(2008) Brides of year 2008

koyoyo

haha sue,
the fact that ur fh apologize mean he know how much anniversaryisery must have meant.. MOst prob he is really stress by work tt why.. i believe he will make up sometime... anyway i am sure u will have a memorable anniversary next year

Haha i am still in no mood to get hitched rather i wish i am not hitched... no feel still ho ho

koyoyo

hi claire
welcome to this thread. Is ur husband a christian or catholic? I am not sure if u can hold a church wedding if both of u are not. I only know in state u can get wed in a church even if both partners dont have any reglion not sure in singapore but i dont think so. However you can consider marry at chimes .. it very church like n even more romantic..

sleepycat_2

Hihi ladies,

My wedding is drawing near!

I have mani + pedi voucher from Strip for sale if anyone is interested. Was intended for my wedding but due to time factor, I will get my nails done a shop nearer my home. Let me know if anyone is interested. Vouchers expire end of Feb.

The shop webbie is www.strip.com.sg Outlets at Wheelock place etc.
Selling for: French Mani = $20, Pedi = $25, or $40 if purchasing both together...

sleepycat_2

I have mani + pedi voucher from Strip for sale if anyone is interested. Was intended for my own wedding on 19th Jan but due to time factor, I will get my nails done a shop nearer my home. Let me know if anyone is interested. Vouchers expire end of Feb.

The shop webbie is www.strip.com.sg Outlets at Wheelock place etc.
Selling for: French Mani = $20, Pedi = $25, or $40 if purchasing both together...

weddingll

Thanks jojo and kymmie, its great to hear you.
Actually we are planning a lunch affair for about 35 tables. We are just wondering pple would give lesser angpow for lunch as they think its cheaper. But the rates going for hotels are not cheap either for lunch. Crossing our fingers that we wont receive any angpow lesser than $60.

And for BS, its another problem now. We are not sure to go ala crate or get a BS package. We been to a few BS at Tanjong Pagar, but feel that its very hard selling and pushy. And also the photography very taiwan type. And most BS package does not include AD & Video. My mum is saying that i should keep my WG, its not cheap! And also i wonder what i do with the WG once the event is over.

Do you all have any nice BS to intro?

Haha, we only plan to recover the lunch banquet cost, but hopefully can cover everything.

nelle

Summer, tt can be quite frustrating to buy a new flat. Have you considered a resale flat eg. a 3-rm flat? I bought one at near valuation price. As my partner & I have work for a no. of years, we can pay the house in full without taking any loan.

mi_kel

HI All, me new here too!
Mine AD is on 8 Nov. Now searching for BS.. very confused cos too many out there... am considering gg down to Golden Horse. I din make appointment leh.. can just walk-in on a Sat? Will they entertain us?

gingerbread_gal

Oh man, I'm getting worried now about the flat application. We prefer new flats so not keen on resale flats. To add on to the worries, there are flats still available in Sengkang and Hougand but not applicable to Chinese. This is bad....

Actually that time HDB had this BTO for some flats in Punggol whereby there is the double storey 5-room loft (something like that), I was very tempted by that flat. But didn't apply. A fren's fren was very lucky...managed to get that loft which had only a few units.

luvz17

Hi, I am new here and definitely interested to join in to this relevant discussion.

Jac, did you try the recent punggol & Yishun HDB?
I am looking for HDB too, but din apply that due to its location.

nelle

Jac, such units ae very expensive. Half of the loan you are repaying goes to the interest. I feel heart pain when the money goes to elsewhere.

antakusuma

So blur, shd be catholic. u want to photoshoot only right? If u want to get married in the church, have to look around for anglican ones... they look most gothic i think.

ET> if ur parents are OK then OK la, all happy. =) I also cham siong with my mom to do a simple GDL and she agreed.

Kelly... tell us where u've planned to so we can tell u next steps! and when is ur ROM date, issit same as ur AD?

gingerbread_gal

Nelle,
I think the price for those unit seems quite okay. It seems very worth the money.

I'm interested in mansionette....but think its diff to find and no new ones...

luuz, welcome!
No I have not applied for any flats yet...but this feb will apply...so will be my first time....Beginner's luck? Fingers crossed!

luvz17

Hi dreamz1905, I feel that the more you see, the more you will be indecisive.

Nec, what website are you referring to?

Jac, i joined jun-dec 08 thread already. Duno if it is the correct one...haha...just join

simplyserene

Hi Stef! Hope you have a fun time tmrw! Take pics yah?

I'm gonna meet up with a cupcake baker this Sunday. She's really nice, even gonna make some samples for me to try! Even more coincidence, she stays around my area so no need for both of us to travel to downtown to meet up

I just hope her cupcakes are affordable cos I realised that they can be quite expensive. The other day the newspaper was saying that we shdn't be buying fr home bakeries cos not licensed, but I think it's okay...

If anyone's interested, I can pass you her contact later, but unfortunately she's already booked for 6 July.

amari02

Stnov, my coordinator was Albert. We thought it is basic good customer service that the hotel provide some compensation to us since we (the customers) had such an unpleasant experience at the hotel. Even simple thing like offering medication to ease the rashes when I complained to the recept, would be good.
Anyway, it is over... only looking forward to my AD now!

wendily

Hi ll,

Normally, you will be able to recover back the banquet cost. Provided you must hint hint to friends/relatievs the price of your table. Although sometime not 100% recovery, but then you definately wont be paying the whole banquet by yourself.

Like what other brides suggest, maybe you can hold a smaller scale wedding? Like me, i'm only doing 12 tables and i'm doing a wedding banquet dnner! haha..

I think you should get a bridal package, because its definately cheaper than you source each item seperately. (unless you have a photographer friend, or you already have WG).

I personally don't recommend to keep the gown, unless you have the spare cash. but ask yourself, will you really wear it again?

At the same time congrats to yoU!!! 2009 will be here very soon...

jeslynn

Hi dreamz1905, just think of which BS you prefer in your mind beside GHA. My Bridal Room also very good, i heard a lot of compliments about them.

CLS2008

hi WeddingII,

I took my wedding pics on a ala carte basis. If you are considering the ala carte, you may wish to try this PG & VG company at www.avenue8.com.sg. I engaged them. For gowns, i also bought my own gowns (i bought 3 WG, 1 EG and 1 tea dress) and will sell away after my wedding next Sat. You don't have to worry about having the liability to keep them as you can sell away after that. Alternatively, you can also rent a gown which is very affordable at less than S$200 per piece at either justgowns or lush gowns. Their gowns are quite nice too.

If you are looking at packages, you can also try www.dsire.com.sg. They are a boutique bridal shop that does mainly selling of WGs. But they do tie up with PG and VG to provide Photography services as well. My experience with them is that they don't hard sell. Their gowns are made by themselves and come in limited pieces and definitely gorgeous.

Hope these information helps.

~sblbee~

sue,
at least he's aware dat he's not doing much tis yr...n he's sensitive...some guys dun even know wat n where went wrong cos it happened during my bday celebration last yr...no reservation at restaurant n no cake, though there was flowers n present but i was so pissed dat i showed him my charcoal face :p

koyoyo,
well, u r not alone....i guz i felt d same way on n off but trying to control my emotions cos it's not easy to find d "perfect guy" nowadays :p feel can b cultivated n we must wk to make d r/ship wk

polarwhite,
dun worry...u'll get ur ideal celestial proposal ring soon

gera78

hi, anyone of you ladies got the love declaration form to share?

my wedding is on next sat, dont know
how to get ideas for sabo.

hatemenot

agree with wendily,

BS package will be cheaper than if u source everything yourself like gowns, bridal studio shots etc florist etc separately..

i am personally not a bride from la b * lle (replace the * with e) or digio but i think both have nice gowns and affordable packages as i have been to both to see.
have intro-ed 2 friends to these 2 boutiques too and they like them as well.

But if u prefer lacy gowns and have slightly higher budget, can try julia wedding news. their gowns are lovely. =) just my personal opinion. have some gown pics in my multipy, do check them out if u keen

wendily

i got my wedding pictures already!!! so happy... but then like not nice leh.. LOL! maybe not used to see myself doll up...

I wanna share.. btu where should i upload it?

~sblbee~

jac,
yah me too, im interested in sengkang flats...but didnt get any luck in application d 2nd time rd for d bi-mthly selection :p they always have full chinese quota den we chinese end up homeless :p
as for d punggol treetop, i applied too, was oso interested in d loft unit but didnt get a gd queue no....sigh, ur fren is really lucky to b successful

im living in a maisonette in serangoon nth, there r some in hougang n serangoon too...if u really interested, u may have to consider buying a resale flat :p
gd luck for ur application! same to myself...:p

happysmiley

Hi Jo_vin,

hee... thanks for the info.. think i am a blur BTB.. and is always procrastinating.. hehe
I dont think its kiasu.. checked with my husband's friends... we're considered late!!!

Ya, can u share the contact for BS in JB?
Might be interested to go & recee..
Thanks so much for sharing! =)

Hi All...
am so excited to be planning & sharing wedding info together.. it seems so fun!

Maybe.. if we have time nearer to Nov.. we can have a bridal shower party..hehe

nelle

When buying property, always look into your returns. If the area has the potential to be en bloc/new station/out of ERP etc., you will earn after selling off. Must monitor trend. Well, of course, remarks are just my one cent worth. I am dreaming about my vineyard day & nite...hahahah.....

mage

geraldine, I've got something like a love contract for the groom... quite cute and interesting. What's your email add? I email it to you.

wendily, you have got a multiply account? maybe can upload there and add us

~sblbee~

sue, it's not we r hard to pls but smtimes they must make some effort mah, we'll always have some expectation one mah...they always think can chin chye n wana hoodwink us, haha...not so easy ok? :p

gingerbread_gal

Hi luvz,
Yes i see you in the other thread...its the right one

To add in the discussion on BS, first decide on budget. I had recommnedations for MBR. D'sire is actually not bad....the gowns there are quite glam. My frens recommended Santiago and I went there to enquire but can't stand the hard-sell.

I agree with luvz that sometimes the more you see, the more indecisive you get. then when you make your choice, you'll be wondering nif you'll be better off with other choices. So must make sure you like almost everything about your BS, esp the gowns.

divine_genie

sigh... headache.. i'm a christian and siblings were married b4 i did (i'm the youngest) so i kinda know what my mum expects in terms of traditional practices. BUT, my hubby is the eldest of a buddhist family and first son getting married so we do not know what to expect from my MIL. My hubby asked her, she said simple will do. That's not true.. all of a sudden need to follow this and that etc and she seems unhappy that we are simplifying things.. My hubby also blur blur din ask much though i told him 'simple' is subjective so better to clarify but he insists no need to. I dun mind following traditions (not buddhist related practices though) but i feel that she should speak her mind so there's no miscomm mah.. Argh!

kell, i should be getting a few copies as reference for printing inserts and then after printing then i get the agreed number of invites.

xlb, me prefer christian church. Thanks! I've gotten St Anderew Cathedral for photoshoot.
But with wedding hiccups, dunno still hv the mood to take my PS or not..

stnov

amari02...looks like we have the same coor....

wendily....would luv to peep at ur photos....hw abt uploading them in multiply to share wif us....=)

kitty_ng

Hi Lim & justina, welcome to our thread! Pls update the excel spreadsheet if possible.

Our list of june BTB is getting longer everyday
Hope everyone is preparing well.

weddingll

Yes 2009 is coming, i am happy to hear so many advises from all. I think this is a very active tread, judging from the responses, u all are like a big family!

I guess i will pay a visit to digio & Dang, heard about their beautiful gowns. Actually we only have bugdet of about 4k for BS package, that means we have to be very discipline on the photoshoot.

To Eve: did you get all your gowns in singapore? I understand 1 gown in singapore cost at least 1.5k to MTM.

To Wendily & Jojo: Do post on mulitpy, I would love to see the pics!

bigapple

wow so much went on overnight! haha..this is such a happening forum :)

hey uksportgal, oh you or your hubby is from HK? yes difficult to organise when not onsite. To make it even more 'interesting'...my hubby is a mauritian chinese so we need to plan for a ceremony in mauritius and it's on 18 Oct **faint**. it's gog to be 1 week from my spore ceremony...nothing done there as yet..he said noone book it so early! gosh..it's like 9 months away already...men hor.. i dunno how they can stay so COOL! ;P okok..interested in the xi word. will log into your website shortly ;-)

wow u are so well-informed even know that cui cui and dana are friends..haha!i have just confirmed cuicui as my AMU since she's really nice over the phone and there are a lot of compliments about her that i have heard so far.

Meiling, yes in new york..will only be back in Spore at end of Sept to get married....well, dont really have anyone to help me in spore. things like wedding gown - got no choice, i gotta buy here. here, all the ang moh dun rent..they buy and keep for lifetime...i think after my wedding, i might sell the gown..haha! so bulky, duno how to keep for my lifetime ;p
hehe..i actually went and tried at the vera wang bridal salon here ...very nice, very friendly pple but of course very pricey! i got my gown from Alfred Sung.. fitting is in April..will show u the pics :D. Wow your bridal table is happening! hehe..to add on, here's my details: Date = 11 Oct. Venue: Ritz Carlton Hotel. Photographer: Derrick Ong. AMU: Ophelia Cui Cui.

Sue - Hello!! Yes yes it's fun here but miss spore and all the yummy spore food :D hehe u mean movies like sex & the city right? in reality, not all women look like sex and city actresses...hehe...mostly really oversize here..think due to the fried food and burgers...haha!

Tinkybell - Yo!! thanks for calming me down..haha..i am feeling better with PG and MUA settled in spore. now gotta worry abt evening gown, renting of KUA when i am back in spore + to plan for mauritius wedding (^0^)

Janet - welcome! I am new too..haha! hey for 50-60 tables, you can check out mandarin, marriott, grand hyatt, ritz carlton, suntec etc I believe they can accommodate your guest size but highly dependant on your budget leh...

Claire - welcome too! koyoyo is right. CHIJMES is a good choice! I have been there for a wedding before..very nice! Hey i heard if ur partner is a christian or catholic, you wont need to convert but u prob need to go through wedding preparation session and some bible study session. you are have done that, then the priest will do a reglious ceremony for u at church.

polarwhite - hello!! hey u never know, he might want to wait for the new bed to arrive and then hor, just slips the bling bling into your finger at night...hehhehe!! I am sure he will propose to you!!! I waited for a really long time too..followed my fiance from spore to NYC..and finally 1 weekend, he finally popped the question while i was cooking lunch! can u imagine how 'romantic' ? HAHAHHA

shinni85

hello Ting,
i'm selecting my PS gowns on the 1st of feb,i think my PS in the third week of feb...
as for my makeup and photographer i have not ask my coordinator yet...=)

floating25

Stnov,
Thanks for remembering. Yes, another 6 more days to go before my big day!!!

II,
Welcome to our thread and congratulations!
For us, we're having 12 tables of High Tea and people's perception of high tea is it's not expensive but it is! We're paying about $780 per table so we're prepared to make a loss. Maybe can only recover half? Anyway, better not expect too much.

CLS2008

Hi Wedding II:

I get all my gowns from Spore. All my wedding gowns are off the rack but each design only comes with 1 gown only. So you don't have to worry about brides wearing same dress as you. Each of my wedding gown is bought at less than S$800.

If you are interested, you can email me at [email protected].

i will be most happy to send you my wedding pictures for you to see.

Let me know.