(2008) Brides of year 2008

simplyserene

Try Parkview Square at Bugis. My old office location is pretty nice once u're up the stairs, both inside and outside.

Or else... Botanic Gardens, Labrador Park, Mount Faber... Or you can find a nice pub/cafe who will let you take photos in... Just my thots...

jo_vin

Hi ultimatemocha, sometimes if you engage a videographer, they can help you to do the photo montage as well. Perhaps pay abit more ba. Just check with them when you discuss with them abt their packages. Maybe you can check with you BS as well? Cos my BS is helping me to do my photo montage.

praisey

moi going little india and changi chapel..

hatemenot

stov, yeah i thought they shld quickly open up another table and help u to shift the guests otherwise the food may not be enough since it's only for 10 tables.

yes, u shld write to the GM and see what they have to say.

agree with muddpie too.. previous night must try to relax and sleep.. cos there's really a long day ahead in AD

princess_sue

morning all,

Happy birthday to all birthday gals this month

& Congrats to those who are going to be a MRS this month too hehehe..

MRS LAW, dun forget to take pictures and post on friendster ah..

hehehe

~sblbee~

hi koyoyo n polarwhite,
happy bday to u in advance!

koyoyo,
yah i juz realised dat i mixed both of ur ROM dates up last nite :p....sorry

sue,
u r d latest MRS here, me 1 day ahead of u....but i dun feel like being called MRS THAM, so strange...like so old :p

~sblbee~

hi nelle n flora_bliss,
u all went to chk out d shop alrdy? wah...dat's fast, think i shd make it a pt to go down tis wkend...scarly everything cannot wear :p now starting to feel glittery abt d whole wedding thingy...getting cold feet as i havent even go down to try d gowns at my BS :p

jac,
d 5% downpayment in cash is applicable only for dbss...if not, d 10% can b paid out frm cpf

moments0442

hiye all...

wow..all is in the mid progress of waiting for keys/reno etc... I am still trying to ballot for one ! grrr.... =(

Ladies... nt sure if you all know.. that saturday night 930pm.. there is a mandarin show on wedding and various culture of wedding... it's nice... ekke.. can catch it on saturday 930pm @ channel 8.

waverine

netfinity> u know the New Market Food Court (hawker beside OG)
there are shops on the upper levels... the shop is located there... there is also one shop there that specialises in GUA DA LI items.

I bought the wedding ang bao between $2-3 per pack..... i bought diff designs so cannot remember which one cost how much :p

nelle

Flora, yes. It is pretty. For tea ceremony hor? Have you try it on? See if the color brings out your features most.

MeiLinG, they are open on Sat till 4pm.

Jac, are you talking about purchase of a new flat from HDB or old flat? Cos for old flat, I always thought that they take 20% 1st (ie. 10% from each of you), then they see how much you left in your a/c b4 calculating how much you need to borrow from them.

lara

oh.. i watched it last sat.. but i think this coming sat is talking abt mixed marriages betw indians/malays n chinese

mage

Stnov, its really the hotel fault how can they brush it off like that? So horrible service! Can imagine the embarrassment of not enough tables for your guests. Totally agree that you should write in or better still make an appointment to see the GM straight!

I can't have photo montage as there's not enough place in the ballroom but I'm still having the cake cutting as well as the champagne pouring and toasting. I'm crossing my fingers that my guest won't be bored.

kjustina81

ya i knw got this program .. but no time to catch it ...

Ch5 asking for soon-to-be married couples to participate in wedding reality show rite ??

anyone interested ?

sleepygal79

Hi ultimatemocha,

I have signed up with Grand Mercure Roxy. Sorry, perhaps I did not make myself clear. I mean we had paid the deposit for the banquet but we need to let the hotel know which price/menu we will be taking. I am not refering to which dishes and wedding wishes to choose for the dinner (but can give these factors a thought earlier). These will be confirmed at a later date.

apple_gal

Hi, Moments
I miss the show, cos i go to the BOWS on last saturaday. How did they say on the show?

By the way, you waiting the ballot, is it the BTO yishun?

gingerbread_gal

I'm talking about new flats from HDB. Very confusing leh. I read then it seems that for HDB loan, can pay 10% from CPF. But if taking bank loan, need to pay 5% cash (compulsory) and the remaining 5% from CPF.

So for resale flats, have to pay 20%?

gingerbread_gal

Btw, the CS you are all talking about...its for tea ceremony? I find it a bit ex....cos seems like no other occasion to wear other than CNY. I might need to get a tea dress though...

I read that tea ceremony done at groom's place can wear wedding gown. Then for tea ceremony back at bride's place, then the bride changes into tea dress. Is this right?

antakusuma

hi Emily, I am doing my GDL same time i am doing my ROM, which is this coming february. so before the solemnization, we'll do it just before the ceremony. And i've spoken to my mom who have agreed to simplify the gift exchange to just exchange of angpows and candles and liquor. U can do it just 1 or 2 days before ur wedding, it doesn't have to be well in advance of actual day. Just talk to your parents i'm sure they will be understanding and things will work out. And don't think of it as waste money, cos it sets the right tone for ur marriage in the eyes of ur parents, especially if they are traditional.

Hi PSH, i don't have PS, so not having those things don't really apply. Hey for church decor, u ask sattine to do? or u ask ur caterer to do?

nelle

Yeah, Jac. The calculation for HDB loan and bank loan is different. It's best to call HDB for confirmation.

Do avoid taking bak loan, till you have no choice. The interest rate is very high and fluctuates.

berry_egg

Hi BBlguana & JJ,

i'm also looking for renovation loan. anyone got contact for the Hitachi reno loan? What do we look out for in the loans?

hi iris,
I'm planning to go to Bedok Jetty with our fishing rods for our PS. Have also shortlist Botanic Gardens - would like to have a green backdrop.

how about the singapore flyer? should be opening soon this quarter. it would frame a nice singapore skyline. hmm what other new bldgs? how about the national museum? the new extension has very nice spaces inside, but not sure if they would allow us.

town area for night shots? hmm.. clarke quay? Arab street? i like the scale of the shophouses there. but it may be very dim at night. or the usual night scene shots at raffles place? merlion? esplanade?

nelle

If you choose bolder colors for cheongsam (e.g. dark red), you can still wear it for D&D, formal functions. etc. That was what I was thinking. My partner secretly wish I wear one everyday! duh...

You are right on the changing of attire. Cos in the old days, the bride don't go back to her parents's house till at least 3 days later. Reason is the travelling distance (last time they have to walk, ride horse, cross river etc.). Therefore the change of clothes, we call it the tea dress now. The groom need not necessary wear the same suit. Another reason is, the woman belongs to the man's family now so she cannot suka suka go back Niang Jia. So go back, is a much casual affair.

So when the bride leave her parents's house after the groom fetches her, she is (supposedly) wearing the gown (in the old days, will be the red kua), so bride and groom serve tea in the wedding gown (or kua) and suit to the groom's parents/relatives. Then they change clothes either at groom's place or their new place, then they go to bride's parents's house.

Having said that, things have evolve. Only cantonese brides wear the kua.

lovebytemi

Stnov,
In my opinion, I think that the Hotel should be responsible and not just brush it off. We are paying like 1k each per table, with a total its 30K and that IS a lot of money for one night therefore we expect good service and not such idiotic pissed off banquet manager bullsh*t. I feel that the GM should do something about this. At lease in a form of compensation or something... you should not take this lying down...

bigapple

Yo!! Hello all Oct brides,
I am new to this forum. Does anyone of you know of a good makeup artist for actual wedding day? Heard about Ponnie Hsu but there are mixed comments about her... Hope to get some expert advise on who to pick ;-)

ultimatemocha

sleepygal -ic,that explains it.
jovin- my BS PG does it but will have additional charges. I knw thats the standard but will prolly outsource another to do it since u never knw if the PG does a bad job, another work done elsewhere will nt aggreviate the entire situation. Not that i dun trust my PG but one never knw until the entire work is done. Hopefully no glitches for everybody!

Days are approaching *scary* =)

~sblbee~

jac,
y dun u take loan frm HDB?

nelle,
thanks for d info! have u decided if u getting ur mil to make to purchase frm outside?
oh...i intend to make a CS to wear for sending off guests :p

~sblbee~

hi irene,
welcome to tis thread!

sue,
it's ok...so far, u r d latest i know but perhaps there r some other brides in tis thread who's getting married after u :p

nelle

MeiLinG, my mum is the seamstress. I have yet to ask, she not enthusiastic about making it though. She says she scared of destroying the fabric. Cos one wrong cut, the whole fabric is gone.
In that case, you must make a really grand CS, with sequins/beads/shiny threads, or even a sweeping rain.

moments0442

apple_gal>>> the Jade spring i wanna try .. but come thinking of it... it's like too far away from the MRT station... and before the BTO yishun is out... i already ballot for compassvale beacon... haiz... Ballot is like surprises... once in a while they pop up with notice and u cannot predict what's coming next...

The show last week is on hokkien wedding if i am nt wrong.. they say the whole day event lo.. and an chuan, comb hair, etc...quite a nice show.. but bit short...

~sblbee~

nelle,
but to think f it, i prefer to make sth dat i can wear on normal occasions, not too grand so i'll see wat she suggest n wat's available in her shop b4 i decide

~sblbee~

nelle,
yah...1st time is ROM dress to wedding gown, 2nd time is wedding gown to evening gown and 3rd n last time will b evening gown to d CS :p
i've alrdy got my hotel coordinator to get d function rm beside my ballrm to use as my changing rm so i dun need to rush up n down :p

polarwhite80

too many Oct BTB liao... some ROM 1st, some ROM on the AD etc etc.... if i dun refer to the table meiling did, i also will blur.... hahaha.....

thanks gals for the bd greetings... 1yr older again.... so fast....