(2008) Brides of year 2008

cordie

hi meiling
can apply for dec one liao ah...didnt know...think we'll be applying too ba...see how...when i think abt no flat...sometimes really feel y not postpone the wedding...but then vit M no enuf to have both together also...sigh...

~sblbee~

hi pipi,
cos when he went to d website, it's 0 applicant n when he finished it's no.1 appearing...hehe, he logged in at 12 midnite sharp :p
but it's ok lah, dun think it's 1st come 1st serve basis :p thanks for ur gd luck!

~sblbee~

hi cordie,
yes yes, u better apply now ok? wish us both gd luck! for me, it's better to secure a flat, d reno part n moving in may come in later, dun think it'll b in time for my AD :p
dun worry, take 1 thing at a time

baipipi

oh... now it's real-time updating liao ah? if what the forum said is true, u will be preparing your house reno very soon
n its a lot more enjoyable process than wedding preps (i tink)

nelle

cordie, there will NEVER be a right time.
Just spend a whole weekend afternoon (about 2-3 hours), both of you sit (& no moving around) at a cafe and open an excel spreadsheet/simple pen & paper and just work out the details.
You will discover you can do away with some expenses to cover the necessities.

I have eliminated many nice-to-have stuff so that we can do up the house and have a wedding in the same year. Don't look at wedding magazines at this point in time. They will make you want to spend more, look at them only if you are not sure how certain things gg to be.

dopeydodo

Have added mine - 08/03/08. Looks like it is a hot date!

axeljes - 1/3/2008 - Dragon Gate - Bliss Bridal
feilinc - 1/3/2008 - Traders Hotel - Di Gio
Missyheng - 1/3/2008 - Hotel Rendezvous - Venus Bridal
piggytinky - 1/3/2008 - Dragon Phoenix - J & M Design
moomooland - 4/3/2008 - Orchard Hotel - French Bridal
caramel980 - 8/3/2008 - Wesley Methodist Church & One Rochester - Dang Bridal
Mary - 8/3/2008 - Yan Qing Shanghai Restaurant @ Chijmes - Bridal ZOne
muffin - 8/3/2008 - Hotel Rendezvous - French Bridal
poopy - 8/3/2008 - Oriental - Sattine Bridal
purpleclouds - 8/3/2008 - Swissotel The Stamford - Bliss Bridal
tummykitten - 8/3/2008 - Raffles Town Club -SeletarBraodway
vysweetapple - 8/3/2008 - RELC International Hotel- Graceful Image
dopeydodo - 8/3/2008 - Traders Hotel - TED WU
090308bride - 9/3/2008 AD - 10/3/2008 - Intercon - Ala carte
bedime_bear - 9/3/2008 - Swissotel The Stamford - Santiago Bridal
Jesteress - 9/03/2008 - Traders Hotel - Golden Horse Awards
laura_yaya- 9/03/2008 - Carlton Hotel - French Bridal
sylvia - 9/03/2008 - The Laguna
Violet - 9/3/2008 - Club Chinos - Digio
dolphin25 - 15/3/08 - Carlton Hotel (lunch) - Ala carte
elmo - 15/3/2008 - Hilton - Sophia Weddings
Snow - 16/3/2008 - Orential - My Bridal Room
Meepley - 22/3/2008 - Club Chinois - ala carte for gowns
sealy me - 22/03/08 - S'pore Expo - Bridal concept
yu83 - 22/3/08 - peony jade restaurant - z-weddings
spacebar - 22/3/2008 - shangri la rasa sentosa - The Weding Present
Fsling - 23/03/2008 - Holiday Inn Park View - Zz wedding
Yoko - 23/03/2008 - Oriental - Bridal Veil
JV_moments - 23/03/2008 - Hilltop @ CSC - Bridal Concept
KLCC - 23/03/2008 - Grand Copthorne - Bridal Concept
jo82 - 26/03/2008 -Orchard Hotel - Bridal Concept
Junjun - 29/3/2008 - Carlton - White Link
Minolta01 - 29/03/2008 Church Wedding, Lunch Reception
Anabelle - 30/3/2008 - Hotel Rendezvous - Whitelink
Jen - 30/3/2008 - The Regent - J& M Design
minolta01 - 30/3/2008 - Holiday Inn Atrium - Di Gio
serlz - 30/3/2008 - Intercontinental - Silverlining
Strawberryangels - 30/3/2008 - RELC International Hotel - Seletar Bway

ryu

Hi Cordie,
Hmm not sure how easy it is to get a flat but I have 2 friends who have balloted for around 1-2 yrs and still haven't gotten a flat.... one of them always gets huge numbers.... >.>

nelle

For me, I only sleep on threadcount of 350 and above. Ya, mum always says I think I am made of gold. hahaha...

Cavelli is good. Go during sale time at Takashimaya. A set (2 pillow, 1 flat sheet and a quilt cover) cost about $300 to $450. Last for long time without growing 'fur' after many machine wash. Costly at first, but worth it.

xmasnowy

hi cherz.. sorry just didnt login for sometimes le... i dun kn need do wat till the date.. seems like too early to do anythin.. haha

chun_chun

meiling, good luck good luck!! hohoho!

kyoyo, usually go for combat class at orchard on sat by azrino nowadays. used to jump ard gyms quite alot for combat on weekdays but nowadays have to work late so very hard lah. & yesh! it is tough to stop eating 8pm onwards, but got to try ah! cos supper is really a killer! think if you really have to eat then opt for fruits or eat a smaller quantity
jia you! take it slow and u can do it one!

sue, yes! how can we resist chocs?!?!?! but the rule of thumb is control the quantity! dun cut immediately, if not will have withdrawal effect and might just end up eating more!!!

princess_sue

chun2 right man... wah.., we like drug addicts leh.. withdrawal symptoms.. hahaha.

will have to really cut down on those sinful food liao .. ok.. i resolute that i shall not eat after 8pm.. hahaha.. lets see if i can succeed. :p

necrosis

good luck with all the balloting girls!!!

nelle is right, yesterday, in like 3 mins, my FH just decided the date.
lol.
even tho it's inauspicious according to the online tong shu.
that's gonna be a headache to tell my mom tho. :p
sigh.

nelle

nec, I just found out from one of the geomancers I go to. He says that tongshu is a very generic theory. Your actual zodiac animal may not be the same as the one you are born in the year. Actual zodiac animal depends on the time and hour you are born. Not only that, everyone of us 'brings' along some 'stars' when we are born that creates your character and personality. Therefore, if you want a more precise reading, find a geomancer.

The one I go to printed out many pages from 2008 to 2010 of wedding auspicious dates meant for me & my partner only. He also give me a list of Dos and Don'ts.

antakusuma

eh Parmida, ur parents only met on ur ROM ah?

My PIL also. they'll only be seeing each other on my ROM! How was it? but didn't u have to Ti QIN? How come they never met?

RE wrist corsages, refer to some old thread from me, there are a couple of florists i recall doing tht.

PSH, cool shoes!

graceyong

Hi all, I got some bridal magazines for sale.

1. Her World bride aug 07 edition
2. Her World bride (malaysia) volumme 4
3. Her World bride march 07 edition
4. Her Bride dec06-feb07 edition
5. Female bride Spring 07 edition
6. Wedding&Travel Jul07 edition
7. The Wedding (indonesia) MeiJune07 edition
8. Bazaar Wedding (indoensia) mei-oct07 edition

all just for S$20, email me if interested or ping me: [email protected]

graceyong

hapimint

I going for my facial at stamford court. haha... at least settled one issue mar....

my SO also mar... the date we chose is entirely up to our own liking of the date. We decide not to ask the parents and just inform them that we are getting married on that date... haha....

graceyong

annpanda

Hi luvz17,
Have searched the whole stretch of orchard rd & clarke quay but all have been booked. There are others tat i'm placed on the waiting list. i'm still viewin some hotels these few days. hopefully can get a place by tis weekend.

Hi flora, i have used bobman as my photographer for my solemnization too. good rating for his photos & professionalism.

necrosis

hi ann...
me too!!!
been looking at the orchard road hotels...
all booked in dec!!

sigh.
have you found any available on 13/14th or 20/21st?
those are my 4 dates that i can play around with...
do share with me if you come across any please!!

necrosis

nelle...
maybe you could pass me your geomancer's contact and pricing?
maybe with his skills, the date of choice can become auspicious, then easier to speak to my mom. :p
she's basically ok with the dates, cept dowan those marked "inauspicious" but out of 4 sats in dec, 2 are inasupicious!!
what nonsense!
only left first and last sat of the month.
not too keen on either.
so... .... ... :p

nelle

Ok. He is very grandfatherly, chinese speaking and he also pooh pooh some of the old wives' tales! He always emphasize that some things are theory only, no proof and people just enjoy passing on 'rules'. Interesting to talk to him. He charges $80.00.

There are even some auspicious dates in the seventh month for me & partner!

baipipi

very difficult not to eat after 8pm leh... always work until so late, dinnertime is always pushed back to 9ish. ytd, i was very free so had dinner at 7pm. guess wat? i was hungry by 10pm. end up snacking which is worse

lara

Selina, i'll b too shy to go orchard road too hahah...

xinyi_reiko, wat's ur budget coz i've done some research on MUA for mum n sis too

sooch

thanks meiling, my teeth is one thing i'll need to settle before my wedding too. one of my molars may be cracked according to my dentist when i visited him some time back citing toothache - have been postponing the extraction for months now coz i'm terrified but the pain comes back once a while when i irritate the tooth. sigh. doing a tooth implant after that will cost me $3K in cash and others in medisave. faints!

sooch

where's belinda's? don't think i'll be shopping for my shoes yet coz i've yet to get my gown

i agree with chun chun, allow yourself some treats once a while, dun gorge. if you have a macdonald's lunch, settle for porridge at dinner. control total calorie intake for the day and i think you should do fine
i finally decided to watch my diet and lost the 4 kgs i gained during the years i was working. yey! now much maintain...but will see if i can lose 1-2 kgs more.

cordie

hi nelle
thks for the advice...think we need to do jus that...but for now rom is more or less settled with the major stuff settled...the rest only major expenses left BS, house and banquet...can u send me the contact for the geomancer also? thanks thanks ah....

luvz17

me too..

just to let u all know if you are looking at copthorne waterfront latest promo. weekday (sun - thu) $799 nett with free flow beer and 1 wine per confirmed table. bt for sure, 7 dec 08 taken already. just in case some of you got other alternatives.

marcy

The Regent is such a beautiful place!!! lucky u Karen

I'll be heading down to Divine and Ritz this Sat to check out their gowns n package... btw, have u source for your photographer for the actual day?

gingerbread_gal

we only managed to go to 2 Bridal schops on Saturday. The first one was D'sire and the 2nd one was Santiago. Anyone with experience with these 2?
I think I managed to wrangle a good package from Santiago but still didn't sign up. A bit fed up with them. Firstly, while we're attended by a guy, this woman keeps interrupting us with not very useful comments. Wanna check with you all, is it common that the BS want you to sign with them on the spot? We asked the Santiago guy to let us think about it for a few days but he 'die die' insist that have to sign on that day. Which we were reluctant to do cos its only the 2nd BS we've been to.
Had a much better experience at D'sire. No hard-selling at all and the designer seems nice. Told me to try on the gowns first before talking abt packages. I think I like this way of service better. So yeah, finally tried on WG. It was so exciting *jump jump* The gowns were so heavy!!! didn't expect it to be that heavy...

Also, now I realise by some ppl say BS/ or WG shopping is tough....

chun_chun

hi girls, yeah! we all just have to work hard on this and take this slow and steady! sure can shed some flabs one! also must remember to exercise! go for it! yeah! it is tough lah. but must try!

pipi, yah, as i am typing this, my stomach is growling. hee! but i just have to bear with this & go to sleep soon to sleep the hunger away!

wow lynn, 4kg?! over how long ah? i think i read somewhere that max 1 week can only lose 1kg! must take care there ah! and jia you on the extra 1-2kg! sure can one!

oh, just wondering how long before the wedding shld i take wedding pics ah? want to estimate how long more do i have to shed those flabs!

spacebar

just did my PS last friday! but however, we need to do another round of shoot cos we were unable to go outdoors due to the rain... hmm, how about u gals? hv u settle ur PS? dec mth is not a really good mth to have shoots ya? rather risky in fact...

as for me, i plan to do these in this mth:
1)Confirm guest list
2)Final confirmation of no. of tables for Bride's family
3)Collect invitation cards from hotel + arrange for printing of inserts
4)Recce hotel carpark (yes, i need to do that cos my hotel really has got limited parking lots

5)Confirm food tasting appt + Menu
6)Plan logistics for AD
7)Photos selection

necrosis

haha.... i desperately emailed all the hotels asking them for weekend in dec, any weekend!!! sat or sun i dun care!!!

*desperate n crazed*
lol

necrosis

hi ann...

just to update, orchard hotel is booked on 7th dec liao.
as far as i know, regent also.
good luck.
are your dates flexible like mine or must be 7th?
luvz17 leh?

necrosis

jac!!

dont kenne cheated ah.
they will SURELY tell you that the package is special for you ONLY FOR TODAY.
any other day, they cannot give you such a good deal.
aiyah, this is the case for most of those one-stop BS...those high class one, service is much better.

price also much more lor.
hee....

read some reviews on some BS that once you pay the deposit, they will change face and not treat you so nicely, so the nice service ends with the beginning of your contract.
so very impt to read the other forummers and see their reviews also...dont let some bad service pple make your wedding prep miserable.

and please, take your time to try and visit all the BS you want to.
there are usually a few road shows now and then in shopping centers and quite frequently in suntec there ares wedding shows (collection of BS together)...
sign up on those days, better deals, better bargaining power when you can just walk to the next shop and sign up there.....of course, do your homework first, already know which BS you like lah...then go there and bargain!! :D

necrosis

nelle,

thanks for the contact...er...how do i address the grandfatherly fung shui master?
shi fu?
lol....me blur...
me catholic lah....this is way out of my league!!
hahaha

~sblbee~

koyoyo,
aiyo, wait applied as d 1st person but get queue no. 1000+ lagi worse...hehe, do not dare to even think abt it :p

chunchun,
thanks for ur well wishes n gd luck! sure hope to rub off some luck frm d brides here :p
aiyo, dun worry, i need to lose 2-3 kgs too...den will look nice in pics :p
i think latest by jun u shd take ur wedding pics liao....im waiting for my fh to come back frm reservist in jun to take...hopefully he can slim down :p

sue,
hehehe....i gave up liao...i eat alot one n i sure is those type who like to order alot of food n den try to finish type...im a python :p n i like all d swt, sinful n oily stuff...
doubt i can shed off d pounds i've gained...till now i dun even have d confidence to wear a spag during wkends...mayb during wedding dinners still ok :p

lynn,
poor thing...guz we r d unlucky ones...hmm, wat happened? it seems scary, dun b scared ok? wah, urs is ex as well, but mine is double ur cost, dat's y broke liao

hmm...belinda's at her own place, not in d shops :p