(2008) Brides of year 2008

snowypooh

Jesl, it's b'cos we're super free... or cos we're super Kiasu... or cos we're super onz... or simply because we enjoy the good company of each other Oct'08 BTB & to share our fears / worries / woe / joy / happiness / advices / experiences, & anything under the sun, etc etc. Hahah...

~sblbee~

hi jesl,
nv see u online for such a long time...wat have u been busy wif? our head counts as at 4 oct 2007 is at healthy 12...hopefully will increase as d days go by...btw, any idea where's silent?

snowypooh,
yah i agree wif u, it's so nice to find ppl wif similarities to chat wif, naturally we can find more topics to tok abt anything under d sun...
im v happy dat we all actually make every effortan attempt to post sth online frequently to keep in touch n share our tots wif each other...3 cheers to oct 2008 btbs!

xinyi_reiko

Lara, most of the wedding I attend the bride is there to mingle around with the guests, taking photos.

I also agree with nec. I will be at reception to mingle around with my guests.

~sblbee~

hey gals, anyone going down to marina sq tis sat? i managed to get my fh to go n see see look look, see if there's anything i need to get frm there though i got most of my stuff liao...do let me know if u all r going...think polarwhite n koyoyo will b there...wat abt d rest of u?

dkny6826

Hi Korice and Lara,

Thanks for adding. Both of you look very sweet! :D

I agree with Racherly that Regent is nice. but the food is 8 course and not fantastic.Oriental looks really nice.

Anyone have any AD videographer to recommend?

waxie24

Hi mentos..
i'm a Sept 08 bride too.. pls add me into the list
BS: French bridal
Venue: Oriental hotel
PG: Greymatter (waiting to sign contract)
VG: nil

melo_ddy

i think i shld be the marathon champions ha ha. I rom on our 10th anniversary. As for proposal, my hubby didnt do anything special, got the standard stuff, flowers and diamond ring. But at least after so long, my route is still the propose, rom, look for lovenest and finally AD route.

Sue, i like conrad. That was my 1st choice but sadly it was taken.

Meiling, i guess both of us are the senior citizens here. hehe.

~sblbee~

melody,
congrats on being d marathon champion! at least ur wait is worthwhile...it's so meaningful to find smone dat u've been tgr wif more than a decade to spend d rest of ur life wif n guz u'll understand each other v well by now.
think im d senior citizen in every thread dat i visit :p

bunnyhop

Hi bnl, so glad 2 hear from u...some more hav e chance to meet someone who has similar wedding arrangement.. u!
Personally, my HTB n I r planning to run e prep by ourselves... still not in e planning stage.
Now hope 2 settle on e Bridal shop... c until yan hua liao luan... wat abt u?

Heres a few bridal shops which Ive visited...so happy tat my HTB is letting me 2 decide e bridal package n photography... whoopie! Hoping 2 get a comprehensive BP not more than $3.5k.
1. Di Gio Bridal
2. Jazreel Collections
3. Fiori Bridal
4. M&M Wedding Club
5. Bridal De Coutre
6. Bridal Concept
7. I wedding
8. Sophia Wedding Collections*
9. Margaret Brides
10. Blush Blush

So far, I like e wedding gowns @ SWC... quite close 2 my ideal... hoping 2 find a Bridal package tat offers @ least 1 MTM gown/ WG/EG.
Also, e type of photo album/ Standard/ Digital/ Artwork is also instrumental in e decision making process.
LBNL, e type of photographer! (ID/OD + AD) Dunno if should get under 1 shop or separate them?!
Sorri, lotsa Qs... any BTBs, feel free 2 share.

BNL, happy tat we get married on same day... 31 May.
Where r u having e WB? (Wedding Banquet)
Thanks. ("o)

lara

nec & xinyi_reiko, really?? how come the ones i attended i only see the groom ard *scratch head* hmm... but if we wear the EG during the reception den after that no surprise oredi leh.. haha..

riei

Hi bubblebell

yes, my PS is on 5 nov. and will be going for the fitting on 2 or 3 of Nov..can't even remember the fitting date cos have been having quarrels with hb and can't be bothered abt the wedding stuff..hardly see him also

so are your photos out already?

b_n_l

Hello PSH,
wow... looks like u've been to quite a no. of bridal shops!
Hubby and I read thru the forums and bridal magazines and shortlisted a few.. we signed up with sattine bridal after we went for their bridal show. That was our first and only BS we stepped into. haha.

Ur budget is abt the same as ours...

Signing up at wedding shows certainly offers better perks, so look out for that for SWC. Our package costs $3399 and includes MTM either WG or EG, the usual photography package (PS and AD), bridal car etc. Similar perks cannot be obtained for walk-in customers.

For us, $ most impt, as in we r not prepared to fork out a lot of $ for super beautiful gowns n photography. As long as nice nice, can liao. Dont need perfect. Coz like after that Big Day, the album is chucked one side and pple juz move on to concentrating on making the marriage work loh.

My banquet is at Le Meridien. Also signed up at showcase for the perks. Haha...

xinyi_reiko

Lara, ya. The wedding I be jie mei, the bride is also at the reception, happyily mingle around. So far brides, I saw during recep, wore either WG or teadress.

b_n_l

We had seen Jazreel collections at a showcase before we signed up with sattine. Got to see Jazreel Low, Apple Hong, Zen, Jeff Wang and other stars up close at the show! They were sitting just 2 tables diagonally from us

Found their gowns quite nice, packages were also quite comprehensive at the showcase, but read sm negative feedback abt standard of service in the forums so decided not to sign up.

Think service is very impt. After all, they will be the pple u'll be counting on for ur Big Day and pre-wedding shoot.

N dont 4get, when signing any deal with BS, make sure EVERYTHING is written down in black and white. Esp hidden charges like makeup material costs etc.

jingsjings

does anyone of your photoshoot wear all gowns that you have selected or one of your outfit could be casual wear etc ?

Is casual wear photo shoot still popular ? Any other ideas for outfit other than casual wear ?

jingsjings

Hi Ade,

thanks for your advice. in the end, my husband doesnt want it. so this idea will be drop off.

btw, CS refers to Cheong Sum ?

necrosis

lara,
you can wear EG1 or CS1 during the reception...
then march in with WG

then around 3rd dish, change to EG2 or CS2.

so can wear more outfits!!!

then change again for sending off guests..
HEHEHEHEH.....

jings,
really up to you,
some couples i've seen do PS in casual cloths, like couple shirts etc..
some in outdoor shots, wear bikini top or more beach-wear when they go to the beach...
really depends on you i guess...
if i bring outfits, i wont bring casual,
i'll be brining a sari or lengha choli.
all glam glam ones...

ohh.....add me to your multiply too girls!!!!

id : necrosi

necrosis

hi mei..
initially my bf also tot PS very useless...waste time, effort, money..
guys!!! *roll eyes*

but after he saw how much i wanted it, he gave in and is also keen on overseas ps... heheh..
psycho your fiance leh..

btw, for things like PS, do the brides pay or the groom? or dutch?

chrysallisph

Hi Xinyi,

Yes, attended a wedding at Oriental on Children's Day, 1 Oct! That's why I got the almond chocs as favours.. =)

Yup, agree with Racherly, Regent is very nice.but could not fit the number of tables I needed...pity.. Denise the coordinator really left an impression on me, so if you gals want to check out Regent, ask for her.

I convinced my bridesmaid to hold hers there next year too.. =)

Erina - one of my friends used Raymond from de nuptials. I am also considering him myself. Of course, there's Edwin from Plush photography whom I've seen at at least 3 weddings so far (I heard he's a hot favourite), but I can't afford him I think...

hi sue! really hope u find a place! hurry hurry! cos most hotels on 18th Oct is almost fully booked by wedding event on that date (unless u don't mind resturants and some other non-hotel places) I also did enquire 2 weeks ago but didn't managed to find a suitable location for wedding dinner. some hotels still got wedding lunch available, but depends on whether u feel that its too rush? Personally i prefer dinner, more relaxed and i can take my time, not so rush. Moreover lunch and dinner package same price, so i rather go for dinner.

There are also other smaller ballrooms available, but usually max 20 tables, so if u intend to hold a dinner on a smaller scale might still be able to get venue. But my guest list abt 30-35... so 20 tables is too little. my FH doesn't wanna compromise our guest list for a smaller ballroom, can't seem to find the right dinner venue... thats why in the end I decided to ROM follow by buffet luncheon on that date instead.

hope u can find somewhere u like. good luck in your search

hi Meiling, sure i will update u after i call the ring pillow gal. but not so soon hor, cos need to settle the essential stuff (like BS/venue/photographer etc) first :p

Is there a wedding/bridal event at Marina Sq this weekend? think they put up an AD saying there's a bridal fair at Marina Square Central Atrium. Me shd be going to Orchard on Saturday, see if got time then will pop by MS...

hey PolarWhite! wah! your bday on 18th Oct ah?
so sweet!!! getting married on your bday kekeke... hey your birthday coming soon leh, scully your fh propose to u on your bday! haha if that happens then i'm sure u will be over the moon!

Ya lor, i quite lucky to get HDB first time, cos i also know alot of frens didn't managed to get after applying several times... so maybe it's meant to be hehehe...

koyoyo, oh no! sounds like u really diaoz... dilemma now...

you didnt seek geomancer before u got your date? if u 'pan dang' type, then not very good for your parent's zodiac to clash with your wedding date cos it will be bad for them. but if u 'ang mo' type, then just close 1 eye and go ahead with it since the arrangements have been made. Have you spoke to your fh and your mom abt it? what did they say?

hi melody! wowowow! congrats! u and your hubby survived this long marathon... 10 years! he must be your sec sch or jc sweetheart?
i'm sure it's not easy for the both of u throughout all these while, but i'm really happy for you! at least all these years of being together, all the things you've been thru with him is not wasted... and most importantly, both of you still choose to be with each other at the end of the day.

akaysha

Hi ladies, kinda new here. I am a BTB, and my wedding date is set on 27th June 2008! Yup, it's on a Friday, and frankly, I have yet to start on BS and stuff. Going to take a look at the banquets first as FH and I figured that BS can come later... Any good recommendations for both?

~sblbee~

hi gerbera gal, u r sure a fast worker cos ur AD date in 2009 n now u r planning for BS venue, PG, VG etc...hehe, ok sure, no problem, all these major ones have to come 1st...i'll b most prob contacting her in 2 weeks' time...to pass her my lambs :p
yes, heard dat there'll b a bridal event over 3 days, (fri-sun)...so juz go there n see see look look, see anything i've left out so i can quickly get or go there to get some new ideas for my wedding

jingsjings

hi nec,

thanks for your advice. i am cracking my head on what to wear besides the gown.
my figure not good (skinny type) thus cannot wear bikini. my husband figure not good also, got about 2 months belly size. hehehe......

ling27

My PS also says i can bring my casual wear for photo shoot but i wont be bringing loh.
I have only 1 WG, 1 EG and 1 Tea-Dress (or KUA) for my AD. I was thinking if i choose to take tea-dress, i can wear it when i send my guests off.. I dont have CS as an option leh.. anyway figure not nice to wear CS also.. hee

ling27

Hi Ann,
Welcome to the thread!! My AD is on a Friday too...
No worries.. you are still in a good time to catch up with us.. but it would be good if you book your banquet first in case your favourite venues got choped by people already..

~sblbee~

yes, whaleywilly, do keep a close lookout for gd deals at these bridal fairs as u havent confirm all d major stuff...gd luck!

ling27

Nec... got time to change into so many gowns meh?
Last Sat, my fren last minute decided to wear Tea-Dress instead of EG for 2nd March in.. After she had gone round the 30 tables to take photos, she was in a mad rush to change into EG to send guests off.. Her bridal suite was at 11 level.. need to take a lift up one..
She zoomed to the ballroom door when all the guests were eating their last dish and made everyone wondered what had happened!! Haha But luckily she was just in time to see off the guests!!

korice

morning girls..!

selina.. u very early! keke..

hmm.. for most receptions i've attended, the brides were there tpp, saying hi & stuff.. den we grab to take our own photos.. unless you want a grand entrance or sth.. or unless boh bian, not enuff time.. keke..

hi ann.. welcome!

jings, i agree with nec.. i'll probably not have any casual wear too.. only all the gowns! cos casual can take anytime leh!!! not gowns thou..

lara.. have i added u to friendster or multiply?? cant remember.. can add me?
friendster: [email protected]
multiply: koriceling

princess_sue

hello all... wah i missed out so much liao.. just being gone for half a day. I was on half day ytd.. need a breather..

thanks gerbera , i went conrad ytd, its beautiful....min is 20 tables... so i guess we dun have a choice coz we really love the place. its grand and nice.. 1 staff serving per table and they portion out the food for each person. Its cool...

The ballroom looks really grand.. ( they only have 1 ballroom ) so the attention is all on you.. :p Well.... there is one more couple in front of us.. but there is likelyhood they are gonna change their date so bless me that we will be able to get it...

If we do... then yeah !!!!. i love it.

Hey koyoyo... aiyo.. how come you itchy go see? But seriously.. if you have seen... then rather believe it lor. I know its really troublesome since you have done up alot of things already... but if it clashes with your mum, it may not be good ( of coz that is if you are also pan dang ) ning ke xin qi you..

my HTB very traditional one.. he really go and see this and that.. he says.. marraige is a lifetime so just do the necessary for the good of everyone... so dun be stress k...( i know its hard ) try discussing with the shops.. and see if there is any way they can help.. maybe they can and you wont have so much headache.

dun worry.. we are here to share your worries and stress.. just text me anytime u need to talk to someone u hv my msn right.

ling27

ya loh.. I started work at 730am leh.. haha
So many posts here alrdy... must read and do some catching up.. hee

polarwhite80

hi gerbera_gal,

my bd not in Oct, is in Jan.... but the date "18" is still the same... juz that "10" need to swap to "01".... hahaha....

polarwhite80

hi whaleywilly,

yup, this wkend there is a bridal fair at MS.... thomson wedding, sattine, yvonne creations, bliss bridal etc will be there....

~sblbee~

sue, hope u can get conrad...cos it looks so classy n grand, ideal for a wedding...n oso hope dat d couple will change their date so dat u can get d date
if so, it calls for a celebration! *get ready to pop a champagne*

hpryn

Hi Morning gals,

Wow this thread was so active. Miss a lot of your chat.
By the way, Do you gals confirm or selected your gown on the first fitting time? Can we take our time to go for second and third before confirm which WG and EG for the AD?
Korice, can you add me.
multiply: fairyswed

koyoyo

haha so i guesss meiling, me n polarwhite are of same age...
my fh n i ..hmmm been tog for 4 year lor....
so you guys left with what else to decide...
i settle my PG is BOB man hehe

polarwhite80

hi sue,

i went to conrad to view their poolside b4.... is nice, can see the ferris wheel.... but somehow the marketing gal did not "sell" her poolside a lot, juz bring us to see, talk abt things that we can see then ask us see ard... therefore we confirm marriott instead... hahhaa...