(2008) Brides of year 2008

shyantiffy

Kokobrok..I haven't really got the actual one that i wanted.. but have an idea about wat dress i want... something like this...
497776.gif

blur_queenie

Noreen,

Dun be sad. Think mother will not make it look like they are selling their daughter. Guess to some people they will have the perception that the higher price they put, means the more valuable u will be to your FH side if they agree? Ultimately they want to have some "face" when discussing such things with your aunts and other relatives. My colleague was telling me, just give to them, no point arguing making both side unhappy.

Aiyoh... headache... headache.
when it comes to $, everyone will end up being unhappy. I'm also worried my dad will ask for a lot of things and I've been trying to psycho my dad, telling him me & FH are spliting half in the banquet & everything else. So, we're not going to give him any tables. Then, my FMIL actually said wants to give, where she meant we have to give out of our own pockets, instead of her paying for it. In the end, also dunno wat is the conclusion. I've told my FH to tell his mom not to mention anything bout giving table during the meet parents session. Coz, if she ask, my dad is gonna accept it & we're going to be in trouble.

Sigh... why cant we just do away with all these customs??? It's so expensive to follow all the customs lo...

Noreen, 10k is alot, u noe... unless your FH is earning 10k a mth, then.. hmm... not an issue.. guess it'll be betta to talk to ur mom bout it. Imagine what you can use these 10k for....

princessnono

ya lor... I also agree with u, cabbage...
I am prepared for the worse leow.. if she insist, i will still not give her.... dun care.. in the end, my FH & i will suffer.. not her lor.. so at most she not happy then dun turn up on my AD.. hehhehhee.. even my FMIL also prepared for it leow.. =P

muddpie

Noreen,

dun say tat...i think ur mum luv u de...she will come...oni she dun 1 to say out...mayb she is protective...try to talk to her or get ur bro or dad to talk her over...& mayb u can talk to her in a nicer tone...letting her noe all the heavy expenses u & ur FH are facing now..i m sure she will understand naturally..dun worry..=)

Eh..muddpie, enlighten me. I dont understand why wld a parent request so much pinjin from their child when they know the couple are coming this out from their own pocket?

Dont get me wrong. It's just a generous qn as I really hope to see it from your pt of view.

muddpie

cabbage actually hor..i oso dun really noe y leh...
cun remb if i read from a forum or heard from frens de...
i m not sure if parents accept "the idea" tat all these wedd stuff come from our own pocket...u noe when i ask my mum abt the pinjin & stuff, she oso requested a whole lot...she didnt understand tat all these are paying thru hb & myself..she still say..y dinner we are paying...to her pinjin is to buy dowry & some traditional stuff for us..eg new bedsheets, pillows & stuff..so guess the more pinjin is the more dowry they can buy ba...i m not sure if the dowry symbolises that u are married off " more feng guang". (meaning u r in good hands married to a gd family & will not suffer) & table $$ in return to her as ur diapers $$...cos when GDL, relatives will be at ur house to witness the ceremony..to my mum dowry are usually gold stuff wer it is more valuable ma but now modern ppl get white gold & diamonds...from my mum she say usually dinner are to be paid by HB family if they can afford to..cos i think that is wat my parents did during their time. so she dun really understand y we are paying all these...that is her mindset...but i think my dad understands this is modern world...very diff from 2 decades ago...so he told her..she can only take either 1. of cos i oso told her gold are very expensive now dun need to spend on all these...& we dun usually wear nowdays..so she can save as not to buy...kekeke....
but when u asked ur parents y they wanna take so much hor..they alwas say..."wo yang ni yang dao zhe mo da, you gong ni shang da shue...blah blah blah"....think i no need to cont le u oso noe lah...:D
i m not sure if my info is right...=p

witch

My mum didn't ask around for market rate of pin jin. She did say that she will return a big portion of the pin jin to the male side cos just take the pin jin as a token. I'm glad that my mum is reasonable in that sense.

As for the 6 tables, they are allocated to my relatives and so all the ang pows for these 6 tables will be kept by my parents.

Even though both set of parents have meet and talked about the wedding customs, etc the details are not finalised at all. Will take the banquet food-tasting session as an opportunity for both families to sit down and go through the details clearly so as to manage expectations.

I'm a bit worried cos my mum and his dad are the outspoken and speak their minds type, and may say things that will offend the other party.....hope there won't be any unpleasant arguments.

jlynn

Hihi xinyi_reiko, what a coincidence! Hehe..
Anyone has any recommendation for live band? I need the band to play a list of songs only, no need singer.

sleepycat

In the beginning, when we started talking abt the wedding, my dad sat me down and told me that the wedding shd be fully paid for by my FH. But my parents agreed that they are not going to request for tables or ask for a large PJ. They say just a token ang pow can liao.

At first, I thot "wah, very good. I do a simple church wedding can liao." Cos my parents are Christians also and my FMIL also dun mind just a church wedding. But then (sigh....), in the end, my parents said church wedding only too simple, relatives will talk since we are both working in good jobs. My cousins who got married earlier, din have such good jobs also got throw dinner, so our wedding cannot be too simple. So it became a full blown affair with church wedding and dinner spread over 2 days!

Since it is a full blown wedding liao, I told my FH that I will share in the wedding costs lor. Otherwise, he will be very stressed. Cos we also got renovation and furniture to pay for. But I told him that since my dad said for him to pay the wedding, he shall pay for the bridal studio package. But everything else, will be shared. That way, we can tell my parents that he paid for 'most' of the wedding...

We haven't arranged for the parents to meet yet. That one will have to be handled quite carefully...cos dunno wat surprise they can spring...

~sblbee~

I'm a BTB in Nov 2008. Heard all of you talking about LASIK, I went through my LASIK 2 to 3 years back. Mine was ex (costs me $5000+ for both eyes) at the Eye Clinic as my degree was really bad (about 1000+ degree), after the LASIK managed to bring down to below 200. Well, have to wear glasses occasionally due to my bad reading habit and posture.
Have you all chose the wedding date already? I have booked my BS with White Link but have trouble choosing the venue for my wedding banquet. Shortlisted Marriott, PanPac, Hyatt, Marina Mandarin. Did you all go to the MM wedding show? I was there.

zrachelz

Warm welcome to jlynn and Ai Hui...Congrats to you.

jilynn, my AD is same as yours too. Initially i wan to have my AD in Dec07, but due to unable to book a venue, we have to postpone to Jun08...

Where is your venue? Mine is at Novotel Clarke Quay...

shyantiffy

Hi meiling.. I'm gonna be a NOv 08 bride too.. kekeke... meanwhile haven't really done anything for the AD... kekeke.. still trying to get my ROM prep done...

jlynn

Hi Rac, my venue is at Four Seasons, will be having a luncheon. Will yours be a dinner or luncheon?

Initially, we were quite worried that some of our guests will not be able to attend due to church commitments on sunday, now we feel that as we are unable to please everyone, we just go ahead with the date.

vbutter

Sound scary... I think for my mum, the PJ part, she would also take only a portion.. and for dinner wise, probably only 6 tables as well. We haven have the "meet the in-laws" session yet too.... I hope won't suddenly incurred more expenses... we (or rather me) are quite bloke... I'm secretly helping my fh out for the wedding as well as house... in fact, a large portion come from me.... I did not tell my family about this as guess they are too traditional to understand le.... haiz.... guess we are all in the same plight...

hatemenot

hi vivienne,

me oso same as u.. secretly helping out too.. but not most part of it of course.. but bangquet i will have a share in it too. but i think dont tell family that we are helping out is a wise choice.. mothers confirm will definitely be unhappy and there will be endless nagging..

beachgirlz

welcome zen and meiling

meiling.. so for degree under 200, without glasses u can see normally? only for reading then need glasses izzit? how do u trim eyebrow after lasik ar? i'n wondering abt tis part haha

korice! which day in july are u doing ur lasik? i'm doing on 20th
nervous n scared leh!!

qiqi81

I guess all of us are just trying to make both parties happy and less/no conflicts if not we will be the one who suffer from all the nagging..

For us, we decided to pay all the wedding expenses and I won't be getting any si jian jin from my MIL as my hubby will be the one buying for me. In this way, my PIL won't have to fork out $$ since we decided to pay everything by ourselves and my parents will be glad that I have my si jian zhuan. Best of both world..

Hopefully, during the meet up session, we won't have more surprises awaiting for us.. *Pray hard*

mage

I didn't know there is still this traditional thinking that wedding should be paid by the groom side leh. I thought at this time and age in Singapore ah its kinda understood that wedding expenses are shared between the couple and only a lucky few gets a helping hand from their parents. I so blur...

Agree that parents and the in laws are tricky to handle. Things never turn out as expected. For my part, I thought my mum was ok with minimising traditional customs to just fetching the bride and then tea ceremony but I was wrong... she still want PJ and GDL. Luckily she say no need to be big amount or anything expensive. Just as a significant amount will do already.

For MIL side, she always say anything will do but when it comes to making a decision ah, she have her own thinking and ways of doing things again...

Me too haven't meet the parent session yet. Dunno what to expect. Kinda scary... hope nothing unhappy will come out of it... afterall, wedding is supposed to be a happy occassion for all.

sleepycat

Not sure if this is helpful to you gals.

What I have started is to speak with my parents while my FH has started to speak to his mom. Hopefully can come to a conclusion of some sort so that the meeting up will just be a formality.

zrachelz

Hi jlynn, mine is dinner cos parents are the traditional type.

Well you can't accomodate to everyone. So it depends on your guests. I mean, no offence, there's always sunday service next week, but your wedding will only be once a lifetime leh.

vyn1436

rommie,
tks! i've rcv your email. the dress looks very sweet and pretty. You must have looked very pretty that day! is the dim sum nice? did the rom cost you a bomb? i foresee mine wud be far from my budget lol

Tiffy,
its such a cute and dreamy dress!With the work of can can, looks like a princess! at least you have got an idea and i'm sure the end result will not be disappointing!
Do share with us your dress photos ya!

haloz ladies.. i'm also a Dec bride. mine is @ Merchant court on 28 Dec 2008.. ;) my ROM wil be 15 Sept 07. Anyone hav nice ROM dress pics to share??

rommie

Hi kokobrok

My ROM is within my budget lah. Paid about $620 for 28 guests.

Actually, I made a bit from ang pows given by relatives and friends hence my super-mini honeymoon @ Bintan is FOC.

The tim sum at Teahouse at China Square is rather famous as it belongs to the Tunglok group.

vbutter

I've to help out my fh as he did not have much saving to start with.... but there are certain "rules" - e.g. wedding bands we go dutch as it is mean to be an exchange. Then for BS n bed, he pay cos to me it is significant. The main part which I am paying goes into the house... but we've agreement that he'll pay me back for the half he is responsible... kekeke

shyantiffy

kokobrok.... yea..am looking at all the short ones.. ekkeke...no hassle...& easy to move around.. I'll definately share the pics onces I've got them done...In fact i even have the idea of wat i wanna do for my pre-wedding photoshoot lo...! but juz afraid that i cannot find a photographer with that art direction...mayb have to end up getting fashion photographer...but think if really have to do that... its gonna burn a big hole in my joint acct liao lo... heeeheee

floating25

Been so busy at work that I have no time to log in and so much discussions have been going on! Interesting!

In terms of wedding preparations, my WG is MTM so I'm eagerly waiting for the 1st fitting probably next month or early Aug. My FH has selected the material for his suit so the BS will start to make his suit once my WG is done.

We bought our wedding rings from Georg Jensen. It's a treat from my FH as he wants our wedding rings to be unique and memorable. ;p

We're not even going to have the discussion about PinJin or tables with our parents as we're both paying for everything, more from him though. Our reception is a buffett so the only thing for us to decide is free seating or do we assign seats cos we still want to have tables for our guests to sit down. I don't think my mom will make noise about the PJ cos she's afraid I won't be able to get married anymore cos of my age. Hahaha!

The next challenge is our wedding invitation card. Still trying to design it on our own then look for a good printer.

Haven't really found shoes for my WG yet but I bought a pair of shoes on sale at Robinson n they feel comfortable enough to be my wedding shoes but since I read the thread about cannot wear open toes, I'm having second thoughts. How?

Vivienne, did you finally bought the house that you wanted?

blur_queenie

It's best to keep things simple during the parent meeting sessions. I made a mistake of telling my mum that we are sharing the banquet and it caused quite a stir during the last few days. Anyway the drama is finally over so all is clear now.

Anyone got any ideas where can i read up on wedding theme? Still clueless now and i got to think of color and design for my wedding card design.

blur_queenie

Hi Muddpie,

I plan to design ourselve, not taking hotel cards, not very nice and limited design.
But before i do that i got to brainstorm for some theme so that the PS, Cards and Ballroom will flow with the theme.

Btw, any nice brand of men's shoe to recommend? Need to be slight shiny as my coordinator said it'll be more formal and smart. Those leather shoe i have seen are pretty hard and I'm afraid my FH might get blister wearing them on PS. How to soften hard leather instantly beside constant wearing it?

Something to share if you are looking for ideas on PS. Some are very nice and artistic.
http://forums.clubsnap.org/forumdisplay.php?f=79

prispris

hi ladies i selling some of my dresses... any thing pm me ok.... cuz i find my dress quite useless to me as i don wear them often... one of them will be my ROM dress... wore once... but willing to sell...
think some of you seen it b4...

mage

Jojo, i did try to search online for wedding themes before too but can't find much. I only know I want purple was part of my theme only.

I'm also going to design my own wedding invitation cards too but will leave that to my hubby to do it since its his ricebowl.

sleepycat

Jojo,

Try hammering the shoes before wearing. Esp the parts that you think will cause problems... When hammering put the shoe on an old towel to avoid spoiling the shoes.

As far as possible try to get leather ones, they shd be softer and more comfy. Alternatively, if u cannot find the shiny ones, polish the shoes with Kiwi before wearing...

serlz

I'm a 300308 bride! Holding my dinner at intercon. Currently looking ard for bridal packages. Any to recommend?

princessnono

hi.. recovering from my wisdom tooth extract & FH brought me to Genting yesterday to relax.. just got back.. =)
Me also thinking of wedding theme.. kekeke... Mage, I also plan to have purple theme cos my fav col...
Wedding cards will probably be using the hotel ones..
Am I too early to book JP for my soleminzation in Jan 08 now?? tot of calling Prof Yu Shi Meng cos my fren had him for her wedding but heard he is very popular... =P
Any one to recommend??

vyn1436

Tiffy,
wow you're definitely someone who knows exactly what you want..yeah, i agree, i'm also looking at short dressess for rom, it'll be easier to move ard, esp if the location is outdoor.

beachgirlz

korice i'm doing on 19th n 20th or 20th if i wanna do both together. i actually doing at snec then my doc, Dr Julian Theng resigned thus i went to his private clinic at MT A. how much is urs? normal lasik?

mindy.. cngrats! how's the experience? u did both eyes together? now can see perfectly le ma? how u wash ur hair ar? hehehe. share with us! i'm nervous n scared leh...
korice r u nervous n scared too???

mage

Haha! Noreen, purple also my fave colour!

Aiyoh, I was reading Her World July issue ah, states there that people should be expected to give half of what their normally give for dinner reception as angbao... so misleading leh... The cost of lunch is definitely more than half of dinner. Frankly the difference is only about $20. If many readers follow this guide ah, those having luncheon sure big hole in pocket!