(2008) Brides of year 2008

bloodymiko

i am considering to hold it on the aug 2008, but cant find the tong shu for next year... anyone can help? anyone knows where can see the good days for 2008? like maybe some kinda online calender?

pig_den

zhuoen, I had the same problem with you. Choosing the venue was a headache.. Cos too many indian chiefs at home. Everyone wants a say...

finding suitable dates is always a problem. Makes me wonder if there really is so many couples in Singapore getting married.. keke

bloodymiko, I looked for a fengshui master to "count' good dates suitable for both my hb and me... if you need his contact, let me know..

zhuoen

hi cecilia, yah.. we picked tat date cos its our birthday n we cant think of any other date which is significant for us... cos parents said dun have to see tong shu... so let us decide... hehe...

hi denise, for my case, only the 2 of us making decisions, cos family members ok one, let us settle on our own... hahaha... so they will just go wherever we like... somehow easier in a sense... i guess i will reach the boiling point if everyone wants a say... i will freak out!!!

pig_den

hahaha... reach boiling point!!! I keep telling myself that this whole thing is supposed to be a happy event.. including the preparation... so everything I get a little heated and crazy I try to snap out of it fast lest I end up upsetting myself even more and everyone around me.

Thankfully hubby very patient..

How many tables are you looking at at Swissotel Merchant Court?

~sblbee~

Hi BloodyMiko
The tongshu is out...by the way, Aug falls in the 7th lunar month, you mean your parents and in-laws don't mind....for the popular dates, there are lots in October...I got my dates counted by You Long Zi. Most auspicious saturdays are fully booked in Oct for popular hotels.

Zhuoen,
What date did you sign up?

flora_bliss

xinyi> Nov is rainy season leh. You not scare ah?
I'm actually wondering when shd I start to go kah jiao my BS coordinator.

bloodymiko> I tink Aug 2008 is the seventh ghost month leh. Unless you take 31 Aug '08. You can check the dates at this url for a rough guide (http://www.wofs.com/index.php?option=com_custompages&Itemid=126)
We also consulted a fengshui master for the dates. He gave us 1 whole list of suitable dates based on our bazi and our parents' chinese horoscope.

Denise> I'm very fortunate that the venue selection went quite smoothly for us. The only problem is to find hotels that have smaller ballrooms.

flora_bliss

cecilia> my title will oso be very funny. Will be called Mrs Xin. Like asking me to SING. People may mistake me as a Singh. Xin Tai Tai (new wife) oso sounds a bit weird...

Wat's your criteria for hotel selection? Maybe we can give a few suggestion?

~sblbee~

Hi Flora Bliss,
Oppss...based on the URL, mine is an inauspicious date...but I consulted the fengshui master and checked all the chinese horoscope of myself, my FH, my in-laws and my mum...so should be ok. Anyway 11th and 18th Oct is fully booked...sianz

pig_den

that's good to know that your wedding venue selection went well.. Mine was ok too as in I was lucky to be able to get the date that I wanted.. but its the process of deciding the venue that had a little hiccups.. but thankfully that's over..

so where is your venue...? smaller ballrooms means you actually looking at lesser tables...?

Meiling: Dont worry, the date may not be good generally but that day could be compatible to both you and your husband's elements and the "horoscope" for the day does not clash with any of your parents...

seems like oct really very hot period.. so how? have you decided on your hotel? Is there other dates that you can choose?

xinyi_reiko

Flora Bliss, haha.. thanks for reminding.. but i feel that now weather is very unpredicable.. even now, this period is rain.. at least for the past few days... So I guess still have to pray for good weather no matter is when.. hehe...

pinky81

Wah! So many responses since I came here. =)I am still waiting for my dates from geomancer.... =( So slow.. think he forget to calculate my dates le.

flora_bliss

Ya, we'll only be having 16-18 tables. Will only be inviting relatives and close frens. Being small will give us more time to interact and chat with the guests.

We took the smaller ballroom at Regent Hotel. We basically shortlisted Regent, Traders and Carlton. Final decision was based on the feel/ ambience that the place can project. Settled on Regent as its warm and cozy atmosphere is exactly what we hope to achieve for our wedding dinner. But we would really loved to hold the banquet at Chijmes. But have to give it up due to its high cost.

Can read about my selection process here "http://jomeow.multiply.com/journal/item/13"

Hi Josephine and ber80, i'm also 24th May BTB.

Did not consult any master, we chose the date ourselves. So glad to hear that it's a good day.

Originally wanted to be 18th May 08 because the next day is a public holiday and Sunday rate cheaper, but the hotel we signed up with does not have this date available, hence no choice we chose the next Sat which is 24th May 08.

pringirl

hello all, i'm a Dec 08 BTB. AD on 15 Dec 08. Have signed up with Venus @ JB for BS & am looking for hotel now for banquet. Shortlisted Grand Plaza Park & Holiday Inn Atrium (est ~ 20 tables). Pls add me in multiply, ID: pringirl

crayongal

hey gals..
are u still there.... ?

Jule ??
heh... one more year to go for us... have fun with the wedding prep!! =)
*rmbr to drop by here to share tips k....*

~sblbee~

I'm a Oct 08 BTB (to be exact 17 Oct 2008), have booked my banquet at MM yesterday....now have to inform my BS about my AD and book my AD PG and VG....going to prepare for my ROM after I'm back from my trip. I'm over the moon as my banquet is settled

blurz_ger

hi pinky81,

i think you better chase your geomancer for the dates. the tong shu is out already, so couples who are waiting can now calculate the dates. it is going to be "competitive" to get the hotels for the good dates. ;p

zrachelz

Hi Deannen, yes my venue is NCQ. We confirmed it since Nov06. Kiasu hor...heehee. Initially we set out date in Dec07, but most venue fully book, even for lunch. Therefore we push to Jun08.

necrosis

hi girls...
my multiply is
necrosi
do add me..

i signed up with a JB BS...save costs..
looking for venue also...
*headache*

xinyi_reiko

hello gals, how is wedding prep??

seems like banquet venues are running out.. got so many ppl getting married??

always seems to be hearing popular banquet venues all being booked..

korice

hey ladies..

erm.. i've been to a wedding dinner at gardenasia before.. i thot it really depends on the weather & the number of tables, etc.. cos it was warm (only ceiling fans), and there were some mosquitos, and cos quite near some farms, so some funny smells lah.. it's unique and quite nice.. but some downside lor.. my 2 cents!

ai_hui

Deannen, I'm the one who booked The Regent for 7 June 08. But which room are U looking at? The Grand Ballroom? I'm using the smaller function room wor...

jlynn

Hi gals, i've only confirmed my venue and AD PG so far. Intending to start looking for BS after the lunar seventh month is over... Anyone wanna go hunt for BS together??

cecilia07

Hi Mindy, I am not holding at hotels, probably at restaurants, cos too many tables (ard 60.. faints)

Flora Bliss: Hmm, I wish he would stop calling that, cos I want to remain as MS Tan. haha. Thanks for offering help! But, 60 tables with my budget I tink only can go restaurants. Probably at Grassroot Club, OCC or Hilltop. Going to view some venues this weekend. =)

Tiffy : Yes! My hubby is Hainanese... but I dun understand a single word.Opps. Felt so out during family dinner, cos all will be chatting away in dialect. Do u know how to speak/ listen?

shyantiffy

Cecilia..I also cannot speak hainanese... only thing i know how to say is "ah po jiak bui" hahaha but hainanese sounded abit like teochew..so some of their conversation..i can get roughly wat the r trying to say...

lara

Hi ladies.. when will u all b taking ur photoshoot? my BS called me tdy to set a date in Dec.. will it b too early?

deannen

hi ai Hui

i was looking at the grand ballroom but since the date we want no more, we source for other hotels...in the end, found GCW =) high ceiling & very spacious...the ballroom can hold up to 65 tables...so if im holding min 40 tables..it is gg to be very spacious so in the end we took GCW..and change the date to 28.06.08 lor cos the hotels we want for 07.06.08 & 08.06.08 all fully booked so have to compromise lor....

necrosis

hello girls..

thanks for the garden asia info!
the pics look very nice leh....hehehe...

in sept then i can confirm how many tables...:p
by then, dunno how to book, surely all the hotels will be booked then...sigh

~sblbee~

Hi Denise,
Finally I got a date in Oct, it's a Fri, 17102008 at MM. I actually went down to PP to recee, but Ocean Ballroom is not exactly what I like. Heng, the coordinator is on leave so I emailed her to tell her I'm not taking PP already. As compared, MM is slightly cheaper and I get to use the grand ballroom on the same day. Luckily got a slot for me and I get to use their grand ballroom. It's 35 tables....so happy, will be signing my contract with my super-nice and patient coordinator tomorrow.

Hi Zhuoen,
Wah...envy you, what a nice number, actually had wanted 081108 but it's not a good date for us, so gotta change to Oct whereby I got more choices. But 11 and 18 Oct all booked up already, left with 17102008, I have given up 18102008 (because I couldn't meet the min. required tables at MM).

Hi necrosis,
My advice is work out a guest list (based on estimation of 60%-70%) and then decide the table no. Book the min. required tables, after that when you need to add, you can still add on if your ballroom allows, if not, you can cut down on your guest list. Don't wait anymore if you are planning your AD during weekends in Oct-Dec, these weekends are very hot, unless you don't mind weekdays.
When's your AD? My coordinator was saying that people usually choose Sat as 1st choice, Fri as 2nd choice and then Sun as 3rd choice...which I think is true...

hapimint

yup... maybe altivo... because when my SO is wooing me, he brought me there as an offical first date and told me things about himself that nearly touched me to tears... haha...
Hmm... we booked the minimum tables required and work our way up...
But my SO has already worked on a guest list that is the most minimum, as in he only invite those important people.
I took 7th dec because 7th holds a special meaning for the both of us...haha... The day that we marry will be our offical 31st month together... haha...
It is a sunday but doesn't matter because lucky me, 8th dec, monday is a public holiday... hehe....

hapimint

cecilia, I can totally understand that....
We are holding another dinner in malaysia for his father side of the family and I was told that maybe restaurant also cannot contain...
He is planning on inviting the whole village.... which comes up to around 80 tables....
I nearly fainted.... I cannot imagine shaking the hands and smiling for pictures....

~sblbee~

Hi hapimint,
Wah.....it's so sweet....yah same here, I've worked out a list based on the minimum and if need be, I can still increase my guest list as the ballroom can accommodate 60 tables. Wah....lucky you, too bad it's not a good date for me, I've got a friend who's getting married on 7 Dec this year (1 year before you)...

pig_den

yeah yeah!! Congrats on getting a venue and confirming your AD. That's a big load off now... keke... Anyway did you manage to get any perks...

zrachelz

Xinyi, my AD VG is em0ti0npix. Heard before? Saw their works and find their fees reasonable.

Hi Lara, i will be taking PS in Nov. Early hor, cos we scare the haze will come again lor...

~sblbee~

Hi Denise,
Thanks! I got more than what I bargain for and I'm satisfied....right now, just need to reconfirm some things with my BS today and will be signing my banquet contract tomorrow....have to contact the PG and VG to make an appointment when I'm back from my trip...