(2008) Brides of year 2008

happysmiley

Hi hi...

been quite long since I last logged in..

Hi Jovin,
I did not managed to go to JB in the end as we settled our BS the day before we planned to go in.
But thanks for sharinf your contacts! =)

Finally settled my BS.
Precious moment, can update for me? Thanks!

mary_poppins

Hi, I have finally confirmed my banquet location/PG/VG over the past two days:
Banquet: Marina Mandarin
PG: Thomas Tan / Simon Video & Photo Service
VG: Simon Video & Photo Service (Simon)

Thomas Tan is my HTB's free lancer fren who has done an excellent job for other fren's AD wedding and also overseas PS. Simon Video & Photo Service has a promotion now, S$1,200 for both PG and VG. Guess it's the cheapest you can find. Just that its location is only accessible by shuttle buses in Toa Payoh. Will take my time to decide if I want to do animation...

Hi providencia, have to trouble you to update the list this coming sunday.

Such a pity, SWC is not under the list of BS. Cannot take part in the Style Wedding contest...

cacky

^Meiling5^: Eh, can I ask usually who are the cakes distributed to? Issit necessary for GDL?

lex: You can try from this place too. My friend had hers from there for her church wedding. http://www.pink-vanilla.com/

sue: Thanks, but EC a bit out of the pricing. Too expensive.

~sblbee~

sue,
i agree wif u but wat to do...we have to rely on tis system to give us a roof over our heads :p
i sure hope dat my nxt attempt will b lucky cos i duno pay how much admin fee liao :p

cacky,
d cakes r distributed to d bride's family n relatives...yah grooms will give d cakes to d bride's family usually during gdl

~sblbee~

hi nelle n jac,
thanks for ur consolation! hope i can get a gd queue no. during d nxt balloting exercise...im going for d bi-monthly in sector b n c...wat's BE btw? i duno if can apply both at d same time but i shd it's ok cos many ppl r casting d net to have a better chance

foodietravel

hey xlb,

is the bishan tailor the small tiny one in a corner.. very near a 7-11 store? if it is, their workmanship pretty gd and cheap leh. i had a couple of jackets altered and you can't even tell that they were altered! can't remember the shop name offhand though.

doca

HI, my is Apr 13 08...
Clarzz: if you want a photographer..i can help you get one...or you can choose to do like i did :

* get a photographer (i know a few very good. In fact, my fiance shoots faor wedding, he can take care of your studio rental, if you want)
*get a free lance make-up artist (i got a church friend,she studied the art of make-up and she is just the right person)
*rent your gown or buy ( I bought mine and i am thinking of renting out mine cos I have 2)
*D.I.Y your albums

I guarantee you the outcome is just fantastic.

here are some pics that we have taken. Some were taken by my fiance and some were from his brothers. Everyone praises my make-up...if you are interested in budget type then PM me
(the pics are cut to fit this webpage)

608745.jpg
608746.jpg

princesstinker

cher li,
So envious! I went to check out the place too.. Super nice view!

But I chose another place instead, coz intend to do solemnization then banquet.

xenxen

Hi Ade Heng,

U can check wif ur BS.. I bot mine at the BS. I check n let u know the brand. I used it for PS.. quite comfy

cherliteo

PrincessTinker--> I am doing the solemnization then a western banquet followed by drink and party late into the night at the bar there.
Chris Lee--> No seasick , only 45 mins

crayongal

keke.... yeppss serene... sad indeed.. haha.. no more ang bao collecting.
but aiya, its a much more meaningful life ahead when u setup your own family and home. =)
hehe

btw, i saw yr pics. super nice and chio la.. keke... and ya.. i left some comments. nice nice! =)
i'm sure u'll enjoy your OD shoot alot too. when would dat be? hee.. when u gonna view yr ID shoot photos?

cacky

^Meiling5^: Ahhh ... okie ... understand. Will probably suggest to my hubby to give cupcakes then. Think my side will appreciate it. So it's one box per family?

polarwhite80

morng to every1...... welcome the newcomers: cyc / lex / cacky.... think i am confused who is who liao.... hahaha....

for the gdl cakes, most prob i am getting those traditional cantonese "xi bing".....

~sblbee~

cacky,
i'll get my fh to give normal cakes for my relatives...dun think they appreciate nice stuff :p but it's exclusive set so shd b better than d normal ones
it's usually 1 box per family but some may consider married cousins as a separate family :p

lexilicious

Morning,

Polar - hahah I'm confused too.. sometimes I read the threads and I lose track who was asking what hahah

cacky - I think the cakes quite necessary ... Cuz my mom is quite "chin chai" but she insist as Hokkien that we must have the pig trotters, oranges and cakes. She did mention don't need too many boxes though.. something like 10-12 enough le. But if I'm not mistakebn, whatever the groom give, we have to give back some. Eg give 12 box, give back 2. Something like that, so I guess the number of boxes best to check with your folks.

antakusuma

hey M,

dunno le. Its at Bishan Junction 8 there... opposite.My friends made the outfits there, looks good.

anyway, i had a huge fight with my mom yesterday. Basically its gone to a point where she doesn't want to attend my wedding. She is very demanding and unreasonable, and i am quite quick tempered. So pls, christian brides, pray for me. If not there will be no more wedding. Its the biggest burden in my heart right now.

koyoyo

hi tinkybell & Cyc,
Here something that help w cough try robitson. (will check up the actual spelling) it found in guardian or waston. however u must check what cough u have.. those itch or heavy phelgm. it very useful and effective. I find pi pa gao only good for soothing throat...

koyoyo

polarwhite,
It necessary to give XB but qty per family normally it ok to have only 1 box i guess it depend on ur family.. as lex say hokkien family need pig trotters. btw, there is pig trotter shortage due to.. i forget so may end up getting roast pig as subsitute (fyi to hokkien family) gold price also increase so ths getting 4 Dian Jin must beware.. will share w u any more latest news..when i hear them..

cacky

^Meiling5^: Wah ... if even married cousins also considered seperate family then I have a lot of boxes to give already!!! I come from big family. Better check with my mom if she requires.

PolarWhite: 50 boxes really xiong hor ... I think I might need close to 30 boxes on my side. I have a lot of married cousins already leh. Gosh ... So who delivers these cakes to them? Issit my own family or my hubby's family? My hubby might not be around during GDL also coz we're both overseas.

koyoyo: I thought 4 dian jin is prepared by guy's side right? U mean gal's side also must prepare?

flora_bliss

yup, hv been MIA for a while. Been busy at work, doing spring cleaning and applying for my professional certification. Feeling the stress on a lot of things. A bit emotionally unstable a couple of weeks back. Now much better liao.

bbbs

hihi. i need help!!!
my actual wedding cum solomenization will only be on Dec 8th 2008. But we hv to hold our chinese customary on March 30th 2008. As what the fortune teller says. So we wanna keep it very simple. just the 2 family and maybe grand mothers for tea ceromany during a pte lunch in a hotel. So what are the things needed for the Guo Da Li and stuffs? We really want to keep it simple. Jus tea ceromany will do?

raragal

Alrite... everyone has been busy preparing for CNY le issit? Busy spring cleaning??
Hhahaa.. rare to see such quiet thread.... Mmmm....

ayukie

i found the rose hip oil at guardian yest ..
tried it yest .. feels ok .. hoprfully no breakout ..
anyway you all use the range moisturizer as well ?
will it be too rich ?

floating25

Hi Ice Cherry,
I'm sure your wedding must have been wonderful too at the Rasa. We're very pleased with their service and initiatives cos we had our wedding in the reverse order - High Tea reception, Solemisation then Drinks. We even got them to make a REAL cake for us! Overall, we could not have asked for anything better than to have our wedding at Rasa.

Ashley,
Hope you enjoyed your wedding and CONGRATULATIONS!!!

divine_genie

josfoo, now many ppl are adapting other dialect group customs so imagine the dialect group that originated this custom doesn't have it. weird

xlb, will keep u in prayer for both u and yr mum. Hv a good slow talk and see what's her rationale for her damands. Btw, a bit out of topic but how much u spent on yr maldives?

nelle

Flora, do take care of yourself. There are some things that will not be in line. It is difficult for me to accept that too. Que sera sera.

doca

hee...yeah,, only 2months...i am a bit (no actually a lot nervous)

well, we got a place for the Wedding Dinner. It is pretty good deal. A restaurant comes with 2 rooms heeeheee
then we just had our phtoshot. Since we can't afford any bridal package so all D.I.Y la. I bought a gown, my church friends do make-up and hair-do, my fiance(used-to-be wedding photographer) and his brothers and friend shoot for us
but the outcomes are fantastic..I love the pictures a lot...last night we spent few hours mounting the pictures on the albums..it was just the studio..planning for the outdoor soon
will keep you update

however, since we just started working and i just got my PR so we will be renting a flat for few months
cos we are also waiting to apply for the new flat...hopefully it won't be so long...

doca

oh forgot to mention..my dinner will be at Yishun Lake Gadern Restaurant in Orchid Country Club..quite a nice place..
the package comes with 2 rooms complementary at Orchid Country Hotel

cyc

Tks Koyoyo for the recommendation. I actually went to Watsons pharmacy during lunch to get cough mixture. I agree pi pa gao only soothes. But doesn't stop the cough. Well, pharmacist asked me some qns and prescribed me a cough mixture after some "persuasion". Took once just now. Not working on me.. guess I just have to wait it out.. which was what pharmacist said.
He was like "cough would usu go away after 2 wks on its own w/o medication. cough mixtures only ease the cough for the moment but doesn't cure it. it all depends on your own immunity.." haha.. and I was like "my cough is really bad and its affecting my sleep/work! just give me sth!" haha.. that pharmacist is such a joker..
Tinkybell, fyi too! u better already?

polarwhite80

hi koyoyo,
i am getting roast pig also... cos cantonese mah.... but i dun have 4 dian jin cos cantonese daughter cannot ask for 4 dian jin....

hi cacky,
4 dian jin is prepared by ur mil.... gal side de is ur mum prepared which is called "jia zhuang".... i heard that we need to deliver together wif the invitation cards.... ah duhz, majam like deliver full mth cakes like that... run ard spore....

ryu

Hi Doca,
wow really D.I.Y, peifu peifu. Sounds like you're pretty much on track
relax what will be will be, don't get too nervous ;)

Hi Flora,
pm'd you a question. You take care don't get too stressed or upset. Sometimes we get so caught up we can't see straight anymore...>.>

necrosis

hey hey flora...
chill babe!

no doubt lots of things can add stress to our already stressful lives, do remember to take a step back and look at the bigger picture, hopefully not let the smaller, petty things stress us out too much.

doca,
DIY? wah...i wanted to DIY once upon a time.
sourcing for gowns seemed to be such a problem, in the end gave up. :p

do share with us your pics...
we all love to see chio chio brides...
it's like looking at babies right?
the more chio chio brides we see, the mroe chio we become!!
ahahaha

doca

luckily I got a lot of help from friends and aunties from church..plus my fiance also a very D.I.Y person and though my mom is not in Singapore but everyday she updates me with new things that she bought for our wedding--> all of this cheer me up and keep me enjoying the whole D.I.Y wedding plan
ah, just checked the HDB wedsite...a few flats on offer:
http://www.hdb.gov.sg/fi10/fi10201p.nsf/WPDis/Buying%20A%20New%20HDB%20Flat%20(e-Sales)Flats%20On%20Offer%20-%20Shortlisted%20Applicants%20-%20Monthly%20Sale?OpenDocument

hope it helps for some

cheers,

ahnetsan

i still cant find the rose hip oil leh.... sob sob... ask the assistant, she walk one round den come back tell me she not sure where it is.... oMG lor...

yeah lor, suddenly the thread so quiet... everyone must be busy spring-cleaning.... anyone knw which brand of abalone is the cheapest? intend to buy abalone for reunion lunch steamboat.... sigh