in toning.

shybride

hmmm rach your 3 room oredi $30k wor! mine is so expensive i think bcos of the size.. 145 sqm.. didn't do a lot leh.. only the floor, a bit of false ceiling, kitchen, 2 toilets, hack 1 wall, balcony, that's all leh..

lightings we spent $1700+.. toilet+kitchen $2000? can't remember liaoz :p

ling27

hi kittyng, i will be in hokkaido for 5 days. First day and last day of the 7-day package will be in tokyo. Then after that i will extend another 3 days in tokyo.

Actually i was also looking for more days to spend in hokkaido but like what you said, i dont see any package that has more than 7 days in hokkaido.