(2008) Brides of year 2008

vbutter

Mage,

I get to do my retake for free.... but only for my AD gown in the studio and also one of my ODWG for a outdoor location. I saw this very old Hotel featured in Straits Times Life Section, thinking of going there for the outdoor shoot...

vbutter

For mattress, the prices ranged alot and a good place to compare price would be the furniture mall at beach road. There are many dealers of many brands there... so you'll get to compare. To share my experience, beware of sales tactics. for e.g. I went to one shop before, the sales show me a report from the "head office" that price would be increasing next month and if you buy now, you can save like $500... and then i went to another shop which deal with the same brand, the sales there was surprised when we asked him about the price hike. Whahaha.... exhibition and show are good place to get good deal. But the best is you already visited some shops and short-listed your preference (and be firm about it) and then head for the raod show and choose what you already decided. Another sale tactics which is often employed in exh or show is that let's say u wanna buy a certain model of KK, then they'll tell u that model not tat good, ask u to throw in a few more hundreds, they let u upgrade to another model. So it may be a good deal, may not. Do ur homework first ya? :)

Wahaha... feel that I've gone MIA from this forum for a while. hehe..

Tete, saw your ROM pics. Nice nice!! Esp the one where your hubby lie on your laps, so sweet!! keke

Jojo, maybe you wanna check out Magic Koil. Firm mattress but cheaper range as compared to others. Pocketed spring. Try to look for the orthopaedic range i tink, less than a $1000.

I feel that it is good enough for temp use.

blur_queenie

Thanks! Will check out the Thomson Plaza shop and IMM. Heard there's one shop at Jurong area that sell mattress only. Maybe I'll pop by over the weekend.

mage

Jojo, beware of some really cheap ones as I heard from my mum that they take old mattress and just re-conditioned it then sell off as new. So like what Viv said, must do your homework!

mrsyap

Hi Sweetbeng,
I'm also sept 08 BTB. Which date to be exact? have you shortlist your bridal studio and banquet? Doing any preparation now? maybe we can help each other along since we are of the same timing.. hehe..

mrsyap

Hi geosia
i'm also sept 08 BTB.. which is your exact date? Maybe we can share our experiences along the way since we are of the same month.. heee

ahbao114jp

serlz
sorry dun have Fabian's site coz his style isn't what i'm looking for so didn't bother to look for website.

snow
i've not decided yet. But think i'll do just before the dinner at the waiting area of Garden Suite. Coz set-up will be easy, some chairs for guests & maybe small table for JP? Think ntg to sign for us since we'd have registered overseas by then.

shyantiffy

hi ladies... I'm a NOV 08 BTB!
current wat i've done is confirmed

venue for solemnisation: The New Majestic Hotel, Majestic restaurant.

BS: Silverlining
Photography: Lance Lee of Offstone (pre wedding)
Lance's associate photographer (ROM)

WEddin Bands: Charlotte Atelier

Now headache over AD banquet... any good advice here?

witch

I got my mattress from iGNES at Joo Seng...Maxcoil Memory Foam queen sized mattress at $1200. My fren got her temp mattress at this place opp iGNES called Crawford Italia....it's only $199 and she will only use it for a year before she get a proper one after the wedding.

de_princess

Hello! My AD is in March 08... can I join this thread? I just ROMed on 07/07/07!

Hey selrz, my bridal is Silverlining... his gowns are signature low backs.. I saw a reveal torso kind too in the photos...u can try making appt wif him.

joylin_bb

Ahbao,

Just now I meet my VG and PH. Thay advise us to do it just before or during the dinning. I think Graden Suite is beautiful. Haha... On that date we can meet up with each other and take a photo, if you want.

What a coincidence. We have the same date and same banquet venue. Hee

de_princess

Hi snow,
My AD is on 30/03/08.

I am still sourcing for AD & PS photographer and VG. Prob taking The Edge for PS... anyone wif recommendations?

ahbao114jp

snow
I like garden suite very much....simple yet has that cosy feeling. But a bit ex lah...holding at Oriental..
I've just contacted my coordinator about holding the ROM at waiting area. See what she replies. Hope no extra cost.
Ya...since we're all on 5th floor...can take photo together...

blur_queenie

Hey tete, your photographer happen to be my colleague's AD photographer too! Such a small world. Happen to chance upon her AD wedding photos on Gerald's website.

Now looking around for AD photographer.I think LightedPixel is very good but he is booked on my AD. There's this freelance photographer by name of JYWong, which is almost as good and price is very reasonable too. Chance upon his portfolio in Club Snap forum.

serlz

Hi Princess

I went down to Silverlining last Sat. I like his design too. Decided to sign on the package wif him but not sure which photography to choose. Might engage others. Which one you choose? Which package you choose? What type of design you looking for?

hatemenot

updated elaine's info =)

oh jojo, kelvin koh is really good.. but i dont have budget for him.. i think joho is not bad too =D

so who's your colleague? cos in the AD album of gerald, my university friend is also there cos i recommended them =)

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>Multiply ID</TD><TD>ROM date</TD><TD>ROM Venue</TD><TD>ROM Photg</TD><TD>AD Date</TD><TD>Banquet</TD><TD>BS</TD><TD>AD Pg</TD><TD>AD Vg </TD></TR><TR><TD>stnov</TD><TD>silverfit</TD><TD>18/09/2003</TD><TD>ROM</TD><TD>Friend</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>FRF</TD><TD>Volan* Couture</TD><TD>Volan* Couture</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Zoie</TD><TD>lurvedots</TD><TD>1/5/2008</TD><TD>Grace Methodist Church</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>5th</TD><TD>Qianxi (Farrer Park)</TD><TD>GHA</TD><TD>Edmund Leong</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tris</TD><TD>mkkk81</TD><TD>10/11/2004</TD><TD>Our Lady Star of The Sea</TD><TD>Siblings</TD><TD>5th</TD><TD>FRF</TD><TD>My Bridal Room</TD><TD>Tommy Leong</TD><TD>Christopher (hilo) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Flubug (mickoe80)</TD><TD>mickoe</TD><TD>27/01/2007</TD><TD>ROM Love Suite</TD><TD>John from BE</TD><TD>5th</TD><TD>Yunan Garden at NTU Alummi</TD><TD>Bridal Elegance</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>tete</TD><TD>hatemenot</TD><TD>1/7/2007</TD><TD>SAM</TD><TD>Gerald Tay</TD><TD>6th</TD><TD>Traders</TD><TD>Julia Wedding</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Not having </TD></TR><TR><TD>mudppie</TD><TD>mudppie</TD><TD>0'9/12/2003</TD><TD>ROM</TD><TD>Say yes</TD><TD>6th</TD><TD>Marina Mandarin</TD><TD>Yvonne Creative</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>jojo</TD><TD>blurqueeniejo</TD><TD>6/1/2008</TD><TD>GCW</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>6th</TD><TD>GCW</TD><TD>Divine Couture</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Anika</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>6th</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>DJ (0cool)</TD><TD>joeyhoppi</TD><TD>6/1/2008</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>6th</TD><TD>Pioneer Spring</TD><TD>Signoria Nuziale</TD><TD>Signoria Nuziale</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>CN (onie)</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>10th</TD><TD>Rasa</TD><TD>Sophia Wedding Collections</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>EeOo</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>10th</TD><TD>RTP</TD><TD>Julia Wedding</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>janet (musjan)</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>12/1/2008</TD><TD>mosque</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>15th</TD><TD>GCW</TD><TD>Dawn's Bridal</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Floating</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>18/01/2008</TD><TD>Rasa Sentosa</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>18th</TD><TD>Rasa Sentosa</TD><TD>Blush Blush</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>jolene</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>19/01/2008</TD><TD>Oriental</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>19th</TD><TD>Oriental</TD><TD>Dawn (JB)</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>LO</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>19th</TD><TD>FRF</TD><TD>New York Classic Bridal.</TD><TD>sundayz photography</TD><TD>Y@ppies pdtn </TD></TR><TR><TD>jean</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>23/09/2007</TD><TD>FRF</TD><TD>Relative</TD><TD>19th</TD><TD>HIA</TD><TD>Signoria Nuziale</TD><TD>Motion Image</TD><TD>Motion Image </TD></TR><TR><TD>IceCherry</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>19/01/2008</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>19th</TD><TD>Rasa</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>mage</TD><TD>poohyange</TD><TD>3/11/2003</TD><TD>ROM</TD><TD>brother</TD><TD>19th</TD><TD>Four Seasons</TD><TD>Yvonne Creative</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sleepycat</TD><TD>leeeilyn</TD><TD>19/01/2008</TD><TD>Trinity Methodist Church</TD><TD>same as AD</TD><TD>20th</TD><TD>Peony-Jade</TD><TD>Jess Haute Couture</TD><TD>Fren</TD><TD>Not having </TD></TR><TR><TD>zookeeper</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>20/01/2008</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>20th</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Divine Couture</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Raycia</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>3/3/2007</TD><TD>Hotel Rendezvous</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>26th</TD><TD>NCQ</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>zenzen</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>26/01/2008</TD><TD>Church of Christ the King</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>26th</TD><TD>Orchard Hotel</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>cabbage</TD><TD>cabbagebaby</TD><TD>26/01/2008</TD><TD>Rasa Sentosa</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>26th</TD><TD>Rasa Sentosa</TD><TD>Precious Moment</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Fifi</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>26/01/2008</TD><TD>Blessed Sacrament</TD><TD>Jayce Goh</TD><TD>27th</TD><TD>HIPV</TD><TD>My Bridal Room</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Vbutter</TD><TD>vbutter</TD><TD>21/11/2007</TD><TD>ROM</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>27th</TD><TD>Laguna CC</TD><TD>Yvonne's Creative</TD><TD>YC</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cinderella Bride</TD><TD>serena Lai</TD><TD>07/072007</TD><TD>NS Resort</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>27th</TD><TD>Hilltop Garden</TD><TD>Jess Haute Couture</TD><TD>Simon Video &amp; Photo Services</TD><TD>Simon Video &amp; Photo Services </TD></TR><TR><TD>Elaine</TD><TD>dopey130</TD><TD>10/10/2007</TD><TD>ROM</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>27th</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>GHA</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>cheryl</TD><TD>havensbreath</TD><TD>27/01/2008</TD><TD>SAM (TBC)</TD><TD>friend</TD><TD>27th</TD><TD>SAM (TBC)</TD><TD>Bliss Creations</TD><TD>friend</TD><TD>friend </TD></TR><TR><TD>Noreen</TD><TD>princessnono27</TD><TD>27/01/2008</TD><TD>Rasa Sentosa</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>27th</TD><TD>Rasa Sentosa</TD><TD>Sattine Bridal</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>secretgarden</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>2/1/2008</TD><TD>Shangri-la (Waterfall Terrace)</TD><TD>Friend</TD><TD>27th</TD><TD>Fullerton</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>minimin</TD><TD>dafeimao</TD><TD>18/07/2006</TD><TD>Bayview Hotel</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>27th</TD><TD>Hotel Rendezvous</TD><TD>My Bridal Room</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ashley</TD><TD>witchashley</TD><TD>18/04/2007</TD><TD>ROM</TD><TD>John Lim Photography</TD><TD>31st</TD><TD>FRF</TD><TD>PMB</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

stnov

hey ladies....wif regards to having ADs close to another friend's wats ur take on attendance?? sum says within 3 mths of each other's....it's best for both parties not to attend while recentli heard of another version.....e.g. mine on 2nd so if fren's is on 15th then they can attend mine but I still cant attend theirs???

Tiffy,
My AD is 01 Sep 2008. I'm signing my AD contract next week. As my min table is 25, I have problem booking bigger ballrooms.

First step to estimate the no. of min tables you will have. Resturants and hotel ballrooms require certain no of min table booking. Second step is to decide on your budget for each table.

These steps will narrow down your choices a lot liao.

Tiffy,
I just replied your AD question at the other 2008 bride thread.

Thanks for your encouragement.
Everytime I do housechore at own house now, I tell myself that it is good exercise for me. Ya, I'll just take a step at a time.

Tiffy,
I just replied your AD question at the other 2008 bride thread.

Thanks for your encouragement.
Everytime I do housechore at own house now, I tell myself that it is good exercise for me. Ya, I'll just take a step at a time.

shyantiffy

Hmm... have discussed with my FH yesterday.. think we'll most prob have between 35~40 tables..
as for pricing.. he said budget mayb between $800~#1200/table. I think this should be quite a good range la hor..

We may be going for the fullerton wedding show...any other BTB here going with their FH??

shyantiffy

Hmm... have discussed with my FH yesterday.. think we'll most prob have between 35~40 tables..
as for pricing.. he said budget mayb between $800~$1200/table. I think this should be quite a good range la hor..

We may be going for the fullerton wedding show...any other BTB here going with their FH??

shyantiffy

aiyo green... dun mention it la.. women's power la..ahahah...we should encourage each other...

Thanks.. i saw your reply on the bride 2008..
coz here like too quiet leh..

shyantiffy

hahah... flora.. not really leh.. juz throw it there &amp; they started playing with it lor.. den as time goes by.. they juz got used to it...

de_princess

Hi serlz,

We are doing away with the traditional dinner banquet as both side parents are ok with it. My wedding will be at The Arts House. I took the MTM package without photography and without car as I cannot decide on photographer yet. Jit is flexible.. if u want to add on later just top up diff. Actually I was deciding between Divine and Silverlining... but Jit's service and attitude won me over...

mage

Stnov, I think it depends on how pantang you and your friend are. Some people don't mind it at all.

gals, I got questions again... Can someone enlightened me on the angbaos for AD? Like who is a must to give angbao to and which are the optional angbaos and roughly the amount per angbao that sort of stuff? I so lost... thanks...

serlz

Hi Princess

I agree with you. My cousin also engaged him. She looks gorgerous on the grown. That is why I decided to sign on the package with him.

Now my time is left to decide on the PG and VG.....

qiqi81

I think for the must give angpaos are the helpers (jiemeis/xiongdis), younger cousins/nephews/nieces, grandparents, parents, siblings, videographer, photographer, driver, open door brother, emcees, and make up artist.. The optional angpaos might be the banquet manager..

Tiffy,
There are upcoming wedding shows for Fullerton, GCWF and Park Hotel. With your table number and budgets, you can go for big ballrooms at many hotels!
Both of you are rich haha.

You wont face the same headache as me then due to my table number.

joylin_bb

Hi ahbao,

Ya we can take a group photo of us as a menorise on that day.

I have not seen the garden suite, so not sure how it looks.

Btw how much do you spent for your AD VG and PH?

Does anyone hear of My Bridal Room? I thinking of singing with them.

ahbao114jp

hi snow
ya, maybe we can all arrange to take group photo! Sounds fun (^-^)
aiyo, u know i've to pay $800+++ for function rm to do ROM? so i've dropped the idea. Prob invite JP come my house to ROM in morning instead..
My AD VG+PG is by same company, costs around $3.5k (after referral discount)&amp; based on old pricelist.

blur_queenie

Tete,

My colleaugue is under "Joyce &amp; Ryan". She told me that her actual AD photographer was PeepShow Machine and they sub contract out to Gerald to do the PS service. Kelvin is very talented ( i think), his pictures are really amazing. Yes, he is super expensive, i guess "yi fen qian, yi fen huo". There's this photographer that is not bad, www.trailsoflife.com . Anyone heard of them? What is the usual items covered under AD packages? Some charges 1.5K and above for just service &amp; CD of the edited pictures and some covers albums as well. What is consider as reasonable? Less than 1K?

As for the angpao, got to prepare extra incase last min crop up. The amount will varies individually. For me, i will give helpers, emcees/relatives bigger angpaos and smaller one to photographer,MUA, JP etc as a form of gesture.

wesniff

i'm planning for either feb or mar08 wedding. my bf lives in usa n we're trying to organise this now.. havent booked anything. Looking for venue and bridal studios. Any good suggestions??

~sblbee~

Hi Tiffy
I'm a Nov BTB too, my tables number is around 35 - 40 too, my budget per table is about $900-$1200, but you need to keep in mind that for weekends, the bigger hotels require you to commit around 40 tables if you are taking their main ballroom. I roughly know which hotel I want, just want to confirm my AD as the tongshu not out yet.
Wah, you've done alot already, I haven't even confirm my date for solemnisation and venue.
BS: WhiteLink. I don't dare to commit as I won't know how much $ to put aside for my wedding. Seems like a lot of miscellaneous expenses. I think I know who I want to engage for my ROM and AD photography but no idea on VG, any recommendations?

stnov

thks mage for ur reply.....to be on d safe side will most probably follow suit....for tis fren of mine...seems like not pantang.....no choice leave it up to them to decide......=)

mage

thanks gals for your reply. Seems like alot of angbaos leh. I'm super tight budget now. Will give within my means then and hope helpers will understand.
Angbao of $18 is it too much or too little for PG and MUA ah?

no problem Stnov

I'm also sourcing for cheap and good journalistic AD PG. Any recommendations? Where can I go to find out more? Club Snap?

Sorry ah I got so much questions.

shyantiffy

Hi Green... have added u.. &amp; kindly send me the hotel quotations to take a look.

Meiling...so meiling u plan to do your solemnisation outside ROM center too?

for VG... me &amp; my FH haven't decided yet...coz he have some friends who do videos but they shoot for TV commercials &amp; movies...might choke up a big sum if wanna get them.. hahah I leave it to him to decide.

HOnestly...a few frens of mine have taken those package frm WL.. beginning seems like pretty good price.. dunno wat $2888 la.. everything baogao liao, gowns OTR.. but later.. U'll get so tempted to buy all the pics..&amp; it'll end up a big sum like $6~7K again..coz each addition pic in the album is dunno $60~70 according to my fren...

For me.. i took up silverlining's package all gowns designed &amp; MTM to my requirement with no photography &amp; have engaged a fashion photographer to do a concept shoot for me &amp; FH &amp; we asked for all the pics in softcopy &amp; its only $2K. Den total add up only around $6K but I have all the pics taken.

Also.. the tongshu... hmm.. Y dun u just get a master to get your date for u to choose? I went to this master www.art-of-fengshui.com