(2008) Brides of year 2008

kitty_ng

Hi shybride, my PS is on 12 Mar. Quite close to yours
I'm with hyatt, so my coordinator arranged me to collect fr em. But for inserts, sorry i refer to the format/template. So i guess there's a variety to choose fr.

Selina, i completed my guest list already. So waiting for time to send sms only. Is jasvy gd? I'm still choosing between those tied in with my hotel. And jasvy is one of em.

Apple_gal, glad to hear that everything went well for yr PS. Changi broadwalk is also one of my choices. Looking forward to yr pics

~sblbee~

uksportgal, it's not frm my hotel...i intend to get frm outside...

koyoyo, based on wat u say...mayb i shd have catered finger food instead hor...but see how 1st...

koyoyo

hmm ,
first of all i am not sure if hotel mgmt allow u to bring in cupcake or even donuts.. sometime they can be mean ask u to buy from them unless cupcake for wedding is specail n the hotel dun provide so they cant stop u but fot donut or fondue i am not sure.. have any of u check w the hotel b4 cracking ur head over wat to serve guest? Cupcake is actually very filling thing to have b4 meals.. just my thinknig..

praisey

hi stef, sort of... i be out in april and till end june. so most of AD will be planned by him. Hope i don't get a shock when i get back. As we are not doing GDL and stuff, things are simpler. i maybe the last july brides doing PS on 2 april. heh

ykls

hi xiaojan, yup nothing much to bargain normally they very fix on their price. Maybe can ask for more pics?

hi nervousbaby, welcome
How is your preparations?

ling27

Hi kittyng, i havent seen their actual work so i cant comment on that. Their service is quite fast. I sent the order form to my hotel coordinator in the morning and by evening, i already received the template. Maybe some credit should go to my coordinator also.

So did you verbally invite them first? I am worried that some guests might not make it and then my guest list will be messed up.

redmilktea

hi meiling,
we will probably have 450 guests, around 45 tables plus minus. so we won't be catering to everyone.. maybe 300 is too many even.

a friend has tried c-cup before and they were delicious. will be tedious if i had to taste all of them before i could decide not to mention i'll grow very fat from all the eating...argh!

raragal

hahhaa... i more kiasu.. my AD is in Sep..
I've already smsed my long times friends in January. some already say will be overseas cant make it.. but most say can make it...

Those that i frequently see, i'll ask again in June..and will send out invites by July 3rd week..

~sblbee~

bluebananas,
i think u shd cater max 1/2 of ur guests can liao...hehe, dun wana d food to go to waste rite?
oh, mayb i shd think of sth different, yet small n bite-size so wont b too filling if not d guests cant save their tummies for their dinner :p

redmilktea

yeah...its true.. dont need to cater too many, can save $$$ too!! wahahah thanks for ur advice dear =)
appreciate it.

actually, i'm not too worried because the food at fullerton is not very impressive/ big portions. they are considered small portions (in my opinion)... the serving is kinda like fine dining style... plate big food little... =P

kitty_ng

Hi selina, u mean we can go thru the coordinator to arrange the printing? I thought we hav to do it ourselves...hee

Eh, my frenz more or less know when my wedding is. But need to reconfirm again via sms. I thk some last min changes is inevitable.

jyiah

anyone going to the coming NATAS fair to book honeymoon?anyone knows which day to go the price cheapest?first day 2nd day or 3rd day?

~sblbee~

bluebananas,
no prob...i agree...unlike restaurants, hotels usually have a smaller serving n portion, i remembered going to qianxi n den they served us in huge giantic plates enuff to feed d pigs...hehe, d food oso in big portions until d whole table cant finished at d end :p

nervousbaby

Hi YKim & Kel

I just confirmed AD @ Rasa & BS with Yvonne Creative..

But when i looked thru the archive, YC seems bad..emm..abit regret....

lucky rasa is gd..hehehe...
besides tt actually i also tried the BE in Feb unable to get too.. really beri sad...

especially its near my mum...haiz...
its realy hard to get a new flat nwaday...
if i cant get one before AD, my FH & i wil hv to stay separately at our own hse 1st..

redmilktea

yeah... i recently attended 2 weddings there... the serving was so little... think we could have gone for 2nd round somewhere else if not for the fact that we were so tired after the whole day of celebration (i was jiemei)... haha
i hope our relatives/friends don't complain... shall try and convince them that it's healthier to eat till 60% full... hahaha

restaurants will have much better food in bigger portions and to some of our relatives it'd have been a better choice hah

apple_gal

Hi, Xinyi
Thank you for your infor. too bad, the sales is over, I'm still short of 1 set of bedcovers.. Maybe need to wait Singapore great sales...

Hi, Selina & kittyng
Thank you, i really pray on that day, do not raining, really worry when i saw on the weather forecast that 30% will be raining... Glad that my outdoor PS is done. In the meantime, I'm waiting for the BS call for the selection of photos.

I've arranged to meet my banquet coordinator on the wine selection, card selection. As for card printing insertion, i already make appointment with the card supplier, focus AD. My food tasting will be done on this sunday.

~sblbee~

bluebananas,
i guz most of d time, d guests wld b alrdy full ard d rice/noodles dish, so shdnt b a prob...cos they shd b bloated after drowning so much soft drinks, beer or wine :p
yah most ppl commented dat d food frm d restaurants can b better tasting n big portions, they prefer d food rather than d ambience if they r foodie :p

apple_gal

Hi, Meiling
Ya, waiting for the photo to be ready for selection...

Hi, Shybride
According to my friend advise, buy with the electrical plug better instead of battery operated. Battery if finished, need to change, need to standby too.

shybride

thanks meiling & applegal, i very KS, wanna buy the type with batteries + plug.. in case blackout mah.. heard that the lamps is for SONS.. very important! :p

cecilia07

Hi Annette & Katietan: Yes, "Jian Dui" is the round & big dough that has to remain in shape for the entire morning session. Cracking my head & trying to find it, cos the hubby side just "flew-in" the request over the weekend, saying its for good luck.

Haji lane ah, ok will go and find this weekend. TY!

Hi nervousbaby! Welcome!

waxie24

jus to share wat i research on all the credit cards from most banks
my findings:
Cards with cash rebates, (i have citibank dividend that offers 2% rebate on dining), but for BQ or hotel dining, they only offer 0.5% rebate. Example for Citibank Dividend: if BQ cost 20K, 0.5% rebate = $100
Check with ur bank how much rebate for BQ (cards i know of are POSB everyday, uob one)

normal CC do not have 2x pts. for OCBC titanium, 2x pts are for selected merchants only.

DBS black give 2x pts for every $5 spent. 20K = 8K pts ..2200 pts can redeem a $50 taka voucher. at can redeem 3 $50 voucher.

since BQ is biggest $$$$ hole in our pocket.. my strategy is to get most rebates.. although we didnt hit the min. PA required, we still thick skin to try and surprisingly it was approved.

ah net> i think there are kiasu ppl who apply for flats located in NSEW.. why dun you subscribe to the HDB newsletter, keep urself updated on the latest release of flats in the area u fancy. i see a lot of launches leh.

Mr Chan Kai Yau seems to be very popular leh.. why huh? I need a friendly JP for my wedding

raragal

waxie> u mean u apply for DBS black without hitting $30K limit?? and approved? wah...
How u provide ur documents???

I think i rather use my Standard Chartered Card...
$5 = 1 point. 500 points = $22.50 to redeem my insurance premiums...thats real cost savings.. not some vouchers to induce more spending.. thats 0.9% rebate..
$20K spending = $180 to offset premiums!

Better than ur DBS black card!

Hahhaha... if anyone here owns a Prudential Policy... haha.. i can help you apply for PruCard with Standard Chartered Bank... and you'll get $50 credited into ur account...
And i'll get my $50 commission... hehehhehe... :p

Mr Chan is experienced...thats why... I'm engaging him as well..

micmattina

Cecilia the jian dui shop is at Purvis street according to my FIL but dont know if the shop still does it.....the shop is either Ye Con or the hainanese coffeeshop opposite Ye Con...

~sblbee~

apple gal,
oh...u intend to top up d photos? when will d photos b ready for selection?

shybride,
wah...no wonder lah, u r so well-prep...so eager to add new members into d family...hehe :p u must love kids a lot

ykls

hi kel and cecilia, np

hi nerviousbaby, dun worry there are always some good and bad about BS. Since you already sign must choose to have faith with them. I was also scared when I initally signed with my BS haha last friday only but after thinking just enjoy it since we already signed

icyxiaozhu

hi waxie24, citibank cards can be used to have rebates for banquet? hmm.. e sales person told me dun have leh when i applied.. now tat's gd news though =P

hi ah net, i also applied for the Damai BTO, there will be ppl who will not go to apply so keep ur hopes up k.. =D

skyea

Everyone is making good progress in the wedding preps! For my side, we've just confirmed our food tasting session to be held in the 3rd week of March. Now gotta decide on the menu and invitation card designs. Had our GDL discussion during CNY and already booked our HM. Seems like quite a bit of stuff have been completed, but there are still things like wedding songs...etc. It's like never ending! Hehe.

Kittyng, i've already completed my fitting. Will be going for a final fitting this sat before my PS.

Selina, i've already done up the guestlist for my side and also a tentative seating arrangement. Haha. Waiting for my hubby to input his. Already sent sms to my friends to have a tentative confirmation and get their addresses at the same time. Should be sending out the invites in late April.

apple_gal, good that your PS went well. I hope everything would turn out well on the day of my PS. Hehe.

Net,
I failed in 6 Ballotings hehe. I told my bf "Let's not be too disappointed. The most important thing is we stay strong in our r/s." I'm going to tell u the same here.

Waxier,
Thanks for sharing your card research!

lexilicious

hi bluebananas

Yah koyoyo brought up a valid point about the charge for bringin in outside food. I checked with my side, they're charging a flat fee of whatever amount(i cant recall) to serve cupcakes, which I found to be fairly reasonable and I didn't want to serve real wedding cake bacause it was going to be like 30kg of wedding cake.. which is like 3k for cake.. a bit pyscho. LoL

Yah the candy table was something I wanted, nto as a cocktail table nuts thing, but more of an interactive thing for my guests. It's a very american tradition, a bit liek a wedding favour kind of thing.

I wanted my guests to mingle and help themselves to candy, to fill their own bags themselves and for it to be a bit of a attention factor in itself.

basically me and my FH want our wedding to be more spontaneous and fun - reflective of our fun loving nature.

618767.jpg

samanthaquekys

decided to have my sis n mum go with this fri. hoping sis will be able to help me decide which looks nice on me. =) and wanna involve mum in my wedding preparation too. can't wait for my fitting!!

looks like you gals really did a lot of planning to make your wedding a special one. with the cupcakes n live band n all. don't think i'll have any of those. my FH don't really fancy live band. n light food before dinner scared the guests will be too full for dinner...

flora_bliss

Hi gals. Now in terrible mood. Juz got my increment and it's been confirmed that we have exceeded the $8K ceiling. This means that I'll not be able to buy flat including DBSS (except for EC) directly from HDB and not eligible for HDB loan. And just realised the worst nightmare, I'm not eligible for the $30K grant (for 1st timer) and $40K grant (for living near parents).

What should I do???? Any advice?

luxelass

Hi girls, talking about clashes, my day clashes with zodiac signs Tiger and Pig. Which means my brother, who's a Tiger, will not be able to open the Bridal Car! It's not as significant anymore getting a replacement to open the door... Any one heard anything about clashes and how we can resolve this?

xenxen

xinyi_reiko > wat a coincidence, i m also using the 'daisy' design..

apple_gal > i ve booked 10day switzerland n paris package wif SA at the pre natas promo..

Collecting wedding album this sat n selecting AD gown. Ve u gals chosen ur gowns for AD ?

nlimm

FloraBliss: but i think tt they based on urlast income tax statement wo, u doubleconfirm again.A guyfrd of mine told me he ask the hdb ppl they said so coz their case like urs

queenie10

HI PSH,
sorry for the late reply...if i'm not wrong Qing Ming starts on the 4th or 5th of April so by the time it finish, is ard early may. If i distribute cards in early may,most ppl can RSVP on time cos its abt 1-2 wks to my wedding.My wedding banquet tables have to be confirmed at least 2wks b4 my AD.

flora_bliss

Really? But I doubt so leh coz we need to submit payslip for the last 3 mths leh. I wonder if writing in to HDB or MP would work since we only exceed $8K by less than $400.

Really very bad for us. Resale HDB will be too expensive since now I don't qualify for grant. Then pte property also very taxing on us for monthly loan repayment.

waxie24

rach> dbs black is 48K... but ur stand char card sounds better.. but fh say 2 cards enough already.. humph~~

icyxiaozhu> we check with citibank.. for dividend card, BQ/hotel dining is only 0.5% rebate.. not sure for other citi cc.. but hor.. increasing credit limit for citi card is very troublesome.. you'll need to fax in ur BQ details.. if you wan to use ur Citi card, call in advance to make the necessary arrangements.

we can share which is the most "wu hua" strategy together.. haha

kitty_ng

Hi apple_gal & ade, u all r quite fast! I hav nt even cfm my food tasting session. It's really gd to hav this forum. Haha...somehow give me pressure of wat i shd do next...hee

Ade, i'm doing my 3rd fitting this sat too. Hopefully it can be the last

raragal

waxie> hahaa... u said whichever is the best ma.. now i share with you the best loh.. hehehhee... but only for those with Prudential Policies.. then good la..

Else the other rewards points are very much similar... 0.5%...

If you want then let me know la.. hahaha..