(2008) Brides of year 2008

winniethepooh07

both of my shifu calculate using tong shu only. they didnt ask for ba zi

1 of the shifu charged $20
the other one charged $160

i highly recommended the $20 shifu, its at the waterloo street temple lvl 2 corner, he is quite popular.

The dates the the $160 gave are similar to the dates that the $20 gave. faints. i should have consult 1 shifu will do hehe

snowypooh

I'd seen one, which location I liked very much, in the resale market. Price also reasonable but too bad that unit's location is just above the centralised rubbish collection unit & as u know, new flats are using centralised rubbish chute, so we didn't get this unit lor.

pig_den

oh... me had to go for sengkang... no choice, cos hb stays in woodlands, and me in tampines... and sengkang is right in the centre of both estates... so choose sengkang so that both side parents got no chance to make noise keke...

ya, that's why I don't wanna get a whole package from bridal studio... wanna engage a separate photographer.. then can get all the photos back without having to top up.. you can check out Liquid Minds (www.liquidminds.com).. think their cheapest ROM album is 260 bucks for 7X7 (28 pages, hard cover)..

when I met up with him, he showed me his works, I tot it was quite good, and for a pre-wedding album, for a 40 pages album, averagely its 160 images.. as compared to a normal boutique, who probably gives 15 pages (22-30 images), worse, not all shots returned...

anyway you should arrange to view his works and the album... see whether you like it... then take your consideration from there...

blur_queenie

Oh, cabbage, that is fast. Tot i just saw your WG pic uploaded in your multiply. Rem to upload the pics so that we can view! heh.

I'm counting down mine..in another 2.5 weeks more!

winniethepooh07

i just booked my banquet a few days ago. Got my flat from a balloting exercise also, collecting keys in abt 3mths time.

Bridal shop going to finalise in abt 1mth time cos my ROM is this year. My next aim is to shop for Interior design company

How about you?

pig_den

snowypooh,

just continue looking around that area lor.. since you like the location... that was what my hb and I did.. we go recee the estate.. identify the area we like first.. then start scanning the websites and newspapers for blocks in the area.. just keep viewing and viewing...

you can try www.nationproperty.com.sg to look for flats.. hope its useful to you...

snowypooh

Pig_Den, thanks. Yah, I'm doing that lor. The next source will be Aug's HDB launch, see if got any choice units there or not lor.

~sblbee~

hi snowypooh,
one of the reason that i didn't get SK flats is bcos it's oddly positioned, i mean the layout and structure cos i'm looking at the exe flats, smore low level, so i didn't take....though it's really cheap lah, only abt $300K....for exe flat.

hi pig_den,
SK's a gd choice for u then....which BS u using and u intend to get your pre-wedding from ray as well? for me, i got no choice, only can take the rom and AD packages cos i got my PS package...wow, if dats the case, my FH surely kill me if i wana spend somemore...i must see if the pictures turn out nice, if so, den can convince him to do the album....if not, bo bian.
have u taken the package already? how much does the 40 pages album cost?

pig_den

launching on 10 Aug right? I will be supporting and praying for you guys.. keke... i know how it feels.. wait wait wait for a launch, finally got launch must wait for launch in ideal location. Got launch, in ideal location have to ballot.. then wait again for results... then get results still must hope get ideal number... get ideal number then must wait again for turn to choose flat, then choose flat already, must wait again if block is not built.. even if built already still must wait for keys.. haiz.. why singapore everything also must queue must wait...

pig_den

my BS is Bridal Elegance..

hahaha... you must tell him that the album will make the photos look nicer... keke...
Ya, thinking of using Ray for pre-wedding, actually hb wanted another one, but more ex.. so managed to convince him to go for Ray instead...

haven't gone to see Ray's works.. need to bring hb there and let him see his works first.. though verbally he has committed to use Ray, but he hasn't opened his wallet to give me money yet.. keke

the 40 pages album (there are around 8 sizes, the one he showed me is the size of a arch ring file).. is around 1,250..

sweetbeng

So far confirmed banquet, bridal studio, and AD photographer. Will be solemnizing and dinner on same day.

My new place won't be ready so soon lor, most prob early next yr, so haven't start looking at ID firms.

~sblbee~

hi pig_den,
yes, the thing is that i'm not around during that period, my FH will be registering on our behalf....thanks for rooting for us...really need the luck as these are popular areas....s'pore everything must queue and everything so ex...some of my frens are holding their marriage as they couldn't even get a flat...all the talk about pro-marriage, there should be a system to support this.

~sblbee~

hmm pig_den....oic, the price is reasonable leh...hmm, think gtg save up cos been spending too much on my wedding...after talking and talking, i forgotten which venue are you using? think i must b getting old or this thread moves too fast liao

good luck to u too, snowypooh

flora_bliss

So, besides Meiling and myself, who's aiming AMK for the 10 Aug launch? I'm also looking at Bishan and Toa Payoh. But preference will be 4-rm at AMK.

hapimint

hmm... my area is woodlands... haha... my FH parents stay around there and therefore, I decide to move there...
My own parents live in bukit panjang... without MRT, it is really quite troublesome....
haha... my second appointment supposed to be before the 15th of aug.... crossing my fingers that the date be out soon...

hapimint

I wanted to get DIY de... find photographer then rent gown and make gown...
But my SO thinks that it is too troublesome... prefer to sign up one BS and settle once and for all....
No choice lor, he request and also it is his big day too... so do lor... haha....

~sblbee~

hehehe.....juz hope what he said is the truth but there are simply too many people who are upgrading their flats applying together with the first-timers

~sblbee~

hi flora_bliss,
i'm aiming for 5-room, preferably in AMK, if not have to take bishan, serangoon or toa payoh....

hi mindy,
think i'm like ur FH, the 1st few BS i saw during the wedding show, i settle liao, it's the 2nd one i saw, the 1st too ex liao, ted wu....

pig_den

ya, and with the quality of the album, I tot it was quite worth it... so now is to find a photographer of my liking to do just photography only... ya.. I agree, seem to be spending alot of the wedding.. no matter how hard i try to get the cheapest, the accumulated expenses seems to be getting very big... keke

hahaha.. must be the thread going too fast.. I will be holding mine at Sheraton...

Mindy, I wanted to DIY too.. But I realised that the total cost may not necessarily be cheaper.. that's why in the end gave up the DIY idea and went for a BS instead... and removed the photography...

snowypooh

Well, I guess so but maybe limited units for selection bah.

hapimint

haha... of course limited units.... scary... havent out already got so many people going to ballot for it...
hopefully you can all get good numbers....
So sad now... wanted to ask the hotel to give me a room or arrange a place for me to hold tea ceremony before the reception.... but the co-ordinator says that cannot reply me yet...
She agreed to let my friend have her solemnisation room before her dinner...
We both signed up together mar... now i ask for something, may not get... for my friend, okay... can....
felt so different... sign le then different treatment?

snowypooh

Mindy, u holding tea ceremony in hotel? Are noth u & your fren holding AD on same day at same time? If so, perhaps they'd already given the room to your fren thus u won't be able to get the same room lor.

~sblbee~

hmm....mindy...which hotel is that? don't think it'll be so bad...u must chase the hotel for it...smtimes the coordinator may be too busy and it slipped off her mind...

zrachelz

Lara, my BS is Vougue Collections from KL. I just took their pre-wed photography and gown is from Orson Liyu which is also in KL.... heehee

hapimint

we having on different dates... but we signed up together...
My co-ordinator said yes to her request because she neg for it before we signed up mar...
My co-ordinator says that she will try but now too far away for her to confirm... so sad leh...
I thought now say then at least she can take note and keep it away for me mar....
I signed with M Hotel..... is it a norm? that is, have to wait till nearer to the date to confirm?
My friend's actual date is even further than mine... in 2009.... yet she can say yes....
really because now sign le, so no bargaining power? sad leh....

snowypooh

Mindy, for most hotels, usually the nitty gritty details have to be negotiated first & put it in black/white first before u pay & sign contract. Even verbal agreement won't suffice cos what if the coordinator resigns?

snowypooh

One year is a long way to go & from experience in preparing for my ROM recently, a few of the BTB complained that their hotel coordinator was switched several weeks/days before the big day & it can prove to be quite a hassle when the previous cordinator did not handover properly.

pig_den

ya.. think cos you signed that's why they you have slightly lesser bargaining power...

Is your group going to be very big? If not you can do it in the ballroom itself or on the stage.. that was what my gf did.. just attended her wedding on sun.. it looked quite ok.. so you probably just ask the hotel to help set the area, few chairs, a table to put the tea, teapot and cups etc...

seacool

mine will be on 7 Sep 08, but ROM this yr n photoshoot this yr. So far having lots of fun scouting for place to take photo and finding nice gowns.. haha I very kiasu.. :p going to confirm banquet soon also... sigh... just realise more than 50% of my shortlisted venue all confirm booked already. proof that got pple more kiasu than me...sob sob... regret ah... should have book earlier. haha

hapimint

i didnt want to do it in front of others mar... my plans was to do it in a small room... then after that, reception... i just mingle with the guests... then dinner le....
Sad leh... I tried to ask... then she say wait till nearer the date then discuss... haiz...

pig_den

oh.. i mean do it before the dinner...

my gf wore a tea dress... did the tea ceremony before the dinner, mingled awhile.. then when during the pre-wedding cocktail, she went up to change to her wedding gown...

these pple ah.. really dunno what is customer retention, they serve well, pple will go back and patronise their other services and even word of mouth to recommend others to go there...

~sblbee~

hmm.....for me, MM's coordinator even asked me if I need a room for tea ceremony, when it slipped my mind....she arranged for a room next to my ballroom which is theatre style and can accomodate 40 pax, im very happy dat she took the initiative and later i asked for a changing room too....
before i signed, i looked through and bargain a bit more and made sure she wrote it down on the agreement dat i signed....i tot the room can be easily arranged? so strange....they have so many function rooms in a hotel...surely can spare you one rite?

lara

xinyi_reiko>> we also went to bridal concept when we were sourcing for our BS =)

Rac>> oh.. that means u will haf to travel to n fro KL-Spore? will tat b tiring? alot of coordination rite?

i thot auspicious dates r based on u n ur FH's birthdates?

snoopy1530

hihi all...
i m new to this forum.. hehe :p
Congrats for thse BTB for 2008... ^_^
i have been to quite afew hotel, but now waiting for the geomancer to give us the dates.
Have any BTB here book any hotel alrdy?? wats are the dates??

xinyi_reiko

All my auspicious dates are in next year jun.. got around 8-9 dates for us to choose from.. but dont have 7 jun..

auspicious dates are based on parents and couple's birth dates..

i think 7 jun is a hot date, maybe also becoz of nice numbers??