(2008) Brides of year 2008

princess_sue

hey mei you are right man, they dun even bother to explain just say not available cos under reno till 209. Bad bad bad...

hey mei... your brother emmanuel still willing to take up more for oct 18?

~sblbee~

hi sue,
yah lor, they didnt even ask abt my no. of tables, wat if i can meet their requirement? *faint* but im glad i got my hotel alrdy if not, i surely heartache one :p
do u know wat'd d min requirement for d main ballrm? my colleague held her wedding there 3 yrs back...im not sure if it's d same ballrm wif pillars :p i was blocked d whole nite

hehehe, he's not "my" bro emmanuel lah, not my property :p im not too sure abt dat, mayb u can chk wif him if u dun mind a JP who's not bilingual cos he's an angmo (but a funnie n friendly grandfather-like one). mine is on 17 oct 2008 :p

apple_gal

Good morning, Gals.

Hi, Selina

Ya, Deng shifu will be alright,hear good comments from the thread in this forum too. Sentosa cannot catch sunset?

Hi, Xenthias

My email address is [email protected]
You may send me your email address thru my email address.

Hi, Atrina

May i know which BS you engage? Maybe we can advise you & help u on that.

koyoyo

Morning Gers,
Welcome to this thread bumbee..what is your budget for VG,PG? Well after reading your posts on finding JP , i am gald mine is just decide but the ROM.. However i am keepin my fingers cross that i do not meet that lady that insist wearing ring on the 3rd finger.
So what else is left for the preparation?

koyoyo

Btw, there seem to be a mega big BS fair on 28 oct at sentosa w many stars .. anyone wanna go? maybe get ideas for Gowns... Jio me if interested..

pinkyting

Sob sob... i haven't received my bling bling yet.. My bf oso dt want to find a good date for wedding.. dunno wat he want.. Guys reali dt understand the urgency of wedding preparation..

Btw, did anyone attend copthorne kings wedding b4? Holiday Inn Atrium? Meritus Mandarin?

nehoc

Yoshimi,
Not a cue, everywhere is the same even like PG & VG.

You can look for those small function room that can accommodate max 20 tables.

ling27

Apple_gal.. PG & VG?? Not yet!!! Ooops..
Oh what i meant was sentosa a bit far from punggol.. so by the time i finish the shots at punggol and rush down to sentosa.. might not be able to shoot at sunset.. My BS told me we will be leaving studio for outdoor at ard 4pm.

xinyi_reiko.. to be exact.. 226 days to my AD!! haha

apple_gal

Hi, Selina

Better confirm fast after you shortlist them. Meet them for discussion & see their samples of work.
My PG is desmond, & VG is Yuppies production.
For my PS location, i thinking of going Botanic garden & sentosa... Maybe meet with the bridal photographer, then they will be able to suggest & advise the place we want...

xinyi_reiko

apple_gal, my PS on 12 nov..

Try to arrange PS locations nearer to each other or on the same route down.. save time on travelling..

Selina, why only can leave at 4pm?? Need so much time in studio??

yoshimi

so far have quotes from Loof, My Secret Garden and The British Club.. Only British club is within my budget, but location wise kinda inacessible..

malchan

morning morning...

My best fren also having her wedding on 18th Oct... She's sourcing for hotels now... appreciate if you gals can give more suggestions of available hotels in town..

Thanks Mei for ya suggestions! muacks

~sblbee~

hi koyoyo,
morning morning...wah, got a mega BS fair? d one at amara sanuctuary? wah...i nearly got a heart attack when i got a quote frm them for my rom d other time...but it's a cool place. hehe, guz it's gona b crowded...have to ask my fh 1st :p

hi mal,
no problem, im glad dat im able to provide some suggestions...wish u gd luck in d hotel search! do keep us updated ok?

bubblebell

I got the heart shaped ballons for my ROM from Concourse. It's a shop selling party stuff, you can get from Bugis too, near KFC that row.
But you need to get the shop to pump helium for you too otherwise the balloons won't float.

maple_leaves

Hei yvonne,

Even if there is tentative booking, you can still get ur co-ordinator to call up if that couple reali want that slot...If they dnt want then of coz u can go ahead w ur booking lor..

blur_queenie

FH say confirm going Hokkaido, yipee. Finally something that make me happy after all those wedding stress. Have not confirm the date & agency, most prob mid Jan which is their low season. Heard it's -1 to - 8 degree, lots of thick clothing needed.

baobei123

Hi Maple

i just confirm my date last sunday and recently just started to look for venue and will meet the banquet manager tomorrow.

after that i will i still need some time to discuss with my HTB and if really confirm need to give by this month end. heeard that they thinking to increase the price.

mez

yvonne ,

i dun think they can increase the quotes they send to u just like that, unless the quotes says valid till.

moreover , you shld really finalising within this week or so ... since .. lotsa venue already taken up. , but of cuz u can block the date for a week to consider . but whoever pays the deposit first will get the place ultimately.

u doing site viewing with ur htb ? at least that can hasten the process, if not u have to describe it and tell him..hard to visualise.

maple_leaves

Yvonne,

Ok great, so which date will ur AD be? Ya I agree w pang, I tink they will commit to the quote that they have sent to you.

Oh ya, meanwhile, talking abt increasing of quotes, most PG will be increasing their pricing veri soon or rather some of them hv alreday increase the price so I would suggest u gals to find a PG now & book them for next yr...

nervous_bride

Hi....yup probably the coordinator spoil my day there....my bf was saying no point getting angry coz she wont understand...only designers will know what i wan...
Hey,have u gals decide on the date to take you PS?

baobei123

Hi Hi Pang and Maple

Ok my AD is on 23 Nov which is a sunday.
anyway more detail of the package will discuss with the banquet manager this thurs.

my HTB is going with me but i dont think we can decide on thurs itself but we shall do a tentative booking 1st in case.

apple_gal

Hi, Selina

I tot I've provide u the list... Hehe, you miss it huh?
I just email you the website, please take a look.
Sample of videoclips & pricing is there. He is fair to everyone. Kelvin is a very friendly guys, no pushy at all.

mez

Yvonne,

ya . but of cuz.. tentative blocking is required...

rarely couple decide prior to just one hotel viewing , unless they really like it .. many other things to consider . ( accessibility , max/min table, decor , perks ....)

even the person u r liasing with could also be a factor , whether to finalise on that venue .. cuz there are lotsa co-ordination to be done when ur date draws closer.

baobei123

Ya.FCC banquet manager is quite prompt in replying my message and confirming the time i will be arriving for make preparation.

FCC & FR package quite suit our needs and accessible too.

stnov

ladies....juz realised that MS cafe cartel operates fm 11.30am onli.....can change to raffles city but prob is looking at their webby....neber see breakfast menu....anybody can advise if they have breakfast???

hungribunni

Hi ladies! Just to intro myself coz I am new to this page. My last post didn't say much because I was busy with some writing last night. Gomenasai! ^.^"

I usually work as a freelance script producer and copywriter. My fiance is a director and has directed docus by CNA, National Geographic and Discovery.

He proposed in Dec last year and as the church could not give us a Dec wedding this year (a little sad for us), and we did not want to wait till Dec next year, we decided on Feb. As a touch of irony, coz writers love irony, we are getting married the day after the 15 days of CNY. Hehehe. So we just missed out on giving out our first Ang Baos. Grins cheekily. Kidding la. We also chose the 23rd because for us, the number 5 means grace. 2+3 =5.

I have a 5 year old son and am a single mum. So this wedding has a huge significance for me. My fiance is not my son's Dad, but for the last close to 4 years, he has treated him like his very own. =) His family is wonderful to us too, and my son loves them very much. It has been a wonderful journey to get here... but I could have never imagined it possible many years ago.

About how I am going about doing up the wedding...

I rented my gowns for $188 and $208 from a place nearby. There might be lesser choices to choose from, but they are lovely and new. I find the pricing very reasonable.

I do not need to get a wedding package because I have friends to help out. Yay!

Hubby2b and I also do not like many of the studio/outdoor wedding photography we've seen before. Being a photographer, and being able to do Digital Imaging myself, I can honestly say that many of them do a bad job. My fiance also feels that they all look so similar... We have seen nice ones definitely, but we both feel we know people who can do the same or better.

My friend, who is taking the pre-wedding photos for us, used to do fashion photography. His stuff used to appear in our local and other foreign magazines. He has since stopped doing photography for a while and has gone into a diff business venture. He kindly agreed to help. =D I am so grateful to him. He is a dear friend and a very fun person to chill out with.

My makeup artist has worked on myriad TVCs and TV shoots. She has a wealth of experience and will do the hair and makeup. I met her on a shoot earlier this year. She can make ugly ducklings look like swans. I was so impressed by her.

For both the actual day and pre-wedding shoot, the videographer and behind-the-scenes photographer are also our friends. The videographer is a Director of Photography who has worked on myriad TV programmes, TVCs and telemovies. The photographer has worked on many many weddings prior to this and is also a cameraman for TV dramas/series/documentaries.

We are doing a short film, instead of the usual multimedia video, to entertain guests. It will be somewhat of a romantic comedy, since my fiance and I have a funny story behind our romance.

Some friends are also singing for our wedding. They have performed before at Esplanade and Earshot several times. Really good stuff. They will be accompanied by piano and/or guitar.

I have also written a song to surprise my dear. =) I am getting a friend to help me with the music arrangement and composition of the tune. I will sing it on the actual day. Must make sure I dun get too emo and go off key.

I will be making the clothes for the flower girls and preparing the wedding favours, the Unity candle and the church deco... and the list goes on =D ...

My maid of honour is making my ring pillow - she crotchet a lovely sample piece and is now working on a larger version for the actual day.

I will be designing the invites and getting them printed too. I used to do graphic design for print in the past so it is not too hard for me.

My future sister-in-law has also written from UK to tell me that she's made the JUST MARRIED sign for us. Lol. She is worried I'll make one too. =) Really touched by her gesture.

My fiance and I are also going to write our own vows. I find that very meaningful and important. Even if we don't get to read it out, depends on the pastor, we can have a lovely keepsake with lots of heart in it.

Quite hands on, you can say =D

So if anyone you know needs help for a wedding from June onwards, give me a shout. ^.^

My Maid of Honour, after my wedding, and I are thinking of setting up a small business to help others plan, prep and do up their weddings in a very personal way.

We have a wealth of contacts ranging from make up artists who work on television shoots (and are heck of a good coz High Def TV doesn't lie very well), and we know musicians, photographers, set designers, experienced television crew - We can help you find the best people to help capture the memories of your happy day.

Because we have worked on Feature Film and TV shoots, we are used to organizing and planning schedules, calling up and sourcing for stuff, etc etc on a much larger and hectic scale. =D So no worries there.

Sorry for being so longwinded.

Enjoy the preparations!
HB

koyoyo

it mega but not as mega as the one in april with more than 20 gowns.. the normal BS fair is only 1 or 2 bs shop participating. this one maybe abt 5 like tt all. Alot of TCs stars will be model to the gowns. Since i already got most stuff i just wanna view the gown it sentosa a bit far .. tt y i am askin if anyone going

ceo38

Hi Gals, Btw, I have lobang on Vino Fernandez Wine from Chille. They were advertised & greatly recommended on certain issues of First Magazine, Her World & cant remember which others too. Pretty nice & I drank before, price quite reasonable too. Interested parties just call Person In Charge Catherine at 90699720 and get more details from her. Tell her u saw this message from Singapore Brides forum. Pls note me not the one selling hor. Just sharing too.

Btw, is the price for PG & VG really going to increase next year? Cheezzz... I dnt know to go to which one wor...any recommendations anyone?

hungribunni

Oh yes... forgot to add hehe

Restaurant is Peony Jade at Clark Quay (after which we will take our friends out to Brewerkz and Pump Room).

The hotel they arranged for us is Conrad Hotel. We upgraded to the Bridal Suite by paying a hundred something more. =D

What about you, PlainGal?

Please call me Geri. Thanks =D

mage

Stnov, Raffles City's Cafe Cartel opens at 8am on Saturday so I think they serve breakfast. I used to go to Plaza Singapura's Cafe Cartel for breakfast few years back. Not sure if they still serve but I guess they do as they open from 8am on Sat too.

vbutter

Sleepycat,

Do make a trip to Furniture Mall at Beach Road. There u get to see many different brands of mattress and so u can make comparison... And all depends on ur budget and do get the best deal with it. Many offer bed frame when u purchase mattress too. So don buy bed frame first... :p

I've purchased my mattress from a shop there too. Yet to be delivered as my place is still under renovation. Looking forward to lie on the mattress.

Ps. Don't wear skirt there.... wear jeans or pants so u get to lie on the mattress... sitting n lying down to try is different.

vbutter

Stnov,

I went to Cafe Cartel at serangoon garden for breakfast before but guess would be too far n inconvenient for everyone to go there....

junjun

Hi twinkle star,
welcome to join us!

Elmo,
good for u. So lucky. Me going 2nd gown fitting next Sat then the week after will be PS.
Wow, 2nd PS? Which part of m'sia u going to?

Btw, just a survey...do u gals want to get a short dress for outdoor PS or would u prefer to stick to long gown?

poopa

I will be gng hokkaido for HM too... leaving on the 3rd day of CNY... (i.e 9 feb)... trip already confirmed...

Jojo.. can share w me when u are back.. keke

eve21

Hi HappyMrsKoh,

Hasn't been here for awhile... Didn't notice there are so many 11Nov08 BTB!! This is 1 of the auspicious dates given to me too! Out of the 6 given dates for the whole of 2008, NONE of them fall on weekend!! We are looking at 2nd half of 2008... left only with 2 dates. Tot 11.11.2008 looks quite special.

Initially I was quite upset over AD on Tuesday. As I already placed deposit at Bliss Garden at Expo, worried guests have to travel all the way to Expo. Even tot of forgo my deposit... in the end decided to go ahead with it. Cos my husband likes the menu at Bliss garden.