(2008) Brides of year 2008

flora_bliss

Mine will be on 28 Dec 2008. Is with Regent and MBR. Now stop planning for the time being coz not sure wat's the next thing that I can prepare.

snowypooh

Hi, good morning gals. Add me in your multiply lor. Same as my nickname here.

My ROM was held in Furama City Centre, it was hi-tea buffet for 30 persons at 888+++. Now think they don't have the free night's stay already. Can check with them if you're keen. My cordinator was very experienced & good.

~sblbee~

hmmm.....thanks snowypooh, i'll keep this place as a consideration....it's very cheap leh....for me, peony jade for 20 pax cost me around this price liao :p

snowypooh

MeiLinG, u're welcome. I understand the stress. I'd been through it for the past few months before ROM. Had been through the search for BS, venues, shoes, wedding favours, invites, bouquets, catering, etc for my ROM. Will be glad to offer my assistance whenever u require.

When's your ROM? Have you decided on the venue already?

snowypooh

PigDen, I DIY the stuff not because I enjoy doing such stuff. It's just that I have to do it. & when I see the end results, I felt it was very meaningful to be part of the ROM preparation & the process was very memorable & enjoyable.

snowypooh

Oh, I do have a theme for my ROM as well. It was Oriental Chic & my wedding vows were in Mandarin (mainly because our witnesses doesn't really speak english). How cool was that! Haha...

zrachelz

Hi all BTB, i used to chat here, but has disappeared for sometime...Congrats to all of you...

Hi snowypooh, you also like to DIY things? Heehee me too leh. I am working on my AD accessories... can share your projects? I need inspirations now... =)

snowypooh

Hi Rac,I haven't started on any for AD yet cos still early. For ROM, I'd done the invites & my bridal bouquet. One of my ROM dress was made by my mother. Will be making the Ang Pow box for AD...

lara

Rach, u finished most of ur prep oredi? i haven really started.. only booked venue n BS so far.

btw.. will u all b paying for ur jiemeis' dresses?

hatemenot

can wor.. some brides from my bridal studio did that.. got their own ampoules at about 8 bucks each. the mua will apply for them at no extra charge.. so that's why i want to learn from them keke

i think there's a person selling in singapore brides marketplace, try searching for ampoules. About 5 bucks per vial only. I bought them ler..
over the weekend then i try to upload the photos of my ampoules

if you all scared skin sensitive, can share and buy a few vials to try first.. then buy again nearer to AD!

recently when i went over to malaysia, i bought another box of ampoules. very good.. really makes makeup stay for the whole day.

~sblbee~

same as mindy, i won't have time and the don't have that creative juice in me....better don't DIY else it'll turn out to be a disaster....
for my ROM, it'll be on 6 Jul 2008, can anyone who has done their ROM outside the ROM registry, share with me hwo to go about doing it? Can I book the JP more than 1/2 year earlier etc?

noelz77

Hi Groombride, which is your BS? Is it too late if you choose the gowns after CNY? Have you sign for the package already???

snowypooh

I won't be DIYing so many things for AD cos most will be provided by BS & venue. I'll only DIY the angpow box. Most materials can be bought from Kalm's or the gift shop in Bugis (level 3, the one that sell stationery). Ready made ones are also available but I want something that's uniquely ours that's why decided to DIY.

necrosis

hello girls...

my multiply is necrosi
do add me too...

my BS is from JB ones.

was pretty onz here last time also...now like "old" already.... :p
just read...

korice: smoochies!!!!
val: hugs.

~sblbee~

hi snowypooh,
must share the picture when it's done ok? curious to see how most people do it....so unique

hi nec,
welcome back!!

hapimint

sleepy... my ROM date is 12th Jan... haha... but i lazy to do anything....
Just intending to go the club and get blessings... sign on the papers... (dream on)
I just attended a close friend solemnisation.... oh dear, he seems to be so busy.. and preparing so many things....scary.... i dun want to be so stressed... haiz....

~sblbee~

hi snowypooh,
thanks for adding me...oh yah hor, think mine will also be around dat time cos my AD in Oct...

yah mindy,
for me, it's also going to be super-simple, more like a makan gathering....and then they can go liao...so i can proceed to take more pictures with the PG :p

snowypooh

Mindy, be prepared for the stress. I was so stressed at one point in time (juggling work, exam & ROM preparation) that I almost wanted to call everything off.

berry_egg

oh..didn't know that videography cost is going up. and i haven't really work out the estimated budget for the wedding.

anyone willing to share their budget here? for cross reference purposes only.

~sblbee~

yah i agree with snowypooh, definitely will feel stressed out one....im feeling the stress now... though it's still far away from my AD and ROM date....

anabellegirl

Hi muffin,

I should be going in for the food tasting in mayben end 08.... Pls advise me whether the food is nice a not after yr food tasting... ok.. Thanks.

bridesept08

Hi Lovey,

I signed up their pkg during the wedding show held in suntec earlier this yr. Too late har? I dunno wor... i tot its a bit early... kekeke.. as i gt a friend getting married in Jan'08 but he had nt yet taken the PS. He will only be taking nxt mth. Hw abt you? You sign up already?

jule

oops. didnt know I double post..

berry_egg, the cost can vary.. I know of the pricest was 3k for actual day videography or down to $600. I think the average is about 800-1k for actual day videography alone. FreeLance can be even cheaper. There are also additional things like express highlights, photo montage etc.

zhuoen

hi snowy,

u can do it... dun worry... i was also doing all 3 whilst preparing my rom... studying part time, working... settling details for rom n holiday trip... but its worth the while.. cos it will be a memorable day!!! REALLY!!!

so wat u can do its settle one thing at a time, go for the most impt one first.. i started my rom preparation 10mths in advance... kiasu huh.. but the timing was just right...

zhuoen

hi lizzy...

yup, i had signed my bridal package back in mar... and just settled my venue in jul... wanted to take a look at grand copthorne but my date was taken up... so i looked elsewhere... =)

~sblbee~

heheheh...i super kiasu, i started my planning 1 year and 4 mths from my wedding....scared later not enuff time....i want all details to be settled so next year i can shake legs liao :p

hapimint

ladies, you are scaring me leh.... sob sob... haha...
I booked the venue and the thought of going to find my ROM gown in oct, even that, I want to drag... cos my exams in Nov mar....
I working, intending to find new job, exams at PT studies and prepare for ROM lor...
The thought of this, I already stressed le... i cannot imagine....
Alot of people ask me, why wait till oct, prepare earlier lar... haha... but I going for hoilday in Oct mar...
Seriously, only keep thinking of holiday and after that then prepare le... how? haha

~sblbee~

hi mindy, snoopy and pig_den,
update me in your multiply, my id is sblbee.

hi snowypooh,
saw your pics, wah....i like your blue gown leh...where you get it? so grand leh your ROM...thanks for adding me

snowypooh

MeiLinG, I had my ROM outside of ROM. U can get a JP/solemniser 3 months before ROM. Some may require u both to meet up & sign the consent form whereas some don't mind u faxing/email to them. U'll need to e-file between 3 months - 21 days prior to the ROM date. An appointment date will be given to u upon successful e-filing. Both u & your husband will have to bring the consent form & the necessary docs to ROM on this appointed date for verification of docs & statutory declaration which is a short process of about 5 to 10 mins excluding waiting time.

No need to worry too much, I'm sure alot of us here who had already had their ROM will be able to help & advise u. U won't be at a lost.

snowypooh

U all like my blue gown meh? Haha... I find it strange that everybody had been telling me that it's nice but I don't really like it that much, I tot it was too exaggerating for a hi-tea event. Anyway, it turned out to be very nice & the shawl a bit "lay chey" for buffet.

It was from my BS, they'd suggested me taking this evening gown since my venue was in hotel (so can afford to be a bit grand) and can leave the white gowns to AD. So the designs of the gowns depends a lot on the venue that u'll be using.

~sblbee~

aiyoh, thanks for sharing snowypooh, the procedures sound so complicated...*faint* got any guidebook for dummies like me? i was thinking of booking the JP now leh....is it too early, i scared wait he not free next year then i've to find someone else, so ma fan...

zrachelz

Not all finished lah...left finding a mua and florist for the hand flower lor...me and my hubby kiasu mah...so settle most of the things early lor...

Oh ya, i am also interested to know the answer. Are we paying for the dresses or they get their own? My fren is going to be her fren's jiemei this sep. She is paying for her own outfit leh...

snowypooh

There're alot of guides/tips around. This Singapore Brides website is one of them. U can also find ideas in bridal magazines or websites. Here's one: http://www.myl*ttleweddingshop.com/Tipslinks.htm
(replace "*" with "i")
Of cos, don't need to follow each & every step blindly. Customise them to suit your needs.