(2008) Brides of year 2008

applemuffin

Hi Anabelle, my JP will be my pastor cos i'm having a church wedding followed by the wedding dinner on the same day.

Hi De_Princess, i'm meeting this photographer from Daylight to discuss the package this coming sat. Hopefully, we can confirm it by this weekend. ( :

serlz

Hi De_princess

Jit's package only consists of 1 WG and 1 EG. So I decided to go for another CS so that I got 3 outfits to change on my AD... Any to recommend?

babyfifi

Hello ladies,

I asked my beautician about ampoules yesterday. She told me that the cost of ampoules ranges depending on the quality. She also warned me that some of the "ampoules" being sold are simply coloured toner. Not the real ampoules & of cos dun have the desired effect. However, they are priced like real ampoules (or maybe cheaper a bit).

I will be getting some ampoules for the purpose of hydrating the skin from her. Estimated is $130 for 10-12 bottles. She told me that the ones she are ordering for me are definitely better than those that the MUA use & definitely not coloured water. She will only get for me the types that she has tried & tested. She asked me to try to use about 2 times a week. After I finish the hydrating ones, then will progress to the ones for sensitive skin.

The ones that my MUA used on me is like a gel. I was charged $25 per bottle too.

princessnono

hmmm.. the french ones looks like my MUA put for me too.. & she charge me $50!! OMG!!
so how.. which are the ones we are getting? =P
I abit confuse already?!?! kekeke

sleepycat1

Goodness! I am more than abit confused liao...how??

Maybe for those who have facials regularly can get from their therapists?? Might be safer this way...since the therapist knows ur skin and can recommend an appropriate one...

babyfifi

Basically, ampoules got many kinds --> different ingredients.

Some are real ampoules (also got different quality) and some are just coloured toner. Just like essential oil got synthetic ones (man-made ones. people who got sensitive nose or migraine will get headache after smelling it), diluted ones (real essential mix with oil) or real essential oil (better quality ones).

Price is not indicative of quality cos coloured toner can also be sold at expensive prices.

Real ampoules oso got different kinds - suited for different skin types & with different purpose. Similar to moisturisers/toners, etc. For sensitive skin, for oily skin, etc etc.

MUA will always mark up 2-3 times its worth. Once in a lifetime = only chance to earn.

muddpie

Yio ladies...how's every1? i MIA in forum for quite a long time le...=p hope u all still remb me ah...kekeke
for me...err...updates...not much things done yet...busy @ work & abit proscrastinating...haha...
well...at least i had my bands settle 2 weeks ago with Fairy's Inc.my exp with them quite good...but off my budget by a little...since my hb agree with the additional budget incurred...then i guess i will hv to cut other expenses....=)
next comes my bridal...err...i still hvn decided much...but most likely will swtich ...not using yc...cos hb really dun like styles of the PGs at yc...so now still nego with another bridal to get some beta deals out of it....shld cfm by this week...will update again...

hapimint

hehe.... I have also engaged a photogrpaher for my ROM.... SO says that his style is quite good for him...
haha... SO likes it can le lor... anyway, seriously, he is more fussy than me... haha...

muddpie

btw ladies...shall we have another meetup?
cos the last round didnt get to see quite a number of you...=)

Any proposed date?

muddpie

Stnov,

i m interested in the ampoules..yest i went for facial...my facial lady mentioned i had sensitive skin & should try to use tos hydrating with collagen type...any idea if the lady u buying from has this type? i dun mind getting a box for myself...cos she said is gd to use ampoules once a week so from now till AD our face will be very hydragen & shiny...kekeke
but she is selling like abt $16/bottle...so in the end i din get from her...
or any other gers have other ampoules contact? can share with me?

mrsyap

Woahhhh... so many same dates.. if i take 13th sept... i will have trouble getting what i want.. duhh... haha.. anyway.. i have booked my AD venue at MArriott.. any other sept brides taking Marriott?? =) think we should start to consolidate not only AD date but BS and venue etc.. =) hee..

Hello teekel~ same date as me!! =D How's your preparation so far?

Hello sweetbeng~ my lovenest at SK.. still have abt 3 yrs then can tk key leh.. yawns so longg...

muddpie

Noreen ur MUA charge u $50 for a bottle? tat is abit daylight robbery wor...*sorri to say tat* but i feel is abit too exp...so far i heard standard MUA charge is $25 nia...i had my ROM a couple of years back...remb the MUA oso ask me to buy ampoules from them oso she charge me ard $25...
think u really shld consider getting ur own de...=)

pooh83

I have booked my venue with NCQ which will be held on 20th Sep 08 and my BS is with White Link. So far i have almost booked everything like PG, VG etc.. Except that i am still looking for a house.. hee..

hatemenot

hi fifi,

can i ride on your order to order some ampoules from your MUA?

I'm in a trying mood now to try all kinds of ampoules.

Please let me know

antakusuma

Hi Mabel! woah so early! thts good plan early so u dun gancheong towards the end. I'm currently stationed in SHanghai, so i only get to plan my wedding when i'm back. Luckily work is giving me some time off to think about my wedding and surf this website.

Why no dinner for you?

jbluesea

Hiya Gals,

Congrats everyone. Seems like everyone's preps are in the pipeline.

I have been so busy that I have not been logging in for a long long time. Almost missed out on all your good advice.

I only had time to book the Banquet. Have not done any other preps yet. Visited Sattine Bridal a few months back. Their service and photography are quite good but I am really not very sure of their gowns coz I have not seen all of their collection. Anyone has good BS to recommend?

hapimint

I think is snapxot.... hehe....
As for videographer, my SO told me that his cousin is doing for weddings.... but I have yet to ask him who his cousin is....
Ladies, you want? I go find out?

mentos

Updated in table form

Rest if u want me to update, pls PM me or update in the thread. Hope the flwg details is correct
<table border=1><tr><td>S/N</TD><TD>nick</TD><TD>AD Date</TD><TD>Venue</TD><TD>BS</TD><TD>PG</TD><TD>VG </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>green </TD><TD>01 Sep 08 </TD><TD> </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>Seacool </TD><TD>07 Sep 08 </TD><TD> </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>Daphne Wong </TD><TD>07 Sep 08 </TD><TD> </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>jess_liang </TD><TD>07 Sep 08 </TD><TD>Orchard Hotel</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>mentos</TD><TD>07 Sep 08 </TD><TD> FRH</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>Winniethepooh </TD><TD>13 Sep 08 </TD><TD> </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>Crown </TD><TD>13 Sep 08 </TD><TD> </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>Groombride </TD><TD>13 Sep 08 </TD><TD> </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>truefaith </TD><TD>14 Sep 08 </TD><TD> </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>peach </TD><TD>14 Sep 08 </TD><TD> </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>xiaolubao </TD><TD>14 Sep 08 </TD><TD> Oriental Hotel</TD><TD> </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>Gina Ng </TD><TD>20 Sep 08 </TD><TD> NCQ</TD><TD>Whitelink</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>Sweetbeng </TD><TD>21 Sep 08 </TD><TD> </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>MrsYap </TD><TD>26 Sep 08 </TD><TD>Marriot</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>teekel </TD><TD>26 Sep 08 </TD><TD> </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

babyfifi

Mine is from my beautician. She choose the one that is suited for my skin. Why don't you call her and ask her if she has one that is suited for your skin rather than anyhow try. Later not suitable then will be big problem. I'm sure you want nice skin for your wedding and not problematic one. Her contact is 96888608.

mentos

<table border=1><tr><td>S/N</TD><TD>Nick </TD><TD>AD Date</TD><TD>Venue</TD><TD>BS </TD><TD>PG </TD><TD>VG </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD> green</TD><TD> 01 Sep 08 </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>2 </TD><TD>Seacool</TD><TD> 07 Sep 08</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>3 </TD><TD>Daphne Wong</TD><TD> 07 Sep 08</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>4 </TD><TD>jess_liang</TD><TD> 07 Sep 08</TD><TD> Orchard Hotel</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD> mentos</TD><TD> 07 Sep 08</TD><TD> FRH</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD> Winniethepooh</TD><TD> 13 Sep 08 </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD> Crown </TD><TD>13 Sep 08 </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD> Groombride</TD><TD> 13 Sep 08 </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD> truefaith</TD><TD> 14 Sep 08</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD> peach</TD><TD>14 Sep 08 </TD><TD> Marina Mandarin</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD> xiaolubao</TD><TD> 14 Sep 08</TD><TD> Oriental Hotel</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD> Gina Ng </TD><TD> 20 Sep 08</TD><TD> NCQ</TD><TD> Whitelink </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD> Sweetbeng</TD><TD> 21 Sep 08 </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD> MrsYap</TD><TD> 26 Sep 08</TD><TD> Marriot </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD> teekel</TD><TD> 26 Sep 08 </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

mentos

okie updated =p almost made an error
How u gals gonna hunt for bridal. I super headache about that portion >_<"

xiaolubao

I've heard good reviews abt My Bridal Room so have already signed up with them liao, last year somemore..I also bought my wedding bands liao!! Haha..all last year...liked to design a lot so just go ahead and buy loh
My flat also coming soon, at Toa Payoh Central, balloted in 2005!! Haha..way before the proposal...sometimes it pays to be a little more kiasu :D

yippee_choong

Hi lovexiaolongbao

When is you AD? Have you settle your banquet &amp; BS?If not, do you have enurf time to plan when you are back or not? Think you can try to do more research thru this forum on your own or get your FH or frens to help you do shopping on your behalf. Quite hard on you har?

I have no dinner cos both of us want to keep it as simple as possible. Luckily both of parents have no objection on this. Think it's better this way lor.

Hi Juli

When is your AD and where is your banquet venue? If you have time, just shop slowly for your BS. I went to 3 or 4 BS but at the end, like PMB the best. Their package is very reasonable and most important, got attracted by their service &amp; things. Well, if you want do go check them out yourself.

pooh83

Hi Strawberry,

I have been to quite a few bridal studio before confirming my BS.. It is actually recommanded by my friends. Usually i walk in and see or visit their bridal show. You can always ask to try their wedding gown to see if you like their style or not.
Remember to ask for more photos and check how many costume they are lending you for photo taking..

us_mei

i got a spreadsheet for wedding budget and checklist off another thread. can upload here if anyone wants. i look at all the categories, so many! quite scary.. =| now compiling a list of to-dos and places, as well as websites, so can be more informed abt things.

girls, any other recommendations for restaurants? wanna have a list to talk to my SO and FILs.

cecilia07

hi Pinky81: OCC can hold up to 120, QianXi Hilltop can have 60 too. Food is good, not too expensive &amp; accessible. But its getting lots of booking recently! Have to queue up even though appt has been made....

I didnt realised 7thDec is a hot date till I come to the forum! The only reason I took up the date was simply cos it does not clash with anyone in the family. haha

I've paid deposit at Hilltop already. 1 more item settled for now! =)

berry_egg

Hi Jule and Us mei,

can i borrow your spreadsheet for reference?

To US mei,
how about Hilltop garden restaurant? the high ceiling with lights looks really nice in photo. but i haven't been there yet. Hilltop garden restaurant is located at civil service club, at bukit batok.

floating25

I've been so busy with work that I only just managed to catch up reading on what's going on.

I'm finally going for my 1st fitting tomorrow!!! So excited cos it's been 2 months since I took my measurements, decided on the off white colour gown, material and design.

Just to share my knowledge about:
Attending weddings close to one another -
It's fine to attend another friend's wedding that's less than 3 months apart so long as both sides DO NOT give any angbaos or gifts. Just go for the banquet and give best wishes. That's what the elders told me.

Excellent journalistic photographer -
Check out www.montage.com.sg for Eng Howe's portfolio,
Eng Howe is part of a group of very experienced professional photographer
Here's the group website www.avenue8.com.sg so you can also pick from this group.

Hope these are useful.

Wish me luck at tomorrow's fitting!

~sblbee~

greeting from india. apart from photolanguage, can you girls share the contact and package offered by your AD PG to [email protected]. talk to you gals when i'm back...hard to find internet connection. thanks!

snowypooh

Wow, MeiLinG so onz... heart still with us eventhough she's faraway in India. I haven't book my AD PG yet leh. Considering a few though...
My ROM PG was done by DeCharacter. Comprehensive packages offered by them but got surcharge of S$50 if u're not holding it in ROM premises. They also have AD PG packages. Can check it out>>> http://www.decharacter.com/wedding/index.htm

jule

I just put the list of things I bought into a spreadsheet.. Not comprehensive and check list like what us_mei has uploaded.. but I will put it up when I get home later

colt_26

think i more kiasu than mabel. my AD is 15 May 08 and will be having PS in Oct. Just like Mabel, hope everything can be settled by year end.

feel that we should enjoy the prep rather than rush everything at the last min. also got house renov to take care of. and taking into consideration that next year CNY is in Feb and so may not achieved much that month. so plus/minue about time also. keke.........

stnov

Hey Gers, kindly see the seller's reply &amp; product information furbished. Leaving to u gers to decide which range u will be more interested in, im open. I have written to another seller whose ampoules is from France to ask for her full list of ampoules. Anyway in case of any misunderstanding, im in no way affliated to any sellers, tot of juz doing all a favour since I will be getting for myself..... =)

Thank you for your interest.

The products i am selling are not available in retail or web site, it have been supplied to many professional beauty salons or makeup artist for services.

Ampoule is very good to use as a skincare product, not only for makeup as it is pure without preservative so it is safe to use on
sensitive skin as well.

There are few types of ampoules:

Hydration- can use before makeup for long lasting effect or use daily as a treatment for dehydrated skin. This type of ampoule are common used by makeup artists on brides before their makeup as makeup 'sticks' better on hydrated skin, it helps the makeup to stay longer and skin more supple.

Purifying - suitable for oily skin, refine pores

Beauty shine - radiant looking skin. For make-up, it helps to add-on gloss touch to your skin.

Scar - acne / scar problem, lightening of scar and reduce acne

This type of ampoule can be use on the body. For those have acne/ scar on the back of the body, use daily after shower.

Collagen - skin elasticity, reduce wrinkle, anti-aging

Lightening- Whitening, and brighten dull skin.

For acne scar problem, could use together with scar ampoule for best result.

Regenerating- improve freckles and dark spots.

Pure Vitamin C - anti-aging

Lifting - Helps to Lift-up aging skin and tightening.

Eyecare - helps to reduce fine lines, dark circles, puffy eyes...

The above types of ampoule can be use as makeup base or daily after toner follow by your
regular skincare products to enhance the result and u could mix the ampoule with mask.

Usually beauty salons would advise their customers to pay more to add ampoule to the mask for better result in skin improvement.

The ampoules are formulated in Germany. Brand name called Sensual (like i have mentioned, u may not aware with this brand as it is not meant for retail)

Germany is well-known in producing good ampoules.

A box of ampoule (10 bottles, 3.8ml each) at $50 each (wholesales price)

Note that the box of ampoule are properly sealed with 1 type of ampoule.
Expiry date - year 2008/2009

I understand some beauty salons are selling at $100-$200 per box.

For beauty salon services, adding 1 bottle of ampoule into facial mask or massage is about $10-$20 or above.

For makeup artist, they charge 1 bottle of ampoule before makeup for their customers is about $15-$30.

For collection, prefer to meet up in orchard, bishan, ang mo kio,khatib,yishun, woodlands, marsling, yew tee, choa chu kang, bukit gombak or
bukit batok mrt station Or by posting. Additional $2 posting fee for 1-2 boxes of
ampoules (normal posting), bank tranfer thru OCBC or DBS. Item will be post when payment received.

My current promo is buy 5 boxes Free 1 box, buy 10 boxes Free 3 boxes. If you are interested with the promo, you may like to check out if your
friends interested so you could collate more orders.

Thank you and Hope to hear from you soon!

stnov

muddpie...have posted the reply from german ampoule seller...she does have one wif collagen but nothing mention abt sensitive skin. Let's see d response from d rest of d gers b4 we decide to go ahead ot not..... =)

wah...so now u are going thru d whole process of nego again wif BS....all d best of luck to u!

momoe000

i haven't start hunting for BS yet .. dun know which to go to but quite like the design from Divine Couture. any comment?

mentos

xiaolubao:: Me too. but mine was in 2006. When we got the queue number and house. Then we started deciding on when to get married =p

Actually how many photos is the norm?
I should start visiting bridals soon. Haiz.
Any reviews on Golden Horse? The gowns look quite good on the magazine.

sleepycat1

Stnov,

If we are going to order different types each, we need to do it such that we have enough orders to get a box for those of us who are sharing...

snowypooh

nec, are u in India too? Email to her lah. Guess by the time she check this forum maybe this page is in Archive already. Haha...