(2008) Brides of year 2008

chocolite

Thanks Maniac! Ur wedding planner sounds really fun haha Wicked plans... But I am on a tight budget so can't spare on wedding planners. I rather enjoy doing my own research although I can feel very overwhelmed by it sometimes. The good thing is u can feel u have contributed to ur beautiful wedding and tell ur HB so and that u deserve a super honeymoon keke

brightstar

hi chocolite, i can only ans ur last question...it is about $80. but again depending to the closeness btw u n the married couple. sometimes, i gif 100 dollars if good fren..:p

dat

hi ladies and gentlemen!
can i join here? my FHB hasn't proposed, but we're kinda budgeting for our wedding and having our pre-wedding photoshoot next year in australia.

our parents are keen for us to get hitched soon, and we're aiming for mid 2009, so guess we're early for this thread as well.

however, we've started looking around as we're planning an outdoor wedding on our own (no wedding planner), so have lots of logistics and planning to work out.

hope to share good lobangs here with every one.

pinki_gal

Hi DA.T,

My plan is similar to yours, having photoshoot next year in Australia, either in Sdyney or Melbourne. Currently still liasing with photographers over there, care to share if you have any resources?

Planning to ROM in 2007 and AD 2008. We're also planning an outdoor wedding for ROM and probably hotel for AD.

Anyone knows when is the 7th lunar month in 2008?

dat

hi pinki,
we're having our photoshoot in melbourne! sure, do u have an email i can email u at?

so far, not sure if u already know this, but aussie photographers tend to give all shots as proofs, but proofs are low resolution photos that cannot be printed, and they will charge approx $250(the quotes i got so far) for a high resolution cd of all photos taken!

also, the don't seem to do much digital touch up/effects as compared to those that we see in singapore..

by the way, do u have a BS in singapore or are you DIY-ing?

hope we can exchange notes on photoshoot in aussie!

cheers.

blur_queenie

I'm planning my wedding in 2008 too , a simple event, no dinner , just solemnisation & lunch. We are thinking of early Feb but will it clash with CNY? Will it be weird to hold it during the 1st 15 days of CNY? Any advise?

pinki_gal

Hi DA.T,

You can email me at [email protected]

So far I have shortlisted a couple of photographers in Melbourne and Sydney, so do leave your email so that I can email you those whom I have shortlisted. (inclusive of high resolution DVD). One thing though, it's really $ in Aussie, as they usually don't offer packages but charge everything separately!

I have signed up with a BS in Singapore already, so will be taking the outdoor shoot in Australia and the indoor shoot in Singapore, bringing the gowns over there. So now trying to maximise value for the Aussie photoshoot since having 2 photoshoots, don't want to spend too much on photos alone.

Hope to hear from you soon!

jenesammy

Hi Gals..

I'm newbie 2 tis forum n also a BTB in 2008..
Would like to ans to JoJo's queries..

Jojo..
I'll b having my ROM n AD all in one in FEB08, already got the date fr my geomancer, it's actually on the 16th day of the CNY in 2008, well.. which is the 22-02-2008..

According to my geomancer, she was saying that most ppl will not hold their wedding during the CNY period (1st-15th days) can't remember the specific reason.

However, the date which is being selected should not clash with ur parent's n yr FIL's chinese horoscope as well as u n ur FH's.. n the date she gave us was pretty ideal for all of us

Hope tis helps..

cactus_79

Hi jojo, most pple dun hold their wedding during CNY period cos it is a period of festivities and everyone will be busy "visiting friends and relatives". For a couple to get married during this period suggests that gal needs to get married asap, (ie. pregnant). Pple don't like to rush things, so it's best to get married later in the year where there are no major chinese festivals.. (cos in the past, entire families will be involved in preparing the food stuff/worship stuff for festivals and htere will be no weddings during that period).

Further CNY period, restarant/hotel prices may be expensive and food quality may suffer cos restaruatns/hotels are packed.

blur_queenie

Hi Jene/ Catcus ,

Thanks for the input. As i do not know how long will the next lunar year end, guess it either has to be pushed forward or backward 1 mth..cos the date i'm looking into happen to be the eve of CNY..hah...

Does anyone believe in the year of animals which they get married in? 2008 happen to be in the year of rat? I know some people are particular in the year which their offspring are born in but yet to hear anything on the marriage.

cactus_79

There are some beliefs that some years are not good to get married cos of the animal.. like I've heard year of the rooster means couple will argue alot.. hehe. but I dun quite believe this.

Other beliefs are that years without "spring" are not good to get married in cos it is a "blind year". 2007 is a Blind year. 2006 has double springs so is very good for marriages. 2005 is blind. I think 2009 may be blind also. not sure.

But in any event, if you believe in dates, just get a master to calculate for you. There are good dates for weddings in every year.. even in the 7th month!.

josey

My bf finally proposed to me last Friday..Now that he has proposed and I've agreed, how should we move on from here? I'm clueless.

The only thing we have done is to applied for BE at commonwealth. Then now what? Can anyone advise me what should I start preparing for? AD would be around early 08.

cactus_79

Congrats!!

Do confirm your dates of solemnization and customary wedding! Get parents to meet up and confirm the dates. Then confirm your venue and bridal package.

maniac

Josey, congratulations. maybe you want to buy some wedding magazines for reference? I just bought Style Wedding but feel that nothing much though but you could get some info for a start. I would like to recommend my wedding planner to you. u can visit their website www.wickedplans.com or call HP 9119 4512. I think they are great.

brightstar

Josey (josey) - hi...congrats to the proposal...there are a few things u need to do and can do by urself.

1) check out for bridal studio package
2) any coming wedding shows?
3)research on hotels and restuarants

will be good enough for now....u can visit my friend's wedding blog ....there are lots of info in it and u can see from how he started off prepapring from proposal...a SNAG who dedicate the blog to his fiancee le...:p

josey

thanks guys! We are thinking of having solemnisation and customary together on the same day...unless we get the flat earlier.

as for date, can't choose now as the Tong Su is not out for 2008 yet...

maniac, Style Wedding for the new quarter is out now? I have been waiting for it since end Aug..okie..going to grab in tomorrow.

yc_mw

Hi all! I'm a BTB in 2008 le, but most likely will be near end of '08. But, already feel like there's so much to noe & so much to find out. Keke. Glad that there's help here.

cactus_79

Hi Josey, if dates are important to you and your FH, you can go to a master to calculate dates. They can do it without the Tong Shu. If you have a venue for the wedding dinner in mind, it's good to calculate dates cos places tend to be booked at least 1 year in advance. My AD is Sept 07, but the venue was already booked (confirmed booking with deposit already paid) when we enquired in July 06.

josey

Hi cactus, that's good to know how that we can choose a date without waiting for 08 Tong Shu to be out. I was wondering will I be on time for all the prep work by the time I get my AD date.

danadele

hi ladies!

josey: congratulations
like wat maniac suggested to u .. perhaps u shud start to buy some wedding magazines fer ur reference.. do confirm ur solemisation and customary dates, once u had that u can go for hotel/ restaurant hunting.. but most hotels they might not entertain u as ur AD is on 2008 they most likely will tell u to come back mid of 2007(discuzz wif FH whether where ur wanna held ur wedding at, this happened to my fren..
u can also look for BS packages.. (can discuss wif ur FH whether ur wan to take locally or JB... )

juz some informations to share.. there will be wedding fair in sept at grandcopthorn waterfront hotel(which is on the front webpg on SGbrides, can go read more bout it and oct at furama river front hotel.. perhaps ur might be interested in going down to have a look..

cactus_79

Hi, to add on to strawberries' post, when hotels say that they are not open for 2008 booking yet, you can still request for 2007's package.. this would give you some info about the capacity of the venue, the package details and the pricing. 2008 prices will be slightly higher than 2007's prices - about $30/table for hotels.
Once you've decided on a venue that you like, you can express interest in a date in 2008, and request the hotel to contact you once the date becomes available. It's better than trying to view the possible venues only after the dates become available.

maniac

Josey.. yeah... it's out. Did u get yourself a copy? I don't find it too gd this time coz the theme is Oriental, not suitable for me.

deannen

Hi josey

if u r very systematic kind (like me) then maybe u can start a wedding file =) what i did was i use those colour divider to divide the section up i.e. gowns/ flowers/ make-up/ hotels etc etc so dat those designs of the gowns/ hairdo/ flowers etc u like u can juz tie them out from the mag & file it in there..easier for u to file ur things as well. Whenever i nd something, i will just look up the file & search for the divider rather than flip thru the many thick mags dat i ve got... hope dat this is useful =)

brightstar

hi josey,

the dates can be calculated by those master...mine is huang shifu...and u kknow what, he told me what matter most is the couple must stay loving forever..not so much of dates itself

josey

Maniac, just bought the mag today. Its quite informative for me. At least I know where to start and what to budget for now. Kind of like the Oriental theme. I think I will get a cheongsam for the tea ceremony.

Deannen, so far I have created a folder in my PC for my research over the net. Got budget/AD itineary/cards designs.

brightstar, I'm waiting for my FML to check on the dates...but not sure if she knows how to go about doing it, she never ask me about my Ba Zi.
Anyway, my FH says it too early to plan...so...i can only dream for now...

maniac

Hi Josey, good to know that the mag is helpful to you. Cheongsam is nice but me too fat... :p

Deannen, I also have a wedding file... my wedding planner did it for me. I also think that it's very useful.

josey

Hi Maniac, its not too late to start dieting. Since my AD is going to be in early 2008, i have more than a year to do so. I've since started doing Yoga daily. Hopefully I can lose some weight and tone up my body.

brightstar

Hi Josey,

u still have lots of time....do take ur time to plan and enjoy the whole process...u may wan to take a look at my wedding prep here...

souler

I'm new here. Me hasn't really plan a date yet but ROM cum AD shld be on the same day probably in Feb 2008. Plan to invite a JP to do the solemisation on the AD. HTB suggested 29/2/2008 which happen to be his birthday. 2008 oso happen to be the RAT year which coincides his zodiac.
Hinted to parents regarding the date but dun really hv a positive reply fm them. They said not very gd to 'clash' with one's birthday. Anybody heard anything regarding this?

dat

Congrats Baby2Luv!

Personally, I haven't heard about the 'clash', but if your parents are particular about it, you might want to follow their wishes.

By the way, you sure you want it on the 29th of Feb, your HTB will have all the 'excuses' to not celebrate your wedding anniversary for 4 years!!

souler

Thanks for your wishes, DA.T.

Hahah! I actually did think abt his 'excuses' if i really agreed to his proposed date. Seriously speaking, we might not want to take the date afterall cos it's actually falls on a Friday. Sat or Sun weddings is more appropriate at least in my own opinion.

maniac

Josey, I hope I can slim down in time. :p

Baby2Luv - I think as long as everyone feels comfortable with it, it's ok. If not, better change date.

jengcc

so glad to c this thread running again..
so anyone started doing their "homework" oredi?
i starting to attend those wedding shows to chk out the hotels ballroom/ lobby/ approx price per table/ capacity..

jengcc

1st up attending the novotel one..
maybe we all can chk out n share the info here or even attend the wedding shows together

dat

Hi JL & ZZ,
we've started doing our 'homework', just checking out different prices, venues etc.. at least when time comes we won't be so 'gan chiong'

beautifulsnow

I'm also a BTB in Feb 2008. I did my research 1.5 yrs ago. Yup,i'm very kiasu..hee...so have been to a few BS,hotels and even seen actual day VG and PG. I have booked my bridal boutique,going to book hotel with confirm deposit end this month,cos' 1 yr 3 mtns away to my actual day.I have sourced for my actual day PG and VG. Going to book them early next month. Even cakes for Guo Da Li,i also have already sourced for that and confimed.My jewellery for day also bought.It's good to plan and prepare early so you will know exactly what u want when the date draws near. My actual day is calculated based on our ba zi. It's a more complicated process so my geomancer able to give us the date early instead of waiting for tong shu to be out. Guess by then, many dates already snapped up. All the best in your planning!! Enjoy the process!

eunice_40

Hi Sally,
You are going to pay deposit for your AD banquet? Which hotel are you confirming? I thought the bookings for year 2008 is not out yet?

brightstar

hi, had seen this website with all the things that you need to plan for ur wedding from day 1 to the day before ur wedding....feel free to browse this wedding blog .... ...hope it is helpful

mrslim

Hi everyone... i am also a 2008 BTB...Had ROM on 20.06.2006... have been bz searching for wedding packages...anyone wanna share their exp?
Eyeing for BRIDAL VEIL as i loves Michelle's design lots!
As for hotel packages... i am not soooo into it yet cos i dun have a date yet.

stnov

Hi ladies...mi a newbie in tis thread.

I have been given 3 dates by my geomancer and most probably we will be deciding on 02 Jan 2008 which is a Wed.

My BS was booked in May tis yr and im nw troubling over our banquet venue.

Hope we can xchange more ideas in tis thread on our weddg....cheerios~~~~

mosburger

seline - can share with me how z wedding quote u?
personally i love their gowns. really nice.

any of u get flat yet? was hoping to hold AD in 1st half of 2008, but due to financial and living space constraints, must wait until we confirm can get flat 1st.

mosburger

josey - where do u take yoga lessons? me thinking too, coz me also plump plump type. if can slim down will be good lah. wat d'ya think of amore yoga lessons?

mosburger

deannen - i'm also a very systematic person, so when i keep a file, i tear out my magazines. haa, all my magazines all got missing pages here and there. ;p

my folders: photography styles, gown designs (WG/EG/TD), banquet venues info, bridal accessories, customary items, checklists and maybe add on when come to my mind.

elmo80

I'm new to this thread.
I'm intending to hold my AD in Mar 08.
Have signed up with Milan Wedding Collection last sun.
As for hotel, i have not decided yet.
Any recommendation from you gals?

charmed22

i'm also new to this thread. I'm intending to hold AD in 2008, but really have no ideas which hotel to choose.
Anyone has any ideas?

minling1106

Hello ladies..

I'm new too! Will probably hold our AD on 21 June 08.. ROM-ed on 11 June this yr.. Really contemplating Wedding Present. Any suggestions too? Had our ROM at Equinox Private Dining Room. The place is great! Thinking about having the dinner back there, but max capacity only 15 tbls. Any other places high enough with a view? Overlooking Suntec will be great. None come to my mind though.. Hmm..